Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Don't bother...

    I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

    11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    For the love of God dont bkther

    Boring, bland and uninteresting angels.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Just 1 star, boring read.

    Honestly, I read a ton of books in this genre and this particular book was slow and boring with very little creativity. I didn't fall in love with the characters and the love triangle here is the pretty basic, played out one you get in all teen novels. No surprises there, I found the triangle actually made me dislike the main character more than want to root for her. Also, it was very slow until the last couple of chapters so I'm not sure how I made it that far. Some chapters were just so boring I skimmed the pages and skipped them altogether. Wish I had better things to say but in my opinion it's not worth a read. I suggest the fallen series, much better story there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    !

    Hmm.. im sorry but if your looking for a really good read about finding out angels and love triangles, i recommend City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Its a thousand times a better love story and a really good edgy urban fantasy book too. This book on the other hand pales in comparison. Sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!

    This book had been on my TBR list for quite a while, and I am not really sure why I never go to it. Now I am wondering why I waited so long. Actually the answer to that question is simple. There are so many books about fallen angels, and I was worried it would be the same as so many of the other ones I have read. Well, I tell you, this book was wonderful. It is not the same as every other story about fallen angles. Cynthia Hand has done a wonderful job in making this book stand out. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters, and see how they change and develop through the story. I felt like I personally knew them, not like I was reading about some random people. I loved how the story progressed at a good steady pace for the most part. At times I felt it was a little slow, but nothing too bad that really bothered me.

    I really liked Clara. I really felt connected to her, and what she was feeling. She really is a pretty tough girl. She goes through a lot emotionally in this book. She is stuck in a love triangle that I will honestly say is not bad as far as love triangles go. It seems like most every YA book has them, and they get a bit annoying after a while. I didn't feel that way with this one. I really do love both boys. They are both so great in their own ways, and both totally swoon worthy. I see Tucker as the hot cowboy who I would be drooling over, and Christian as the popular pretty boy at school, but you know there's lots of those. I adore the interactions between Tucker and Clara through out the book too. I loved the growth that her character has. She has definitely changed by the end of the book.

    I have to say that as much as I did love this book, the ending wasn't quite a shock to me. Some aspects were pretty predictable. There is a lot that we are left wondering about too, so I think it's a great set up for the next book. I am really hoping we get to learn more about Clara's mother. She is still a mystery to me. Also I think there is much more to Angela that can be discovered too. I think there is way more to her than meets the eye. This book is beautifully written, and it has the perfect amount of romance and a little bit of heartbreak. I will be eagerly waiting for the next int he series, Hallowed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    To all from leah

    Hey does anyone wanna cht?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Stuff

    I havent read but im going to and after ill right another reveiw and tell if i liked it or not

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Sorry I bought it

    While I enjoyed picking up the book, I was nothing short of stunned when I put it down. Nothing was wrapped up. The secrets kept in the story remain secrets. The question asked throughout, what if she doesn't, is never answered. It didn't conclude, it just stopped. Such a disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Not very good...

    This book had so much potential, and the only and I mean ONLY interesting part of the book were the last couple of chapters and pages. The rest of the book bored me! It went on and on about her visions until she actually DID something on the last couple of pages. Don't read it. It's not worth it.
    But hey,
    That's just my opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Hard search

    This is a poor web site for selecting books. You can't enter an authors name to search for all of the books an author has written.
    Very frustrating.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2