Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read...

    This book was amazing. The structure was very good, and the traits of all the characters were awesome - especially the main character, Clara's personality; she's quirky, sort of independant, and very easy to relate with. Despite her being a quarter angel, the reader can identify with her. Honestly (and I completely understand that probably most of the people who've read this will disagree)I wasn't that fond of how it ended - I wanted her to end up loving a certain someone, and - by the looks of it - it could happen in the next one...I HOPE it does, anyway. It reminded me of Bram Stoker's DRACULA; I hated who Mina loved and ended up with, too :P The whole plot has a major twist in the end - one that you could NEVER see coming.......All in all, it was a good read, and I am praying that the next one will be just as good (and what would make it even better is Clara ending up with the guy I want her to, haha. But, who will ever know? Just have to wait until January!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A Decently Fun Read

    I'm feeling slightly up and down on Cynthia Hand's Unearthly. On one hand, I definitely liked Clara - she has a lot of depth and it's obvious Ms. Hand took the time to really flesh her out. On the other hand, I really feel the novel was plagued by a lot of filler and not a lot of actual substance.

    That said, I did very much like this book. Clara is a female protagonist I can get behind and understand. She's a "typical" teenager in that she does in fact ponder about how she's going to fit in, how she's going to cope with a new school, new life, new everything.and she even whimpers a bit over her orange hair. She's so REAL. At the same time, she's so much more than the "typical" female protagonists that seem to run rampant in a lot of today's YA novels. Clara is strong, decisive, and independent. She's not willing to let a boy treat her like dirt - she has enough self esteem and feelings of self worth to really KNOW what she deserves, and she's not willing to settle for less than that. I adore that about her.

    The supporting characters - Angela, Wendy, Christian, Tucker, Jeffrey, and Clara's mom - are all interesting on their own. Also interesting is the lore behind the Angels and angel-bloods and I definitely would like to read more about that.

    The ending of Unearthly, I felt, is a bit abrupt - I was absolutely not prepared for it to end. While I enjoy a good cliffhanger as much as the next person, this was more of a.cessation of words? It comes down to there being a whole lot of build up and not a whole lot of resolution.

    That's ok, though. I'll still patiently wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Twist on the Usual Cliche

    BEST PLOT TWIST EVER!!! Did not see that coming, near the end. That aside I did not hate Unearthly, but I didn't love it either. I started out loving it to death, and that emotion returned at the end, but the middle drag it all down. The main problem with this novel is it's two slow and drags a bit. Nothing exciting really happens until the end. Sure the center of the book has all the elements and hints leading to the climax, but it's still to slow. That is the only problem I see with this book. Theirs nothing wrong with the dialogue, storyline, characters and so on.

    With the bad aside lets move onto the good. What did I enjoy most about this book? That the girl saves the boy in this novel. Or let me scratch that, the idea of it being a girl rescuing a boy instead of the usual cliche. I think that's what sets this book apart from so many YA paranormal romances.

    Our leading lady in this novel is Clara. I give props to Cynthia Hand for making the protagonist realistic and believable(even though Clara is a rather odd situation). How the teens interact in this novel is right on. Clara has her angel problems and then she has her adolescent problems. Such as hair and the worries of what people think about her. She isn't afraid to stand up for herself and won't be treated like garbage from a boy.

    My favorite character was Angela and Jeffrey!!!

    BOYS!!! Tucker or Christian? Which team are you on?? I'm kind of both, but I really love Tucker. Both leading man are sexy and have unique personalities. I think this novel kind of reflected Clara's relationship with Tucker, and I have a feeling that the next novel will be more Christian Orientated.

    I also have a feeling that something bigger is coming in this series. I think the first novel was kind of a lead up for the second one. A lot of questions are not answered in this book which leaves me pondering what will happen next. The ending didn't really do me any justice but it's the buildup of questions that I have that make me excited for the sequel.

    Overall it's a good book. I'll definitely be looking out for the sequel, and if your looking for a good angel book then I recommend Unearthly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    One of the better angel-based YA paranormal romances

    I recently stumbled into this genre with the Mortal Instruments series, and have been casting about trying to find more books about Nephilim, a concept that I found fascinating. I've read several, and none if them were well done.

    The entire YA paranormal romance genre is so predictable. You have the absent parents, the "smart" girl who falls in love with the mysterious, brooding hot guy, gets saved by hot guy and discovers he has freaky abilities, then after a series of not-so-smart decisions, gets saved by hot guy again and then officially enters his world.

    In the midst of all this drivel, this book really stands out with a more unique plot line. The story kicks off slowly, but sets the scene for what could be a very entertaining series.

    This ain't literature by any stretch of the imagination, and the characters lack depth, but the world created is different, creative, and fun. It will be interesting to see where the author takes this. This is definitely one of the better books in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Good, but ending was a little abrupt.

    I enjoyed the book and it would be a good read for fans of the Mortal Instruments series.
    I just felt like the ending was a little like hitting a brick wall. Though, I'm hooked and plan to read the other two books in the series as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    With this being the first book in a series I found it surprising

    With this being the first book in a series I found it surprisingly interesting. It did a great job of retaining my attention. The author is quite descriptive in the characters and does a great job of dispersing vital information of Clara and her life throughout the book. The book did, however, contain the usual cliché's of young adult books; girl has a dilemma, meets boy, likes boy, has another boy thrown at her, becomes confused, etc. It's the details and plot twists that the author introduces that brings the book up a level. The books leaves a lot of questions to be answered, so I cannot wait to read the next in the series, "Hallowed"

    "Mom smiled. 'So often we only do what we think is expected of us,' she said. 'When we are capable of so much more.'" (78)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Addictive, and tough to put down.

    Just as the headline states, I found it difficult to put down. Though it was a simpler read than I expected. It was enjoyable, notes of suspense and romance throughout the book. The only reason I rated three stars instead of four is because it was a little predictable. Still satisfying, to the point I suggest purchasing the sequel simultaneously. Because once you finish it, you will want to begin reading the next. Immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Teen book

    I didnt realiz that it was a teen book, but it was still good. Love sci fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    As a fan of the Fallen series by Lauren Kate, I was pretty psych

    As a fan of the Fallen series by Lauren Kate, I was pretty psyched to get a hold of this book. The Fallen books are great, but I was really looking for a fresh take on angels and I got it. The main character, Clara, is a quarter angel who is trying to be a normal teenage girl while also trying to fulfill her purpose from God, which comes to her only as a short vision. Yes, the “normal teenage girl who actual [insert superpower/secret here]” premise has been well tried, but Hand pulls it off quite well.

    The problem, however, comes with the middle of the book. The beginning starts off fast and interesting, but the middle kind of sinks. It focuses more on the teenage stuff as we wait with Clara for her purpose to reveal itself and be fulfilled, but the waiting—while realistic—takes far too long. I blew through this book only partially because it was compulsively readable. The other reason was that I kept flipping through pages looking for the next big angelic event, not prom. Clara falling in love for real was cute, but it felt like filler. Once you get towards the end—if you can hold on that long—you are rewarded, as things start happening one after the other in a very exciting way.

    Once again, I’m going to harp on the fact that young adult books have this horrible tendency to have their main characters—typically females—fall instantly in love with their guys. Love at first sight is great, but I’ve seen this so many times it makes me groan. I understand that Christian was the guy from her vision and all, but come on. All these female MCs falling head over heels for guys the second they meet is making me lose faith in my own gender. Hand’s insta-love was certainly not the worst I’ve ever seen, and she even tried to balance it out, so I’m being unduly harsh in this particular review, but the constant issue of this is pushing me onto my soapbox. I’m off now.

    Despite how unflattering this review sounds, I am genuinely excited to read the next book. I think that now that Hand has things moving, events are really going to start happening. Unearthly was compulsively readable and hard to find a stopping point even at its dullest middle event. The ending was very vague in a way that leaves me conflicted as to whether it is good or bad, but either way it does its job. There were so many loose ends that the next book has the possibility of being jam-packed with excitement. The end of Unearthly gives me faith that Hand can pull that off is she doesn’t feel locked into waiting for Clara’s purpose to show itself in a realistic timeframe. You can be sure you’ll hear how that goes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Question answer

    You must go onto yiur online account and then library i believe. You may remive books from there and then sync your nook to the computer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Good read.

    Kept me interested. Teens would espcially enjoy this. It was a page turner all the way to the end. The only disapointment was the end. It seemed so unfinished. Builds you up for a climax that doesnt really come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Question

    Is it gud as in like for a child

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love the concept but not the writing

    This is an entertaining read. The storyline is interesting but falls apart towards the end. I would still read if you are looking for an easy read dealing with angels and why their children are on earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Eh.

    This book is very well written but just as soon a it starts to pick up in actual action, it ends. Nothing solved. No exanation as to why or who or what. If it had been finished this would have been an EXCELLENT read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    angels, romance and suspense

    I picked Unearthly up sometime in 2011 because I loved the cover. For some reason, it kept getting shuffled around to the back of my TBR pile and after reading a review I almost bought it again. Unearthly is the first in a trilogy and I will be reviewing book two the Hallowed later this month. This novel is filled with angel mythology, suspense, romance and typical high school drama.

    The protagonist is sixteen year old Clara Gardner. Clara is an angel-blood. Her mother was part angel and her father is human. Every angel has a purpose; a task they must perform in their lifetime. When Clara begins to have visions about her purpose, she and her family move from California to Wyoming. Clara¿s visions show a young man and a fire. She believes she must save him from it.

    In Wyoming, Clara and her younger brother try to fit in at the new high school. Which isn¿t easy, since being part angel makes you faster, smarter, and better at almost everything. Clara attempts to get closer to Christian (who she quickly learns is the young man in her vision) and learn her purpose. The school year is filled with typical high school drama. Clara begins to crush on Christian. She makes a few girlfriends. Wendy is the first to friend her. I really liked Wendy; she doesn¿t care about the in-crowd and seems to genuinely care about Clara. She has a twin brother named Tucker who teases Clara unmercifully. Clara also befriends Angela. The friendship between them grows when Angela reveals her secret to Clara. I haven¿t made up my mind about Angela. There is something I do not trust about it.

    During the summer while Clara waits for Christian to return from a trip, she starts spending time with Tucker. We slowly get to see this romance unfold, and I enjoyed watching Clara come to realization that she loves Tucker. This romance is pure, believable and sweet. Clara¿s mother fearing Tucker will distract her from her purpose; grounds Clara and forbids her to see Tucker until her purpose is completed.

    Throughout Unearthly there is something sinister lurking and Clara has experiences with it more than once. As the tales moves towards its conclusion we are again confronted with this evil. We witness a battle between good and evil. After the battle, Clara is suddenly overwhelmed with a vision and realizes the time is now. Her purpose is now. She flies to save Christian. When she arrives she is too early and as she waits she learns someone she loves is in danger. She must choose between fulfilling her purpose and saving someone she loves. The ending left me with more questions than answers. I am hoping Hand clarifies things more in book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Huh

    U NO HOW COUD SHE B PART ANGEL?JUST WONDERING:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Didnt read it

    I didnt get a chance to read to but im sure its awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Loved it!!!!!!!!

    Really enjoyed the book. Can't wait for the second one to come out :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A recommendation to wait for completed series

    Unearthly is a good Nephilim story and a good teen love story. I read this extremely quickly for my standard and enjoyed Hand's smooth writing style, relatable characters, and intruiging story. However, I did not have the satisfied feeling one looks forward to at the end of a novel. I am a fan of series, but this first installment of a trilogy builds and builds and builds only to leave the reader hanging with what seems to be an epic battle looming in the imaginary pages beyond. I will read the whole series and so far strongly recommend it - but if you have not yet purchased a copy, you may want to wait until at least the second installment has been released so as to avoid being slightly let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3