Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 706 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great YA debut novel

    Unearthly is about the decision of Clara a quarter angel between love and destiny, and if that is not enough there's she also has to decide at some point between two boys: Christian and Tucker. Tucker being the boy that teases her and calls her "Carrots," but that also makes her feel normal. And Christian, being the boy that is part of her purpose and destiny, and also the picture perfect kind of boy. I found myself rooting more for the couple than for Clara's purpose. So, I'd safely say I became invested in a couple and I picked I side in the triangle between Tucker and Christian.


    I really enjoyed Clara's point of vie, she's funny, and honest about her feelings even when she's jealous. Clara's relationship with her mother Maggie is what I liked the most in this book. Parents in YA are virtually non-existent and it always turns into a double life for the main character. Not in Unearthly, Maggie is a actually a half angel and she tries her best to guide her children throughout the "finding your purpose" process. Of course I have the feeling she's not being entirely honest about everything she knows by the end of the book, I felt the same way about Angela, another half angel in this book and Clara's friend. I have to say I found the lack of Jeffrey, Clara's brother, disturbing, he's also a quarter angel and he should be experiencing the same confusion Clara is and yet we rarely get too see what's going on with him. Until the last part of the book when we see Jeffrey has his own tale to tell. There were many questions floating in my mind when I finished this book, what's Maggie's secret? Sam's secret? What happen to Jeffrey and the color of his wings? Does Angela have an agenda? I really think so.

    I wished the author had not been so specific about things or name dropping things like Map Quest and Barnes and Noble among other things. I fear these come with an expiration date. What will happen if Barnes and Noble merges with Borders and someone picks up Unearthly after that? Mmm, I do wonder. The pacing in this book is fantastic, I found it really hard to put down and that hadn't happen to me in a while. I laughed, I almost-cried (believe that's compliment enough), and I kept on reading.


    Would I read the next book in the series? Absolutely, actually the first thing I did after finishing was look up if there was going to be a sequel. And lucky for me, its going to be a trilogy.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Twilight fans will love this book.

    I found this story to be rather enjoyable. Twilight fans will like this book. I like how the author described certain aspects or powers that an angel might have here on earth.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Loving Paranormal Romance is not a Prerequisite to loving this book

    Color me shocked, I loved this book. I don't love paranormal romance. I generally find it shallow and uninteresting and all about the romance. For the first few chapters I thought, "Eh, this is the same old thing I've read a hundred times." Then, it all changed.

    I don't want to give anything away, but the main character does something in this book around chapter 13 that had me doing some serious celebrating. Clara is a woman after my own heart. She understands her destiny and her purpose, but she doesn't allow herself to be trampled on.

    Reason number two that I loved this book. Tucker. Tucker is the best thing to happen to YA fiction since Gilbert Blythe. I loved that he called Clara carrots. Also, he has HOBBIES! He doesn't sit in his room and listen to music and brood. It's river rafting, fishing, hiking, and the like. Talk about a breath of fresh air.

    Last major reason that I loved this story were for Clara's friends Wendy and Angela. They were both important to the story in different ways and weren't just a faceless filler for friends. (aka Jessica in Twilight). Her friendship with both of them was genuine.

    Now, this wasn't the perfect book. I felt like the ending left a bit to be desired. I am not a cliff-hanger kind of girl. I like seeing more resolutions than more questions. And, unfortunately, there was a lot that wasn't answered. Also, I felt like there were a few gaps in the story towards the middle. Wendy and Angela go on trips/internships (oh so convenient) and it's like communication with them ceases until they return. I would have liked to have seen more interaction between Clara and her girl friends.

    Overall, this book exceeded my expectations. It was the first book I read in 2011, and I chose very well. I can't wait for the sequel, and I have a feeling that I'll be recommending this book a lot.

    And, as a PS, two other things I thought were done well were the angel folklore and the culture in Wyoming. Well done Ms. Hand. Well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    This is the first time I've truly enjoyed a book in the angel ge

    This is the first time I've truly enjoyed a book in the angel genre. I have read quite a few angel books, but most of the time I find them tacky and cliche. Unearthly had it's fair share of cliche's, but I enjoyed the characters so much that I almost didn't even notice the things that would normally bother me.

    I loved Cynthia Hand's writing. Especially in the first few chapters, I thought her writing was beautiful. As the story moves further along it loses a bit of the eloquence, but by that point I was so wrapped up in everything that I didn't care.

    I found the concept of a Purpose very interesting, especially since Clara has such diluted angel blood. She is only a quarter part angel. The way her Purpose is communicated to her was fascinating, coming in a dreamlike vision while she is wide awake. The love triangle was different than in most YA novels, and I liked the way Clara navigated her love life. I felt like she fell in love with the right guy. ;)

    Christian is a typical, overly gorgeous hero that most people seem to love and I never do. Not that there is really anything to dislike, but I just like Tucker more. Tucker is awesome. He is 100% adorable. His reaction to Clara was perfectly normal and I was happy to finally see that in a paranormal romance.

    I was left with a lot of questions about the story, which was probably intentional so that I will read the next books in the series. I couldn't help but wonder what Clara's brother was involved in, and why she didn't really seem too concerned about it. I also wondered what was the deal with the dark angel and why did he pop up in the story? Why was he even there?

    There were a few things that irritated me about the book, but I really enjoyed reading it. It was an intriguing book and I have to admit that I am hooked and will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

    The Cover: It's a nice representation of the actual story. It is similar to other books in the genre while still having a unique aspect about it. I LOVE the title design. I want to find that font...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Unearthly and howlowed

    Love the book!! Vant wait to read the nexst book!! ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good book

    It was a pretty good book. Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    I received this book from GoodReads Early reads, and I want to thank them for the chance to read and review this book. It was an amazing story. The idea of good angels living among us is beautiful. I am not going to review this on a religious level, although there are many ways this could be done, but I am going to review it strictly on a creative level.

    I love the characters, some of the relationships were a bit obvious; however, I am extremely curious about one character in particular. I know this doesn't give much information, but I don't want to make anyone suspicious before they have read the book, I just think one character could be either REALLY bad or REALLY good. I'm on the fence. I love that about the story. Although a few things were obvious, there are other things in the story that make me wonder and guess what the next book is going to bring, and those are the types of stories everyone wants to read. Something that makes them comfortable by being able to predict what happens, but keeps them wondering enough to be on the edge of every page waiting to turn it. I can not wait to learn more about the angels in this story and what they are able to do.

    The scenery was beautifully described, I have never wanted to move to a remote location until the home, the smells, the scenery were all described. I wanted to see the mountains, trees, ski slopes, and lakes mentioned. They all just seemed like the perfect place to be.

    This is a book that I would recommend to anyone who was about 16 years old and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Exciting!

    I recieved an ARC from work and started reading that day after work. At first it was a little slow, but it began to pick up speed fast and you sink into Clara's world of being an Angel-Blood. As far as angel themed books that I have read...this tops it! I like the myth that the author put in and the twists in the plot. It is the beginning of a series and the end left me wishing that it wasn't an ARC because it means I have to wait longer for a sequal. As soon as this come out in store I recommend it to all the paranormal romance lovers out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Rating: 4.5 / 5 If I were to write two pages explaining how I f

    Rating: 4.5 / 5

    If I were to write two pages explaining how I felt about this book, would you guys actually read it? Because honestly I don't know how else to explain just how good this book is in one page, but I'll try. This is one of those "I REALLY LOVED IT AND CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE NEXT BOOK" type of book.

    Alright, so I am going to switch this up a little and get the con(s) part of this book out of the way first, and than I'll proceed to the pros. I only had two complaints, or rather two things that bothered me about this book:

    One would be Christian. Seeing that he is part of Clara's vision, I kind of was expecting to get to know him a little bit more. But Clara spent most of her time with either Angela, Tucker, or her mom. I felt that Christian despite being one of the main characters in the story, didn't really have those spotlight moments that the main characters get, and at the end I felt like I didn't really know Christian that well as a character. We get to see a lot more of Christian in the second book, but I felt that Cynthia Hand should have also developed Christian's character in the first book, so that the readers had a better understanding of who he is, and what his part in the books are.

    The second thing that was continuosly bothering me throughout the story was Angela. I just couldn't figure out her character, and throughout the entire story I was stuck between trying to decide if Angela could be trusted or not. Seeing that Angela was the offspring of a human and a Black Wing, I kind of thought that Angela would be more of the evil Black Wing type, since her concentration of angel blood came from a Black Wing. However, it was impossible for me to decide because Angela was both sweet, humorous, kind, but at the same time she was also very persistent, and too eager to learn more about angels from Clara's mother. Also in the story it was mentioned that Angela has never met another part angel like herself, and only once saw a real angel. However, Angela was still the most knowledgeable one, and she knew the most about angels. To me that was kind of suspicious, especially since she claimed that she only met a real angel once, and never met another part angle before she met Clara. I am not sure if the author did that on purpose, but I am glad that Angela wasn't evil after all. Did anyone else that's familiar with the story feel that way, or is it just me?

    Moving on to the pros part of this book:

    The pace that the story moved in was just fantastic. Usually, in many of the books that I read the pacing was either too slow, too fast, or both. However, this book was just perfect. Cynthia Hand wrote the story in such a way that it kept the reader hooked from the beginning, and the story was neither fast, nor slow. It was exactly how a story needs to be.

    I loved, loved, loved the story line. I have only read one other angel book and that's Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. Although I liked that book too, Nora kind of annoyed me and the story didn't really interest me as much as this one did. This storyline was very original, and it wasn't just another good angels vs. fallen angels. It was much, much more than that. This book deals with first love, and destiny vs. own choice. Clara really amazed me, she is one of those inspiring characters, and I understood many of the things that she felt, and I was also able to relate to her. And the story is hilarious, it has it's serious moments, but the tone of the story for the most part was light and funny.

    Overall, this is a must read for every paranormal fiction readers, and even for those that don't like to read angle books. Cynthia Hand is a great writer and her books are simply fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Rose

    O.e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Need to read

    Unearthly is like the mortal instruments- my favorite book. I really wish there will be a movie when this book gegs popular enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good read

    Definitely enjoyed it. Keeps it light but hits some real deep roots too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    xxxx

    l;l;l;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Great

    This book was great. The storyline was really interesting and it was very well written as well. Although it could do without the love triangle (as most stories could) i still throroughly enjoyed readung it. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Finally, no vampires!

    I liked the fact that the author lives near the Grand Tetons, and used Jackson Hole, a place I am familiar with, as where the story is based. This is written for teens, but a nice, good read for anyone. So far, there are three books in the series, and I am looking forward to them. The main character is a half angel and just discovering what she can do and why. Also, that keeping the rules isn't easy for an angel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Awesome

    I was looking for something new and a little different. This fit the bill. I will admit it starts a little slow but ends with a bang. The last 50 pages had me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Great

    Loved this book. I cant wait to read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Awsome

    Really a good book for someone who enjoys fantasy. It even made me cry a little. Definatly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    unearthly

    An unearthly read that is amazing for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Heard it was good

    A friend told me about this book and so far it sounds good from all of you guys and girls too. The only thlng is that i just goot a nook yesterday for christmas and i just want to borrow this for free! :(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9