Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    i really really really liked this book! it was unique angelic st

    i really really really liked this book! it was unique angelic story but it was heartbreaking how in the first half she liked Christian then the second half tucker.... there really wasnt any warning either it was just like BOOM i love tucker. bye bye Christian. Maybe this is just cuz i liked Christian a lot but.... it was well written and had unpredicable twists! i totally am recommending it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An unearthly good debut novel! Unearthly is a natural and funny novel to enlighten your day!

    The first chapter of Unearthly introduces us to Clara Gardner, her family and their supernatural heritage of being angel-bloods. At the moment there are many angel-themed YA novels, but Unearthly shows up with many new ideas and individually interesting characters.

    Every angel-blood has a purpose on earth that needs to be fulfilled so that the cosmic order remains intact. I like the idea of having a special purpose in life, because it adds a very spiritual and beautiful meaning to this novel.

    Clara has a purpose, a new residence and no time for other affairs… actually. There are two boys, one purpose and three possible hearts to be broken. On the one hand is godlike beautiful Christian Prescott and Tucker Avery, raw and charming cowboy on the other. The two boys can’t be more different so that I really enjoyed their also very different relationships with Clara. A captivating love triangle develops around Clara, Christian and Tucker and Clara finds herself drawn between her feelings and destiny. The emotions and feelings expressed in this novel do not seem shallow or insignificant on one single page, they are full of truth. But who does Clara truly love and how could she ever fight heaven?

    The romance plot and the further exploration of Clara’s purpose are fastened up by a mysterious enemy, the Black Wings. An inevitable battle between heaven and hell becomes apparent. There are many secrets, especially kept by Clara’s mother which support the overall mystery character and rise the tension. We’ve got some clues but no complete picture of the whole character of an angel blood. Cynthia Hand has left a great potential for possible plot developments in the sequel to Unearthly.

    Hand’s writing style is youthful and flowing. Some references to popular culture give the novel a fresh and funny touch, although the angel motive is probably as old as time.

    The plot has its up’s and down’s and I wouldn’t be pleased with the end of Unearthly if I didn’t know that a sequel is going to be published. It’s such a long wait till the sequel now, but it will definitely be worth it!

    THE VERDICT

    Glorious novel about a young angel blood searching for her place in world or even outer world. Unearthly will find a comfortable place on my shelf, on yours, too?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    impressive

    I wasn't blown out of the water but originality was impressive. The plot didn't really develop as quickly as it could have and could've used a little more action. I definitely recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    WORTH READING

    This book started a bit slow for me...I almost shelved it. But I didnt and I pushed forward, until it finally started to come together for me. I was surprized by a suspenseful romantic tale of a rather unusual perspective of a teenage angel romance. It was refreshing, not your usual angel book, yet somehow familar, (Girl meets Boy story) But in this story...Girl falls for another. I love the many twist and turns. It's the best part, this book was not predictable and certainly not boaring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    I LOVE TUCKER!

    Tuvker is so much more cuter and nicer then christian that its not even funny. If she ends up with christian. I SWEAR, i will frikin FLING the stupid nook across the room. U suk christian. I liv u tucker. I also like jeffrey. But i hate christian. U kno that akready. Tucker foreva. And if u dont like tucker, i swear, i. Will. CUT. U. Nuf said. And also cool book(: lov u tuck XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Unearthly

    This book reminded me of the "Fallen" series.. well written, and definitely attention grabbing and holding... loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Breath of fresh air.

    Ya at its finest. I enjoyed this read. The characters were well written and believable. The story unique and entertaining. I will read the next book in this series. I hope the series does not disapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Good, fast read!

    Liked the book, easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unearthly

    Have you ever read a book so much that you don't know how to put it into words? This is how I feel about this book. It had everything that I wanted it to have and more. You meet Clara. And Clara is on a mission from God....literally because she is angel. And with being that she has a purpose in life that she has to do. She traveled from California to the wild wild west just to complete her purpose. She doesn't know much about her purpose in life, just the little visions that she is having. During this time she has a lot of ups and downs. I mean come on lets face it, she is a teenager in high school. There is going to be drama.


    The book ended a way that I thought would never happen. I totally was not expecting that. Don't get me wrong I loved the way the book ended but now I can not wait to start the second book. :) Cynthia is a genius when it comes to writing. She defiantly wrote a awesome page turner and I love that! Thank you Cynthia for one amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    A entertaining good read.

    I enjoyed this book. After reading it, I immediately searched to see when the next one would be coming out. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a new series to get lost in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great book

    Wish it was longer. Cant wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Please help fix

    Towards the end on page 244 it just repeats the page over and over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!

    I loved this book but the genesis part is very very very wrong angels cant be part human part angel angels are spirits but the author did a great job into turning ordinary into extraordinary! I am reading the second book right now it is Awesome too!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Surprisingly Good

    Really i would give it a 4.5, only because the beginning is not all that great. Though the ending is fantastic. It totally caught me by surprise. That it leaves you with an overall good feel towards the book. Also pretty good for a first time author. A definitly a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Skeptical At First, But Highly Recommend

    Today I read this book's sample. I was skeptical about Angels and people together, but I got all of my friends (who have a Nook, which is most) to get the sample, too. I love it so much, I love the mom, Jeffrey was really like a teen, and our main character is really like a 16 year old: confused but doesn't understand their true talents. I am not a spender, even though this book was a dollar. I bought it and I am loving every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Great Angel Book

    I gave this 4.5 stars. This is my review from goodreads: I really really enjoyed this book. I have not been interested in Angel books, and recently decided to give this a try. Once I got into this book, I found that I could not stop reading. The story could really affect my emotions, make me completely dislike someone, or find them sweet as can be. I gave this a 4.5 instead of a 5 because I was a little let down by the ending. I believe it was intended to be a cliff hanger. But for me, it really seemed like there just needed to be a page or two more of explanation. (This could just be due to the fact that the book was over) But do not take this the wrong way; this book was an exceptional read. I will give you one thing; I have almost never read a book, where I did not have an idea on what was going to happen. This was not the case with Unearthly. I enjoyed all the surprises along the way. I am glad that I decided to give Angels a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    What a great story!

    I really connected with the characters. I felt the angst and confusion and even the heart break! The story was amazing and kept my attention making me want to keep reading until i fell asleep with my nook in my lap! I cant wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great mix of paranormality, adventure, and romance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended Read

    Unearthly is one of those books that actually took me by surprise. Something fresh and intriguing at the same time. Clara is not your average teenager and when she finds her purpose, her family uproots and moves to the town in which is closest for her to fulfill her purpose.

    The images are so vivid in her mind and all she can think about is her purpose and the boy she is sent to protect. What she doesn’t expect is having feelings for someone other than her purpose – Christian.

    All she thinks about is Christian and when her purpose will come calling for her to save him, that she becomes very obsessed with him to the point where she thinks that she is falling in love with him. He is very polite and very handsome. Someone that you just can’t take your eyes off of.

    When he goes out of state to take an internship for the Summer, Clara becomes lonely and knows that he is safe for now until he returns. While Clara is sulking through her summer vacation from school the unexpected happens. Her feeling develop for someone that she least expected and when it comes time to fulfill her purpose she feels torn on who to rescue…her purpose or her love?

    Clara risks so much for her own happiness that it could be too late to fulfill her destiny. Watch things unfold for her as she watches her family evolve before her eyes as well and discovers some secrets that her mother refused to tell her.

    YA Paranormal recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    beautiful story

    I hope to read more about these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9