Customer Reviews for

Unearthly (Unearthly Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 714 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(458)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

love it

Awesome Weekend Read. Loved it from beginning to end

posted by BookaholicTracy on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother...

I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first...
I pride myself on always giving a book a chance to pick up later on so even if it starts out bad I always finish the book. This was not the case here. The story actually has a lot of promise but the writing is way below average. I couldn't make it through even the first few chapters before I put the book down and couldn't continue. A child writes as good or better than this author. I don't say that to be unjustly cruel it is just a fact. From the very beginning you are thrown right into the middle of a story that you feel has been going on sometime. It was like picking up any other book and opening to the 25th chapter. There was no introduction to the characters or the the families history. I realize some beginnings of books are very slow because they are giving you the background information but it is necessary to not feel like you are playing catch up through the whole book. In the first chapter I was left with more questions than answers and not the kind of questions you are SUPPOSED to figure out as the book goes on but the kind of questions that are in the details. The author gives no description of people or surroundings. It is like sitting down to coffee with a friend and having them give you a very condensed version of the last year of their life. I was originally very excited to pick up this book because as I said I really do think that the story would have been a good one if the writing had been of a higher standard.

posted by DarkDreamer4389 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 718 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I <3 Cowboys and this Book!

    This book was wonderful from page one to the end. In the story the main female character (a part angel teenager) must complete her purpose by saving a teenage boy from a forest fire. However, she finds herself falling for another guy (Tucker) at that same time. When the fire puts both of them in danger she must make the choice about what path she wishes to follow. With suprizing twists and an ending you will never see coming this book is a must read for anyone who loves angel novels (fallen or otherwise).
    On a final note it is also a good book for anyone who enjoys reading a story about a sweet cowboy who likes fly fishing, horse back ridding, and early morning hikes to watch the sun come up. TEAM TUCKER ALL THE WAY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    This is now one of my faves!!!

    Love, love, loved this book!! Must read and you will be glad you did, great plot, characters, romance and intrigue. Now moving on to Hallowed, book two. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    I found so much to like about Unearthly that its hard to limit what I write about it. All the characters are really well formed and Clara is a girls perfect best friend. She is clever, sweet, and very caring of others. I really love Tucker, a very swoon-worthy boyfriend for Clara who shows her all the beauty of Wyoming and Idaho. Ms. Hand's writing makes you feel as if you are part of the scene and really paints a good portrait for the reader.
    There are so many questions that I cant wait for the second book. I want to know what happens with Clara, does her romance with Tucker continue? What happens with Christian? And most important, what about her Mother and her secrets?
    A wonderful first in the series novel, and one that will make everyone look at angels in a new light.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Typical

    I am officially the odd man out regarding this book. While everyone rants and raves about this series I just sit here mumbling "I don't get it." This is obviously a personal favorite for many readers but it was just not for me.

    Clara's family is forced to uproot from sunny California to Jackson Hole, Wyoming when she has a vision of her Purpose. As someone with angel-blood running through her veins, she has to complete her Purpose or face the risk of becoming a fallen angel; it just so happens that her Purpose is a really cute boy with a dazzling smile.

    The plot was okay at most. It played out like a typical teen novel where the main character is the new girl in school, meets and swoons over the most popular guy at school while making an enemy out her best friend's brother who will become a leg in the inevitable love triangle. Nothing really grabbed my attention, not Clara, not her family, not her angel abilities, and definitely not her Purpose. Even though I was not a fan I honestly say that the novel never dragged and everything (for the most part) seemed well-timed. There were plot developments that seemed a little odd like the random encounters with fallen angels (or Black Wings) in an otherwise high school love story setting.

    The characters were...there? I think the most likeable character was Tucker, the intriguing cowboy who tips his hat and calls ladies "ma'am." Clara did have her moments of weakness which I did not approve of (say ditching her best friend at lunch to go to Pizza Hut to creepily watch Christian from the corner) and continued being very indecisive when it was obvious what choice she should make (or heck, ALREADY made).

    I'm almost positive that the love triangle made me indifferent to this book. I LOATHE them because they have become to typical that the formula plays out itself with no mystery or originality left. Girl meets Perfect Boy and throws self at boy who is A) already in a relationship or B) wants nothing to do with her. Another boy (usually Perfect Boy's best friend) makes the moves on Girl and they eventually fall head over heels in love. Perfect Boy gets jealous and Girl gets all indecisive for no reason at all, all while struggling to pass Algebra I. I hate it. And I'm taking a stand against it!

    Mini rant regarding love triangles aside, the writing was solid and used the first person effectively. Clara's determination to complete her task was very appealing and the small bits of information that was dropped regarding the history was angels was very interesting and had me hoping that Hand would reveal more about this mysterious world.

    While this book was not for me, Hand was a strong writing style with a world that is sure to grow and entice readers.

    I recommend this book for fans of paranormal romances (angels) in high school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Highly recommended- interesting read and awesome concept!

    Clara just wants to be a normal teen. That wish is impossible for her ever since her mother revealed that everyone in her immediate family, except for her father, are supernatural beings called Angel-bloods. Put on Earth to fufill an unclear heavenly purpose, she soon finds that life is full of challenges even for a girl who has powerful unearthly talents. In the end Clara must choose between love and duty as she searches for the answer of why she exists.

    Unearthly is an interesting read that pulls you in and keeps you holding on through every twist until the thought provoking ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read...

    This book was amazing. The structure was very good, and the traits of all the characters were awesome - especially the main character, Clara's personality; she's quirky, sort of independant, and very easy to relate with. Despite her being a quarter angel, the reader can identify with her. Honestly (and I completely understand that probably most of the people who've read this will disagree)I wasn't that fond of how it ended - I wanted her to end up loving a certain someone, and - by the looks of it - it could happen in the next one...I HOPE it does, anyway. It reminded me of Bram Stoker's DRACULA; I hated who Mina loved and ended up with, too :P The whole plot has a major twist in the end - one that you could NEVER see coming.......All in all, it was a good read, and I am praying that the next one will be just as good (and what would make it even better is Clara ending up with the guy I want her to, haha. But, who will ever know? Just have to wait until January!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved

    OMG could not put this book down just loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!

    This book had been on my TBR list for quite a while, and I am not really sure why I never go to it. Now I am wondering why I waited so long. Actually the answer to that question is simple. There are so many books about fallen angels, and I was worried it would be the same as so many of the other ones I have read. Well, I tell you, this book was wonderful. It is not the same as every other story about fallen angles. Cynthia Hand has done a wonderful job in making this book stand out. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters, and see how they change and develop through the story. I felt like I personally knew them, not like I was reading about some random people. I loved how the story progressed at a good steady pace for the most part. At times I felt it was a little slow, but nothing too bad that really bothered me.

    I really liked Clara. I really felt connected to her, and what she was feeling. She really is a pretty tough girl. She goes through a lot emotionally in this book. She is stuck in a love triangle that I will honestly say is not bad as far as love triangles go. It seems like most every YA book has them, and they get a bit annoying after a while. I didn't feel that way with this one. I really do love both boys. They are both so great in their own ways, and both totally swoon worthy. I see Tucker as the hot cowboy who I would be drooling over, and Christian as the popular pretty boy at school, but you know there's lots of those. I adore the interactions between Tucker and Clara through out the book too. I loved the growth that her character has. She has definitely changed by the end of the book.

    I have to say that as much as I did love this book, the ending wasn't quite a shock to me. Some aspects were pretty predictable. There is a lot that we are left wondering about too, so I think it's a great set up for the next book. I am really hoping we get to learn more about Clara's mother. She is still a mystery to me. Also I think there is much more to Angela that can be discovered too. I think there is way more to her than meets the eye. This book is beautifully written, and it has the perfect amount of romance and a little bit of heartbreak. I will be eagerly waiting for the next int he series, Hallowed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    LOVED! IT!

    Whoa! That's all I have to say. This summary does not do this book justice. Remember those cakes that said Eat Me in Alice in Wonderland? This book should have a tag that says Read Me.

    What I liked: 1) I liked Clara. She was a totally relateable teenage girl, struggling with normal teen problems even as she struggles with her angelic problems too. 2) The writing. *close eyes, you're there* Ms. Hand's writing is so good, with vivid descriptions that put you right there next to Clara, Tucker and Christian and their friends. But at the same time, it's not so descriptive that it leaves nothing to your imagination. 3) The storyline. I found myself gasping, laughing out loud, and sighing throughout the whole story. 4) Christian's plot. I knew it. And I announced that out loud to my house, perhaps with an accompanying fist pump. Yep.

    What I didn't like: 1) I didn't really like Angela or Wendy. They both bugged me for some reason. Angela more so than Wendy. 2) The timeline. I can't really say that I didn't like it, but I felt awkward myself at the progression of time. It's like, school then summer, and school is about to start again. It's completely necessary in the book, but it just took me a minute to adjust to it.

    Overall thoughts: More Tucker please! I didn't want to put the book down once I'd found myself in Clara's world. It's a compelling, vivid and emotional story that will leave you wanting more. And luckily, book 2 (Hallowed) is set to come out January 24th, 2012!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Angel Read!

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! I loved every single second of this beautifully crafted story. CARROTS + TUCKER for life!!!! (shout out to Joanna, Alexis, and Brooke)! :)

    Unearthly starts with Clara, who is an Angel-blood. She knows she's special and she knows she has a purpose to fulfill. She starts to get visions of a boy which takes her and her family to Wyoming. When she arrives, she meets the boy in her dreams, Christian, shes determined to figured out her purpose and what he has to do with it. Clara never expects the events that begin to unravel. She has new friendships, new hobbies, new dangers, and new love. When the choice comes between love and duty, which would you choose?

    I loved the characters in this book. Clara is funny, down-to-earth, and a fabulous main character. The boys... oh the boys. Christian is the perfect all-american hottie it's hard not to love him. Clara's brother Jeffrey I loved as well! He had such a sense of humor, I found myself laughing out loud multiple times. I think Jeffrey is going to have a bigger role in the next book(s), at least I hope so! And last but defiantly NOT least... Tucker. Tucker is a hunk! A tan, sexy, perfect, witty, athletic ball of awesomeness. One thing that I was like "wow" that made me connect with Clara and Christian was their physical descriptions. Clara's blonde hair (wavy, tangled, golden blonde = me) and Christian's eyes (sometimes emerald, sometimes hazel = me again) I was like wow, that's freaken sweet!

    I also loved the descriptions of everything. The smells and the pictures this story draws in your brain are amazing. The smell of the fire. The heat of the burning. The landscapes. The fast moving river. Smelling like Oreos :). It's defiantly a plus.

    I adored this book. This was an Angel story different from many others. I have to compare it to Angelfire. Angelfire (which you all better go buy on 2/15/2011) is different from other Angel stories and it left me in awe. Unearthly is no different. The romance, the fun, and the story in Unearthly just captivates you and forces you to keep turning the pages to see what happens next. A definate "you should go buy this one"! Loved ! Can not wait for the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A Decently Fun Read

    I'm feeling slightly up and down on Cynthia Hand's Unearthly. On one hand, I definitely liked Clara - she has a lot of depth and it's obvious Ms. Hand took the time to really flesh her out. On the other hand, I really feel the novel was plagued by a lot of filler and not a lot of actual substance.

    That said, I did very much like this book. Clara is a female protagonist I can get behind and understand. She's a "typical" teenager in that she does in fact ponder about how she's going to fit in, how she's going to cope with a new school, new life, new everything.and she even whimpers a bit over her orange hair. She's so REAL. At the same time, she's so much more than the "typical" female protagonists that seem to run rampant in a lot of today's YA novels. Clara is strong, decisive, and independent. She's not willing to let a boy treat her like dirt - she has enough self esteem and feelings of self worth to really KNOW what she deserves, and she's not willing to settle for less than that. I adore that about her.

    The supporting characters - Angela, Wendy, Christian, Tucker, Jeffrey, and Clara's mom - are all interesting on their own. Also interesting is the lore behind the Angels and angel-bloods and I definitely would like to read more about that.

    The ending of Unearthly, I felt, is a bit abrupt - I was absolutely not prepared for it to end. While I enjoy a good cliffhanger as much as the next person, this was more of a.cessation of words? It comes down to there being a whole lot of build up and not a whole lot of resolution.

    That's ok, though. I'll still patiently wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    I received this book from GoodReads Early reads, and I want to thank them for the chance to read and review this book. It was an amazing story. The idea of good angels living among us is beautiful. I am not going to review this on a religious level, although there are many ways this could be done, but I am going to review it strictly on a creative level.

    I love the characters, some of the relationships were a bit obvious; however, I am extremely curious about one character in particular. I know this doesn't give much information, but I don't want to make anyone suspicious before they have read the book, I just think one character could be either REALLY bad or REALLY good. I'm on the fence. I love that about the story. Although a few things were obvious, there are other things in the story that make me wonder and guess what the next book is going to bring, and those are the types of stories everyone wants to read. Something that makes them comfortable by being able to predict what happens, but keeps them wondering enough to be on the edge of every page waiting to turn it. I can not wait to learn more about the angels in this story and what they are able to do.

    The scenery was beautifully described, I have never wanted to move to a remote location until the home, the smells, the scenery were all described. I wanted to see the mountains, trees, ski slopes, and lakes mentioned. They all just seemed like the perfect place to be.

    This is a book that I would recommend to anyone who was about 16 years old and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Twist on the Usual Cliche

    BEST PLOT TWIST EVER!!! Did not see that coming, near the end. That aside I did not hate Unearthly, but I didn't love it either. I started out loving it to death, and that emotion returned at the end, but the middle drag it all down. The main problem with this novel is it's two slow and drags a bit. Nothing exciting really happens until the end. Sure the center of the book has all the elements and hints leading to the climax, but it's still to slow. That is the only problem I see with this book. Theirs nothing wrong with the dialogue, storyline, characters and so on.

    With the bad aside lets move onto the good. What did I enjoy most about this book? That the girl saves the boy in this novel. Or let me scratch that, the idea of it being a girl rescuing a boy instead of the usual cliche. I think that's what sets this book apart from so many YA paranormal romances.

    Our leading lady in this novel is Clara. I give props to Cynthia Hand for making the protagonist realistic and believable(even though Clara is a rather odd situation). How the teens interact in this novel is right on. Clara has her angel problems and then she has her adolescent problems. Such as hair and the worries of what people think about her. She isn't afraid to stand up for herself and won't be treated like garbage from a boy.

    My favorite character was Angela and Jeffrey!!!

    BOYS!!! Tucker or Christian? Which team are you on?? I'm kind of both, but I really love Tucker. Both leading man are sexy and have unique personalities. I think this novel kind of reflected Clara's relationship with Tucker, and I have a feeling that the next novel will be more Christian Orientated.

    I also have a feeling that something bigger is coming in this series. I think the first novel was kind of a lead up for the second one. A lot of questions are not answered in this book which leaves me pondering what will happen next. The ending didn't really do me any justice but it's the buildup of questions that I have that make me excited for the sequel.

    Overall it's a good book. I'll definitely be looking out for the sequel, and if your looking for a good angel book then I recommend Unearthly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Wow.

    A stunning debut. The strongest paranormal book I've read to date. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Exciting!

    I recieved an ARC from work and started reading that day after work. At first it was a little slow, but it began to pick up speed fast and you sink into Clara's world of being an Angel-Blood. As far as angel themed books that I have read...this tops it! I like the myth that the author put in and the twists in the plot. It is the beginning of a series and the end left me wishing that it wasn't an ARC because it means I have to wait longer for a sequal. As soon as this come out in store I recommend it to all the paranormal romance lovers out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2015

    I really enjoyed Unearthly. The author really pulled me into her

    I really enjoyed Unearthly. The author really pulled me into her world and I fell in love with the chaacter, specially Tucker. I also managed to seriously dislike a few of the characters as well because the author was able to pull those emotions out so well. Can not weight to start reading book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    highly recomended

    I loved this series of books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    Speachless!

    Unearthly is a page turning and amazing book. The
    Pages in every chapter grap the reader's attention in the most unique way. Clara is my most favorite person in this book because she relates to a normal teenage girl but that has hidden secrets. I tell everybody about this book and all i hear are great things. I hope every girl reads this book sometime in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Rating: 4.5 / 5 If I were to write two pages explaining how I f

    Rating: 4.5 / 5

    If I were to write two pages explaining how I felt about this book, would you guys actually read it? Because honestly I don't know how else to explain just how good this book is in one page, but I'll try. This is one of those &quot;I REALLY LOVED IT AND CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE NEXT BOOK&quot; type of book.

    Alright, so I am going to switch this up a little and get the con(s) part of this book out of the way first, and than I'll proceed to the pros. I only had two complaints, or rather two things that bothered me about this book:

    One would be Christian. Seeing that he is part of Clara's vision, I kind of was expecting to get to know him a little bit more. But Clara spent most of her time with either Angela, Tucker, or her mom. I felt that Christian despite being one of the main characters in the story, didn't really have those spotlight moments that the main characters get, and at the end I felt like I didn't really know Christian that well as a character. We get to see a lot more of Christian in the second book, but I felt that Cynthia Hand should have also developed Christian's character in the first book, so that the readers had a better understanding of who he is, and what his part in the books are.

    The second thing that was continuosly bothering me throughout the story was Angela. I just couldn't figure out her character, and throughout the entire story I was stuck between trying to decide if Angela could be trusted or not. Seeing that Angela was the offspring of a human and a Black Wing, I kind of thought that Angela would be more of the evil Black Wing type, since her concentration of angel blood came from a Black Wing. However, it was impossible for me to decide because Angela was both sweet, humorous, kind, but at the same time she was also very persistent, and too eager to learn more about angels from Clara's mother. Also in the story it was mentioned that Angela has never met another part angel like herself, and only once saw a real angel. However, Angela was still the most knowledgeable one, and she knew the most about angels. To me that was kind of suspicious, especially since she claimed that she only met a real angel once, and never met another part angle before she met Clara. I am not sure if the author did that on purpose, but I am glad that Angela wasn't evil after all. Did anyone else that's familiar with the story feel that way, or is it just me?

    Moving on to the pros part of this book:

    The pace that the story moved in was just fantastic. Usually, in many of the books that I read the pacing was either too slow, too fast, or both. However, this book was just perfect. Cynthia Hand wrote the story in such a way that it kept the reader hooked from the beginning, and the story was neither fast, nor slow. It was exactly how a story needs to be.

    I loved, loved, loved the story line. I have only read one other angel book and that's Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. Although I liked that book too, Nora kind of annoyed me and the story didn't really interest me as much as this one did. This storyline was very original, and it wasn't just another good angels vs. fallen angels. It was much, much more than that. This book deals with first love, and destiny vs. own choice. Clara really amazed me, she is one of those inspiring characters, and I understood many of the things that she felt, and I was also able to relate to her. And the story is hilarious, it has it's serious moments, but the tone of the story for the most part was light and funny.

    Overall, this is a must read for every paranormal fiction readers, and even for those that don't like to read angle books. Cynthia Hand is a great writer and her books are simply fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    To all from leah

    Hey does anyone wanna cht?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 718 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 36