Customer Reviews for

Unexpected

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great read

## Lori Foster rarely disappoints. With the exception of "Getting Rowdy" (which was horrible), I've enjoyed all her books. I loved the heroine in this book. She was so capable and strong and I love that. The hero was sweet and very patient. They had tremendous chemistry...
## Lori Foster rarely disappoints. With the exception of "Getting Rowdy" (which was horrible), I've enjoyed all her books. I loved the heroine in this book. She was so capable and strong and I love that. The hero was sweet and very patient. They had tremendous chemistry. I also loved that they had so much face to face time so they got to know each other. I did think the hero should've broken things off with his girlfriend first, arrangement or not. He however obviously didn't see it as cheating. And it bugged me that he wasn't more persistant in getting rid of her. Other than that, terrific read.

posted by 9394860 on May 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Story But Beware

I always enjoy Lori Foster's books and characters. What I don't like are books re-released without a disclaimer. Unfortunately, that's the case with this book. Again, good story but not good enough to pay for it twice.

posted by Harsanyg on May 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Good Story But Beware

    I always enjoy Lori Foster's books and characters. What I don't like are books re-released without a disclaimer. Unfortunately, that's the case with this book. Again, good story but not good enough to pay for it twice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Great read

    ## Lori Foster rarely disappoints. With the exception of "Getting Rowdy" (which was horrible), I've enjoyed all her books. I loved the heroine in this book. She was so capable and strong and I love that. The hero was sweet and very patient. They had tremendous chemistry. I also loved that they had so much face to face time so they got to know each other. I did think the hero should've broken things off with his girlfriend first, arrangement or not. He however obviously didn't see it as cheating. And it bugged me that he wasn't more persistant in getting rid of her. Other than that, terrific read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    OMGoodness

    This is one of my favorite print books which finally became an ebook!!!! It stood the test of time.....I highly recommend almost anything by Ms Foster but this one tops my list....she makes the characters on equal footing and I like that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    highly recommended

    love Lori Foster books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Who's Alpha?

    This is a good read, but a bit disappointed in the female alpha. The alpha male could have done this mission on his own, but in the end all was well. Something seemed missing from this book, don't know what, but over all it is worth the money to buy and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Unexpected

    I read a lot of Lori Forrester books and really like her love and suspense books. This one to me is a 5 star. 224 pgs. Of romance and drama. There is also some laugh out loud parts. The story was told with lots of interest. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    WOW! LORI DID IT AGAIN

    Just one more example of why LF is an auto-buy for me and why all of her books go on my to be re-read shelf! Loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay

    This book had an interesting story but the guy fell in love with the girl really quickly. I guess I just like him to struggle with it or have it hit him suddenly instead of "yeah, I guess I do love this person that I just met..." The main girl, Ray, was a pretty cool kat though...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Absolutely Awesome

    This was the first Romance novel I've ever read, and I wasn't dissapointed. This book is an excellent story, I couldn't stop reading!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Another unrealistic, predictable romance...

    After reading 'Saving Brian' and not quite liking it, I gave Foster a second chance as most of the reviews said it did not seem like her typical work. They were wrong! 'Unexpected' had the same eye roll moments, where the main character is so unrealistic, the plot predictable and humor is far and few between. Foster is good at coming up with fresh and original story lines (although unrealistic) and a definite pro at writing sexual scenes. It's your modern day Harlequin romance novel so if that is your thing, this is up your alley. However, if you are into more of the chick lit scene, I suggest Janet Evanovich or Whitney Gaskell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    I wish I could give it a 4.5

    I really enjoyed this book and I'm sure any other reader would too. I had one problem with each person in the book. Ray had a few too many problems for my taste. It seemed like the whole world was against her. Eli was too understanding and Jeremy was too ungrateful for being saved and held his grudge (which was a pointless, throw in excuse) for too long. I may seem harsh, but I really did enjoy the book. I really would like to give it 4.5 stars. Foster hasn't let me down yet and I don't think she will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    I loved this book

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I checked it out, but after I read it I went out and bought it. I WILL read all her stuff. The book was great I read it in a day and half. I couldn't put it down, but I didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    This story delivers

    Eli Conners has requested for the meanest mercenary that the agency has available. He needs help in rescuing his younger brother from a dangerous situation in Central America. The merc he gets literally takes his breath away. Ray Vereker is not your ordinary mercenary, for one thing, she is a woman. Her looks and delicate features are deceiving. Ray has sharp skills and knowledge to take on any man or woman. Ray can handle any situation but she didn¿t plan on this amazing attraction to Eli. Eli makes her feel and see things that she has never let into her life before and it scares her more then any mission. Eli realizes a woman like Ray comes along once in a lifetime. He really has his work cut out for him trying to convince her that they have what it takes to make it as a couple. Add to that mix, now there is a baby on the way, which really makes their situation more interesting. Lori Foster has another hit on her hands. This story has such depth and passion. It sizzles and will make you laugh out loud. This book is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    A wonderful surprise

    Ray Vereker did NOT want to go back into Central America but she needed the money for her brother's college fund and this job should be a piece of cake. Besides, the guy had asked for the meanest and best that the agency had, and she was it. Not that he would believe that. She always ended up having to prove to them that she was more than capable of doing her job and she was kind of looking forward to doing that tonight. Eli Conners first thought is that there is no way the woman claiming to be his hired mercenary can help him get his little brother out of Central America. However, after seeing her in action he is forced to admit that she knows her stuff and he would like to know her better. He is determined that once that get back to the states he is going to make her his and she is just as determined that they will never see each other again. Neither expects the 'unexpected'. I really had my doubts about a female mercenary as a romance heroine but this was truly a delightful book. Ray is just tough enough to hold her own in ANY situation and I could just see the look on Eli's face during some of these scenes. It is fast paced, sweet, sexy and in some places, absolutely laugh-out-loud-and-hope-nobody-is-looking funny. Go ahead, give it try. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent characterizations

    In a Chicago dive, Eli Conners awaits the arrival of the meanest SOB that a firm he contacted for special help employed. Into the bar walks a beautiful woman, who joins him. The company sent Ray ¿don¿t call me Jean¿ Vereker, who confidently informs Eli that she is the best and baddest. She will go to Central America to retrieve his kidnapped brother, as she already knows where he is held.<P> After seeing her ¿perform¿ and reading her resume and accolades, Eli hires her, but insists he accompany her when she goes to free nineteen year old Jeremy held in Mataya. As they trek through the jungle, they fall in love, steaming up the already heated environment. However, he is an upper crust business mogul while she is a lower class mercenary making a permanent relationship seems impossible.<P> Though readers will find it difficult that behind the desk even diligently working out Eli can keep pace with a pro like ¿bad girl¿ Ray in a deadly jungle scenario. Still the story line is hotter than the locale as the lead duo find love is an UNEXPECTED place, time and person. Lori Foster provides her usual strong suspense thriller with a gender bending twist on her bad boy tales.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Scintillating fall read! Very highly recommended

    Eli Conners breaks all her rules in accepting her latest assignment. Leaving behind her hammer and tool belt, Eli picks up her weapon to find Ray Vereker's missing brother. While she acquiesces to Ray's demand to take him along, Eli remains determinedly in charge of this rescue mission. For years Eli has been a successful mercenary, yet this assignment somehow feel much different than all the rest, threatening to spiral out of her control as she discovers an unexpected attraction to her employer. Even as he tries to grow closer to her, Eli remains an enigma for Ray. He knows her abilities, her experience and her success, but he does not have names or dates. She does not look cutthroat enough, powerful enough, or hardened enough to pull of this assignment. Indeed, Ray finds it hard to believe that Eli is a mercenary until he sees her in action. But his desperation to get his brother out of Central America and her insider's knowledge mean that he must risk everything on this unexpected woman, even it means his heart. Author Lori Foster's ability to pen sultry, titillating romance is not exactly UNEXPTECTED, and fans will be delighted that she once again delivers in spades. Eli's combination of fierce warrior strength and carefully concealed femininity results in a dazzling character. Likewise, Ray's determination to get closer to her despite her reserve resoles in unexpected challenge and pleasure. Indeed, Eli and Ray prove why Foster has become one of the hottest authors in the business. UNEXPECTED comes very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Unexpected

    UNEXPECTED is what Ray Vereker is when Eli Connor meets her for the first time. Thinking that he was hiring a tough, jawbreaking man, he finds him looking at the most attractive woman he has seen. UNEXPECTED is what Eli is to Ray. He totally doesn't get that he is supposed to be repelled by Ray. Instead all he seems to be interested in, aside from rescuing his brother Jeremy, is in establishing relationship that Ray does not want. UNEXPECTED is fun and exciting as Lori Foster puts a different spin on the mercenary for hire storyline with the heroine who makes people cringe in terror. I can't recommend this book enough. Get it before it is UNEXPECTEDLY off the shelves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2