Customer Reviews for

Unexpected Interruptions

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

be careful what you pray for you just might get it

Trice walks you through victoria's business and personal life, at times you feel that victoria is a person that could be pushed over until she allows parker & Ted to take her emotion to places she did not want to go , you began to know that victoria does have a backbone...
Trice walks you through victoria's business and personal life, at times you feel that victoria is a person that could be pushed over until she allows parker & Ted to take her emotion to places she did not want to go , you began to know that victoria does have a backbone she is not a spineless lady just DON'T push her buttons you will laugh and understand why as a women we get oursleves into so much man drama.

posted by Anonymous on August 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

31/2

Ohmyfreakingosh!! I wish they both had left Victoria dumb confusing ass. She was too old to be so damn confused. Also the author spent too much time on wrong relationship. I'm too afraid to read the sequel because I'm sure the author continued this wrong focus. UGH!

Th...
Ohmyfreakingosh!! I wish they both had left Victoria dumb confusing ass. She was too old to be so damn confused. Also the author spent too much time on wrong relationship. I'm too afraid to read the sequel because I'm sure the author continued this wrong focus. UGH!

The supporting characters, the good & bad ones, were great.

It's not a bad book, it's just that I'm waiting on authors to create a smart IR book with the black woman being an adult and not a 33 year old confused girl and not a whore trying to get her freak on. (VICTORIA WAS DEFINITELY NOT A WHORE IN THIS BOOK?)

The book is 283 pages once you take away the plubishing, aknowledgements, and etc.

Jakai

posted by 8306561 on July 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    31/2

    Ohmyfreakingosh!! I wish they both had left Victoria dumb confusing ass. She was too old to be so damn confused. Also the author spent too much time on wrong relationship. I'm too afraid to read the sequel because I'm sure the author continued this wrong focus. UGH!

    The supporting characters, the good & bad ones, were great.

    It's not a bad book, it's just that I'm waiting on authors to create a smart IR book with the black woman being an adult and not a 33 year old confused girl and not a whore trying to get her freak on. (VICTORIA WAS DEFINITELY NOT A WHORE IN THIS BOOK?)

    The book is 283 pages once you take away the plubishing, aknowledgements, and etc.

    Jakai

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Plot!

    Victoria Small took a year off from men in order to have some peace. She was hurt by a man in the past, and has been 'gun-shy' ever since. Feeling like she's back on track, Victoria is finally ready for the perfect mate. And, lucky for her, fate hears her request and presents her with two very different men to choose from.

    Ted is the boss at ViaTech where Victoria works. This telecommunications powerhouse is run by Ted - who not only exudes power and diplomacy, but also has the most beautiful ocean-blue eyes that every woman in the office wants focused on them. One morning, he arrives in Victoria's office to let her know that he is nominating her for the Executive Mentoring Program. He believes that Victoria has the 'chops' to be a huge part of ViaTech's management team. Sadly, Victoria turns him down. She is almost ready to quit her job and work full-time on her event-planning and catering business called Divine Occasions. This is the only thing she's wanted to do, and she's ready to achieve success.

    Now, Ted has never been turned down before - by anyone for anything - and this sparks his interest. Slowly, over time, he begins to open up to Victoria and wants with all his heart to become a bigger part of this amazing woman's life.

    While eating at The Cheesecake Factory - after a horrific workday that is filled with Patricia Clark, a horrible woman who not only wants the nomination to the executive program, but also wants to woo Ted, herself - Victoria stares at a table where a gorgeous man is dining. His ebony skin and stunning smile make Victoria want to leap out of her chair until, of course, a woman sits down beside him. The 'Gorgeous One' is Parker - a surgeon in Atlanta - who will soon become another huge part of Victoria's future.

    From a love triangle that will have readers completely intrigued, to a friendship that speaks volumes about caring and love, each and every scene locks readers to the page. This author has written a stunning story that not only spotlights the love factor, but brings to the forefront issues such as racism and biracial relationships. A well-layered novel. Enjoy!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    be careful what you pray for you just might get it

    Trice walks you through victoria's business and personal life, at times you feel that victoria is a person that could be pushed over until she allows parker & Ted to take her emotion to places she did not want to go , you began to know that victoria does have a backbone she is not a spineless lady just DON'T push her buttons you will laugh and understand why as a women we get oursleves into so much man drama.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected Interruptions

    Oh to be in LOVE.

    A young woman faces the obstacle of prejudice and is torn between right and wrong. Pay back is definitely what is needed. When people treat others impartial because of the color of one's skin, how do you remain focused? How do you do your job to the fullest, and remain focused on the legal side of the game? The average person might not be able to balance the two. Savvy business woman Victoria is capable of getting her job done, making those in the business industry who have wronged her pay her what she is due, and she also has the opportunity to nab two men.

    Here comes the twist. Most of us have been in the position where we have had to choose the man we will decide to make our lives with at one time or another.

    You have seen the ugly head of prejudice raise its head in the business industry, do you want to see prejudice in your everyday life?

    I encourage people of all colors and races to read this book, especially if you are dating or married to someone of another race. I also recommend that if you are truly having difficulties at your place of employment and you feel that race is involved, that you read this novel and gain strength from it.

    When you fall for two men, one of which is of another race, how would you handle it. Keep in mind that they both are very successful and handsome, you must rely on your heart to aid you in making the right decision.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Unexpected delight

    Loved this book and the characters. I am looking forward to the sequel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great

    First read by this author and loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Great

    I really enjoyed this book and was not ready for it to end. Great writing. She was not repetitive as many books are

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Waste of time

    Victoria is flat and indecisive shes stupid. If race was such a freakin issue then dont date the whiteboy. The whole race issue was huge and trumped up but there really wasnt a reason why. Parker the perfect brother was hated on for no real reason. So hes a bit self obsorbed big freakin deal! Now after all that im a black chick with a white guy and i didnt choose him by default unlike victoria. So boo this book its not bad but i could have never read it and not missed a thing in fact i cant remember the name of this book now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    The writing was not bad but the female lead annoyed me. I starte

    The writing was not bad but the female lead annoyed me. I started to wonder if she was capable of making a decision.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend this book to anyone....!

    I really enjoyed this book and hated for it to end. Trice Hickman is a new author to me but I am looking forward to reading more from her. This book could easily become a "series" with a devout fan base. The book was well written and funny with just the right mix of drama and mystery. The book was an easy read and enjoyable for the seasoned or novice reader!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Love Isn't Always Black or White

    Love is so abstract. You must be attracted to the person in some way first, right? Well, Victoria Small has establishing her event planning business as number one thing to do on her list. Even though she has prayed for God to send her a soul mate she isn¿t holding her breath for him to come knocking on her door. In a series of `unexpected interruptions¿ Victoria gets more men in her life than she ever expected. Enter Ted Thornton, a power CEO who has his eye set on Victoria. His loveless marriage, business concerns, and inability to get Victoria to see him as more than her boss can make a man do strange things. Ted manages to get Victoria interested in several major projects at work but can he get her to overlook the fact that he¿s white? Enter Mr. Gorgeous AKA Parker Brightwood, dedicated surgeon and super sexy black man. Parker is a ladies man that works his magic on the most unsuspecting females. Victoria is putty in his hands but will she allow her trust issues to put the kibosh on their relationship? Hickman tackles some difficult issues in this chronicle of love. Be ready to ponder these issues: feelings on interracial dating, the age old debate of light vs dark African Americans, when to leave the corporate world and start your own business, and who do you trust in the workplace. It is refreshing to read a novel that discusses underlying issues with meaning. Hickman is one of the few serious writers that will bring respect back to African American literature. I look forward to reading more from this new up and coming literary star.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Ask and You Shall Receive

    Victoria Small is a beautiful, confident, thirty-something-year-old female on the fast track to success. She's a Senior Director in HR, has her dream home, a loving family and wonderful friends. The icing on the cake would be the love of a good man. After a one-year man hiatus, Victoria is ready to get her feet wet again. One night she lay in bed and said a prayer. 'God, please send me a good man...please send him fast! Amen.' Another night she lay in bed and said a prayer. 'Lord, if it's not too much to ask again, can you send me a good man...and send him fast?' I guess both prayers were heard, literally, because Victoria quickly finds herself with not one, but two men vying for her affection. Candidate number one...Parker Brightwood, aka Mr. Gorgeous, is a surgeon. He's just what Victoria asked for - kind, gentle, handsome, educated and knows how to treat a lady. And then there's candidate number two...Ted Thornton is the very handsome (outrageously so) CEO of a Fortune 500 company. He's just what Victoria asked for - patient, understanding, respectful to others, honest and loves her despite her flaws. Decision, decisions, decisions! What's a girl to do? How do you choose? Did I mention one of the eligible bachelors is white? Does it matter? Well, it may matter a little more than Victoria would like to think. Trice Hickman's debut, 'Unexpected Interruptions,' is entertaining, engaging and enjoyable throughout. This novel not only deals with the drama, pains and joys of love, but also touches on dark underlying issues of race. Trice Hickman is a refreshing new voice and I look forward to reading more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Good read!!

    Just the right mix of love and drama. I'm definately reading the sequel next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    The story kept me entertained. I really enjoyed this book and it was my first time reading from this author :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book now im ready to read the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Good; not great

    The author does a good job at building tension between the triangle, but I felt that something wasn't quite right. I can best describe this feeling as a lack of authenticity of many of the characters. I wont go into too much detail ( no spoliers here) but the decription of some of the characters and the lines they spoke, didnt match. That said, this was an enjoyable read, but I just wanted more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Storyline

    Trice has a very special writing style, takes you right into her books, this book is a definite winner! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book had me hooked from the very being! Think this is one of the best books I've read this summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    OUTSTANDING READ

    GOOD BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Love is a special thing , when the right person is loving you . I rooted for Ted from the beginning . All of us have to face some type of racism with in ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3