Customer Reviews for

Unfinished Business: What the Dead Can Teach Us about Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

James Van Praagh did it again- A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE

I am a big follower of James Van Praagh. He saved my life and has inspired me to become the person I am today. Besides that I think everyone should read this book. If you are a religous person, a skeptic, a non-believer this book is not meant to change you but take asid...
I am a big follower of James Van Praagh. He saved my life and has inspired me to become the person I am today. Besides that I think everyone should read this book. If you are a religous person, a skeptic, a non-believer this book is not meant to change you but take aside those aspects of the book and listen to the message James Van Praagh has writtn. Your opinions and belifes do not need to change but what he has to say will make you look at your life in a different way. If you believe in life after death or just closing your eyes and its blank forever- this will open your eyes into another way of thinking. Keep your mind open, if you do then you will be able to see your life in a whole new light.

posted by akalei831 on May 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

Very good book,willread more of his books.

posted by Rose-MarieNJ on March 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James Van Praagh did it again- A MUST READ FOR EVERYONE

    I am a big follower of James Van Praagh. He saved my life and has inspired me to become the person I am today. Besides that I think everyone should read this book. If you are a religous person, a skeptic, a non-believer this book is not meant to change you but take aside those aspects of the book and listen to the message James Van Praagh has writtn. Your opinions and belifes do not need to change but what he has to say will make you look at your life in a different way. If you believe in life after death or just closing your eyes and its blank forever- this will open your eyes into another way of thinking. Keep your mind open, if you do then you will be able to see your life in a whole new light.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I actually borrowed it from the library before deciding I liked it so much I am going to buy it from Barnes & Noble for myself as well as gifts for some friends of mine. It also spurred my interest in the author's other books which are available online at this site, so I'm going to be buying them as well (no, I don't work for B & N - just am a huge fan!). I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it opens up your mind to the possibilities of what is on the "other side" as well as how that pertains to the here and now. I'm a practicing Catholic and I liked the fact that the author seemed to exude in his writing style, respect of all his reader's religious and/or spiritual backgrounds, rather than condemning any one or stating one was more right than the next one. He provides pointers on how we can all make our lives more peaceful and more fulfilling. To be honest, after expecting the focus to be on dead individuals, I was pleasantly surprised to find that after reading it, that that was not the case and it was much more about how to live a good life in the present, NOW all while keeping God in your life!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Book

    I purchased this book to help me to learn more of the afterlife and or anything new I was curious about.I have to say that I'm glad I did get this as it has helped me personally to deal with the grief I've suffered in my family 2 years ago with many deaths all at one time.This book has allowed me to have more understanding about what it is for us to learn while living to be more at peace for almost anything we deal with here on earth.I highly recommend this book for anyone who is or has suffered a loss of a loved one or anyone or is has a curiosity about the spiritual realm.Very educational.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    Lessons Learned

    In the stories that Van Praagh relates are messages applicable not only to the persons he is reading for, but also to many of us who face the same issues in our own lives. This book goes beyond affirming that life does not end with physical death. It provides advice that we might be privy to if we ourselves could sit down and have an open conversation with those of our relatives who have passed. Not every story will be applicable to every person, but there is a wealth of information there about what is most important in living a positive and creative life. Most near death experiencers come back with the message that what are most important in any life are love and learning. The messages that Van Praagh relates add flesh to the bones of those two words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Great Read

    This book is very informative & gives you a new look on near death & after death experiences- I really enjoyed reading it & I think others will too. I am into all this "new age" stuff, however, this book is far from that- I believe that James has been touched & has a gift to share with others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Favorite. I am on my third reading so I can absorb all the information!

    This books answers your questions about the spirit world, and includes so many stories that help you understand that things happen for a reason. It not only tells you about what happens after loved ones pass, but gives you step-by-step information on how to live a full life so you don't have "unfinished business." It gives you insight as to why we are here and helps ease any fears about the afterlife. James Van Praagh is one of the best spiritual teachers out there today, and I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Good read for those who want to know "Why are we here?"

    This book is a very readable series of experiences giving us a heart-felt look into the spiritual side of others and, ultimately, ourselves. James provides true stories from the "other side" to give us insight to many questions we have all had at one time, such as "Why bad things happen to good people" His excellent book covers areas including "How can you deal with stress?" (p. 126) "What is the easiest way to build self-esteem?" (p. 154) He explains Near-Death Experience (NDE) (p. 176) I have a library of over 200 books but this book ranks among the very best in explaining how we can better live our lives, improve our understanding of our purpose here in the schoolhouse called "life" and how to love and help others and learn how to cope with the challenges "life" brings us. This is a "must read!"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book will get you on the write track.

    Unfinished Buisness is the most pouwerful book on life after death That you can get your hands on. Mr. Van Praagh has a way of getting the point to you so you fully understand. It will give you a insite on how to get your life togather befor you pass to the other side and at the same time tell you of loved ones that have alredy made the gerny are there for you now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    REVIEWING UNFINISHED BUSINESS BY JAMES VAN PRAAGH

    I HAVE READ ALMOST ALL OF JAMES VAN PRAAGH'S BOOKS, EXCEPT POSSIBLY THE FIRST ONE FROM YEARS AGO. I INTEND TO ORDER THIS WEEK ANY OF HIS BOOKS THAT I HAVE MISSED THROUGH THE YEARS. HE IS A VERY INSPIRING MAN, AND HAVE WATCHED HIM ON T.V. MANY TIMES AND HAVE BELIEVED HIM AND HIS READINGS WHOLEHEARTEDLY. I WOULD RECOMMEND HIS BOOKS AND ESPECIALLY THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE TO BE INSPIRED, INFORMATIVE, AND LIFE CHANGING THOUGHTS TO READ IT, AS I DO AT LEAST 2X'S. THANK YOU JAMES, YOU HAVE MADE ME UNDERSTAND ABOUT SO MANY INCIDENTS THAT HAVE OCCURRED IN MY LIKE AS A TESTIMONY OF TRUTH. CANNOT WAIT FOR THE REST OF HIS BEGINNING BOOK OR BOOKS THAT I HAVEN'T READ, AND AM HOPING THAT A NEW BOOK IS IN THE MAKING. AS ALWAYS YOUR FAN, MYSHEA

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Enjoyable and Eye-opening

    Mr. Van Praagh's gift of receiving messages from our departed ones is valuable, and the lessons they come back to share with us are truly helpful and necessary. If you have any hard feelings towards anyone, give this one a gander. Don't leave this world with regrets - learn how by reading Unfinished Business.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    GREAT READ!!!!

    Another AWESOME book from JVP! I recommended it to my mom and now she cannot put it down. She read the book in 2 days and she HATES to read. That right there should explain the intensity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Great Spiritual Reference

    One of my favorites, I keep this book next to my bed. I have highlighted all the important lessons/messages that are so useful in everyday life, and flip through them for a moment of uplifting affirmations. James Van Praagh writes in an easy-to-understand conversational manner. Nothing short of inspiring yet practical information that can/should be applied in everyday living for a happier, healthier spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Great Read!

    This book gave me a lot of "aha" moments and made me open my eyes to how I have been living my life. It has definitely made me more aware of my presence and I strive everyday to be a better person with more love and compassion towards others. This book has also helped with my grieving process after the loss of my best friend to cancer and my grandmother just five months later in 2010. Our physical bodies may expire here in this life, but our spirit will always live on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    One of the best, if not THE best, book James has written.

    My favorite part of James's books is when writes of his past readings and the stories surrounding them. This book has plenty of these, plus, he has integrated them with life's learning lessons. Great job, James!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    Inspiring and Comforting

    Filled with wonderful examples of why we should say and do all we want to with our loved ones now. The stories are touching. The book leaves you with an overall feeling of hope and direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I really love reading about James Van Praagh's insights from the spirit world. A real learning experience about how our actions today in life can affect the after life and vice versa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book By James Van Praagh Yet!

    James Van Praagh is a rather well-known medium who has authored authored several books over the years. Despite some skepticism, which I always have when investigating mediums, Van Praagh¿s book, Unfinished Business, managed to convince that his skills are indeed legitimate. While I still consider several other mediums to be more skilled than he, Unfinished Business is must-read for anyone who is interested in mediumship, but also for anyone who wishes to learn how to live life fully.

    In Unfinished Business, James Van Praagh passes along advice from the deceased on how to live so that, when we die, there¿s nothing keeping us from enjoying the splendors that await us. The book has many sections, helping people work through grief, anxiety, fear, and many of the other common problems that plague the average person. Each section is supported by accounts from various (usually group) sessions that Van Praagh has done of the years.

    During group sessions, Van Praagh will see the spirits of the deceased standing behind their human loved ones. Once he acknowledges them, they will telepathically send him information to relay to the living for confirmation. After the living person is convinced of the connection, Van Praagh relays the spirits advice to him/her. What amazed me was not Van Praagh¿s accuracy (although the examples in the book show him, as you would expect, to be very accurate), but rather it was how consistent the messages from the deceased were with completely unrelated afterlife evidence.

    The deceased would also send messages such as ¿Move on, I¿m fine.¿ or ¿Go out and live your life!¿, just as I have seen with other mediums and with channelers. The deceased, as Van Praagh rightly explains, do not want us to weep for them. They are happy, and they want us to be happy, knowing that we will all be reunited in due course. Van Praagh is also correct in his descriptions of how strong grief, along with other negative emotions, can block the deceased from contacting us and from coming through during medium readings.

    Over all, I was impressed with the consistency of the spirits¿ messages, and with the explanations offered by James van Praagh. I highly recommend Unfinished Business. On the other hand though, his readings are rather expensive and hard-to-come-by, and it is my opinion that less famous mediums can do readings just as well and, in some cases, better than he can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    need to open our minds to the spirit world, and learn

    I think the world of James Van Praagh...He is a good soul to do what he is doing, and we certainly need his peaceful messages at this time in our lives and in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    Just what I needed

    I read this book right after my mother died and it helped me to think outside of the box as far as life after death is concerned. I realized that humans don't know all there is to know in the universe and Mr. Van Praagh helps open your mind to concepts that I hadn't thought of. It has helped in my grieving process. I would recommend this book to anyone who has lost someone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2