Customer Reviews for

The Unfinished Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very good

This book does a good job showing the bitterness of unforgiveness, but through prayer God can change hearts.

posted by Princessladybug on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Tripe!

Written ar third grade level: maudlin and replete with religious sentimentality; couldn't take more than a few chapters i want a refund!!

posted by 14272539 on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Very good

    This book does a good job showing the bitterness of unforgiveness, but through prayer God can change hearts.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    highly recommended

    one of the best books i have read in a long time...hope mr walsh writes more books like this...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading this book! It's a Christmastime story t

    I really enjoyed reading this book! It's a Christmastime story that takes place during World War II.

    Little 7-year-old Patrick only has 2 Christmas wishes. He hopes his dad comes home soon from the war. And he wants that hand-carved wooden soldier that he found one day in his grandfather's dusty attic. He's sure his grandfather doesn't want to keep it, but why won't he let Patrick have it?

    Patrick has had a lot to happen to him recently. His mother just passed away. He was sent to live with his grandfather whom he has barely seen before. His grandfather Ian is a grouchy old man, and only took his grandson because it was a duty. As soon as Ian's son arrives home, Patrick will be off his hands anyhow. It won't be much longer will it?

    Living in the dreary days in his grandfather's house, Patrick finds 2 people whom he likes. One is Mrs. Townsend, the government lady who checks on him from time to time. Also, there's Mrs. Fortini his Italian next-door neighbor. She sure knows how to get Patrick's grandfather moving.

    This is the story of grudges, forgiveness, pain, and loving your family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    About 200 pages

    This well edited book is a little sappy. Since this time of year is a little sappy also, both the book and the season do quite well together. This book is about 200 pages long, it is a family fiction book. It would make a nice Hallmark Christmas movie. It was not a tear jerker for me, but it is a sentimental little story. One reviewer was upset because he/ she thought this story put Catholics in a bad light. I disagree, The grandfather was a lapsed catholic, so bitter, stubborn and mean tempered, he put himself, not his religion, on display as a back slider. My main complaint about this book and many others of the same genre, is they all have one or both parents killed off, leaving the younger family members to fend for themselves, with uncaring adults, under sometimes cruel circumstances. I would like to read a novel, about an intact family overcoming hardship, with their faith and love in God and each other strong, without death being an integral part of the plot. There is some mild violence. Otherwise it is a good, clean story, based on God's love and the inate goodness of mankind. The young boy talks and reacts as a much older child would. I paid almost $7.00 for this book. While, I found it an enjoyable fast read, I wish I had gotten it from the library, as I do not think I will reread it.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly recommended along with the book "The Homecoming"

    Richly and emotionally captivating. Shows the power of the change of heart and forgiveness. Dan Walsh's book "Homecoming" is a must read after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I happened upon this little book while in search of a Christmas

    I happened upon this little book while in search of a Christmas story, and am glad that I did. It tells the story of a little boy during WWII, whose father is a pilot overseas and whose mother is killed in an automobile accident. The local social services department contacts the boys grandfather, who is enstranged from his own son, and asks him to take custody of the boy. This is essentially a book about how personal disappointments can poison relationships within a family and and potentially harm future generations. I would rather not spoil the plotline with a retelling of the story, buat would encourage you to take a chance on this little volume, and its sequel for there is a message that everyone who has ever been a parent can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Like reading a Hallmark movie

    While this book is kind of predictable, it is a very good read. It is very Hallmark-ish. It made me cry. It is a touching Christmas story of love and true forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good read

    A bit predicable, but it was entertaining and had a good message of forgiveness. I would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Very enjoyable...quick read

    A bit predictable Christmas Carol type of book, but very enjoyable...I started its sequel, The Homecoming, soon after I read this. Can't wait to see how these three powerful characters get together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good read of a loving, hurting family in turmoil

    A bit of a tear jerker. A young father, torn between meeting his
    responsiblities to his military career and to his motherless little boy.
    If I had one negative comment about the plot, it would be to say it was a little predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Very good. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Uplifting

    Wow, just the perfect book to read at Christmas. A time of World War 2, loss of a loved one, missing in action and distance of misunderstanding, but the innocense of a child brings love back to all. A great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Happy happy happy

    A wonderful, quick read! Very satisfying story that will touch your heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    A plesant story

    Was a good read for the holidays. Ptedictable, but was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    The Unfinished Gift

    Great book to read. I would recommend it to anyone. I cannot wait to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartwarming!

    Dan Walsh's debut novel was impressively written for a first book. The story reminded me of one I'd read several years ago by Tracie Peterson that took place during WWI. It was titled Silent Star. That story also made me tear up toward the end. I really enjoyed this book and the author's characterization of Patrick and his grandfather even though I'm not a big fan of Christmas stories. The WWII setting, including the role of the social worker and the police in the story, felt genuine to me. While reading my mind was firmly set in the 1940s and stayed there for the entire book. That was very well done. I also liked how the author showed the reality of the times. There were things done in those days that would never be allowed in the modern era. My how times have changed. And the transformation in the hearts of bitter and confused characters rang true to me. All in all, this was a great book to read in front of the fire over the holidays and would make a great Christmas gift for people who enjoy nostalgic stories set during the Christmas season. *note* It looks like their is a sequel coming out for this book and I am definitely going to read it. I was hoping their would be one and was delighted to see a sequel listed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Lovely Christmas Story with good Christian values

    The story is familiar and so are the characters but it was a comforting read. The setting is World War II and Christmas time. A young boy loses his mother and his father is away in the war. He is sent to live with an unknown grandfather. The grandfather is estranged from the boy's father which sets the stage for the drama. It's not great literature but if you want a sweet story to read for the holidays, this one will satisy that need.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nostalgic page-turner

    Set in 1943, The Unfinished Gift is an engaging story of broken relationships and sorrow. Patrick is the age when a child still forgives easily and responds to love without reserve. While Walsh portrays that side, we also see Patrick as a little boy moved by a child's whims.

    Patrick's grandfather is a bitter man who has cut off his son and his family. When Patrick arrives on his doorstep, he has no idea what to do with him. The child's very presence brings to the surface long-buried pain.

    The social worker assigned to Patrick's case has fallen in love with the little boy. I don't like to give much of the story away in reviews but allow the reader to experience what I have as the story unfolds. Suffice it to say, Walsh resisted romantic clichés.

    What he did do is make me cry and rob me of a good night's sleep. I couldn't put the book down. The Unfinished Gift is a satisfying, nostalgic read, one of forgiveness and restoration, of hope and faith. An exquisite debut novel. Novel Journey/Reviews gives it 4½ stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2