Customer Reviews for

An Unfinished Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've ever read

    I usually pass books on that I've read to a thrift shop, but think I will keep this one on my bookshelf just in case I want to read it a second time. Einar and Mitch and Griff were instantly admirable and believable and the story was a little bit of everything from sad to funny to suspenseful. Each person was so well described that I could picture them in my mind as I read and didn't want the story to end because I don't know when I will find another story that I've enjoyed so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this novel, if you want a broken woman who needed something in her life and a man who needed healing then this is the book for you. I has almost everything you could have always wanted sex, violence, true love (not in a relationship kind of way), and family. I would strongly recommend this book for everyone who enjoys a good laugh and cry (I loved the movie also)... Pick up this book and read it you will fall in love with it as much as I have,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Five Stars is not enough!!!

    Mark Spragg's An Unfinished Life is an absolute treasure! Without a doubt one of the best novels of recent years. Exquisite! Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Bearclan Training Hollow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    DERP

    DERP DERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERPDERP IT IS A GOOD BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Beautiful Writing!

    Wow. Mark Spragg manages to do more with a sentence than most writers do with a chapter. The spare, beautiful language reminds me very much of Kent Haruf, who is evidently a friend of Spragg's. He creates characters that you care about and root for.

    Several times, I would stop reading to make sure that I took time to savor what I just read.

    I think that the best Spragg book that I've read is "Where Rivers Change Directiions," but this one comes in second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    An instant favorite

    As a student of literature and fiction writing, to say I read a lot is an understatement. However, I rarely get to immerse myself in a book without seeing it through my rather brutal, analytical lens. Fortunately, Spragg's beautifully rendered narrative just wouldn't have it. The raw humanity of each character and the compassion with which their stories are unfolded is stunning, and there is much to be learned from the tenderness and forgiveness, the open-hearted approach to life's most wounded, and the blessing of lasting love and friendship that Spragg mines to bring this story to the page. I can't say nearly enough of this generous novel, or share it with as many people as ought to experience it. I've already added Spragg's other work to my shelf. I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    A Classic Book

    Mark Spragg's books should be bound in leather. They are classics. An Unfinished Life about ordinary people in Montana is lyrical, insightful, deep with emotion. I will keep it on my shelf to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Fast read.....But very predictable !!!!

    This book had no surprises. I could 'see' where the book was going at every turn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Perfect (really!)

    This is one of the most perfectly constructed, lovingly rendered novels I have ever read. Each character is portrayed with equal depth and we are able to see the humanity in each of them. I am an avid reader and, although I read many good books, the journey I took with this patchwork family was one of the best I've ever taken. Each character is rawly real and develops through the book. This is one of those books where the characters live on in your head long after the last page. The really great thing is that the author is able to zero in on the pain and the joy that each of us feels, until we are led to ah-ha moments, and this book is full of them. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    KEPT MY ATTENTION...

    I like this book. It has it all, friendship, romance, family, and conflict. My only critisism was that it ended too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    The Best Book of 2005

    I read a lot of books and this is the only one so far this year to knock me off my feet. The characters were real individuals with very authentic scenarios. I felt like I was a part of their lives and wanted the story to continue long after I finished the book. I generally rent all my books from the library but would consider purchasing this book to add to my collection. A great read for any book lover out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A 5 hanky reading experience

    Ten years have passed since Griffin Gilkyson died in an accident at the age of twenty-one. His ¿An unfinished life', as etched on his gravestone, has impacted everyone who loved him. His wife Jean has leaped in and out of the beds of four abusive males since she lost her spouse. His daughter Griff never knew him as she is only nine and a half. His father Einar blames his daughter-in-law for Griffin¿s death, has never met his granddaughter, and wants to die but not before Jean is dead. Finally his best friend, Korean War buddy Mitch would not have been nearly killed by a bear......................... Living in a trailer with a nasty SOB, Jean worries about Griff and decides she needs to regain control of her life. Her only hope is for her and her daughter to buy time at Einar¿s home in Ishawooa, Wyoming though she knows her in-law detests her. She believes it is time for Griff and Einar to meet and for everyone to move on though keep the fond memories of the beloved link that ties all of them together. However, can Einar forgive even though he desperately wants to hug his granddaughter, Griffin¿s only meaningful memory?............................ Though this intriguing family drama is a five tissue box tearjerker that plays on the readers¿ emotions, Mark Spragg does it so well that fans will call him a virtuoso. The story line is obviously character driven with the quartet containing different personalities. There is a suspense laden twist adds tension which takes away from the real action of four people trying to exist together without relating.................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2