Customer Reviews for

Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This book earned a special place on my bookshelf.

I found it far more interesting than even The Histories of Middle-Earth. My copy is severely earmarked with stories of Queen Beruthiel's cats, how Grima Wormtogue was drawn to the dark side, where Gandalf was journeying just before Third Age 3018, the Ringwraith's fear...
I found it far more interesting than even The Histories of Middle-Earth. My copy is severely earmarked with stories of Queen Beruthiel's cats, how Grima Wormtogue was drawn to the dark side, where Gandalf was journeying just before Third Age 3018, the Ringwraith's fear of water, and the rest of the five wizards. My friends have finally bought copies of their own so I can see it more often! Christopher Tolkien put together an amazing set of backstories and the footnotes are worth reading. One last note: 'Narn i hin Hurin' is well-written, but very tragic. Be prepared!

posted by Anonymous on January 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book.... Tough Read

I liked this book alot but found it tough to read mostly because of the small lettering. Also it was kind of hard to remember all the characters because the hundreds that there were.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2004

    This book earned a special place on my bookshelf.

    I found it far more interesting than even The Histories of Middle-Earth. My copy is severely earmarked with stories of Queen Beruthiel's cats, how Grima Wormtogue was drawn to the dark side, where Gandalf was journeying just before Third Age 3018, the Ringwraith's fear of water, and the rest of the five wizards. My friends have finally bought copies of their own so I can see it more often! Christopher Tolkien put together an amazing set of backstories and the footnotes are worth reading. One last note: 'Narn i hin Hurin' is well-written, but very tragic. Be prepared!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Vintage Tolkien!

    I found this book really engrossing.I loved Tuor in the first story,and my heart bleeds for Turin in the second.My,my,how much he suffers!He really didn't deserve it.It was the story which touched me the most.Overall,UT displays the same magnificence and grandeur of the Silmarillion,so those who enjoyed the Silm should definitely not miss this one.Tolkien has written it in such a way that one wants to believe it to be REAL mythology and lore.I love middle-earth!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Love it!

    I am a huge fan of tolkein and I enjoy every one of his works. Unfinished tales is an essential reading for any reader of tolkein. This is more of a background book that gives you some extra details about middle earth you won't find anywhere else. However before reading this book I highly reccomend first you read the lord of the rings trilogy, the hobbit, the silmarillion and the children of hurin. All tolkein books. Although this might take a while to read, its worth it. It will give you a greater appreciation and understanding of this book. Enjoy!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    unfinished tales was geat!

    unfinished tales has become my favorive book with the exception of The Lord of the Rings series. The tale i liked most in the whole book was The Tale of the Children of Hurin i liked it because i enjoyed the personality of turin and J.R.R. tolkien gave such a good discription of turin i could imagon him right down to the color of his eyes. Now if you can imagon a character in a book that good you know it is a great book. I admire J.R.R. Tolkien for the things he made like the atlas of middle earth, you truly wouldent imagon that some one would creat an atlas of shear pleasure of his readers, right. Anyway Unfinished Tales is truly a graet book and i hope you decide to take my advice and read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK

    It's important that anyone who has not (or could not) read the Silmarillion not read 'Unfinished Tales'. This collection of many stories is really interesting, but at times disappointing. Right when the story of Tuor gets good, it goes missing. It's a great book, but it's not for everyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unfinished Tales Review

    For the die-hard Tolkein fan, this book helps fill in a few details between the Silmarilian, Hobbit & LoTR trilogy. I definitely prefer the flow of this book compared to the other "info" collections, because there's still a substantial amount of actual "story" material. The footnotes are located at the end of each chapter, rather than interwoven within the original text.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Oh my gosh, this is a very interesting book. I am really happy to have read this book because it has given me a lot of information that I did not know beforehand. I understand a lot more. It also has some nice stories that do not relate to the Lord of the Rings but I have enjoyed reading this book. I reccomend this to Lord of the Rings fans who take this stuff seriously...like me. However, I do warn that it is a little bit hard to read. Still, enjoy it if you decide to read it. :):)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Another amazing piece by Tolkien

    Another masterpiece comes alive in the book of 'Unfinished Tales.' I read the Silmarillion before I read this, and 'Unfinished Tales' continues to go deeper and deeper into the heart of middle-earth. It is excetionaly hard to read but it is definitely worth it. It pickes up on a lot of the loose ends of the Silmarillion, and goes deeper into the lives of certain characters. It explains more of the fall of Numenor, and it also tells more of the istari and the palantiri. If you have the time and patience, this is a wonderful book and i would definitely recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2005

    Great Book.... Tough Read

    I liked this book alot but found it tough to read mostly because of the small lettering. Also it was kind of hard to remember all the characters because the hundreds that there were.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Amazing

    Tolkien is an amazing writer. I enjoyed reading his books, especially The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, and the Silmarillion. If you are a Tolkien fan, then, you should read this at least once. Even though it does not flow and hold your interest like The Hobbit or The Lord of the Rings, it still is a good read. This book is a collection of short stories as well as some of Tolkien¿s notes from the Battle of Unnumbered Tears until the destruction of the Ring. True this book is not like his previous novels, but you will certainly love it. You will want to read it more than once.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    This this the best book

    I read this and found out a hole lot of info on men, elfs, Wizards, and Drawfs, but no one hobbits:-( but if you love Lord of the Rings this is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Was Awesome, though I was skeptical

    I love Tolkien's works, but I was afraid to read it at first because the books by Tolkien edited by Christopher are usually very dull and boring. Which is really disappointing because I am a true Tolkien fan. But when I read it, I was amazed, I loved all the stories and this book is my favorite with the exception of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2003

    Amazing

    This is a great book. There are some stories in here that are expanded on from the Silmarillion and some new ones that I have never heard! You should really enjoy this book if you like other Tolkien books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Good book though i was skeptical

    As with what I've seen from most of the edited works of jrr tolkien by christopher, i expected this to be very dull and hard to read. Though it does have its dull moments, they are few and far between. It goes into great detail of the stories that the Silmarillion briefly touched on. I purchased a slightly older printing of the same book, but it is definitely a must have for anyone who truly enjoys the works of tolkien.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    Awesome!

    This book helped me understand Middle Earth. This book gives you the behind the scenes look of the greatest epic ever written! Also a very useful index is in the back. The text is small but who cares, if you can't handle it J.K. would gladly sell you one of her 4th grade books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    If you liked the Silmarillien, you'll love Unfinished Tales!

    It's great! It gives you a lot more history of Middle Earth. It tells more about Beren and Luthien, Turin Turambar, and about the creation of Middle Earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    A great book

    if you liked lord of the rings you will love this. The font is a little small but the content makes up for it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent book

    Very fast shipping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Great follow-up on LotRs

    enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3