Customer Reviews for

Ungifted

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A unique and comical story about finding ones place

Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donova...
Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a school for the gifted and talented students.
It is the perfect hide out, where no one would think to look for him, but he is completely out of his element, surrounded by peers who’s IQ are off the charts. He tries to fake his way to acceptance, but soon everyone is on to him. Donovan is not gifted at all, he’s normal. But despite his rather normal IQ, Donovan offers the students at the Academy of Scholastic Distinction something they can’t learn at school, and exactly what they need.
Written in short chapters, each from the view of several different characters, Korman creates a great storyline decorated with unique characters. Ungifted is as much about growing up and trying to fit in as it is about friendship in the most unlikely circumstances. As the author of over 70 novels, Korman does not disappoint.

posted by mrsvaljones on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

This book was very humorous and, overall, excellent. It begins when troublemaker Donovan Curtis "accidentally" sends part of a huge statue rolling into the gymnasium in Hardcastle. The superintendent absently records Donovan's name on a piece of paper... without realizi...
This book was very humorous and, overall, excellent. It begins when troublemaker Donovan Curtis "accidentally" sends part of a huge statue rolling into the gymnasium in Hardcastle. The superintendent absently records Donovan's name on a piece of paper... without realizing that it had been recorded on the list for Gifted and Talented kids at a place called The Academy. Donovan decides this is the perfect way to hide from the superintendent-- after all, if he can't remember Donovan's name, his family won't have to pay for the vast wreckage of the school gym. Donovan meets the Academy kids, who each have their little quirks that set them apart from Hardcastle's students. Laugh-out-loud funny, what with genius Noah's obsession with YouTube and Donovan's struggling attempt to blend in with everyone else. Told from various perspectives, UNGIFTED is sure to delight and pull in its readers.

posted by 10317655 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is awesome

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Hey i love this bookand this iscrazy but heres my novel so read it maybe

    Hey i love

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2014

    160 pages cute, for tweens

    This 160 page book reminded me of the WHIMPY KID SERIES. It is for middle schoolers or tweens, which ever you prefer to call this age group. It is a stand alone book, very well edited, and a lot of fun to read. It cost $1.99, which is one and a third cents per page, so there is entertainment value. There is a lot going on in this book. There is the bad boy, class clown. The reader can watch him grow and evolve into a much more mature and caring individual as the book progresses. This book is poignant and laugh out loud funny at times. I felt so sorry for the patrents when they found out what they were so proud of was created by an accident of fate. Yet it made Donovan a better person. I loved Kate, what she dud for her brother was remarkable. Recommended for readers 10 years old to 14. I am a grand mother and I enjoyed it also. So it is also for those young at heart.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Funny and well-written, but offensive to gifted kids

    Although I will acknowledge that this book is funny and well-written, I am unhappy about the gifted stereotypes it incorporates. I myself am a gifted student, and I have recently begun attending a school that is designed to address the needs of students like me- a school that's nothing like the gifted school that is depicted in Ungifted. My friends and classmates are nothing like the studying obsessed, socially inept kids in this book. The kids at my school are funny, creative, nicer to others than most kids(knock on wood), social, and smart. We have some kids who slack off at times, just like all humans do. We have a very reasonable load of homework. We even have class troublemakers- troublemakers who are very much gifted! We try harder thn most kids in school, and we care deeply about our academic performance, but school is not the only component of our lives: academics are a major part of us, but it's not all that we are. We are pretty awesome, I think: we're kids that you can discuss various ways to wreak vengeance on evil orthodontists with- or contemplate quantum physics with. None of us are like the stereotype gifted kid. I believe that it is wrong that Gordon Kormon is promoting these unfair, unkind stereotypes about gifted kids. Gifted kids deserve respect: they should not be mocked in books like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    By Olivia Salisbury

    Triple Awesome Book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Ungifted

    Super Funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Ok

    This is a pretty good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    ???????????????????????????

    I wonder if it is good it looks good and funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    This book is awesome

    This book is awsome. Foreword i will have a lot of typos so deal with it. It is about a kid named Danovan Curtis and he does this prank. Spoiler ( he hit a statue with a stick and a globe of the earth rolled off it and iit hit the gym doors and damaged the whole gym. Then h gets yeled at and accedently sent to a Accadwmy for insanly smart people. Then the people there dont want Danovan to leave the accademy. But spoiler at the end he does not stay andkatie danovans sister spoiker has a baby. The end. Hope this helped and sprry i have so many typos. Bye.
    See you next time with me Kaysto. Revewing all great books.
    Bye and as allways thanks for reading my revewie
    - Kaysto
    - Kaysto

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is the best. You will laugh and enjoy this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Grear Greaat Book

    Great storyline great everything!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Best book i have ever read! ;)

    This book is truly a masterpiece, a true work of art in words. This is a beautiful story that i call inspiring. Just reading this book is qiute an expirence in itself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Loved it!

    This book was excellent! I wish it was longer... maybe even a second book in the future I hope? Though the book is about a middle school student it can be read by someone who is not. The humor is appropriate which I enjoyed a bunch. Believe it or not, but sometimes I caught myself using the dictionary for some of these HUGE words!! One again, this book was overall excellent and i hope there will be more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Juicy

    Juicy book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    witty and charming

    I purchased this book for my daughter, but I read it for myself. I actually laughed out loud and found myself rooting for the main character. Fabulous story with a great plot. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Umajety@gmail.com

    Add me

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Very enjoyable

    Funny and written beautifuly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Awesome

    My teacher has this book it seems cool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    To:lookatthisposthurry!

    It a really good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great book

    Fun book! Really enjoyed reading it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7