Customer Reviews for

Ungifted

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A unique and comical story about finding ones place

Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donova...
Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a school for the gifted and talented students.
It is the perfect hide out, where no one would think to look for him, but he is completely out of his element, surrounded by peers who’s IQ are off the charts. He tries to fake his way to acceptance, but soon everyone is on to him. Donovan is not gifted at all, he’s normal. But despite his rather normal IQ, Donovan offers the students at the Academy of Scholastic Distinction something they can’t learn at school, and exactly what they need.
Written in short chapters, each from the view of several different characters, Korman creates a great storyline decorated with unique characters. Ungifted is as much about growing up and trying to fit in as it is about friendship in the most unlikely circumstances. As the author of over 70 novels, Korman does not disappoint.

posted by mrsvaljones on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

This book was very humorous and, overall, excellent. It begins when troublemaker Donovan Curtis "accidentally" sends part of a huge statue rolling into the gymnasium in Hardcastle. The superintendent absently records Donovan's name on a piece of paper... without realizi...
This book was very humorous and, overall, excellent. It begins when troublemaker Donovan Curtis "accidentally" sends part of a huge statue rolling into the gymnasium in Hardcastle. The superintendent absently records Donovan's name on a piece of paper... without realizing that it had been recorded on the list for Gifted and Talented kids at a place called The Academy. Donovan decides this is the perfect way to hide from the superintendent-- after all, if he can't remember Donovan's name, his family won't have to pay for the vast wreckage of the school gym. Donovan meets the Academy kids, who each have their little quirks that set them apart from Hardcastle's students. Laugh-out-loud funny, what with genius Noah's obsession with YouTube and Donovan's struggling attempt to blend in with everyone else. Told from various perspectives, UNGIFTED is sure to delight and pull in its readers.

posted by 10317655 on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A unique and comical story about finding ones place

    Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a school for the gifted and talented students.
    It is the perfect hide out, where no one would think to look for him, but he is completely out of his element, surrounded by peers who’s IQ are off the charts. He tries to fake his way to acceptance, but soon everyone is on to him. Donovan is not gifted at all, he’s normal. But despite his rather normal IQ, Donovan offers the students at the Academy of Scholastic Distinction something they can’t learn at school, and exactly what they need.
    Written in short chapters, each from the view of several different characters, Korman creates a great storyline decorated with unique characters. Ungifted is as much about growing up and trying to fit in as it is about friendship in the most unlikely circumstances. As the author of over 70 novels, Korman does not disappoint.

    31 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Love it!!!!!!!

    Couldnt put down. There should be a sequel

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Taylor Swift says

    Great book

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book is creative and good. I highly reccomend it.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is really funny!

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Awesome

    I think that this book is good but i know people say that you should never judge a book by its cover but it is a robot and then it says " Ungifted" and i just think that it will be a good book to read. :)

    12 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I loved it

    I thought that it was a great book and was written by a great author. My favorite part was when he first drove tin man. Overall I think it was a very good book that didn't have many bad parts.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Great read

    This is a fun book and has a lot of emotion. It kept me guessing as to what would happen next.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    highly recommended

    all of our family enjoys this book! it is rarely on the bookshelf.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Cow eating grass

    This book is really goof

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Ungifted

    This book grabbed my attention from the very beginning. It starts off by telling what a terrible disaster this kid did to the school, and accidentally got put in the gifted program (and went to a special school). He begins to bond with the geniuses, all the while hiding from the super-intendent of his old school who put his name on the wrong list. I reccomend this book to anyone in 4th through 8th grade that likes humor and suspense in books. The ending wasn't my favorite... but the rest of the book made me love it. ***Just to let everyone know, each chapter has another person telling the story--that confused me ***

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Book review

    Very good book
    Buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Best book ever!!

    This is a really good book i loved it! Everyone should read it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Whoo!!!

    This book went beyond my expectations! When I read a book that sounds and looks interesting, I get way too excited! If yout not sure with reading this book, I'm telling you to start reading NOW and don't STOP!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Dude click here

    I put 1 star because I havent read this yet but it looks kind of good so could you please tell me if it good or not

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Charming

    Square peg meet round holes and tries to fit in. Average kid forms alliances then friendhips with his genius betters. Who is the smart one? Excellent ending which follows a solid beginning and strong start. Well written and I highly recommend this book be placed in middle schools teacher libraries. It would make a gr.eat book for most character trait book months. Lots of social lessons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Please read books BEFORE you rate them

    Your rating has consequences. When you only give a book one star, it makes it appear less-appealing to reaaders looking for a way to find out how well other readers have enjoyed the book. Your poor rating brings down the overall ranking of the piece. It may turn away people who might have really loved it. It is damaging! BTW, THIS IS A LIGHT , fun, funny book for kids of ALL ages. I definitely recommend it! KD

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Wow

    This is one of the best books ive ever read.you have to read it now.its worth the money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Look At this post hurry!

    I want to say thanks to whoever told me about this book.well if you dont know my story then here goes......i have a posting site and if you have read this book then make a post labeled look at this post hurry.i also have a blog site in the book reviews of the book tunnels.come visit me there.bye.
    Scarlet

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    I have read the Swindle series, nut not this book. From the revews it looks pretty good and fun. I would give it five stars but I have not read the book yet. So I will recomend this... And if you like this, you will probably like
    Swindle
    Framed
    Zoo Break
    Hide Out
    ( they are in order from first to last...)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6