Customer Reviews for

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this book. Terkeurst is a best-selling author

    I really enjoyed this book. Terkeurst is a best-selling author who wrote this Christian self-help book without making it seem like an overtly self-help guide. She is the first to admit her flaws, chief among them is an occasional inability to filter the words that come out of her mouth. We all say things at times, in the heat of anger or frustration, that we later regret. Terkeurst tells many stories, some embarrassing, some painfully raw, that depict how she used her faith to help her keep her emotions in check and make the right choices. It gives simple steps to help improve our lives.
    I really enjoy reading books where the author reveals his or her faults and insecurities. I find it especially refreshing when the author incorporates his or her faith in the steps of improving our lives. For this reason, if you enjoy Terkeurst's book, I suggest you try Anthony Youn's engaging "In Stitches." It is the enormously entertaining, funny, and touching story of a young man who struggled through many insecurities to find his true self, his love, and even God. I highly recommend it.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Helpful

    It's helpful to have someone who is able to write on a subject that is applicable to us all with simple steps to move forward and walk in confidence and faith. Lysa is such a talented writer, I've really enjoyed reading her books and cannot wait to get my hands on this one!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Why did I choose this book? Because I needed some wisdom about s

    Why did I choose this book? Because I needed some wisdom about surviving a chaotic life. And, I wasn't disappointed.

    In Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa Terkeurst, you'll read the authors personal time of coming 'unglued' as well as stories she witnessed. She takes these chaotic times, pulls wisdom from the Bible and offers sound advice on trusting God.

    Lysa Terkeurst writes to her reader in a genuine, conversational style. You will connect with her immediately and discover that we are all imperfect. It's very easy to connect with the struggles she mentions, very easy to identify that we all come unglued from time to time.

    The personal experiences and events were some of the most enjoyable parts of the book. Stories range from funny to heartbreaking and everything in between.

    If you are looking for some sound, biblical advice on dealing with a chaotic time and doing some self examination as a means to manage them, you'll enjoy this book. Use it as your next small group study. It's a great resource for women with hectic lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Incomplete compared to actual book!

    A little disappointed that it was only 155 pages, when the actual book is 192 pages. That's a lot pages missing. Why is this ??? I purchased this one on here so that I'd have a choice to take my Nook to Bible study or the actual book. Glad that I have the book with all the pages, cause will have to use it since the ebook is not complete. Otherwise, I love Lysa's books and would recommend them to everyone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Very down to earth!

    As we all live these crazy busy lives, we so often find ourselves 'reacting' to lifes crazy moments rather than taking a moment to process what just happened and why. That and so many of us do not have good christian friends to help us get through life. I thank the author for her candid portrayal of life and for sharing some of the experiences we all have.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great read

    My bible study group is going through this book right now, and while we haven't finished it yet, I can already say it is a great read. Lysa shares real life experiences that make it feel like you're sitting with a girlfriend, but she also shares biblical truths that open your eyes to the importance.....and possibility.....of controlling emotions when everything around you may be chaotic and stressful. I have enjoyed it very much and would recooment this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Christian Perspective on Dealing with Emotions

    Well worth getting. Be ready to mark all the helpful pithy truths. The author doesn't hesitate to use the funny and not so pretty stories from her life to illustrate the times when she has stuffed her emotions as well as when she has let them explode. Her methods of dealing with them are practical and Biblical.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    A great guide for any woman at any stage of life.

    As always, Lysa shows you that you are not alone in your struggles and presents a light hearted but powerful tool to help you grow both personally and spiritually. An awesome tool to aid in my "imperfect progress."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Great Book! Can't wait for the journal to be released!

    I am not a self-help reader in general but her humor and frank self assessment was a breath of fresh air. I feel I can work on my imperfect self with the guidance of this book :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    This was a definite read for me, feeling often the way she state

    This was a definite read for me, feeling often the way she states she felt! I have definitely already started putting her suggestions to practice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Awesome

    A must buy if your looking to truly work on your emotions and dive deep into spiritual truths related to it. I do both this book and the companion devotional. There's times they repeat themselves but I have no regret buying them both because the concepts are so big and I am fully committed to changing I don't mind rereading it to make sure I'm really learning to the level of daily application.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    So real and easy to read!

    Excellent read for any mom! Thank you for being real with where you are at great practical applications.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great!

    Talks to the everyday trying to get through everyday woman. Lite easy to read and enjoyable. A must try.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    seriously helpful

    I didn't know this type of genre existed but this book has helped me reign in the mom-crazies and try every day to be the type of wife and mother God intended. I'm still a work in progress and this book has helped me work on it every day.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Two thumbs way up

    Flying through this book. Very easy to read. I have already noticed a difference with my reactions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Highly Recommended

    This is an absolute must for all to read. It is so true to every day living and what we all go through on daily times. If we want to be closer to God and do what is true in His eyes, this is a must. You will see yourself in so many issues here it is unreal, but at the end of the book you realize how you can change easily and how blessed we are to be Gods children (no matter your age). I have given this book to my grown daughters to read and enjoy also. I have watched Lisa's webchats about the book which was so truly wonderful. I highly recommend this book, easy reading for sure. ENJOY

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Lysa Terkeurst's Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Ra

    Lysa Terkeurst's Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions, is well-written and presented in an engaging manner. It is a rich theme and an insightful work full of lessons for us as individuals and as a part of society. It reinforces my new perception of this genre after reading The Shades of Fire. Entertaining and enriching books are worth going for.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Informative

    I enjoyed the book. It is important to take your time and work through the
    issues. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    ?.







    Pu


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    great read- Reality Christianity for women trying to do it all.

    I Love the humorous way Lysa relates to each of us, and how every day is a struggle to be the Christian we aspire to be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3