Customer Reviews for

Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect progress by Lysa Terkeu

Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect progress by Lysa Terkeurst is a new pocket sized 60 day devotional book based on the author's original book Unglued. Regardless of whether you read the original book, Unglued, this independent devotional book can be appreciated ...
Unglued Devotional: 60 Days of Imperfect progress by Lysa Terkeurst is a new pocket sized 60 day devotional book based on the author's original book Unglued. Regardless of whether you read the original book, Unglued, this independent devotional book can be appreciated and enjoyed. Over the course of 60 days, the author sets realistic goals and offers practical biblical advice for the modern woman in today's world.


Terkeurst's personal and friendly conversational tone is certain to draw in many readers. To her credit, she acknowledges that women face different circumstances and are in different phases of life. Her audience is broad and includes mothers, wives, grandmothers, and independent career women, students and singles. She also recognizes the variety of experiences women face- ranging from the trivial day to day issues to intense pain and grief. I believe it is important that she recognize the varied life circumstances so as not to alienate a large portion of the female readership.


Nevertheless as the devotional days progress, the reader find that Terkeurst draws heavily on her own personal experience and anecdotes. While this is not a problem of course, this may alienate some readers whose personal or financial lives are less than ideal- as these readers may not be able to relate to her circumstances or stories. The reader finds the author's life is heavily into modern, worldly convenience and commercialism. The backdrop for many of the daily reading and lessons are based on her family anecdotes and personal stories. For example, married upperclass mothers will certainly be able to relate to the holiday shopping at 3am and the embarrassment of having a credit card declined due to a bank error. There will be a host of readers nevertheless who cannot relate. For example, readers who are too impoverished to be able to holiday shop and don't have the luxury of dining out after a hectic day of intense shopping. For them, humiliation comes in the form of ragged clothing, broken down cars, and not being able to buy their children Christmas gifts as the worldly society dictates. She also makes reference to her pastor's wife, Holly, who "loves her fashion" and is heavily into fashion magazines. Personally I feel that is a major flaw to be so into worldly commercialism. A brief glance at any fashion magazine shows hedonistic images of greedy, materialistic women in expensive, luxurious clothing and jewelry. The bible admonishes to build our treasures in heaven and not on earth. To me that is a misplaced priority especially for a pastors wife! What believer has any business in reading spiritually devoid fashion magazines that celebrate every manner and form of greed, explicit sin and pride and wealth.


To the author's credit, she is aware of the fact that many of the issues she faces aren't really hardships and they do not even begin to compare to the hardships and grief that many women in the world face. This gives the author an attitude of thankfulness and appreciation that everyone would do well to emulate. If you can get past the author's references about her carefree, and comfortable personal world view, you will find some meaningful and relevant spiritual lessons. For example, the author shared her dissapointment and anger to find that her special jewelry was suddenly gone from its drawer! Apparently it had been robbed, but rather than react with anger or despair, she purposely refocused to direct her thoughts on everything she had to be thankful for. Such a reaction took faith and dependence on God.

Personally I feel this book is a perfect outreach in order to draw in the modern middleclass- upperclass woman to integrating biblical principles into her day. This book teaches an attitude of thankfulness and appreciation- traits that are often overlooked in modern privileged society. The bible says that it is harder for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven than it is for a camel to crawl through the eye of a needle! Oftentimes, its upperclass privileged society that needs to hear the gospel too as often their financial stability and prosperity erroneously lead them to believe that they do not need God in their lives. In general, I feel this is an empowering book as it addresses the special and unique emotional needs of women. Any reader who meditates on the author's messgaes will find better coping techniques in accordance with biblical teaching.

As a blogger I received this book from Zondervan publishers for the purpose of writing this review,

posted by PJtheEMT4 on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I can't open my devotional...

Please reply...i can't open my devotional. I already paid for it.

posted by 18036524 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Daily Sweet Inspiration In reviewing this book ¿Unglued Devo



    Daily Sweet Inspiration

    In reviewing this book “Unglued Devotional” by author Lysa Terkeurst, it was as if the author knew exactly what I was going through in my walk. This book came to me at the right time, and especially when I needed it the most. This book is a wonderful daily devotional to digest daily as it touches the very heart and soul of the readers. I have read many devotional books, but this book really hits dead on life situation. When you are feeling “unglued”, there is help for those issues. Thank you, author for a devotional that really hits home,   an author who not only read the scriptures; but also applied them to daily living as well. Well done!    I highly recommend this book to those in the ministry, leadership, teachers, families as a whole, and all others. This book is one of those golden nuggets that are too good to let pass by. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I am in a season in my life where I¿m okay admitting I¿m not per

    I am in a season in my life where I’m okay admitting I’m not perfect; far from perfection actually. I’d like to be a better me though, not just for my own sake but for my husband’s, daughters family, friends and whoever else God would have me have an effect on.

    “Unglued: 60 Days of Imperfect Progress” Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst is based on the author's original book "Unglued." and is designed to be read over 60 days. Each daily reading covers a few pages of powerful topics relating to how we become unglued and how to get on the journey to imperfect progress. Though it covers many of the topics as the book, it stands very well on its own and, oif course, as a great companion to the book.


    I began reading the first few pages of the devotional and feeling like someone finally understands. The book itself stands very well on its own.I loved the way the author wrote. She was easy to understand and relate to. The hardest part for me with the book was not reading ahead and rushing through the book. I would finish reading through a really good topic, then see the title of the next one, and want to read it right then and there! The journey for me through the devotional hasn’t been pretty but is well worth the spiritual trek from all of the unglued, barely holding together places. It's amazing what a few pages a day can do.


    I'd recommend this book to all ladies from those who think they have it together to those who know they don't have it together.


    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher for review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    As a huge fan of Lysa TerKeurst, I was excited to read this new

    As a huge fan of Lysa TerKeurst, I was excited to read this new book and I wasn't disappointed. It is a wonderful book.

    This is a 60 day devotional that helps us to take control of our emotions and and not become "unglued" when the stresses of life hit us. Each day starts with a Scripture and then a "Thought for the Day". Lysa then shares a devotional for the day based on Biblical principles. This is followed by a prayer for the day.

    This devotional is a perfect companion piece to her book, "Unglued" (which I also highly recommend) and it will help you to start looking at how you react to life and start living a life for Jesus and really following Him.

    I also really liked the fact that she shares how we can know what kind of "Reaction Type" we are. She has you go through different situations and how you would react so you know what type you are. This helps to figure out how to best handle those situations that can make us come unglued.

    I highly recommend this devotional. Personally, I intend to do it over and over again as the principles in this book are really helpful and I know I'm already thinking differently about how to react to the difficulties of life. It's a great thing to learn how to use our emotions correctly if we're the type who have had a problem of our emotions working against us.

    *This book was provided to me for my honest review by the BookSneeze Program

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    I realize that I have spoken about this book and highly recommen

    I realize that I have spoken about this book and highly recommended it, but with devotionals, I make sure that my first review is more of an overview. But I also like to come back and fully review the book once I have read it all the way through. And this is one certainly deserves great recognition.

    I have not read the book that accompanies this devotional, but this devotional has been a life-changing experience in itself. If anything, it has whetted my appetite to wish to do the Bible study "Unglued."

    Lysa TerKeurst is a completely down-to-earth writer. She tells it like it is even at the risk of making herself look bad. She is not afraid to speak the truth even when you don't want to hear it. She is real about her walk with the Lord, and even though each devotional is only a page or two long, it will encourage and convict you.

    If you are looking for a devotional that can certainly change your life in 60 days, this is it! Trust me, I need to go back and reread this devotional for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I received a complimentary copy of Unglued Devotional by Lysa Te

    I received a complimentary copy of Unglued Devotional by Lysa Terkeurst from Booksneeze. This is an amazing devotional. I had asked if I could review it since my girlfriend was reading another book by the same author and she loved it. As it turns out this devotional is wonderful. It's easy to read and easy to understand. I enjoy reading about other people real life feelings and things that happen to them through out the day and how they find God in what they are doing or what is happening to them.

    As I got into it I actually started reading some of them to my children and they as well really enjoyed them. Some I kept to my self as it is not really a family devotional but more of a woman's devotional, but many of them I could share with my family and they were understood and enjoyed. They are nice and short, so often we don't do devotionals because they take too long, I found these were just the right length. The Bible verse is right on the page so there is no flipping from one book to another.

    Over all this is a wonderful book and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great devotional. The thoughts of the day that are at the beginning or each devotional are great things to think about through out your day or even to go back and look at again. I found that if I couldn't remember what I had read about I would read the thought of the day and it would quickly come back to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    How many times have you picked up a new devotional and felt disa

    How many times have you picked up a new devotional and felt disappointed after the first 2-3 days because the book just felt like another devotional cliche? It is full of devotionals that convey truth, sure, but don't challenge or come across as very relate-able. I had given up on devotional books years ago but, for some reason, decided to give this one a try. What a refreshing change from the dry devotional books I was used to!

    Unglued Devotional is written in such a way that it doesn't feel like the author is preaching to you or talking down to you. I would describe it as reading an encouraging, challenging daily blog post from someone who is going through the same sort of days that you are. She often shares her own experiences and shares how she is working on life, just like the rest of us.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who is DONE with the typical boring devotional book. Each day's reading has a verse from the Bible, a quote and a short (1-2 page) reading from the author. It is easy to get through for those with busy schedules and give you something to think about for the rest of the day.

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze blog review program. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Where do i begin? This is one of the best devotional books i ha


    Where do i begin? This is one of the best devotional books i have ever read.Filled with 60 days of life-changing spiritual filled messages that will touch your soul and help you grow in your walk with God. Lysa TerKeurst hits a home-run here with something just a little bit different in most of your daily devotionals.She goes that extra mile with each and every message. If you wanna be uplifted by a short but sweet message  than you must buy this gem of a book .It is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    This devotional is an excellent refresher to the main points in

    This devotional is an excellent refresher to the main points in Lysa’s previous bestselling book Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions. Or, it can stand alone as wise, practical, Scriptural advice on developing grace-filled responses to situations and people who make you want to, well, come unglued. Each of the 60 days has such a verse, a thought for the day, an explanation, and a prayer. Lysa uses examples from her own life, exposing her own unglued reactions and her remedies to them.The devotional is witty, well-written, and relate-able. It’s one that I keep picking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had not read Unglued, the book that goes along with this devot

    I had not read Unglued, the book that goes along with this devotional, when I started reading the devotional. I'm curious to go back and do so now though, since I enjoyed this devotional so much. Lysa TerKeurst is the type of writer who doesn't hold back from sharing her own struggles and failures, as well as her successes. I think that's what makes her writing so compelling. She's honest about not having it all figured out, and encourages people to just keep trying. All the while, reminding us that God loves us and forgives us and is there to help us get up and go forward.

    Each of the 60 entries in this devotional is very short, and has a Bible verse and thought for the day to go along with it. Even though the entries are short, they're thought-provoking and motivating. Perfect for starting a busy day out right. The book also has a handy appendix with some information on determining your reaction type, so you can improve how you are in relationships with others.

    If you're looking for a new devotional book, definitely take a look at this one. I really enjoyed and appreciated it and I think you will too.

    Disclosure: I received this book to review for myself, thanks to the Booksneeze book review program. All opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lysa Terkeurst in her new book ¿Unglued Devotional¿ published by

    Lysa Terkeurst in her new book “Unglued Devotional” published by Zondervan gives us 60 Days of Imperfect Progress.

    From the back cover: Imperfect progress in 60 days?

    Lysa Terkeurst, like most women, has experiences when others irritate, disappoint, criticize or do other things that bump into her happy. We come emotionally unglued as we stuff, explode or react somewhere in between. Is it really possible to make emotions work for us instead of against us?

    In this companion devotional, Lysa builds on the teaching from the bestselling book “Unglued” to encourage more peace and calm in your relationships. During this 60 day journey you will:

    Live in the grace of making imperfect progress even on those days when your emotions throw you for a loop.
    Be a more positive role model to your family and coworkers as you shift from overreacting to speaking life-giving words.
    Know with confidence how to resolve conflict in your closest relationships

    Including a daily opening Scripture, Thought for the Day, devotion, and closing prayer, this book will help you make progress in how you react to break the cycle of exploding or stuffing your emotions.

    Why do we need a new daily devotional? All of us have emotions. Sometimes our emotions overwhelm us and we become “Unglued”, we fall apart and these emotions take control. We either explode like an atomic bomb or we stuff that same energy inside us and make ourselves sick. We are imperfect people. Lysa Terkeurst is an imperfect person and she provides us 60 daily devotions on how to deal with those emotions that cause us to lose it. “Unglued Devotional” is not a time-consuming read. Each devotional starts with scripture, followed by a Thought for the Day, followed by the devotional and then concluding with a prayer. They are only a page or two in length but they are oh so helpful to properly channel our energies in the right direction. If we use these daily devotionals correctly we will all be the better for it.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I absolutely love Lysa TerKeurst. I only "met" her las

    I absolutely love Lysa TerKeurst. I only "met" her last year while doing Made To Crave with MOMS group. She teaches from the heart and speaks plainly. Lysa TerKeurst feels like the kind of lady that I would openly invite to hang with us for some FPT. When I saw that Booksneeze was offering the Unglued Devotional, I jumped at the chance to read it.








     60 days of imperfect progress. Each day has a thought provoking title, a Bible verse, a Thought for the Day, and the devotional. It's a "journey in learning to positively process raw emotions, such as fear anger, and regret." 




    Lysa TerKeurst does such a great job describing Unglued and what that looks and feels like. You can picture a moment that you have come unglued just as she described it or pretty darn close. Or...maybe that's just me. I needed to read this book right now and have it be the devotional and not the whole book. I would read a day in the morning and another at night and sometimes when I was starting to feel unglued, I'd pick it up in the middle of the day. It seemed to be the right verse or story for the moment that I was living in.




    I'm sad to be at the end of the book. I almost want to give it a permanent place in my purse. Then I think of all the other unread books out there fighting for that coveted spot. Which means that I may need to get a copy for my Kindle. 




    I would recommend this book to any mom out there. I would recommend this book to anyone who deals with children of any age. I would even recommend this book to men who deal with unglued women. She does such a great job helping you see what being unglued is and how to get a handle on it. 




    I love "imperfect progress". It describes perfectly what it's like to work through being unglued to being a better Christian. I don't know that I will ever become a completely glued together person. But I am definitely making imperfect progress. This devotional inspired me to carry a packet of a few of the Bible verses from the book. So that when I start to feel unglued I can pull them out and refocus my energies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst This companion devotional t

    Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst
    This companion devotional to the bestselling book Unglued provides encouragement to help readers handle emotional struggles. Including a daily opening Scripture, Thought for the Day, devotion, and closing prayer, this book helps readers begin a 60-day journey in learning to positively process raw emotions, such as fear, anger, and regret.
    Gosh, I love devotionals, I guess I always have. The one reason why I love this devotional is that I can completely relate to her. Lysa reminds us that life isn’t perfect, and we all deal with emotions, we all come emotional unglued when things get hectic. I would love to get my hands on the book “Unglued” now, maybe I will just add that to my wish list.

    With the devotional, they are short, but packed with a lot of information. Information that we all face with everyday life. You will definitely be glued and want to learn more, and strengthen your relationship with God. I love how she is honest, and really knows how to connect with you.

    There is 5 Main Areas
    1) Having confidence on how to resolve conflict
    2) Peace
    3) What type of Reactor you are
    4) No Regrets
    5) Deep Sense of Calm

    She reminds us that by trusting in Him we can have the peace that our body and soul long for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst Unglued Devotional by Lysa

    Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst
    Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst is a devotional that is a companion to her bestselling book "Unglued." It is a daily devotional for 60 days about struggles that a woman or anyone can have in life. Each chapter starts with a Bible Verse, a Thought for the Day, the devotional by Lysa, and ends with a prayer.

    I only have the Unglued Devotional and I don't feel like I am missing out from not having the companion book. Lysa is very personable and definitely hits home for me as I am juggling many hats at once. (I and my hasband have 4 children, and we both work full-time. Oh and I'm taking online classes so I can get my Masters Degree. How do you spell C-R-A-Z-Y!!) When Lysa talks about losing it with her children, I can definitely relate. Everything that Lysa has described is so true in my life. She talks about self control and being grateful. Things that Satan makes us feel guilty for and things we should be convicted to change. But with each chapter I receive encouragment. I am so grateful to find a book where I can relate and receive spiritual refreshment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1