Customer Reviews for

Unhallowed Ground

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great St. Augustine Ghost Story

Unhallowed Ground takes place in St. Augustine where I live. Everyone here knows the whole town is haunted. As the story unfolded, I found myself more & more drawn into it. The twist at the end was a surprise. Great for romance and sci-fi fans.

posted by Lmpars on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

No way.

I enjoyed the book pretty much up until the end. It was too unbelievable. could never happen and did not really follow the story. the ending came out of no where. And the title really had nothing to do with the story at all except for two pages. I am disappointed in thi...
I enjoyed the book pretty much up until the end. It was too unbelievable. could never happen and did not really follow the story. the ending came out of no where. And the title really had nothing to do with the story at all except for two pages. I am disappointed in this book and her Bone Island Trilogy. it was like she either had a ghost writer, no pun intended, or she needed to fulfill a contract total. I have read everything Heather Graham has written, but these last few leave something to be desired.

posted by JeninBrazil on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    A Great St. Augustine Ghost Story

    Unhallowed Ground takes place in St. Augustine where I live. Everyone here knows the whole town is haunted. As the story unfolded, I found myself more & more drawn into it. The twist at the end was a surprise. Great for romance and sci-fi fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Heather Graham is a wonderfully descriptive mystery writer with a dabble of romance in the mix. I have read several of her pieces and have loved every one of them...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I enjoyed the plot and story line of this book as well as the characters. However, I admittedly find Heather Graham a little difficult to read, whether it is writing style or structure. Overall, this was a great little ghost story set in Florida that managed to combine romance, mystery, as well as history into the main storyline. I would have rated this higher if reading it would have flowed more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    No way.

    I enjoyed the book pretty much up until the end. It was too unbelievable. could never happen and did not really follow the story. the ending came out of no where. And the title really had nothing to do with the story at all except for two pages. I am disappointed in this book and her Bone Island Trilogy. it was like she either had a ghost writer, no pun intended, or she needed to fulfill a contract total. I have read everything Heather Graham has written, but these last few leave something to be desired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Great Read All Around

    (Originally posted http://book-addicts.com/blog/2010/08/review-unhallowed-ground-by-heather-graham/)

    This was one of those books that was extremely difficult for me to put down. It's a story that had so many twists and turns and an ending that left me feeling like I got hit with a two by four. I thought I had the mystery figured out and then WHAM! I got hit upside the head with a surprising twist that had me refusing to put the book down until the story wrapped up into its wonderful conclusion.

    There are two main characters in this book: Caleb Anderson, a private investigator with an interesting ability who was sent to St. Augustine, Florida under assignment to search for a girl who mysteriously disappeared. This leads Caleb to Sarah McKinley's neck of the woods. Sarah is a historian with a cute occupation as a tour guide dressed in period clothing and giving tours to visitors about the gruesome past of St. Augustine Florida before, during and after the Civil War.

    At the beginning of the story, Sarah is on cloud nine after finally purchasing the house of her dreams: a historic mansion with a past just as gruesome, if not more so than other landmarks the township claims to have. In the middle of renovating the mansion, a large cache of bones is found inside one of the walls. Around this time, Caleb is unable to resist the pull he feels towards both Sarah and her house even as he investigates what could potentially be a serial killer case.

    The whirlwind of events that follow has Sarah and Caleb on a wild goose chase that merges the events of the distant past with those of the present. There were many times where I clutched the book in genuine fear of the characters' lives. The characters could have used a little more depth and the story did seem to lag, but over-all this is a great beach-read book. There's a very sweet romance that unfolds between Caleb and Sarah, though I felt Sarah's character was glossed over. Her reactions to the spirit were a bit over-done and sometimes she acted just an insy bit naïve - especially when she was fully aware she was a single female with the threat of a serial killer out on the loose.

    I rate this four out of five stars for Unhallowed Ground as I thought it was a genuinely good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Really good book.

    It was nice not to have a book about vampires. Nice ending straight to the point not over written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UNHALLOWED GROUND is an enjoyable paranormal romance

    In St. Augustine, Florida, Sarah McKinley is excited when she purchases the dilapidated historic mansion that has a history of residents disappearing due to the black magic witch. She plans to renovate and convert the abode into a B and B.

    Construction begins, but the work crew finds the old bones of perhaps a dozen victims some apparently from the War of Northern Aggression concealed inside the walls. At the same time, private investigator Caleb Anderson is working a missing-persons case, Winona Hart who vanished from a party filled with stoned underage youths. He finds some fascinating clues and begins to consider if Sarah's house is tied to his search and begins to look into the history of the house. Caleb's efforts lead him to Sarah, who is in the crosshairs of a killer.

    UNHALLOWED GROUND is an enjoyable paranormal romance starring a courageous lead couple and a killer who may or may not be a ghost. The story line is anchored by the historical references that are interwoven into the search for the missing people; as Caleb feels others besides Winona are somehow tied to the house. Although a key coincidence occurs late, fans will enjoy the romantic and investigative teaming of Sarah with Caleb as they try to learn the secrets of haunted Heritage House.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Amazing

    Graham not only makes her charaters come to life but pulls you along for the ride and keeps you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    A

    Heather Graham never disappoints! This book is great. St. Augustine sounds like a city I have visit. Anyway, she again surprises with a really good twist at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great read

    HEATHER GRAHAM Has done it again, an awesome story
    She makes the book , seem so real! I feel like i'm in the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good story

    A good story but I've read better-----not a sit on the edge of your seat story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommed very good.

    Love reading Heather Graham books they keep you on the end of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Dude

    Thats like the strongest pokemon ever awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Beat this Pokemon rp players

    Level 225 missingno (its a glitch pokemon in red and blue) level 100 mewtwo level 100 shiny darkrai level 250 charizard m' (another glitch look them up on bulbapedia)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Celreys room

    Celreys room. Kitt litter and cat bed pls toys and his crate.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Lucinda

    Growlithe. Use Aerial ace

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Lash

    Strategy not just blind attacks.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    To lucinda

    Steeleon use double metal claw (knocks out growlithe)~Olliver

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Asheley

    Then use the stronger pokemon.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Dena

    *grins* servine dellecatty return! Alright. Garados(lv 92) and Blastoise(lv98) your turn!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6