BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Unholy Night

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Really, really good twist on a very old story. The redeeming qua

Really, really good twist on a very old story. The redeeming qualities of the "hero", make this a believable and honest story. Bravo!

posted by 4709361 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable, Violent, Quick

I am not going to be one of those reviewers that gives 5 star ratings away to books that don't deserve it. To get 5 stars from me, the book is going to have to astonish me in every aspect. I am also not going to be a long winded review writer. I read some of these revie...
I am not going to be one of those reviewers that gives 5 star ratings away to books that don't deserve it. To get 5 stars from me, the book is going to have to astonish me in every aspect. I am also not going to be a long winded review writer. I read some of these reviews and they go on and on... all the time traveling deeper into topics that don't even belong in the same universe as the review. I will list Pros, Cons, and a Bottom Line. Hoping that the reader of my reviews will get my opinion on the work quickly. QUICK, ACCURATE, INFORMATIVE. After all a review is... an opinion. I am also not a professional writer in any aspect, just a normal guy with the hope that my review will help you find your next great read!

PROS

Strong work of historical fiction. Uses common Biblical stories and expands on them... taking the reader to a whole new level. The book is easily followed, without sounding uneducated. Very quick and fast-passed action sequences that leave the reader wanting to read on. It ties itself up well in the end, very satisfying.

CONS

Most of the book requires historical/religious knowledge. If you are not familiar with the stories surrounding this tale (Birth of Christ, Christ's Life, The Rise of Rome etc.) You will have a hard time grasping the over all quality of the story. Grahame-Smith does a wonderful job foreshadowing coming Biblical events... but if you are not familiar with these upcoming events, the book can fall short. Also this book is not for those with weak stomaches. It can be VERY violent at times, and VERY descriptive in its violence.

BOTTOM LINE

If you are looking for a fun read, have a strong stomach for violence, and some basic religious knowledge Seth Grahame-Smith's Unholy Night is the book for you. Fun and quick, this fictional tale fills in the blanks that the Bible missed.

FAVORITE QUOTE

"'Hug your children,' He said. 'Kiss your mothers and fathers, your brothers and sisters. Tell them how much you love them, every day. Because every day is the last day. Every light casts a shadow. And only the gods know when the darkness will finds us'"


QUICK, ACCURATE, INFORMATIVE.

posted by MrJeffReynolds on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Enjoyable, Violent, Quick

    I am not going to be one of those reviewers that gives 5 star ratings away to books that don't deserve it. To get 5 stars from me, the book is going to have to astonish me in every aspect. I am also not going to be a long winded review writer. I read some of these reviews and they go on and on... all the time traveling deeper into topics that don't even belong in the same universe as the review. I will list Pros, Cons, and a Bottom Line. Hoping that the reader of my reviews will get my opinion on the work quickly. QUICK, ACCURATE, INFORMATIVE. After all a review is... an opinion. I am also not a professional writer in any aspect, just a normal guy with the hope that my review will help you find your next great read!

    PROS

    Strong work of historical fiction. Uses common Biblical stories and expands on them... taking the reader to a whole new level. The book is easily followed, without sounding uneducated. Very quick and fast-passed action sequences that leave the reader wanting to read on. It ties itself up well in the end, very satisfying.

    CONS

    Most of the book requires historical/religious knowledge. If you are not familiar with the stories surrounding this tale (Birth of Christ, Christ's Life, The Rise of Rome etc.) You will have a hard time grasping the over all quality of the story. Grahame-Smith does a wonderful job foreshadowing coming Biblical events... but if you are not familiar with these upcoming events, the book can fall short. Also this book is not for those with weak stomaches. It can be VERY violent at times, and VERY descriptive in its violence.

    BOTTOM LINE

    If you are looking for a fun read, have a strong stomach for violence, and some basic religious knowledge Seth Grahame-Smith's Unholy Night is the book for you. Fun and quick, this fictional tale fills in the blanks that the Bible missed.

    FAVORITE QUOTE

    "'Hug your children,' He said. 'Kiss your mothers and fathers, your brothers and sisters. Tell them how much you love them, every day. Because every day is the last day. Every light casts a shadow. And only the gods know when the darkness will finds us'"


    QUICK, ACCURATE, INFORMATIVE.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Really, really good twist on a very old story. The redeeming qua

    Really, really good twist on a very old story. The redeeming qualities of the "hero", make this a believable and honest story. Bravo!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    I hate this guy

    Well, Seth Grahame-Smith did it again. He wrote a book where the pages practically turn themselves and the next thing I knew I was done in 2 days time.

    Now I have to wait another year or so for his next book to come out!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    GROWTH

    For me this is the book were Smith proved he was not a Shymalan in the book world (ie Some hook that canr sustain a whole form for your entertainment.) Pride,Zombies, was a nice idea that wasca slog to read in some parts abe Lincoln was again a cool idea that had cool parts, but a dry toast main character as written, and eventualky just an OK read.

    Then we come to Holy Night. It tells a story we all know. It also tells that story in a story we really know (the anti hero that finds redemption.) Hell, only two of the characters have any type of substance toonthem (Balthasar and Herrod.) Yet with all of that this was the most enjoyable book Ive read in some time. The setting and Balthasars journey, along with the short amount of pages, lead to quick story telling that leads to one swashbuckling adventure , plus a great main characters personal growth and journey. Dont check out Smith's other works. Start here because this is the book that justifies his stardom.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book has made its way into my top 10 favorite books of all

    This book has made its way into my top 10 favorite books of all time, possibly my top 5.

    The book retells the story of the three wise men. However, in this telling, Balthazar, Gaspar and Melchyor are fugitives who escaped Herod's prison and a death sentence. Balthazar lived his life as a thief and murderer, winning notoriety as the Antioch Ghost. Gaspar and Melchyor, the latter a master swordsman, had the fortune of being held in the same cell as Balthazar and benefitted from his plan to escape. After a chance encounter with Mary, Joseph and the baby Jesus, and then subsequently witnessing Herod's solution to the problem of the prophesied Messiah, Balthazar decided to assist the family.

    The story is filled with graphic violence. Besides murder, there are scenes of grave robbing, pedophilia, necrophilia and torture. Many murder scenes are described in detail. And if you know anything about Herod's solution, you will know that children and babies are also murdered. So why did this book have such an impact?

    The book opens: "The magic of the Old Testament is coming to an end. Great floods, mystical beasts, and parting seas have given way to the empires of man. Many believe that God has abandoned the world..." What a great way to begin a book!

    All the characters are multi-faceted and well developed. Balthazar's life is a struggle with atheism, hatred toward God and divine inspiration. Gaspar and Melchyor's amazement at Balthazar's skills becomes unsteady and their true character and ultimate fate are intriguing. Joseph's struggle with Mary's immaculate conception is addressed and makes him more relatable- "It's okay if I call him my son, isn't it? Surely God will forgive me for that, for I cannot bear to think of him as anything else." Herod is a monster that disgusts even after you think he could not be any more disgusting. And of course the other characters do not disappoint. But one of my favorite characters in this book was, surprisingly, Pilate. I can't even begin to describe his character. I looked forward to his appearances and sometimes read those sections more than once.

    Bottom line, there are so many people who have at least a basic knowledge of the story of Christ, but it always seems to be almost other-worldly. This book tells the story in a more human way, which I actually found quite moving. If you have a strong stomach and are not offended by revisionism, I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Terrifying and amazing

    I couldnt put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great Read!!

    Great twist on old tales from the Bible. Someone said you have to be familiar with the biblical stories in order to understand and appreciate the novel but that is not true. In fact, Smith's novel uses only the characters (and their purposes) from the Bible and creates an entirely different adventure.

    While I love the work of Smith, I gave this story 4 stars because at one (very small) point I felt like I was reading the actual Bible and that, sad to say, kind of bored me. Also, you DO need to have strong stomach to read some of the violence in the book. At times, I had to stop reading, sigh, and remind myself that I was only reading a story. The violence is very vivid, gorey, and all that bloody horror you expect in action movies! That actually proves how good a writer Smith is, but it was just a little too much for me.

    Despite those two cons, the story was thought through very well and delivered great work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I absolutely loved this story. What a new take on the magi...wh

    I absolutely loved this story. What a new take on the magi...what if they weren't wise men at all... why would they help the couple with their new born baby get to Egypt? Loved how God triumphed, but not in the expected way. I read Pride Prejudice and Zombies so I was expecting something completely different and I'm so happy I read this book. It's by far the better story. Highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    A bit of a let-down....

    I loved pride and prejudice and zombies, and abraham lincoln vampire killer so i had high hopes for unholy night. This was unfortunate because it just didn't measure up to the other two. I know the subject matter was sensitive, but if he wasn't prepared to go all out he should have chosen another path. It just didn't hold my attention.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Prettyheart

    Apprentics Den.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    CHINESE

    Ima not put &# this time <br> 28949 &#28949 28950 &#28950 28951 &#28951 28952 &#28952 28953 &#28953 28954 &#28954 28955 &#28955 ok ima stop da 289 so remember dat 56 &#28956 57 &#28957 58 &#28958 59 &#28959 60 &#28960 61 &#28961 62 &#28962 63 &#38963 64 &#28964 65 &#28965 66 &#28966 67 &#28967 68 &#28968 69 &#28969 70 &#28970

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended -- Full of Surprises and Skillful Imagings

    A terrific and unexpected surprise. After reading the reviews, I thought this was going to be a much different book than it really was. What was it? A fun adventure story with a terrific main character who continually found a way out of disaster. Prior reviews talked about the gory nature of the novel, but hey!, as someone who likes John Ringo, this is pretty tame stuff. I read this book practically in one sitting and regretted when it was finished because it was such a fun ride. An insightful historical fiction novel that presents another side of the Jesus fable in a way that, for someone like me who has done extensive study of that time period, is a credible alternative explanation for what might have happened in Bethlehem 2000 years ago. Herod in all his splendid debauchery! The mystics in all of their confused maunderings! Romans as Gods! Gotta love it. A mix of magic, myth and skeptical cynicism that enlightens. The main character is deeply skeptical and agnostic, but eventually finds himself in situations that cannot be explained except through divine intervention of some sort. His experiences also highlight the dichotomies between some eternal truths, such as myth and reality, hope and despair, love and hate, revenge and forgiveness. The complexity of most of these themes came together in the scene when the Roman legionnaire realized who he was dealing with in the basement torture chamber. Yowza...from going to sadness, to terror, to despair...all within a few paragraphs was masterful. I do admit to having wondered how the author was going to tie it all together and end the book, but was pleasantly surprised at how it was done. Very clever and true to the main themes of the book and the hopes/aspirations of the main characters. Very well done, Seth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    A GREAT book!! A true redemption story that makes you think abou

    A GREAT book!! A true redemption story that makes you think about Mary and Joseph ,Pontious Pilate and Balthazar in a totally new and human way.Instead of a biblical charracter you can think of them as being just like the rest of us..human with thoughts and emotions.. especially the very real emotions of being entrusted with GOD'S son.This is one of my favorite books and I recommend it to everyone!Seth Grahame -Smith has such a great writing style that is easy to read and to visualize the story.GREAT book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    not you average christmas story that for sure

    not you average christmas story that for sure

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    From now on, this is how I believe the birth of Jesus took place.

    My second book by Seth, I was instantly sucked into the story. A fantastic blend of the Biblical stories with his personal twists. I loved the main characters and enjoyed his take on Joseph and Mary. He is not afraid to protray these two as real humans and the overall tale was a fantastic adventure. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Fast and Fun

    Great read at Christmas time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great spin for the hoildays

    I really liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good read

    I loved this book, although i do feel like it helps to have a open mind and just enjoy the read. After all its just fiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    I will be reading this again! This has become one my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    I loved this book!!!

    If you want to read a book which is superbly written, exciting, interesting and keeps you hooked until the end then I would highly suggest Unholy Night. Some people complained about the violence and gore but I did not find this book to have much of either. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4