Customer Reviews for

Unintentional Virgin

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Nice guys still exist

    Loved the charecters and great story line feel like the last part was just rushed to get to the end still would recomend 183 pages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was giving an ARC of this book for an honest review. A.J. Benn

    I was giving an ARC of this book for an honest review. A.J. Bennett did it again, it's hard to believe this is only her second book. She does a fantastic job pulling you into her characters and keeps you wanting to turn the page.

    I have to start with saying at the start of this book I wanted to smack the crap out of Karma and this is before I even finished the first chapter. She seemed so very spoiled and very self serving maybe even a little narcissistic. But as the book unfolded I could see that it truly was just an outershell covering up some deep seeded issues.

    Karma is a virgin and not by choice and she has had the worse luck when she has attempted to remedy this situation. Actually they are pretty funny and add a comic relief to a serious topic. Once her best friend learned of this she is on a mission to have Karma lose her V card. They set out for a night on the town in hopes of finding that one night stand to take care of her virginity.

    Karma starts having a flirtatious conversation with a bouncer named Jax. Karma is thinking this good be her chance and goes all out. Unfortunately for her the best laid plans often fail. Jax is an amazing guy that I wish still really excited lol actually he is perfect for Karma. He challenges her and has her faces her fears. Also he defends her to Karma's mother who let me tell you is a mean wench.

    As you know I'm not a fan of spoilers so that's about all I will say. What I can tell you is Jax and Karma have their worked cut out for them to get to a HEA. Also close to the end I again wanted to smack Karma but luckily the girl made the right choice. If you are looking for a sweet coming of age read I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    This book for ME was a awesome book. I loved both Karma and Jax.

    This book for ME was a awesome book. I loved both Karma and Jax. This story had me laughing, swooning, and sad at times..

    Jax was a sexy as sin man but also was sweet as ever.. He is one of those rare breeds of men. I don't even have words to explain Jax and how great he was.

    Karma is turning 20 and is unfortunately still a virgin. She has a dad that is gay and mom that is a model. She is a beautiful girl but her mom has really messed her up with a lot of negative comments. Karma having trouble losing her virginity is not something you hear about or even really think about so it makes this book different. Her failed attempts had me giggling along with her friend Eva.

    "I love your hips and the way they fit perfectly in my hands, your nose gives you character, your thighs... Jesus, I can't even think about them without getting a hard-on, and your eyes make my heart race like a schoolboy with his first crush." - Jax

    Karma and Jax have a lot of fun times through this book. Karma realizes a lot during her time with Jax and starts the process of changing things in her life. These two made a great couple. I loved them.

    I read this book in one sitting. The story line flows nicely and there was never a dull moment for me. I loved it and would recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    I was looking for a quick, fun, light and entertaining read. Thi

    I was looking for a quick, fun, light and entertaining read. This book was perfect to fit that bill. Karma is a great female lead. She's got curves, has a fairly healthy home life with her dad(s), a BFF that stands by her side, and a few self esteem issues - basically nearly all 19/20 year old women out there. To top it all off, the universe refuses to let her get laid.
    Then she meets Jax. He really is a great catch...HOT, personable, honorable, bouncer, firefighter, refuses to take advantage - an all around great guy.
    Karma's so close to losing her V card and accidentally lets it slip that he'll be her first. He somehow manages to put the brakes on and STOP completely. He proposes that they take 3 weeks to get to know each other and then he'll comply. Their dates are entertaining and had me crackiing up several times. We got a look at both of their families as an insight into each of their characters. The story was written well, the characters extremely likable and relatable. The situations the characters go through are realistic and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.
    It's a story about self discovery and finding yourself in the world without the heavy weight bearing down. I would highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    I really liked this book. It was really cute. This is the second

    I really liked this book. It was really cute. This is the second book by A.J. Bennett that I have read. The first was Truth or Dare and I really enjoyed that one too. So if you haven’t read that go pick it up today. 




    I really liked the writing of Unintentional Virgin. It flowed nicely and the pace was great. I loved her dads. It was just so cute and I liked that it was different. I have yet to find a book where either parent was gay and had a partner. It was great. 




    At first Karma seemed annoying. She is a very spoiled rich girl. She slowly breaks out of her shell and really comes into herself. I love the idea that by doing things that scare you, you can really find yourself. I personally believe in this myself and was excited to see it in a book. 




    Of course we must talk about the GUY. Jax was fantastic. Throughout the book you think he can’t get any more perfect and then HE DOES! It was wonderful. He was just a really great guy. I love it when a guy pushes the girl the way Jax pushes Karma. 




    I do wish we learned more what Karma is going to do with her life. I was really curious about where this character ended up after watching her grow so much. 




    Karma’s mother is a horrible person! I was a little disappointed that there was some reconciliation that started between them. Mainly because I don’t necessary think it would actually happen. As horrible as her mother is throughout the entire book, I couldn’t believe that Karma would still try that hard to be close to her mother. It makes for a nice story and idea, but it doesn’t seem likely to actually happen (even though I know its fictional). 




    I have had this book on my wish list for a while now. I was really excited to read it. It didn’t start out that great, BUT keep going! It got better the further in you go. It gets better so stick with it if you have doubts in the beginning. If I had read the sample I probably wouldn’t have finished it, but I am really glad that I kept going. It was wonderful. I look forward to seeing where A.J. Bennett takes us next!




    4.5/5

    *****This week I received a copy of Unintentional Virgin by A.J. Bennett for free from Net Galley for my honest opinion****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Unintentional Virgin by A.J. Bennett 5 of 5 Stars Can I have Jax

    Unintentional Virgin by A.J. Bennett
    5 of 5 Stars
    Can I have Jax???? PLEEEEEEASE?!?!? Tattooed fireman who moonlights as a bouncer at an underground club, Jax has a stony exterior that he rarely cracks for anyone. Until Karma struts her curvy self up and flashes her fake ID at him. 
    Karma Points. No middle name. It takes away from the effect of the name. Only a flighty model mother would gift a child with such an odd name. Karma hates her name and the years of grief that she has gotten because of it. Not only did her mother curse her with a horrendous name, she also handed her years of insecurity because she is a bit thicker than a stick, her nose isn't perfect, and her boobs aren't quite big enough. My heart bleeds for this young lady who never knew the unconditional love of a mother and the pain that she has endured throughout her entire life. Fortunately, she has her father and his life partner to shower her with affection to make up for the absence of her mother. Karma has one huge predicament that she aims to remedy..... She is a virgin.
    Back to Jax.... After cracking his shell, Karma intrigues him by admitting that she is solely at the club to experience her first one night stand. She fails to immediately mention that she's a virgin. Oops!! Turns out that Jax is one of the few gentlemen left who honor a lady and her virtue. Striking a bargain, these two uniquely beautiful people set out on a three week journey to get to know each other and, if the attraction remains to the end, rid Karma of her V-card. Steamy, dreamy, hilarious, and sweet are the best words that I can find to describe Unintentional Virgin. The crazy twists and turns along the way to their three week mark drive Karma and Jax closer together and help Karma realize a few important things about herself that she would have never noticed had she not met Jax. 
    Men of this quality are a rarity in today's society. Even the cat ladies would develop a sense of hope while reading this, thanks to Jax. Not only does he push Karma outside of her comfort zone and see a side of herself that she didn't know existed, he embraces the "flaws" that she has hated throughout her life. Karma begins seeing the true beauty in herself that everyone around her has tried showing her for years. Beauty is a fragile thing and is truly in the eye of the beholder. It's too bad that her mother didn't see the same gorgeous young lady that Karma's dads, best friend, and Jax try repeatedly to show her. Mirrors can be deceiving!! I want to see more of these two and learn more of their fate. 
    *A complimentary copy was received in exchange for an honest review.* 
    Meagan, My Secret Book Spot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Unintentional Virgin was such a great book, not only was this bo

    Unintentional Virgin was such a great book, not only was this book hilarious, but it also is about personal acceptance and finding the right person to be with. 




    Karma Points has been cursed with her name and no such luck at losing her virginity. There is always something going wrong whenever she is finally about to lose it, that she now thinks that she is really cursed. She lives with her gay father and his partner, who have always been supportive by trying to be the best fathers possible (and they really are). However, she is determined to lose her virginity once and for all before her twentieth birthday. When her friend, Eva, suggests they go to an underground club, she wasn't expecting to find herself attracted to the bouncer. All she wanted was a one-night stand and she was planning to convince Jax to give her what she wants no strings attached. 




    When Jax saw Karma walked into the club he couldn't take his eyes away from her, so when she is willing to spend the night with him, he couldn't believe his luck. The minute he finds out that Karma just wants a one-night stand to lose her virginity, he makes her a deal: to spend three weeks dating him and then she'll decided if she still wants to have sex with him or not. 




    I really enjoyed reading about the characters, Karma is such an unlucky girl that she is willing to go to the extremes to get what she wants. When she accidentally blurts out that she has a bucket list, (which it's not actually true), Jax is sweet and willing to help her fulfill what's on the list. I laughed when she got the list off the internet without having any idea what was on the list, so you can image what her reaction was when there were things that she wasn't expecting to do. As the two start to spend time together, the more she is feels comfortable around him and soon she starts to develop feelings for him. Jax is really the character that kept me from putting the book away in the middle of the night, he is one of those characters that is supportive and romantic. I liked the fact that he didn't want to take advantage of Karma and her situation, but decided to give her time to really think things through before making her final decision. Overall, the story was great, Bennett did a good job describing the characters and the ending was my favorite part by far. It was hilarious! I highly recommend it. (:




    *ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Karma Points is going to die a virgin. Every time she gets close

    Karma Points is going to die a virgin. Every time she gets close enough to the act, something bad happens. She just can't lose her v-card no matter how hard she's tried. She's blaming it all on her name.

    Karma and her friend Eva go out to a night club with the intent of finding someone to take her v-card. She tells herself all she needs is a one night stand. No names, no worries, done dead. It should be easy.

    Jax is a bouncer at his brother-in-law's club. He does it as a favor and the extra money is nice too. While filling in at the bar for a coworker's break he meets Karma. The sassy girl he let in that asked why the jerks were always so hot and if it would kill him to smile.

    Jax finds out she's only looking for a one night stand. He can help her out with that. They talk and end up back at his place. Once things start to get hot and heavy, Karma tells him she's glad he'll be her first. Jax is hoping she meant one night stand, but finds out she's a virgin. Slamming on the breaks, he tells her he can't do it. Not this way. He offers Karma a deal, and if she can do it, he'll take her v-card. Karma, not wanting to die a virgin, agrees. The next couple of days have her asking herself what she got herself into. This is crazy. Is it worth it?

    This was a great book. It had very little drama. Although sometimes I prefer the drama, this was a nice change. This is the first of A.J.'s books that I've read and I was not disappointed. The title made me curious as to how one could be an Unintentional Virgin, and I found myself crossing my fingers for Karma (and Jax) thru the whole story hoping that she could stick with the deal they made. The girl deserved it in my opinion.

    *I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Meh

    It was ok i guess. Pacing was too fast. I liked eva way better than karma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Great book

    I loved the story and the characters. Very well written. The story grabs your heart and holds on till the very last page. My only complaint is the ending is abrupt I wish the was an epilalog or something

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    I was just randomly searching for a new read when I came across

    I was just randomly searching for a new read when I came across this one, and initially the cover caught my attention but then after reading the blurb I was intrigued and curious to see how the author would write this story. I loved how realistic the plotline was, and could easily see why Karma wanting to lose her virginity that way. As for Jax, I definitely need to meet a guy like him! Well written, the story flowed nicely and I thoroughly enjoyed reading from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Ugg what happened to epilogues????

    Really good story & so real w/ those ackward moments that do happen, but the book just ends (didnt like that)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Karma Points has the worst luck when it comes to relationships.

    Karma Points has the worst luck when it comes to relationships. She has tried every conventional way to losing her virginity so she decides to go to a club and pick up some random guy. Karma and her friend Eva go to this underground club where she meets the bouncer, Jax who is HOT! Jax takes her home and she hopes tonight is the night, but her dreams are dashed once he realizes she is a virgin. Jax cannot believe she would just give it to anyone...so he makes a deal with her. Karma has to spend three weeks dating him and if she still wants him to cash in her V-card he would be happy to oblige.

    This book was so sweet and hot and adorable. There were moments of drama, witty banter, even scary moments that took your breath away. I adored this book and Jax and Karma. They were so cute together. Jax was a sweet, strong, and loyal character that you just want to gobble up every time he was on the page. Karma, bless her heart has been through hell and back with her mother, and accepting so many things about herself. I would most definitely recommend this book and read others from A.J. Bennett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    The story line was a little predictable, but otherwise good. Kar

    The story line was a little predictable, but otherwise good. Karma is a very likeable character, as are her fathers! She really lucks out when she comes across Jax, most guys would not be as nice about her "problem" as he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Sex

    Hump me please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please please

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Cute story

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fun, sweet New Adult romance, Unintentional Virgin was a wonde

    A fun, sweet New Adult romance, Unintentional Virgin was a wonderful read. I really liked this book. It was enjoyable, romantic, and absolutely awesome. Loved it!

    Karma was a good heroine. Her reactions to everything were fun and realistic. I have to admit, her reluctance to go all in was frustrating. I understood why she was hesitant, but it still annoyed me. However, she did grow over the course of the book and became a much stronger character. And, in the end, I really liked her.

    Jax was just amazing. This guy was so sweet and adorable and just perfect. Having been raised by his mother with 5 sisters, he certainly knew to be a gentleman. I loved that about him. And, I loved everything else about him. I thought he was perfect and I adored him.

    The romance was lovely. Karma and Jax were sweet together. I loved how they both fell for each other and, even with Karma's hesitance, their feelings were always clear. There was just a sprinkle of spice in this book, but it was certainly hot. I thought they were a wonderful couple.

    The plot went by quickly and I was kept interested the entire way through. This was a light, fun read that had its serious moments to keep it from being just fluff. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was lovely.

    Unintentional Virgin was a fantastic New Adult read. I really liked this book. It was fun, light, and truly entertaining. Romance lovers, this is a book worth checking out.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    This book had what seemed like not too original of a story line,

    This book had what seemed like not too original of a story line, but I knew I had to read it anyways, and I'm glad I did. Although I was
    fortunate enough to win a copy, and that does not effect my review at all, the book was on my to buy list because it seemed different
    and A.J. Bennett is also a new author to me which I love to try. Bennett took this book on a twist I would have never seen coming. Karma
    was an emotionally abused child by her mother with a father and his partner overcompensating to make up for the mother. They didn't
    overcompensate to the point of spoiling though, just not ever encouraging Karma to go out on her own. Once Jax enters her life that all
    changes, and he pushes her to try new things, even while torturing himself by not having sex with her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    Karma Points is twenty years old, living with her gay dad, as a

    Karma Points is twenty years old, living with her gay dad, as a single virgin. Yes, you heard me right, her name is Karma Points and she's a virgin. She's had plenty of boyfriends, but none that ended up taking her all the way. Now, her and her best friend are hitting the club to find her the perfect hook up. She shares her complete sex life with her dad, and he thinks this is a bad way to lose your virginity, but Karma is so desperate she's willing to try anything…and anyone. 




    This book is quick and to the point, getting Karma to go all the way with a guy. She thinks it's just sex, but will she feel that way after she finally meets a guy to serve her needs? It's a fun erotic book that is sure to keep you entertained, in more ways than one. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Unintentional Virgin by AJ Bennett is fantastic. It is very diff

    Unintentional Virgin by AJ Bennett is fantastic. It is very different from any of the books that I read. The story is very interesting and had my attention right from the beginning.

    Karma Points is nineteen years old and soon to be twenty. She is a virgin and is so ready to give up her Vcard to someone. She has no luck at all when it comes to men and losing her virginity. Her good friend Eva takes her out to a bar one evening and tries to help her. Karma ends up talking to Jax, a handsome young man before the night is over with. He really thinks that she is beautiful and wants to talk to her more and she thinks that he is very good looking. There is some kind of an attraction going on between them the whole time they are talking but they don’t know if it is going to lead anywhere. Will they both get lucky?
     
    This is the beginning of Karma and Jax’s journey together. Jax thought that whatever happens that it is just a one night stand. He didn’t find out until later in the middle of things that Karma is a virgin. He decides right then and there to stop before things got too far. Jax tells Karma that what she is doing is not right and that you don’t lose your virginity on a one night stand. Jax mentions to Karma about spending a couple of weeks going out with him so they can get to know each other better and she agrees to do it. What will happen after the weeks are up? Will they continue to see each other and find out where things will lead? 

    I really enjoyed reading about Karma and Jax. Through out the book I can feel their emotions for each other.

    AJ Bennett has done an awesome job writing this book. I am really looking forward to reading more of her books in the future. Unintentional Virgin is a must read and I definitely recommend my friends to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2