Customer Reviews for

Unintentional Virgin

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    I was looking for a quick, fun, light and entertaining read. Thi

    I was looking for a quick, fun, light and entertaining read. This book was perfect to fit that bill. Karma is a great female lead. She's got curves, has a fairly healthy home life with her dad(s), a BFF that stands by her side, and a few self esteem issues - basically nearly all 19/20 year old women out there. To top it all off, the universe refuses to let her get laid.
    Then she meets Jax. He really is a great catch...HOT, personable, honorable, bouncer, firefighter, refuses to take advantage - an all around great guy.
    Karma's so close to losing her V card and accidentally lets it slip that he'll be her first. He somehow manages to put the brakes on and STOP completely. He proposes that they take 3 weeks to get to know each other and then he'll comply. Their dates are entertaining and had me crackiing up several times. We got a look at both of their families as an insight into each of their characters. The story was written well, the characters extremely likable and relatable. The situations the characters go through are realistic and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.
    It's a story about self discovery and finding yourself in the world without the heavy weight bearing down. I would highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Karma Points is going to die a virgin. Every time she gets close

    Karma Points is going to die a virgin. Every time she gets close enough to the act, something bad happens. She just can't lose her v-card no matter how hard she's tried. She's blaming it all on her name.

    Karma and her friend Eva go out to a night club with the intent of finding someone to take her v-card. She tells herself all she needs is a one night stand. No names, no worries, done dead. It should be easy.

    Jax is a bouncer at his brother-in-law's club. He does it as a favor and the extra money is nice too. While filling in at the bar for a coworker's break he meets Karma. The sassy girl he let in that asked why the jerks were always so hot and if it would kill him to smile.

    Jax finds out she's only looking for a one night stand. He can help her out with that. They talk and end up back at his place. Once things start to get hot and heavy, Karma tells him she's glad he'll be her first. Jax is hoping she meant one night stand, but finds out she's a virgin. Slamming on the breaks, he tells her he can't do it. Not this way. He offers Karma a deal, and if she can do it, he'll take her v-card. Karma, not wanting to die a virgin, agrees. The next couple of days have her asking herself what she got herself into. This is crazy. Is it worth it?

    This was a great book. It had very little drama. Although sometimes I prefer the drama, this was a nice change. This is the first of A.J.'s books that I've read and I was not disappointed. The title made me curious as to how one could be an Unintentional Virgin, and I found myself crossing my fingers for Karma (and Jax) thru the whole story hoping that she could stick with the deal they made. The girl deserved it in my opinion.

    *I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Ugg what happened to epilogues????

    Really good story & so real w/ those ackward moments that do happen, but the book just ends (didnt like that)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Karma Points has the worst luck when it comes to relationships.

    Karma Points has the worst luck when it comes to relationships. She has tried every conventional way to losing her virginity so she decides to go to a club and pick up some random guy. Karma and her friend Eva go to this underground club where she meets the bouncer, Jax who is HOT! Jax takes her home and she hopes tonight is the night, but her dreams are dashed once he realizes she is a virgin. Jax cannot believe she would just give it to anyone...so he makes a deal with her. Karma has to spend three weeks dating him and if she still wants him to cash in her V-card he would be happy to oblige.

    This book was so sweet and hot and adorable. There were moments of drama, witty banter, even scary moments that took your breath away. I adored this book and Jax and Karma. They were so cute together. Jax was a sweet, strong, and loyal character that you just want to gobble up every time he was on the page. Karma, bless her heart has been through hell and back with her mother, and accepting so many things about herself. I would most definitely recommend this book and read others from A.J. Bennett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Cute story

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    This book had what seemed like not too original of a story line,

    This book had what seemed like not too original of a story line, but I knew I had to read it anyways, and I'm glad I did. Although I was
    fortunate enough to win a copy, and that does not effect my review at all, the book was on my to buy list because it seemed different
    and A.J. Bennett is also a new author to me which I love to try. Bennett took this book on a twist I would have never seen coming. Karma
    was an emotionally abused child by her mother with a father and his partner overcompensating to make up for the mother. They didn't
    overcompensate to the point of spoiling though, just not ever encouraging Karma to go out on her own. Once Jax enters her life that all
    changes, and he pushes her to try new things, even while torturing himself by not having sex with her. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A huge thank you to the author for providing me a copy of this b

    A huge thank you to the author for providing me a copy of this book for an honest review.

    Like the title suggests, our main character Karma is an unintentional virgin. Like a hex has been put on her, whenever she got the chance to lose her virginity something happened to ruin it. I’m not talking anything paranormal, just life stuff, things that many of us have experienced growing up. Karma is just turning 20, a bit of a loner and low on self-confidence so it’s not like she’s really given herself the best options so far.

    The story gripped me. It reminded me a bit of a girl I knew in high school who just gave her virginity up so she could get on with life. Luckily it didn’t happen like that to Karma. Karma, for those who are in child bearing age and those coming up to that time, please put some thought into the naming of your child. What you think is cute and a little unusual can make for a hell of a time for your child during the traumatic coming of age years. Anyway, I wasn’t so sure at first if I was going to really like the story because Karma was just a bit to flippant in the whole giving up her V-card that at first I was thinking she was just another careless young adult who thought that nothing in life was precious. Thankfully I was wrong.

    The story between Karma and Jax has its moments of fun, passion, shyness, and freedom. Two young adults who just sparked from the get go but with certain self-imposed restrictions that were a bit trying on them at times. Those three weeks together were intense and they learn from one another what some couples never do. As a couple they do a lot of fun things and also happen on some scary moments that would try any relationship. The author provided their actions with grace and dignity. In the end, Karma was able to take what she learned from Jax and make a huge turning point in her life with another who should have been close to her but wasn’t by a long shot.

    Now, the story wasn’t without its flaws. Being that I received this as a file, I’m unsure if my issues had been cleared up in the formal copy. Not enough commas. I know, usually it’s the opposite but too many times sentences had to be read and reread and reread again until it made sense. Oh, and the sci-fi geek in me is coming out. There’s a point, early in the book where the author makes reference to Karma’s friend making her sit through a whole season of Firefly. For anyone who knows Firefly, there has always been only one season of that show. It was cancelled but has a huge fan following. Another issue I had was the author speaking of Jax “spilling his seed”; this sounds like one of my mom’s Harlequins from about 25-30 years ago. Now, these are simple flaws so that should tell you that all in all, this book is an amazing read.

    I recommend this to anyone who likes a good NA contemporary romance with sexual tensions running high and when the getting gets good you feel like a cold shower is in order. I look forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When i first started reading i wasn't sure i was going to like,

    When i first started reading i wasn't sure i was going to like, let alone finish this book cause i wanted to hit Karma, i didn't like her. But as we get into the book we see another side of Karma also why she seemed a spoiled brat and some deep issues she has.

    Karma is still a virgin at nearly 20 and having some very bad luck losing it, one night her friends decides to help her, once again she seems to be having bad luck until she see's Jax again.

    Jax was amazing, he kept suprising me and was the perfect person to help Karma work on getting over her issues.

    There are a few heart pounding moments, a mean mother,a interesting gay dad and his partner and things to work out between Karma and Jax once there 3 weeks is up. The deflowering scene was very different but it worked really well.

    I recieved this book in exchange for a honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1