Customer Reviews for

Unintimidated: A Governor's Story and a Nation's Challenge

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Great book! I wanted the "inside" story and this was i

Great book! I wanted the "inside" story and this was it. Walker's rationale for Act 10 is solid. I found it hard to argue. I was also shocked by the behavior of the occupiers in our state Capitol. Death threats to the Walker and his family were given in vivid ...
Great book! I wanted the "inside" story and this was it. Walker's rationale for Act 10 is solid. I found it hard to argue. I was also shocked by the behavior of the occupiers in our state Capitol. Death threats to the Walker and his family were given in vivid detail by some. The raw, hateful behavior of too many of the protesters revealed a real dark side that would leave anyone thinking twice about running for office.

posted by 6146707 on December 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

He leaves a lot out of his account of events, such as the massiv

He leaves a lot out of his account of events, such as the massive amount of out of state money that came in to help his recall effort.
He may be the nation’s most divisive and mean-spirited governor. In the book he actually brags about getting laughs from his staff by ...
He leaves a lot out of his account of events, such as the massive amount of out of state money that came in to help his recall effort.
He may be the nation’s most divisive and mean-spirited governor. In the book he actually brags about getting laughs from his staff by telling them this joke:

"Top Ten Ways to tell if you Might be a Member of a public sector union"
10.) You take a week off to protest in Wisconsin and your office runs better.
9.) On a snow day when they say “non-essential” people should stay home you know who they mean.
8.) You get paid twice as much as a private sector person doing the same job but make up the difference by doing half as much work.
7.) It takes longer to fire you than the average killer spends on death row.
6.) The worse you do your job, the more your boss avoids you.
5.) You think the French are working themselves to death.
4.) You know by having a copy of the Holy Koran on your desk your job is 100% safe.
3.) You spend more time at protest marches than at church.
2.) You have a Democratic congressman’s lips permanently attached to your butt.
1.) You pay more in union dues than you do for your healthcare insurance.

posted by J_E_Smith on November 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Great book! I wanted the "inside" story and this was i

    Great book! I wanted the "inside" story and this was it. Walker's rationale for Act 10 is solid. I found it hard to argue. I was also shocked by the behavior of the occupiers in our state Capitol. Death threats to the Walker and his family were given in vivid detail by some. The raw, hateful behavior of too many of the protesters revealed a real dark side that would leave anyone thinking twice about running for office.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    An excellent book. The governor gives the reader an inside  view

    An excellent book. The governor gives the reader an inside  view of what was happening during the protests, his thought process,
     conversations with Democrats and Republicans alike. How the protests effected his family and home life.
     He gives several examples of how the Unions had the people of Wisconsin paying through the nose for services and how ACT 10 helped
    that. He talks about things he wish he would have done different and his history with the union while working in Milwaukee County. 
    It's a good read. Very thorough, well written, answers many questions.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    The book came out today... So I'm guessing the other review is f

    The book came out today... So I'm guessing the other review is from a Walker hater who hasn't even seen the book... Just an FYI. 

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Scott Walker worked through a lot of resistance, to reform Wisco

    Scott Walker worked through a lot of resistance, to reform Wisconsin's financial structural issues. This book gives his unique perspective of how people respond when one actually follows through with their promises. Governors usually don’t make bold and necessary decisions to avoid the backlash, which ultimately leads to inaction and no change. This book shows the personal turmoil he went through

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Very interesting read. A lot of relatively unknown information,

    Very interesting read. A lot of relatively unknown information, including how his wife and sons were threatened by those disagreeing with his policies.  Truly a governor who does not back down to various pressures and threats.  Highly recommend!, no matter your political affiliation.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    best book i've ever read, walker 4 president

    best book i've ever read, walker 4 president

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Walker rocks

    Sad that Walker haters have to spew their crap here
    Not a true reflection of wisconsin values at all
    Sore losers

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    A great read! God Bless Walker!

    A great read! God Bless Walker!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I really liked reading this incredible story of courage and

    I really liked reading this incredible story of courage and standing by your principals to do what is right. Scott Walker is a great example of what needs to be done at all government levels. He took the high road and accomplished what seemed unsurmountable, but, the public unions thugs were always in the gutter. It should be total shame on them (the public union leaders especially) for their behavior, but, only the decent union people would admit to that. I am finding that the only ones critical of his book, did not really read his book, they oppose him politically, and they really do not want to admit to Scott Walker's successes and the truth.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    The truth

    The truth

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Appropriate Title-Unintimidated

    In this day and age it is very refreshing to see someone standing up for common sense and what is right. Sometimes we can't correct things as completely as we would like, but we have to start somewhere. Our founding fathers understood that greed and power unchecked could destroy a nation. They recognized the face of tyranny. They understood that we have been very blessed and had a chance to create something great. But just as easily it can be lost. I wonder if those that always want to get something for nothing and off the backs of those not afraid to work for what they have, understand they will lose in the end and be subservient to a tyrannical society. And in the end all lose, rich and poor alike. This country has its faults, we are not guiltless, but beating in the hearts of many Americans is the want to help those less fortunate. We need to give them a hand up to overcome their circumstances from their fellow Americans, not through a government handout. And if they fail after that (they need to take responsibility) they were at least given the opportunity and it was their choice to throw it away. Governor Scott Walker is a great leader and a great example for us not to be intimidated. We need to fight the good fight.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Great Book!

    This book was a great read, and was very well put together! Gov. Walker lays out the details of what happened in WI during the whole legislation process of Act 10 along with the death threats and recall elections that he and others faced during the first two years of office. It was great to read this book even though I was in college/graduate school in WI during this whole process. Highly recommend this book!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Scott Walker is a realistic intelligent man who cares about the

    Scott Walker is a realistic intelligent man who cares about the state of Wisconsin and does what he says. 
    This book is a road map to financial recovery for a state that was in a downward spiral. 
    This book puts out the facts but has a very positive tone. Great quick read. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Throw a rock into a pack of dogs, and the one that yelps is the

    Throw a rock into a pack of dogs, and the one that yelps is the one that gets hit! You can tell those One-Star reviews are by Walker haters. Rather than reading the book (of course if they went to highly unionized Wisconsin schools, they probably think the pictures aren't big enough and the type is too small) to try to learn something, they just trash the review score. I'd use the word "retarded", but they'd yelp again. It's a great read!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    An amazing book in which Governor Walker gives sound advice that

    An amazing book in which Governor Walker gives sound advice that anybody on either side of the aisle should hear. His takes on politics, while admittedly from a conservative viewpoint, apply for everyone in the country and around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    A Compelling Revelation of Corruption, Waste and Coercion in Government

    Governor Walker makes an excellent depiction of the incredible power struggle in Wisconsin by the teachers unions against himself and those who dared stand and fight. The union thuggery and gross misconduct from the state legislative building to the homes of the legislators and the governor is appalling. A well written and documented history of a major incident in American history and democracy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I'd already considered Scott Walker to be a moral hero. That vie

    I'd already considered Scott Walker to be a moral hero. That view was confirmed by this book. I admire a man of (essentially) true and virtuous principles, sticking up for those principles. The insights into the psychotic mindset of the left is appalling, but valuable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1