Customer Reviews for

Uninvited

Average Rating 3
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

These days, Jordan's got a lot on her mind. Her social phobias are getting the better of her, she thinks she messed things up with a guy she really connected with... and her ex-boyfriend, popular jock Michael, has been appearing at her bedroom window since the night aft...
These days, Jordan's got a lot on her mind. Her social phobias are getting the better of her, she thinks she messed things up with a guy she really connected with... and her ex-boyfriend, popular jock Michael, has been appearing at her bedroom window since the night after his funeral. It seems the rumors that Michael killed himself aren't true -- he was attacked by a vampire, and became one himself. Now he wants Jordan to join him. Every night, he pleads and cajoles and turns on his charm, trying to get her to invite him in, and Jordan's arguments are starting to crumble.

UNINVITED is a tense, scary book that manages to throw in a little humor on the side. Marrone does a superb job of building the suspense about Michael's true intentions and how Jordan will deal with them. Nothing works out quite the way the reader will expect, and Jordan's struggles will have them on the edge of their seats, unable to put the book down. The climax is thrilling and dark, and the ending is hopeful without leaving its heroine unscarred.

It may take readers a little while to warm up to Jordan, whose binge-drinking and pessimistic ways may seem too depressing. But it quickly becomes clear that she has every reason to want to drown out the rest of the world. Her growth as she fights her fears and destructive tendencies is both believable and inspiring. The supporting characters are well-developed as well, from Michael's twisted personality to Jordan's quirky friend, Rachael.

Readers who enjoy books a little out of the ordinary, especially the dark and suspenseful, should run out and grab this one as soon as possible. It takes one of the most familiar creatures of the supernatural genre and manages to tell a story unlike any you've read before.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Unoriginal

Incredibly cliche from start to end. The character's lack any real depth, the storyline is weak, and the ending is predictable. A complete waste of time in my honest opinion.

posted by Anonymous on March 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lynn Crow for TeensReadToo.com

    These days, Jordan's got a lot on her mind. Her social phobias are getting the better of her, she thinks she messed things up with a guy she really connected with... and her ex-boyfriend, popular jock Michael, has been appearing at her bedroom window since the night after his funeral. It seems the rumors that Michael killed himself aren't true -- he was attacked by a vampire, and became one himself. Now he wants Jordan to join him. Every night, he pleads and cajoles and turns on his charm, trying to get her to invite him in, and Jordan's arguments are starting to crumble. <BR/><BR/>UNINVITED is a tense, scary book that manages to throw in a little humor on the side. Marrone does a superb job of building the suspense about Michael's true intentions and how Jordan will deal with them. Nothing works out quite the way the reader will expect, and Jordan's struggles will have them on the edge of their seats, unable to put the book down. The climax is thrilling and dark, and the ending is hopeful without leaving its heroine unscarred. <BR/><BR/>It may take readers a little while to warm up to Jordan, whose binge-drinking and pessimistic ways may seem too depressing. But it quickly becomes clear that she has every reason to want to drown out the rest of the world. Her growth as she fights her fears and destructive tendencies is both believable and inspiring. The supporting characters are well-developed as well, from Michael's twisted personality to Jordan's quirky friend, Rachael. <BR/><BR/>Readers who enjoy books a little out of the ordinary, especially the dark and suspenseful, should run out and grab this one as soon as possible. It takes one of the most familiar creatures of the supernatural genre and manages to tell a story unlike any you've read before.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2008

    Unoriginal

    Incredibly cliche from start to end. The character's lack any real depth, the storyline is weak, and the ending is predictable. A complete waste of time in my honest opinion.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    pretty cool book

    the book was good. just not what i thought it would be. i really thought that jordan would turn. but i guess not the vampire stuff was old school with the drowning in water and turning into a bat but i was a really good book

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Okay

    I wouldn't be able to recommend this since I didn't really like it all that much. I thought I would all through the book which is what kind of has me ticked. You don't really find out how the vampire is until the end of the book so it kind of paints a false picture and then comes a big slap of reality, which I didn't care for. The vampire is a bad guy so if you want something nice and romantic, this isn't it. I find it's more about female empowerment, finding that you have strength to overcome your weaknesses if you try. It deals with drugs and sex and friends who are bad influences. I didn't like what the vampire was made out to be and I won't be reading it again. But it just depends what you like in a book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dracula is back people

    This book was very good to me. It was like Dracula but more modern. I liked how the person tries to fix her life after all the bad things have happened. It took me a day to finish this and over all it was a pretty good decent book. :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Not what I thought it would be

    It was a very good book but it was just not what i thought it would be like, it was just alittle over the top with the vampire stuff, especially if you've read twilight or house of night, it kinda put a damper on the whole thingy for me so yeah. otherwise its a very good book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Cool book

    I loved this book, but don't go into it thinking it's like Twilight or house of night. It's not a romance which I was thinking. Its more like a high school story that also has a vampire in it if that makes sense. But the vampire stuff really picks up at the end and there was a suprise I didn't see comming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lacking

    Let me just say that I read this before seeing the movie. And after finishing the book, I am not planning on watching the movie. The book had a poor writing style and barely contained a plot. It was fairly realistic until the whole "vampire" term came into the book. I thought that Amanda Moore would redefine monsters and come up with something better than a vampire. Honestly, that term popped out of nowhere. I would not recommend it to anyone. If you are a vampire lover then there are more obvious books and series. If you want a book that you can't read at night, then there are definitely better choices.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    I think was pretty good. now great, but OK. I don't understand why so many people felt so disappointed by this story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    well i noticed...

    i like all the books about vampires but yours didnt really stand out too much

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Really Really Bad

    It is the most terrible book i have ever read. It is just a waste of time to read it and the characters sound like teenage drug addicts. Its just... horrific.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    this book is lacking...

    i honestly thought that i was going to really enjoy this book. The cover looked very interesting. and i read one of the reviews.What i thought was 'hmm gonna be good.'What i can tell you about this book is dont waste your time. This book is boring. The end sucked. And as much as i wanted to feel emotinally connected to the main character it couldnt be done. I didnt care what happened to her. This book was a let down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the best

    It sounds good at first until you start reading it. It gets boring but it's good for a long ride in the car when you're bored out of your mind

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good to cure boredom, but not exciting

    This book was written well, but the story was lacking. I read the entire thing in less than 24 hours, so it's a mediocre quick read, but I felt the story needed to be more developed. All in all, it's a fair quick read if you're attempting to chase away boredom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was good but small

    i really like the book, but there wasn't much pages. i kind'a wish there were more like 330 or more. But no it was only a coulpe pages and i finish it like two hours.:( but i have to say the idea was good but if it had a little more pages i would rate it five stars and not three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay story

    I think the book was okay not too good or too bad. The book lacked excitement, I mean after a while it gets monotonous because the main characters life is too stuck to the rutine. The good message that I receive from the book was to find strength in yourself even in times of confusion. Overall it had it's good parts. I wouldn't know whether to recommend this book or not because to my personal opinion it was an okay book and seriously not that unique.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    UNINVITED

    Okay.Lacking a little in depth. All in all its an alright book. Nothing spectacular, yet it is enjoyable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OMG....

    Okay well where shall I began....I think this book had a good plot to it and foundation because its just creepy if your ex-boyfriend comes and sits at your window begging to come in after his funeral (yeah a little creepy there).....but i hated the themes that dominated and took over the story which were elements of drugs, sex, and alcohol....i completely understand its somewhat accurate with today's generation but its truly unnecessary to keep it going throughout the whole book....oh wait im sorry...someone has an epiphany in the end...oh yes Jordan...but im glad she did because she wasn't going down a good path at all...anywho.....also i kinda hated the way it potrayed vampires like in classical mthyical beliefs....but it did contribute to the story you know made it make sense...but it got kind of annoying....the book overall could have had more to the story line and plot in my opinion other than those three little problems in our society today...i just needed more honestly....i'm glad michael got back what he did to everyone in his life...destroyed, humiliated, and simply defeated....and im happy for danny and jordan....they deserve to have each other as jordan is healing from the physical and emotional pain and scars....this book is only good for a quick read and thats it really...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Invite Ms. Marrone Into Your Life!

    You can ignore the other reviews--this is a MUST READ. For those of you who like their vampire romance with a dose of humor and intelligence, this is the book for you. I was riveted from the very first page, and my students are hooked as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Great, quick read!

    Life is not easy for Jordan, and she wonders if it's even worth living anymore. And then her ex-boyfriend shows up and offers her a way out. Will she take it? I read UNINVITED by Amanda Marrone in one sitting! The plot moved quickly and I had no idea which way the story was going to go. That was cool for me b/c I can usually predict. I'd love to read a sequel with Jordan and Danny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13