Customer Reviews for

Uninvited (Uninvited Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

LOVE FIVE STARS

I picked this book up just to read the first page or two so I would know which shelf to put it on (read now or can wait) as I am in the middle of another book. Needless to say I could not and would not put it down! Can not wait until Feb. to read book 2 I will have to p...
I picked this book up just to read the first page or two so I would know which shelf to put it on (read now or can wait) as I am in the middle of another book. Needless to say I could not and would not put it down! Can not wait until Feb. to read book 2 I will have to pick it up on a Friday hoping it will be as good as Uninvited and keep me up all night reading!

posted by 9702778 on August 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book has left me with mixed emotions. In some ways I didn't

This book has left me with mixed emotions. In some ways I didn't really like the main character, but in other ways, I understood her. In other ways I hated that this was about something like a homicidal gene and nothing was really happening in the beginning, but then wh...
This book has left me with mixed emotions. In some ways I didn't really like the main character, but in other ways, I understood her. In other ways I hated that this was about something like a homicidal gene and nothing was really happening in the beginning, but then when the end came I hated the people that were doing these things. Because this was by Sophie Jordan I was expecting to love it, but that's not exactly what I got. And honestly, I know I'm the black sheep with this one, but I'm ok with that. 
     At first I didn't really like the main character Davy because she was such a goodie goodie. Now of course that's a great trait to have, but when presented with things and people like those she was dealing with, something's got to give. I felt like she was making life harder on herself by not adapting to the world around her. But at the same time, I understood why she did it. She wanted to stay as true to herself as possible. And that's what I liked about her the most. She was true to herself and her personality the entire book.
     I also didn't like the slow pacing of the book. Up until page 232 (ARC), I was a bit bored and threatening to DNF it. Why? Because it seemed like most of the drama that she was facing was petty high school drama, like "ooooh I want your boyfriend so I'm going to make your life hell." And for this to be about carriers of a gene that make murderers, I was NOT impressed by that. But I trudged on and I'm glad I did. After that, the book started getting interesting. That's when it became a true thriller. At this point I truly was biting all my nails off and trying to talk some sense into Davy as she let down her guard so many countless times. I even found myself putting down the book and like talking out loud to Davy like she could hear me smh To go along with the writing style, I also liked the chapter dividers. They went along with the story so well and they made each thing that happened with in the next chapter so much more amped. It really helped make the story for me. 
     I also liked the romance. It was a slow build and rightfully so. Clearly, a love life at a time like this isn't what matters the most. But I loved that. (Which is strange because I am a HUGE lover of the swoonage.) But with this it just worked. They knew that there were a thousand other important things that they could be doing and that being together could hurt them, but in the end their love got to be too great. 
     Sophie Jordan delivers a gripping novel about an HTS gene that will tear your soul into pieces. So much so that you won't recognize yourself. I was proud that Davy was able to hold onto her sense of self during this super crazy time. But, with that being said, I expected more action and suspense. Maybe there will be more in the sequel.

posted by Take_Me_AwayPH on February 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    LOVE FIVE STARS

    I picked this book up just to read the first page or two so I would know which shelf to put it on (read now or can wait) as I am in the middle of another book. Needless to say I could not and would not put it down! Can not wait until Feb. to read book 2 I will have to pick it up on a Friday hoping it will be as good as Uninvited and keep me up all night reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    One often thinks that an author's second series can never outdo

    One often thinks that an author's second series can never outdo an author's first. That theory is DEAD wrong! Uninvited blew the Firelight trilogy out of the water! It was so good and so much fun. I read it in 24 hours tops, on a school day no less. Let me tell you, when this book comes out, drop everything and read it! It is so good and so amazing. It made me feel for the characters, I just wanted to slap so many of them silly! It shows prejudices in a new light, and almost feels like how Divergent might have started off before the Purity War.




    “@Tween2TeenBooks: Wanna know how amazing Uninvited by @SoVerySophie is? It's SUPERCALLAFRAGALISTICEXPIALADOCIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!” LOL
    — Sophie Jordan (@SoVerySophie) January 17, 2014




    The main character is Davy Hamilton. She is so cool. She's a musical genius, who, when she is notified of being a Carrier of the 'kill gene' loses everything. Yet Davy, for the most part, takes it in stride. Things get continually worse for her, and she has to deal with it every day. There were two characters she had to deal with who made her life miserable more so than anyone else and I have to say, I wish more had been done/said about them, like, you know, they were killed or something. :) Davy meets Sean right off the bat and is scared to death of him. Why? He's a Carrier, like her, but already has the mark of someone who has committed violence. And yet somehow, the two of them end up caring and protecting each other. Depending on how the rest of the series goes, I could see a love triangle coming up, but at the moment, the second guy is too small of a character. Also, Davy has an older brother who is the bestest of best sibling/family character EVER! He cares about her so much and sees beyond the label she's been given.




    The ending of this book. Holy bleep, the end of this book. The last fourth of the book or so was NOT what I was expecting. A huge turnaround that pushed the plot into a whole other universe! The book only takes place seven years in the future, but that suddenly made it feel truly dystopian. As far as the end end goes, I need more! See:




    I need the sequel to Uninvited by @SoVerySophie RIGHT NOW!!!!!!! So good! *whimpers*
    — Tween 2 Teen Books (@Tween2TeenBooks) January 18, 2014




    So yes, when this book releases on January 28, read it! Read it until you're near tears and yelling in the middle of the night at characters that exist on the beautiful pages of the book in your hands. Read it so that your friends give you crazy looks and you feel like you can't read anything ever again. The plot was fast, the romance was hot, the book was tense, and most importantly, the love ran deep. Davy has been told that she doesn't need to be this bad person they've made her out to be, and now she's out to prove it. A complete and utter five star review!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    This book has left me with mixed emotions. In some ways I didn't

    This book has left me with mixed emotions. In some ways I didn't really like the main character, but in other ways, I understood her. In other ways I hated that this was about something like a homicidal gene and nothing was really happening in the beginning, but then when the end came I hated the people that were doing these things. Because this was by Sophie Jordan I was expecting to love it, but that's not exactly what I got. And honestly, I know I'm the black sheep with this one, but I'm ok with that. 
         At first I didn't really like the main character Davy because she was such a goodie goodie. Now of course that's a great trait to have, but when presented with things and people like those she was dealing with, something's got to give. I felt like she was making life harder on herself by not adapting to the world around her. But at the same time, I understood why she did it. She wanted to stay as true to herself as possible. And that's what I liked about her the most. She was true to herself and her personality the entire book.
         I also didn't like the slow pacing of the book. Up until page 232 (ARC), I was a bit bored and threatening to DNF it. Why? Because it seemed like most of the drama that she was facing was petty high school drama, like "ooooh I want your boyfriend so I'm going to make your life hell." And for this to be about carriers of a gene that make murderers, I was NOT impressed by that. But I trudged on and I'm glad I did. After that, the book started getting interesting. That's when it became a true thriller. At this point I truly was biting all my nails off and trying to talk some sense into Davy as she let down her guard so many countless times. I even found myself putting down the book and like talking out loud to Davy like she could hear me smh To go along with the writing style, I also liked the chapter dividers. They went along with the story so well and they made each thing that happened with in the next chapter so much more amped. It really helped make the story for me. 
         I also liked the romance. It was a slow build and rightfully so. Clearly, a love life at a time like this isn't what matters the most. But I loved that. (Which is strange because I am a HUGE lover of the swoonage.) But with this it just worked. They knew that there were a thousand other important things that they could be doing and that being together could hurt them, but in the end their love got to be too great. 
         Sophie Jordan delivers a gripping novel about an HTS gene that will tear your soul into pieces. So much so that you won't recognize yourself. I was proud that Davy was able to hold onto her sense of self during this super crazy time. But, with that being said, I expected more action and suspense. Maybe there will be more in the sequel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

        I wanted to read Uninvited because the synopsis appealed to

        I wanted to read Uninvited because the synopsis appealed to me. I can't imagine isolating a gene like that and then all of the sudden being told that you have the killer gene. The ramifications as well as the fallout, friends and possibly family isolating you, jobs, school, and how you're viewed all changed in an instant intrigues me and I like the premise. I've also been wanting to read something by Sophie Jordan because I know her other series was popular but I just haven't had a chance to get caught up, so with a new series, I have a new chance. 
        I connected with Davy, she is smart and good at music, something I admire in others but have no talent for myself. Her reactions to finding out she had the gene was emotional, and lived up to what I was expecting. I can't imagine myself in her shoes, but I imagine that I would react similarly. She is naive at times, but I love how her world view is forced to shift as she fights against being labeled. But she discovers others that she sympathizes, connects with, wonders why they are marked, or are they like her and feel they are there by mistake. She is a rich white female, so she doesn't fit the profile of a violent person, someone capable of murder, and that leaves her with less in common with others in the Cage, the other carriers at her new school. But as she gets to know some of them, they have more in common than she'd once thought, even if only their future has been jerked from them and they have limited options for college, jobs, and the rest of their lives. 
       As for as romance, at the very beginning, I had to keep telling myself not to like Zac, the above mentioned boyfriend in the synopsis, because I knew that regardless of the chemistry they had, that he was going to be a douche. Sure enough, even though he wasn't as bad as her other friends, he still proved himself unworthy. 
        The mystery of Sean was great. He was an enigma in the HTS world, people seemed to fear him, and I wanted to know why. Because each encounter he had with Davy was intense, but he showed kindness to her. There is some incredible tension between the two, and it was easy to start rooting for a romance between them instead of silly old Zac. He showed up at just the right time to help her and get her out of tough situations, or just to help her pick herself up off the floor when she's down. 
       The pacing was great, as well as easing us into the changes in the world, while at the same time providing the details we need to know in a unique format. At the beginning of some chapters, there are short government fyi's or convos between senators and those leading the program in charge of those with HTS, or even between Zac and her friend Tori. It kept my attention at all times, whether its character development and change of Davy, mystery with Sean, building the relationship between Davy and her troublemaker but non-HTS carrier Mitchell, to other action that moved the plot along. 
        Thinking back though, the world building didn't make sense in a few areas, especially New Haven. Their abilities and why they were chosen if they were just to be trained for fighting kinda puzzled me, but this may be revealed in the next book. That aside, that doesn't take away any of my enjoyment of the series, it is one that I didn't want to put down. 
        The ending wrapped up the threads of this book pretty well, and I am excited to get into the next book of the series to see what happened after the exciting ending. 
       
    Bottom Line: Action packed with a likable main character who gets tougher as she's trust into a whole new and intriguing to me world. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    New and fresh concept!

    This book is defiantly worth reading. I can't wait to see where the story goes... I have high expectations for the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Awesome!

    Could not stop reading! Story keeps you hooked. Great characters. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    really interesting plot, really bad execution 

    really interesting plot, really bad execution 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Great read

    I was hooked after the 1st chapter...couldn't stop reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    I absolutely loved this book! The near-future dystopia gives it

    I absolutely loved this book! The near-future dystopia gives it a heightened sense of reality and just the plot in general was phenomenal. I found it impossible to put down! I'm already counting down to the release of Book #2, and I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    boring

    boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Great storyline!

    Great read! Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Loved it!

    Can't wait till book 2!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Holy cow.

    WOAH SO LOST FOR WORDS. This book was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2015

    The best novel with an exceptionally exciting story

    This novel has a descriptive and thrilling plot that many people can relate and can connect to. This connection that these readers make are about real life, and how many normal people are discriminating other people for what they have, or what they are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    UNINVITED is the story of prodigy and good girl Davy who tests

    UNINVITED is the story of prodigy and good girl Davy who tests positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome. Other stories often take ages to get to the point where the reader is distinctly interested in its main characters' fate. Sophie Jordan's newest YA release jumps right into action and it doesn't take twenty pages for Davy to find out about the fatal kill gene she's carrying inside her.

    After Davy's life changed so radically and early in the story, I was prepared for a fast and overall action-packed continuation in the following chapters. Against expectations there wasn't much about relentless battles and killers endangering Davy's life at first. So the beginning felt a bit generic, monotonous and not nearly as thrilling as it could have been. Now Davy has to go to a special school for HTS carriers only and has to face the torments of being one herself. She has to experience how everyone treats her differently after the test results. The middle part of UNINVITED could be considered a social study. If I could've cut scenes from the first book, I would have chosen almost every school scene. They might be important for the story, because Davy meets Sean and Gill there and becomes friends with them, but I would've preferred for the main portion of the story to be set in one of the camps for HTS carriers where they train to become better and fight for their lives.

    Sophie Jordan tells her characters' stories in regard to political and social developments concerning the HTS carrier situation in the country. And so after various developments and events, it is decided that Davy and her new friends are transferred from school to those special camps for HTS carriers.
    Here the story definitely goes in a more dangerous direction. The other carriers around Davy are all unpredictable, violent and unstable. The chapters set in camp were my favourites because they bring the action and trials, fear, power struggles and murder I originally thought about when I picked up UNINVITED.

    Davy the model child. Sean the bad boy. Gil the geek. Despite the light stereotypic feel, our UNINVITED characters are pretty easy to like. Davy and Sean's romance was good, but I'm still wishing for more time for Davy and Sean to engage in deeper and more intimate conversations in book two rather than their hasty whispers or stormy kisses (which were great nevertheless).

    UNINVITED is a story of social exclusion of large segments of the population and its consequences. What would you do if all your friends left you because of one genetic test with the wrong result? How would it feel to have almost no one believe in your goodness?


    4/5 **** UNINVITED - Sophie Jordan's kill genes are the most imaginative and original YA idea of 2014!

    I only needed to read the summary of UNINVITED once to be fascinated by the idea of a kill gene that could change the future of humankind forever. It's unbelievable that small biological determinants like genes have the power to change a human's life so radically. Sophie Jordan's a genius for building her story on one of the greatest fears of humankind, the unalterability of what's inside us, in this case the tendency to be evil and a murderer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2015

    Loved it

    Loved it. I couldn't put it down. However I felt that the romance was a little bit rushed towards the end and predictable. But I really liked it all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Believable & Intriguing

    A very well thought-out and attention-holding book! The "carriers" remind me of a cross between Hunger Games tributes and prisoners of WWII concentration camps. The characters are believable, and you are sure to fall in love with them.

    I completely reading this book tonight in about 7 hours. The flow of the writing is excellent. Great, upper level teen vocabulary that's still able to hold an older audiences interest.

    Very impressed with this first installment of this series. I cannot wait to read the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Good read!

    I was honestly surprised that I liked this book so much. I suspected it to be just another cheap knock-off of all the Hunger Games/Divergent type books. Instead, I became captivated by the story. Genetic testing is a prominent thing in society today and I think the whole concept of the "killer gene" is interesting. I read the book in one day, enticed by Davy's story.

    I really enjoyed Davy. Mostly, I liked how real she was. She was this popular girl from a wealthy family and then her world was turned upside down. She was utterly afraid and clueless. Sophia Jordan didn't make her this typical girl who miraculously fit into this new role, which makes her character all the more believable. Davy knew she wouldn't make it without Sean. Towards the end she was succeeding in training, but deep down she was still terrified.

    I wish we would have found out a little more about Sean. It was a little obvious from the beginning that Sean was going to be important to Davy. I feel like readers would want a little bit more about Davy and Sean's relationship developing. I hope in the next book we find out why Sean is imprinted.

    I was also surprised that I actually kind of liked Zac. I thought he was very real. You could tell her truly cared about Davy. But he was also the popular guy in school and there was a lot of things expected of him. In the end, as much as he wanted to be a good guy, he succumbed to peer pressure, which was very realistic. I'm curious to see if he will turn up in the next book.

    All in all, I enjoyed this book greatly. There were a few parts that were a little Divergent-y (a lot of the training), but I think this will be a great series. It's about accepting who you are and learning that yoi are more than what people see. I think that these are great moralsbfor young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    horrible book. i didn't get it at all

    horrible book. i didn't get it at all

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    CHAT NOW

    Go to the book unenchanted and start a convosation

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3