Customer Reviews for

Unknown

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

** I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest

** I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review **

This book started off some what slow for me but as the pace picked up I quickly found that I fell in love with the plot and characters. I love the idea of an epic quest as long as it is adventu...
** I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review **

This book started off some what slow for me but as the pace picked up I quickly found that I fell in love with the plot and characters. I love the idea of an epic quest as long as it is adventurous and not just boring which “Unknown” had no problems with. It didn’t drag at all and kept my attention to the end. Once I really got absorbed into the pages I had the same feeling I got when I read “Lord of the Rings”. Like OMG what is going to happen next.

At points I even forget that the characters are teenagers. Pearl has done an amazing job of making them so vivid and real. There are some moments of tension like any good adventure would have and since this is a fantasy saga least I not forget the mystical. Did I mention Spy’s? Yes even magic, a Dark Lord and Trolls just to name a few.

At one point I felt like screaming NO not a love triangle. They are to over done. Please don’t do this. But thankfully what I thought was going to be love triangle twisted into unrequited love with the hint of something more.

The one and only thing that I was disappointed in was the ending. It doesn’t leave you with a cliff hanger it just ends abruptly in the middle of the quest. However with that being said it seems as if part two will be released with in just a few short months so I guess I can be patient. But it better be quick since I am hopelessly dying to know what happens next.

posted by Stellalunna on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Plot. This story had a great summary. I loved the idea of th

The Plot. This story had a great summary. I loved the idea of the book but didn’t totally love the book itself. One thing that turned me off the book was the perspective. The perspective was told from many of the characters and it got confusing real fast. I t always too...
The Plot. This story had a great summary. I loved the idea of the book but didn’t totally love the book itself. One thing that turned me off the book was the perspective. The perspective was told from many of the characters and it got confusing real fast. I t always took me a while to figure out who was talking and the character’s setting. Not only was the perspective less than perfect, but there were no real emotions. I think that there was maybe one scene that had emotions, but the rest of the book was mostly monotone. Also the book was very slow and choppy in some parts and others were just plain choppy. It was hard to understand some of the characters and their reactions because their was no real thought process connected to the characters. 

Main Characters. I have no clue who the book was supposed to revolve around because of how much the book switched perspectives. Princess Kyla was a little annoying because of how she acted and how she gave up so easily. Jethro was a character that was easily likable because in some cases he was the character with the most emotions. I loved how they interacted while together and thought that the tension between them was great. 

Other Characters. The other characters were very confusing. I felt that too much of the book was spent on their perspective.I didn’t need to know all the extra characters thoughts and actions. I only would have liked to know the important things that involved the other characters. I did like the plot twist that involved one of the characters and thought that it was a great addition to the story. 

Overall. All in all this book was okay but could use a little work on perspective and the flow of the book. I did like the plot and would like to read more books in the series. 

posted by bkwrm29 on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    ** I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest

    ** I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review **

    This book started off some what slow for me but as the pace picked up I quickly found that I fell in love with the plot and characters. I love the idea of an epic quest as long as it is adventurous and not just boring which “Unknown” had no problems with. It didn’t drag at all and kept my attention to the end. Once I really got absorbed into the pages I had the same feeling I got when I read “Lord of the Rings”. Like OMG what is going to happen next.

    At points I even forget that the characters are teenagers. Pearl has done an amazing job of making them so vivid and real. There are some moments of tension like any good adventure would have and since this is a fantasy saga least I not forget the mystical. Did I mention Spy’s? Yes even magic, a Dark Lord and Trolls just to name a few.

    At one point I felt like screaming NO not a love triangle. They are to over done. Please don’t do this. But thankfully what I thought was going to be love triangle twisted into unrequited love with the hint of something more.

    The one and only thing that I was disappointed in was the ending. It doesn’t leave you with a cliff hanger it just ends abruptly in the middle of the quest. However with that being said it seems as if part two will be released with in just a few short months so I guess I can be patient. But it better be quick since I am hopelessly dying to know what happens next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Unknown (The Elements Trilogy #1) by Melissa Pearl 4 of 5 stars

    Unknown (The Elements Trilogy #1) by Melissa Pearl
    4 of 5 stars

    An ancient prophecy was foretold.  “From its ashes two seekers will arise.  Through earth, water, wind and fire, I will be found.”  

    Princess Kyla of Taramon and Jethro have been life-long friends.  They even share the same birthday. However, ever since it was announced that Kyla was to marry Jethro’s cousin Athra, a rift has come between them.

    Discovering they are the seekers from the ancient prophecy Kyla and Jethro must go on a journey together in order to bring light back into a world that the dark took over.

    Melissa Pearl does an excellent job creating multi-dimensional characters making this story believable.  You will empathize with the main characters and hiss at the bad guys.

    Pearl wrote an astonishing story rich with symbolism.  Unknown is a well-done  foundation for the Elements series. This fast-paced  story is hard to put down.      

    ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Plot. This story had a great summary. I loved the idea of th

    The Plot. This story had a great summary. I loved the idea of the book but didn’t totally love the book itself. One thing that turned me off the book was the perspective. The perspective was told from many of the characters and it got confusing real fast. I t always took me a while to figure out who was talking and the character’s setting. Not only was the perspective less than perfect, but there were no real emotions. I think that there was maybe one scene that had emotions, but the rest of the book was mostly monotone. Also the book was very slow and choppy in some parts and others were just plain choppy. It was hard to understand some of the characters and their reactions because their was no real thought process connected to the characters. 

    Main Characters. I have no clue who the book was supposed to revolve around because of how much the book switched perspectives. Princess Kyla was a little annoying because of how she acted and how she gave up so easily. Jethro was a character that was easily likable because in some cases he was the character with the most emotions. I loved how they interacted while together and thought that the tension between them was great. 

    Other Characters. The other characters were very confusing. I felt that too much of the book was spent on their perspective.I didn’t need to know all the extra characters thoughts and actions. I only would have liked to know the important things that involved the other characters. I did like the plot twist that involved one of the characters and thought that it was a great addition to the story. 

    Overall. All in all this book was okay but could use a little work on perspective and the flow of the book. I did like the plot and would like to read more books in the series. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great start, ready for more! Disclaimer: I received an e-copy i

    Great start, ready for more!

    Disclaimer: I received an e-copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Princess Kyla is a feisty teenager. She'd rather run around through the woods in her brothers' clothes, learning how to use a bow and sword, than acting like the queen-to-be that she is. Perpetuating her antics is her childhood friend, Jethro, who just so happens to be the cousin of her fiancee. Their friendship has waned since the announcement of her future marriage, but something strange and long-foretold may shove them alongside one another once again, whether they like it or not.

    I fell in love with the story from the start. I could readily identify with the characters, especially Kyla, and they just pulled me in deeper and deeper into the story. Melissa has a way with words that makes you feel like you're actually a part of the story, and that makes it so much easier to become engrossed throughout. Once I started reading, I couldn't stop, and I'm anxious to get started on Unseen!! Great start to what I'm sure will be a fantastic series =)

    5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    It's no secret that I'm one of Melissa's biggest fans and so, wh

    It's no secret that I'm one of Melissa's biggest fans and so, when the chance came up to read her latest novel, I pounced on it! 
    Unknown shows a completely different side to Melissa, as it differs in so many ways from her usual novels, which tend to be current, urban fantasy.
    Unknown, however, takes us to a whole new world surrounded by mystery, fantastical creatures and magic. I was hooked from the first page.
    I adored the feisty lead character, a young princess called Kyla (I totally fell in love with that name), who refuses to be the typical princess her mother so desires.
    Instead, being the tomboy she's always been, Kyla can be found learning skills usually associated with the young men of her realm. Young men like Jethro. Sigh, he's just the most lovable character... yet at times I just wanted to smack him around the face (you'll understand when you read the book). This awesome twosome go on the most exciting of adventure that will leave you desperate pining for the second book in the series.
    Seriously, you WILL pine for it :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    An ancient prophecy sets two Seekers on a journey to find the mi

    An ancient prophecy sets two Seekers on a journey to find the missing Elements needed to banish Darkness from their world.

    DISCLAIMER: I was given a copy of this book by the author (via Goodreads/Shut Up and Read/Read It And Reap) in exchange for an honest, unbiased review.

    ADVISORY: This book contains violent situations and mild sensuality

    Synopsis:

    “… Through earth, water, wind and fire I will be found ...”

    The Seer, Mordekai, has been watching the night sky for years awaiting the sign that signals the impending return of Oron, and after 16 years, that night has come. He quickly returns home, shows his discovery to his apprentice, Nikara, and they both hastily depart the wicked city of Mezrah for the northern city of Taramon.

    Meanwhile, in Taramon, Princess Kyla has to face the wrath of her mother, Queen Elaina, after yet another misadventure outside the city walls. Her childhood friend, Jethro, and Jethro’s cousin, Lord Athra, do their best to run interference, but the Queen has had enough and grounds her to the city, directing the royal guard to not let her leave their sight.

    However, when a large object falls from the sky, a contingent is sent to investigate, led by Lord Athra and Jethro. They discover a large black rock with golden swirls, as well as fragments scattered all about. They determine the object to be harmless and samples are gathered; however, when Jethro touches one of the fragments, he has a totally different reaction, getting burned by it and becoming quite ill. They return quickly to Taramon, and Kyla’s attempts to go visit her sick friend are thwarted by the guards. She distracts herself by reaching into the pouch of rock fragments that Athra brought her as a gift, totally unprepared for the bad reaction she also receives.

    It turns out that both Kyla and Jethro have been chosen as the Seekers, and are now charged with the perilous journey of trying to find and unite the missing Elements. The marks on their skin are symbols of the four elements – Jethro has earth and fire, and Kyla has water and air. As they set out on their journey, a map will appear on one of their arms, showing them where they are to go next. Kyla and Jethro continue on journey, collecting Elements along the way and confronting many dangers, the biggest being their feelings for one another – feelings that they are not allowed to have, as Kyla is already promised to Lord Athra, their future king.

    King Ashan of Mezrah is aware of Oron’s prophecy, even though he has been forbidden it to be spoken of. He is the source of much of the Darkness upon the land, and has no intention of allowing it to be fulfilled. He has spies everywhere, even in Taramon, and sends his ambassador, Safeer, to enforce the treaty that brought peace after King Heron’s death, eight years earlier, frequently levying additional taxes and hardships upon the people of Taramon.

    But Athra harbors resentment against the Queen’s fears, as well as the injustices brought upon the people by this treaty. Indeed, he desires revenge against King Ashan and his dark armies, feelings that are being masterfully manipulated by a spy in their midst. Do Athra’s secret ambitions and plans to train up an army play right into Ashan’s hands, whose ultimate goal is to take over the world? Or can Kyla and Jethro pull together the Elements needed to restore Light to Darkness?

    Comments:

    This is the first book in the Elements trilogy. We are introduced to the Seekers, Elements, trolls, tree people, as well as the movers and shakers in Mezrah and Taramon. There was plenty of adventure and excitement, as well as a hint of romance and intrigue, and I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the trilogy. (There were a few minor grammatical and/or formatting errors, but overall, this book was well written and enjoyable.)

    Our heroes, Kyla and Jethro, set off on a journey, discovering the wondrous lands surrounding them, fighting foes along the way, making unlikely friends, and discovering the Elements. Jethro tries to keep his distance from Kyla, his long-time friend, in an attempt to honor her betrothal to his cousin, Athra, the chosen future king. His distance causes her much pain and confusion, as she doesn’t understand the reason for it. However, an unlikely kiss ignites their awareness of one another – no longer as “best friends”, but as the man and woman they have grown into. Can they complete their mission without compromising their honor to their people?

    But King Ashan is a master manipulator with spies everywhere, and has been setting things in motion for years – things that are now coming into fruition. And he has set his most lethal assassins, the Elite, after the Seekers, with orders to kill. Does Oron’s prophecy stand a chance against the powers of Darkness?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    (I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review).

    (I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review).




    (This review may contain spoilers).




    This was a book that I liked the cover and blurb of. So when I had the chance to read this book, I took it.




    Although it took a little while for the true action to occur in the book, I did appreciate the chance to get to know the characters a bit first. I thought that the idea of the star falling and the prophecy was a pretty intriguing one.




    I did like most of the characters in the book, though Kyla's mother did annoy me quite a bit. Kyla was an interesting character and I liked her relationships with Jethro and Athra. Although this book trilogy is clearly being set up for a love triangle, I didn't actually find it irritating to read about... though I do wish love triangles weren't a staple for young adult books.




    The use of the elements was quite good as well. I liked the idea of the elements being children and I would have liked to see a bit more of their origin. I also found Oron quite intriguing. Although he isn't an original concept, I still found the plot around him easy to follow. I also really liked the reactions of the different characters to him and how their faith (or lack of) differed.




    I really liked the trolls in this. I was a bit surprised by the angle the author too, but I think it was quite an original take.




    The descriptions worked really well in this book and I had little trouble following the plot and action. I would definitely be interested in reading the next two books in this trilogy in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Unknown

    * leaves quietly*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Person

    Lays down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Crypt

    "Wow. XD. Err. I know you're not her. Though, care to explain who you are?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Fox post

    "Your girlfriend! That's who!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great story

    I found myself flyong through this book wanting to know more. The character development made me really feel I knew the characters and was invested in their lives. I look forward to reading book two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    I loved this book so much that I had to find and finish the rest

    I loved this book so much that I had to find and finish the rest of the story. I was hooked and I felt like I was right there beside Kyla and Jethro, as they preformed this quest.





    I cried when they cried and laughed when they laughed.
    I became so enthralled with this first book that I was on Melissa Pearl's website, hoping for hints about how the quest finally ended and she post a weekend special on "THE COMPLETE ELEMENTS TRILOGY" with the big 'A' for $2.99. Even though I had to sit at my desk top computer to read the last 2 books it was worth the frustration, my plan is too get the "Complete Elements Trilogy" for my Nook as well soon. I recommend the book or this series even for anyone who needs to Good win against Evil. This book touched my heart with it's characters, it touched my soul with it's with every "May The Light Rise Again" .When I came to the end of this story My Heart, Soul and Spirit had received the renewal and uplifting I have needed and for so long. Thank you Ms. Pearl. You left an open at the end in "The Trilogy" for another story or book I hope you hope tell it. "MAY THE LIGHT RISE AGAIN" or "GOD BLESS YOU" I Think it really means the same thing when you think about it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    UnknownWinds

    She smiled. "You can call me BlackMist." She said. "Its easier. So, tell me about yourself." She smiled.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Blazescar

    He nodded "okay. Well im used to be from a clan that fell apart i was the leader but it was detryoyed because of bloodclan. Im thinking of joining a new clan but i felt extremely alone and decided to looke for a mate." He finished

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Flower's Capture prolouge

    Her name... what was that girl's name? It was on the tip of Rose's tounge, and she remembered. Just when she was about to speak it, her striking blue eyes darted around as if alerted by danger, but the forest stopped her screams from echoing as fire engulfed the spot where she had just stood. Rose left only one thing behind that dreadful Friday night, and tied to it, a note. <br>
    <p>
    On the bracelet, there was a note saying: If you seek the lovely Rose, while the clock goes and goes, ticking away hour after hour, each minute turning sour, your flower will stay in the gardened temple, a forested beauty designed to let them in, but retrict the access of outside whim.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    good read

    would like to read the next one in the series; entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Great book!

    I very much enjoyed this book! It's full of colorful characters and adventures! I'm off to begin book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    A star falls and the faith in a believed-to-be-dead deity and an

    A star falls and the faith in a believed-to-be-dead deity and an old prophecy is resurrected. As soon as the sorcerer, Mordekai, sees the falling star, he and his apprentice, Nikara, leave Mezrah for the city of Taramon to search for the two seekers mentioned in the prophecy. Soon princess Kyla and her friend, Jethro, are off on a dangerous quest to bring back the light to their world. During this quest they face trolls, poisonous dragonflies and lots of trouble with the soldiers of king Ashan of Mezrah.

    Unknown is one of those books I simply could not put down before I had devoured the very last word. Although the author takes the necessary time to develop the background, world and plot of this new series, I can honestly say that she keeps the story moving forward all the time. Moments of suspense and action are balanced by some laugh out loud incidents as well as descriptions of the characters having fun.
    The gentle touch of romance blends in with and enhances the story and is not at all in your face or overdone.

    The characters, and especially so the main characters, are well crafted, believable and the kind that truly grows on the reader. They have to deal with authority, rebellion and moral conflict and living in a kind of medieval setting does not make that any different from what young people deal with today. As for king Ashan and his diplomat, Safeer; they are thoroughly nasty and easy to dislike. Sadly, in the best of situations, there are also the deceitful and those who are not what they seem to be.

    This beautiful story about an old fashioned world and numerous magical people and creatures bears a lovely message about having faith in the unknown. I highly recommend it to readers of all ages and happily give this brilliant book five stars. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Unknown is the first book in

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Unknown is the first book in the elements trilogy. Kyla and Jethro both born on the same day same year they have been best friends since birth then one day that changes. A prophecy talks about two seekers will arise and bring the light back. Once the seekers are discovered they set out on an adventure with lots of ups and downs. I cannot wait to read the next one to see what happens will they make it and what will come out of the character twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2