Customer Reviews for

Unleash the Night (Dark-Hunter Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 534 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(352)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    #9's book

    Liked this book so much better than #8's book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Maggy and Wren story

    like the story line. Its fun to see old characters from other books.too much sex scenes thouh.
    wren is an orphan tigard. half weretiger and half weresnow leporard. his only real friend is marvan the monkey. he always wears his hair in dread and covering his eyes. he hardly speaks to anyone or looks them in the eyes. Wren works as busboy at scantuary. marguerite is a daughter of senator and almost done with lawschool.
    Maggey and her study group go to the bar to remember missing member Nick.
    Maggey and Wren meet thier is a lot of drama and they have to go back in time to prove innocent of killing his parents. They have to deal with rich snobs. Wren's uncle tries to have him killed so they can have his money. wren and maggey have to deal with thier different lifestyles. Its a nice story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    A good read.

    Another great chapter in this series. I love the characters in this series and the way they interact - witty and amusing dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Wren and Maggie are just Perfect

    I enjoyed this installment of the DH series. Wren has been a character that I have seen from time to time in the other books that interested me. He was unique and interesting, and his book didn't disappoint. Maggie is exactly what Wren needed and their adventure was entertaining and never boring. The ending was perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog I l

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I love the way SK is able to integrate soooo many aspects into this one world. It makes it so much more appealing and interesting that it’s really hard to walk away from once you finish the book. ~ Under the Covers

    True to Sherrilyn Kenyon’s ways, we have another tortured hero who seems to have a heart of gold! Wren Tigarian is probably the most sweetest, gentlest soul of the bunch and there was something about him that made me want to curl up and hug him. As I read UNLEASH THE NIGHT, I became so attached to Wren that I felt that if anyone threatened him, I would definitely rip them a new one. He has become my baby.

    I won’t go into a ton of details about the plot but Wren is a Tigard and he’s been having trouble dealing with this other side of himself. Even as a powerful white tiger, he sees himself as an abomination so the romance he finds with Marguerite seems very new to him. He doesn’t see himself worthy to be with a Senator’s daughter. But Maggie holds on to him and I think it’s so sweet that she sees him in a bright light because it soon changes how Wren sees himself as well.

    The tone of this book felt a little different to me than the others. It almost feels like a Young Adult book with the way SK approaches the romance. It’s very unsure and tentative and it blooms quite fast and furious as first loves often do. Also playing into that part is the emphasis on the taunting and hassling by Maggie’s friends in the beginning which reminds me of the sort of thing you’d find in YA books. Maggie and Wren just seemed like two young hearts finding love for the first time and it was such a thrill to read it.

    Readers are introduced to Savitar as well and I find him sooo intriguing. He better get his own book! I’m dying to know more about him!

    There’s a time travel aspect to this book that makes this book really unique. There was a time there that confused me but overall, it definitely made this book a better one. I love the way SK is able to integrate soooo many aspects into this one world. It makes it so much more appealing and interesting that it’s really hard to walk away from once you finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Fun story in the Dark Hunter Series.

    Fun story in the Dark Hunter Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A+++

    Love the Dark Hunter series! This is one of my favorite books in this series. Love Wren. Shows how yiu should never Judge someone without truly knowing them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Awesome!

    I love Sherri's books!!! This book was good to read. She brought her characters to life once again. This book had a good plot to it and it was interesting to find out about Wren's life and how it went down. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who's interested in the dark-hunter books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    A great book!

    I liked the character of Wren, I thought he was extremely interesting. Though I did think that some of the parts of this book was too busy, like the scenes at Sanctuary, which was a bit confusing at best, I still enjoyed this SK novel and look forward to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Unleash the Night

    When Marguerite Goudeu goes along on a visit to a New Orleans bar to remember a friend who has died, she steps into a whole new world. An instant connection is established between her and Wren, the outcast young man who works in the bar, whose only friend was once her friend as well. After Marguerite's other companions make trouble for Wren, her concern for the man leads her back to the bar. The bond between them truly begins to flourish, but Wren knows it can not be he's a were-cat, and a relationship with a human is forbidden. When a price is put on his head though, Marguerite is the only one he can turn to for help, and from that point on, there's no going back for them. ............. **** Even if you have missed the other books in the series, you can follow the action of this one. It has magic, time-travel, shape shifters, and forbidden love. The mystery and action are fast paced, yet amid the excitement are heartbreaking moments as well. There's something for every paranormal fan here. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    GReat Hero, Okay Heroine

    I love Wren ever since his debut in the dark hunter series. He was an amazing hero but Maggie did not seem realistic to me. I loved the story but I was a little dissapointed so i give the book 4 and half stars. Loved that we get some info on Vane, Dante, Fury, Fang/Aimee. Also learn that mama bear is not so nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    A Wren-ching Read

    Wren Tigarian is the penultimate outcast. More animal than human as a were-tigard (white tiger and snow leopard hybrid), Wren lives outside the bounds of society, unacceptable by were-tigers and -leopards. He spends his life in relative obscurity-until he meets Marguerite D'Aubert Goudeau, daughter of a U.S. Senator. In a world of predators and prey, Wren and Maggie must find a balance that will allow them to survive a merciless hunt. This was another read worthy of Kenyon's reputation as a writer of paranormal romance. She is not afraid to explore the more savage corners of her Dark Hunter world, and the result is an emotional thrill ride with a deep well of sensuality. The only factor that bumps this down from a five-star rating is that the resolutions to Wren and Maggie's problems are too easy, given the tremendous danger, both social and physical, they faced. One might argue that the process of allowing something good to happen-in an otherwise difficult life-IS the hard part, but given the context of the entire novel, it felt as if Kenyon had to compromise in order to keep the page count under control. Overall, I strongly recommend 'Unleash the Night' for fans of paranormal romance. -C.W.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Original, and all to strange

    The action and passion is exceptional and I loved it. The character development was what every reader wants, and I was left wanting more as I always do from this series. New Orleans is the perfect setting for such a tale. If you enjoyed this book you would love the out of the box tale presented in the novel 'Between Shadow & Light.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    Enjoyable

    I liked learning more about the Were Hunters within this wonderfully improbably DH series! Found Wren to be a very hot and likable hero whereas I thought Maggie was so-so. SK did a good job in letting fans learn more about Savitar and revisit some of her previously written about characters. I look forward to Dark Side of the Moon in mid 2006.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6