Customer Reviews for

Unleashed: Release the Untamed Faith Within

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    "Unleashed" is about having a barbarian faith - a fait

    "Unleashed" is about having a barbarian faith - a faith that isn't tame or something easily contained. Those who are barbarians have a faith in God that may seem to go against the norm - it's a big faith. We can look to the Bible for examples of barbarians: "God would continually call them to believe things they could not see, become someone they were not, accomplish feats that were clearly beyond their abilities, and then hold them accountable for it."

    This book is about encouraging you in your faith. It's about stirring you up to want more of God. I've read Erwin's book Soul Cravings was excited to read Unleashed! I liked that it's a short read so I could definitely pick it up and read it again when I wanted a quick read. Overall a good book. I felt at times that he was repeating himself in the point he was trying to make but it worked. I liked the touches of humor he added through out and the genuineness from which he spoke. It all came together nicely for a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    In Unleashed, Erwin McManus reiterates that being Christian is n

    In Unleashed, Erwin McManus reiterates that being Christian is not synonymous to being safe or civilized. According to the book, followers of Christ are meant to live life on the edge -- as barbarians.

    This seems to be one of the central themes in most of his books.

    Previously released as The Barbarian Way, Unleashed gets the point across with a series of anecdotes about McManus’ wife, children, church members and even about himself.

    Being a huge fan, I enjoyed McManus’ prose (as always) and since I had already read The Barbarian Way, this book was a timely reminder that Christianity is not as ritualistic and bureaucratic as it sometimes seems to be.

    The book was especially pertinent to me as I have always felt stifled in church.

    It was a simple book with a simple theme and this was a good thing. Although I did find myself wanting to read something more in-depth, this book had a message and it was best communicated this way.

    While the book made me feel good, it is far from being a feel-good book. It reminded me that truly following Christ will never be easy but that’s okay because it wasn’t meant to be.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    The Barbarian Way.

    I just finished reading a book titled "Unleashed" by Erwin Raphael McManus. I have to admit that in the beginning, the book didn't seem to catch my attention. The author seem to be we writing in circles around what he was really trying to get at. But then I realized that I needed to pay closer attention to what I was reading.
    This book, which was previously released as "The Barbarian Way", is a book about living the way God intended us to live. Our society tends to offer Christians a nice and easy, safe and carefree way of living. McManus points out that the Bible doesn't and never has called us to that. In fact, the bible calls us to be Christ followers, which means trusting in God ALWAYS, even when we don't know where He is leading us, or what His plans are. 'Unleashed' is about finding your inner barbarian and going against what this society says we should do but seeking Christ instead.
    McManus offers a simple read with challenging content in his book. He urges and encourages us to change our hearts and mindset to that of the barbarian way. If you are looking for a life changing book that can make you feel more alive*, I would recommend this book for you.

    *You must decide and commit to the change before it can actually take place in your life. The way to do that is to commit EVERYTHING to God, and to follow Him fully, no matter the cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    The way of the barbarian...

    Unleashed by Erwin Raphael McManus offers a biographical narrative of spiritual seeking alongside powerful theological and philosophical ponderance... in only 146 pages.

    "This is the barbarian way: to give your heart to the only One who can make you fully alive. To love Him with simplicity and intensity. To unleash the untamed faith within. To be consumed by the presence of a passionate and compassionate God. To go where He sends you, no matter the cost." - Unleashed, McManus, back cover

    This is the story of a seeker desiring to be fearless in Christ. This is the story of a parent as McManus recounts all he learned by watching his bold and faithful daughter doing dangerous things for God. This is a story of the complexity in answering the simple call of "Come, follow Me."

    "A quick survey of the modern church would lead you to believe His invitation was "Come, and listen," and His closing mandate would be summarized in the one word 'No!' The tribe of Jesus, above all people, should rightly carry the banner, 'Forward.'" - Unleashed, McManus, p. 5

    Welcome to the way of the barbarian; McManus' handbook to radically following Christ in pure exhilaration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Unleashed: Release the Untamed Faith Within by Erwin McManus

    Erwin McManus challenges the all too popular safe Christianity with a call to "Unleash: Release the Untamed Faith Within." McManus uses the life of a barbarian (based on his previous book) as a metaphor for Christian living. A barbarian lives is not tame, but rather takes risk. McManus applies this to the everyday life and appeals for Christians to do the same. He invites the reader to a life away from mediocrity and safety into a life of God's leading which includes risk and possibly even danger.

    This is an easy read that made me think about my life and if I am living out my Christian faith safely, or if I am following the Spirit's leading despite the risk. I believe McManus did a great job at challenging the struggles of today's Christian faith. All too often we begin our Christian walk passionate and willing to do whatever it takes to spread the good news, but end up falling back into a dispassionate and halfhearted faith. McManus seems to place some blame on the "culture of safety." We are brought up to always be safe, rather than adventurous and risk-taking, which the latter is seen as a common theme within Scripture.

    One hesitation I have with the book is the barbarian metaphor and sometimes the way it is communicated. I like the metaphor, but would be careful with extending it too far. I also found myself initially disagreeing with some of the polarizations that he used. Some of the ideas (like routine, tradition, ritual) he attributed to the "civilized Christian" are not necessarily bad, but it is placing them over the Lord's leading that we should stray away from.


    I received this book free from the publisher through BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    A Way to Live a Life for God

    Previously released as The Barbarian Way, Unleashed is about showing the individual the way to live life "the barbarian way." Erwin Raphael McManus shows the way to give your complete life to God, thus fulfilling everything your heart has ever desired in a relationship with God. It may not be the easiest way but it is the way that we need to be in our relationship with God and Jesus. My Thoughts- I had a difficult time getting into this book. I thought the book was well written, but the flow and writing style was not enough to capture my undivided attention. The message of the book is very important though, because we do need to live a life "the barbarian way." It has been for far too many years that we as Christian people in industrialized nations have chosen to live a safe Christian life. We do need to live for God the way he would like us to live and follow him, not our way. I do think that everyone should try this book, because we need to change our way of thinking about our relationship with God. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Unleashed by Erwin Raphael McManus ~ Book Review

    The call of Jesus is a call to live in the world as citizens of an entirely different kingdom. In its primitive state, the good news could never be separated from the invitation of Jesus to "Come, follow Me." He never lied about the danger or cost associated with becoming His follower. He told them up front, "I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves." (Matthew 10:16) ~ Erwin Raphael McManus There is a rumbling in the body of Christ, among those truly following Jesus, to cast off anything hindering their relationship with Him, and follow Jesus as the original twelve. It is a desire to follow Christ with simplicity, untamed, and intensity, consumed by the presence of God, willing to go where He sends you: the barbarian way. Unleashed by Erwin Raphael McManus, previously released as The Barbarian Way, is an invitation to live as Jesus, on the unpaved, uncertain road, in total obedience to Him. The author, through personal illustrations, often humorous, shows the clarity, uncomplicated original call of Jesus to Follow Me. God desires us to surrender our lives to Him in the unknown, even if it means a life of suffering, hardship, and disappointment. He states, The church today has become so civilized that the benefits of our faith have become more precious and more valuable to us that the Benefactor of our faith. Every person in Scripture who accomplished great things for God had this untamed, radical, barbarian way. They were willing to go anywhere and do anything God asked. Total surrender. The author powerfully states toward the end of Unleashed, Domesticated Christians are far too willing to abdicate the battle for the soul of the world.We build churches that become nothing more than hiding places for the faithful while pretending that our actions are for the good of the world..In contrast Jesus calls us to a different way. He tells is this is a battle of kingdoms. He insists that if we are His followers, we must not live in a world defined only by the material. This little but mighty book is not for the faint of heart. It is written to followers of Jesus, any age, who desire to be more like The Master, following Him in word, deed, and philosophy. This book returns to the original church, those who were willing to be persecuted and even killed for their faith. Are you sold out to Jesus enough to follow Him completely? Are you willing to peel away the world to be in it but not of it? Read this book to energize your walk with the Lord and inspire you to go where He sends you, no matter what the cost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Unleashed by Erwind Raphael McManus

    Hi there! I just got an awesome new book from booksneeze- "Unleashed" by Erwin Raphael McManus. Before I start in, I have to let you know that I received this book for free through Thomas Nelson publisher's Booksneeze program. (It's some law thing) Anyway, I really like this book. It's a book about living your faith passionately. The thing that plagues a lot of Christians (especially American ones) is that they live quiet faiths- silent, no real connection to Jesus. They're "Christians" so that they can say they have a religion. American Christians have no passion for God, no real commitment. But as Mr. McManus says in his book (or rather, on the back of it:)) "Two thousand years later the call to follow Christ has been repackaged to be smooth and trouble-free, filled with opportunity and promise but lacking risk, passion, and sacrifice. Jesus never made a pristine call to a proper or safe religion. Jesus beckons His followers to a path that is far from the easy road. It is a path filled with adventure, uncertainty, and unlimited possibilities- the only path that can fulfill the deepest longings and desiers of your heart." I agree wholeheartedly with Mr. McManus. Be forwarned- this book may cause convictions, commitments, and maybe just a little craziness (for Jesus:)). I definitely give this book five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Inspiring!

    Rather than living a long life, are you willing to live a life worth living? Are you willing to lose everything on God's behalf to gain everything He desires for you? Erwin Raphael McManus presents these and other thought-provoking questions in his book Unleashed: Release the Untamed Faith Within. Using the biblical examples of John the Baptist and Peter, and the ultimate example of Jesus, he shows what it means to live the barbarian life. He sprinkles the book with illustrations about his daughter Mariah, who is a full-fledged barbarian of beauty (displayed on the cover of the book exhibiting the essence of the title). The author, a first-generation Christian who wasn't raised according to all the 'rules', fights the Christian cliché "the safest place to be is in the center of God's will." Instead, he argues that it is a dangerous and costly place to be. God's will for us is not about our comfort. Nor is it a cattle call for us to live the same kind of life as everyone else. His desire is not to conform us but transform us, not to make us compliant but to make us creative, and not to domesticate us but to liberate us. The "civilized" faith is ritualistic, safe, reasonable, routine, stable, follows requirements, keeps people in line, focuses on being a good citizen, and follows the letter of the law. The barbarian life is courageous, sacrificial, visionary, intimate, passionate, loving, challenging, mysterious, risky, listens to the voice of the Spirit, experiences God, focuses on a mission, and lives the spirit of the law. All that we are meant to do is through the outward flowing of faith, hope and love. For me, this book was refreshing, revitalizing, and inspiring! It is thought-provoking as well as entertaining and easy to read in a sitting or two. After reading this book, I found it easier to embrace my quirky self and to stop trying to be what everyone else wants or expects me to be. Instead my focus is to be guided by the footprints of Jesus. We are supposed to do whatever Jesus calls us to do the moment it is clear to us. I want to be a barbarian!

    To comply with regulations by the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR Part 255, I am disclosing that BookSneeze® provided me a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Living a life UNLEASHED

    "Unleashed" written by Erwin McManus inspires readers to live a life that follows Christ with reckless abandon or to live the "Barbarian" way. Mc Manus states, the "Barbarian way" is to give your heart to God, who can make you fully alive, with an untamed faith. He describes this as a narrow journey that only few will take, but it will lead you to a life completely unleashed. This book is a very quick read and easily can be read in one sitting. One of my favorite quotes " the driving purpose behind this barbarian revolt is to liberate every person who longs to find freedom in God." How many of us long to find freedom in God? We must remove all the junk that keeps us from God in order to do so. Television, internet, inappropriate movies, language, lust, it all keeps us from living a life unleashed, we must remove every obstacle that hinders us.

    This book gave me a good dose of reality and helped me looked at areas in my life where I need to remove obstacles because they are hindrance. I recommend this book to anyone who is trying to live faith out in a different way or to anyone who is seeking of living the cookie cutter Christian life. This will change your entire perspective. It won't be easy to live a life like this and Jesus doesn't promise any easy life, but an abundant one, unleashed.



    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Good Book

    Unleashed is a short, quick read about releasing the untamed faith within and choosing the barbarian way. You might be thinking, "Barbarian way? What is that?"




    Simply put, it is to give your heart to the Only one who can make you fully alive.




    It was an interesting concept that I enjoyed reading about. I agree, it's very common now a days for Christians to fall into a lull and forget their first love, their passion, their fire. In fact, it's even dangerous.




    I loved all the stories about his daughter Mariah, his big mouth at church meetings, him letting his son jump off the roof (all I can say on that one is...read the book!), the miracle about God sending snow to just let someone know that He loves them, and much, much more.




    Plus, I really liked the cover of this book and the title. I don't know why, but as soon as I saw that cover, I knew it was the author's daughter, Mariah, on the front. He described her so well, with her passion to help people, that her picture on the front really sums up the whole book. Free and unleashed.




    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1