BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Unlikely Allies

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Review: Unlikely Allies by Tiffany King

This was an incredible book. Like the other Tiffany King books I've read in the past year, Wishing For Someday Soon and Forever Changed, I am in love with it.

I loved the characters, the plot, the action, and the romance. I didn't want the book to end, yet I did so I...
This was an incredible book. Like the other Tiffany King books I've read in the past year, Wishing For Someday Soon and Forever Changed, I am in love with it.

I loved the characters, the plot, the action, and the romance. I didn't want the book to end, yet I did so I could find out what happens when it finished.

There is so many great things to mention for this book, but I think you'll just have to grab a copy and find out :)


(This is a vastly edited version of my full review that can be found on my blog, Goodreads, and other sites. I can't add links to it since I don't think B&N allows it and I can't fit the whole thing because of the character limit. I hope this short review helps you decide on whether to look more into this book or not.)

posted by miztrebor on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Juvenile and poor relationship development

The dialogue was juvenile, although I realize the characters were young, it could have been better. The romantic storyline was poorly developed. I simply can't buy into the relationship. The author didn't develop the male lead's character at all, and I feel like they ba...
The dialogue was juvenile, although I realize the characters were young, it could have been better. The romantic storyline was poorly developed. I simply can't buy into the relationship. The author didn't develop the male lead's character at all, and I feel like they barely knew each other. The interaction when they were struggling to survive was unrealistic and felt forced. The fact that they would have been there that long at all seemed ridiculous.

posted by LLC-NP on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Unlikely Allies by Tiffany King

    This was an incredible book. Like the other Tiffany King books I've read in the past year, Wishing For Someday Soon and Forever Changed, I am in love with it.

    I loved the characters, the plot, the action, and the romance. I didn't want the book to end, yet I did so I could find out what happens when it finished.

    There is so many great things to mention for this book, but I think you'll just have to grab a copy and find out :)


    (This is a vastly edited version of my full review that can be found on my blog, Goodreads, and other sites. I can't add links to it since I don't think B&N allows it and I can't fit the whole thing because of the character limit. I hope this short review helps you decide on whether to look more into this book or not.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Juvenile and poor relationship development

    The dialogue was juvenile, although I realize the characters were young, it could have been better. The romantic storyline was poorly developed. I simply can't buy into the relationship. The author didn't develop the male lead's character at all, and I feel like they barely knew each other. The interaction when they were struggling to survive was unrealistic and felt forced. The fact that they would have been there that long at all seemed ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    Once again, King has blown my mind with another beautiful young adult novel that sucked me in from start to finish. I absolutely adore King’s books, all of them, and Unlikely Allies is another gem that I highly recommend to any who enjoy a sound, realistic plot line, swoon worthy characters, a bit of drama, and a triumphant ending.

    Kimberly, our protagonist and a highly engaging character, is visiting her father for the first time, having just found out about his existence. Whisked away from California to the Rocky Mountains, she is in for a “rude awakening,” but in my opinion, Kimberly handles herself extremely well. Though she doesn’t necessarily fit in with those around her, she shoulders the animosity of some campers/staff extremely well, while quickly making friends with others. I really enjoyed her happy-go-lucky attitude, and though I’ll say the book moved a bit faster than I would have liked (I so wanted more of Mason and Kimberly), I really loved every moment of it, especially the witty banter.

    Mason, nicknamed “Greeky” for his Greek god physic and attitude, is to die for. Though he is downright nasty in the beginning, I found his search within himself to be extremely real and well written. Mason’s life hasn’t been peaches and cream, and the appearance of Kimberly brings extreme thoughts of jealousy to the forefront as, in my opinion, they should—we’re only human, after all, and if someone walked into my life and laid claim to the only person who’d kept me grounded throughout everything I experienced, I’d probably react the same way Mason does. But with time, all things heal, and I loved watching both Kimberly and Mason fight their attraction only to realize their true feelings for one another… though the timing couldn’t be worse as they’re thrust into a battle to survive… (and I just loved this… my heart was in my throat for the remainder of the story).

    King’s story is highly engaging, bringing to life not only the characters, but also the Rocky Mountains. I’ve never been there, but through the descriptions of the wilderness and the harsh realities of an unforgivable terrain, I was easily able to imagine it every step of the way. I love novels where I’m drawn into the scenery as much as I am into the characters’ lives, and King achieves both in this latest release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Fantastic

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Training facility

    For subjects that have developed extra skills to learn to control those skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Good read,

    Good read, A little predictable but still sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS IVE READ IN A LONG TIME

    I love this book so much i wish there was a sequel. Cant wait to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great book

    I have read all of Tiffanys books and this is one of my favorites. Cant wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Great book!!

    I loved it! Truly a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Amazing!!!!! <3

    Truly a great read. There is enough action to keep you interesting but enough flirting and love to keep you smiling. =)

    Basically after finding out that her Dad didn't run out on her Mom Kimberly goes to his summer camp for foster kids called "Camp Unlikely Allies" where she meets a stubborn,rude, and irritating boy named Mason who just brings out the worst in her. Going on in the book you read of the growing bond Kimberly has towards the camp and the people in it.

    To find out more READ THE BOOK!!!! =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    great book

    great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    G

    "Sure." She walks over to the big bed and gets up. "Your move first"
    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book. A bit predictable, but still a good storyline :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book! It was so good i wish there was a sequel but oh well it was a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    So Far So Awkward

    It is a bit awkward between Kimberly and Rick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Loved this story. Mason and Kimberly were perfect for each other

    Loved this story. Mason and Kimberly were perfect for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Lame

    Not a good book. Way too short and doesn't have a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Good, quick read. Interesting story line. Good young adult/teen

    Good, quick read. Interesting story line. Good young adult/teen read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    nothing special

    Too short and somewhat lame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    A Feel Good Book!

    I really liked this book. It was a different kind of book, not the normal boy meets girl book. I loved the summer camp for foster kids. I really liked the characters and story line. The book is 136 pages and I read it in about 3 hours. It has a good ending and I would love to read a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2