Customer Reviews for

An Unlikely Place for Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

recommend

good read/ couldn't put down.. read on my treadmill, that good!

posted by prissy58 on October 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

AN Unlikely Place for Love

Whatever happened to a THESAURUS and spell check. I was so put off by "alright" used in almost every paragraph that I couldn't pay attention to the lame story line. For her future stories, the WORDS are "All right". There are other words to replace her overused trite...
Whatever happened to a THESAURUS and spell check. I was so put off by "alright" used in almost every paragraph that I couldn't pay attention to the lame story line. For her future stories, the WORDS are "All right". There are other words to replace her overused trite expressions...something seventh graders know.

posted by Jesselyn on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    AN Unlikely Place for Love

    Whatever happened to a THESAURUS and spell check. I was so put off by "alright" used in almost every paragraph that I couldn't pay attention to the lame story line. For her future stories, the WORDS are "All right". There are other words to replace her overused trite expressions...something seventh graders know.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Enjoyable read

    This book was a "I can't put this book down" kinda read!! The only thing I didn't understand about this book was why it was not written in modern/current times. The story didn't really "fit in" to the 1880's! There was nothing in the book to remind you that was the time period they were in. But really a good story line and you couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next! End of the book left you wanting to "hear" more from these characters! Totally enjoyed!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    recommend

    good read/ couldn't put down.. read on my treadmill, that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Grear book couldn't put it down.

    I loved the interaction between John and Eliza. I have read a number of Ms. Nordins book and have enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Three stars

    I usually like this author's books and give 4 or 5 star rating but this was too long and a little on the boring side. I did like the characters and the story line but it just dragged on too long with nothing happening. I kept thinking, for pete sakes, lets get on with it. Also a little too much on the preachy side unlike her other books I've read. I will continue reading her books because most of them are very good reading. JudyE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    great story

    I liked it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!

    It was a little "out there" in believability but I loved the humor and the characters!

    I found I wanted to continue reading instead of watching TV and that says a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Loved it"!!

    I really enjoyed this book! It was funny too.
    A must read another Ruth Ann Nordin book. I loved it too, just like all her other books.

    Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Okay

    This wasn't as an enjoyable read for me as some of this author's other books have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Loved It

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Very good story

    Quite long but well worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    i am 4% throgh his book and it is so good

    The auther really grabs your attention on the first page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!! I have read a number of her books and I dont

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!!! I have read a number of her books and I dont have
    any neg. things to say about her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Good book

    Very good story
    Like all of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Recommend

    Good book but a little long in getting to the ultimate point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Good Book

    Keeps you wondering what will happy next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Good reading

    This novel is a bit slow and boring in some parts but overall a good book. Some parts were interesting and kept my focus. As with any of Ms Nordin books, one assumes the main characters are going to marry and live happier ever after, how they get to that point is what the story is all about. This book is by itself, it is not in the series of other novels and novellas, albeit it does take place in North Dakota.

    As for the person who cimplained that it was wrong to use "alright" AND the proper terminology or way it should be written is "all right", both ways are correct. I highlighted and looked the word up There is more about this, but I wont go into all the details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    Could not finish this book. It was real slow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Blech!!

    Ugh! AWFUL!!! The dialogue is painful, the characters are ridiculous, and the plot is poorly constructed. Terrible writing. I made it half way through and just couldn't handle it anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good Book

    5he book is good i love readying storirs like this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7