Customer Reviews for

The Unlikely Spy

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting...once I got into it

Having read all of Silva's other books, I thought I should go back and read his first one. At a recent book-signing he said it was his favorite one so I thought I'd give it a shot. The story is great and the characters are very interesting. The only gripe I have is that...
Having read all of Silva's other books, I thought I should go back and read his first one. At a recent book-signing he said it was his favorite one so I thought I'd give it a shot. The story is great and the characters are very interesting. The only gripe I have is that it seemed like on every other page another character was introduced and it was a bit confusing at first to figure out who was who. 'I would've liked a 'cast of characters' page to help out. Yet, once I got into the story it was excellent. If you decide to read it, give it a bit before giving up...it gets easier as it goes along.

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too predictable by far

The New York Times Book Review called this connect-the-dots writing and boy were they right. You can see the 'twist' ending coming a mile away. Even worse, the book is wildly unfocused. Whom exactly are you gonna root for -- bookworm Vicary or dashing, sexy, Nazi-hat...
The New York Times Book Review called this connect-the-dots writing and boy were they right. You can see the 'twist' ending coming a mile away. Even worse, the book is wildly unfocused. Whom exactly are you gonna root for -- bookworm Vicary or dashing, sexy, Nazi-hating Catherine Blake? Read 'Gathering of Spies' instead. It's plot is just as goofy and predictable but at least that German lady spy defies our expectations.

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Very interesting...once I got into it

    Having read all of Silva's other books, I thought I should go back and read his first one. At a recent book-signing he said it was his favorite one so I thought I'd give it a shot. The story is great and the characters are very interesting. The only gripe I have is that it seemed like on every other page another character was introduced and it was a bit confusing at first to figure out who was who. 'I would've liked a 'cast of characters' page to help out. Yet, once I got into the story it was excellent. If you decide to read it, give it a bit before giving up...it gets easier as it goes along.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    Avid reader

    I read a lot of espionnage and really enjoyed this one. Of course, we all know how the war turned out, so you have to make the bad guys have some redeeming qualities or it would be a history book. The people who only rated this one or two stars just don't get it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    A good espionage thriller!

    This was my first read by Daniel Silva,and it wont be my last.He had me 'hooked',from the first page.The characters are interesting .there is good plots ,and some sex also.I think Mr Silva is way better than Ken Follett!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Too predictable by far

    The New York Times Book Review called this connect-the-dots writing and boy were they right. You can see the 'twist' ending coming a mile away. Even worse, the book is wildly unfocused. Whom exactly are you gonna root for -- bookworm Vicary or dashing, sexy, Nazi-hating Catherine Blake? Read 'Gathering of Spies' instead. It's plot is just as goofy and predictable but at least that German lady spy defies our expectations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    Excellent Plot and Well Written

    The author selected a great plot, holding the reader right through to the end. Thoroughly enjoyable and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Great story

    This is a great story but too many characters. The only thing I don't like about books set in other countries is that some of the terms or language is not familiar. Other than that I was interested to read what happens. As with a lot of books, the preview turns out to be better than some of the following story which tends to drag a bit but then sgets better again the further into the story you get. I wish he had done more with the american story line as those characters seemed relateable and interesting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Devil

    It doesnt seem likely that Silv will be joining us tonight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Steel

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Evron

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    Anna

    So sorry i havent been on!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Dr. Keith

    Gets a shot and says."This shot will make you sleepy and eventually pass." I say informing her "Ready?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Very Highly Recommended

    This was a fantastic book. I loved the fact that we learned about the spy networks of both the allies and the Nazis. It was fascinating and exciting. Wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

    Pulls you in and does not let go. A thrill ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Novel and history

    First rate as always,, you feel these people .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    This book was excellent. It was a thriller from the beginning to

    This book was excellent. It was a thriller from the beginning to end. If you like spy novels, you will love this one. I didn't want the book to end.
    I didn't want to see Catherine Blake captured, because although she was a killer, she was described as a beautiful woman. This was my first book by Daniel Silva, but it won't be my last. He is a great author!.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Very good spy book. I have read many that have followed this one

    Very good spy book. I have read many that have followed this one by Daniel Silva. 

    I like the premise of the hero Gabriel Allon being a master painting restorer and artist at heart, but strictly impassionate when called to duty.

    The book held me and was suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    I thought this book was excellent. As a fan of Silva's work, I t

    I thought this book was excellent. As a fan of Silva's work, I thought it a good idea to read his first novel in anticipation of Fallen Angel coming out.

    This book is a great read for anyone who has read the Gabriel Allon series. Silva shows great continuity with characters throughout his book, and I never would have known more detailed information about some of the Nazi war criminals he cover in the Allon series had I not read this.

    As always, it is expertly researched and the story is fascinating. I have a great respect for authors who write historical fiction when they can pull it off. This was a fabulous story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent...again!!!!

    I love the style of Daniels writing...it always moves along so smoothly ans I can't seem to put the book down! I just wish he could write faster....can't wait until July for the next bood!!!

    Barbara in Sacramento

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    OK, but liked his later work much better.

    Found this book a bit tedious. If this had been the first one of his I'd read I might not have tried him again . Have enjoyed all his other books very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5