Customer Reviews for

Unlimited: How to Build an Exceptional Life

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Masterful

    I received an early copy of this book about a month ago. I have to admit that I really had no opinion of Jillian one way or the other. I knew a bit about the "tough trainer" persona that proceeds her, but other than that I had no predisposition to like or dislike this book either way.

    I am no stranger to self help books. I pretty much figured I had read it all. With that said, Unlimited is beautifully written, comprehensive, personal, intimate, and deeply motivating.

    I can see now why Jillian fanatics are so fanatical. She is honest, candid, and no vulnerable. The advice she offers is rock solid. What I like the most about the system behind the book is that she doesn't just give the reader a pep talk. She gives them practical tools and innovative skills to break out of their rut and transform.

    For anyone looking for a change or to better themselves in any facet I highly recommend Unlimited.

    32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    If you had a wise parent

    this book is what it would feel like. Jillian's book provides wisdom, encouragement, support, rock-solid advice, and careful guidance; and as always, the loving energy that infuses her work. I met her on her Wellness Cruise, and she is one of the most caring and genuine individuals I've ever come across. She truly seems driven by a desire to help others and make a difference. And while I've never been a fan of self-help books or gurus, I became a fan of Jillian's because I was stunned by what she accomplished with the obese contestants on "Biggest Loser." She really puts her money where her mouth is (and as we fans know, she's not afraid to use the latter!). So, I bought "Unlimited" the day it came out, and I whizzed through my first reading of the book. Now I'm reading it more slowly and starting the written exercises. As with all Jillian's books and DVD's, you have to be ready to put in hard work to get results. But, reading the book gave me just the push I needed to start a major project I've been procrastinating on for months.

    This is one of those books that I know will become worn and dog-eared with repeated use. I have it on my bedside table, where I plan to keep it for ready reference. I hope I'm paying it forward by writing this review. Because if my review helps one person decide to buy this book, and that one person is moved to make a change in their life, who knows how that person may benefit another -- that's the power of Jillian's domino effect. I really love this woman.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    My FIRST ever book review...and I LOVE to read!

    All I can say is, you NEED the audio version of this book! I've got it on my ipod, and it is amazing! I've read so many self help books, or, I should say, I read the first few chapters of self help books, and none of them "spoke" to me like this one. It is like Jillian is having an intimate, life changing, 7 hr conversation with you, broken down into very logical chapters. I truly feel that this book is going to be THE book I look back on and say "That's when I stopped the BS and changed my life." Also, you can print her workbook pages online, on her website, for free, which correspond to the audio book. I would have paid 3, 4, 5...times more for this book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Deeply Moving.

    I ordered this on audio book. Already listened to it in one day. This is now one of my favorite all time books. Jillian gets deeply personal and her words are life changing. I recommend this for anyone who is feeling stuck or unhappy with any aspect of their lives.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    So insipring! Not your eat this, stay away from that, do this type of work out book. Steps to get your life on track and make your dream a reality. Truly loved all the advice

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    So far so good!

    I have only read the 1st chapter which is what prompted me to buy the book. I found it captivating and it spoke to me immediately so I am excited to read the rest of the book. I have always loved JM and I am excited this book is finally hitting the shelves.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Incredibly enlightening.

    This book is pretty amazing. Jillian gives real advice for how to transform any aspect of your life that you choose. Recommended for anyone who feels unsatisfied with any part of their life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    It's changing my life.

    I can't stop crying. This book is waking me up.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Very Informative!!!

    This is the only self help book I've ever read, and it's the only I will ever have to read. Jillian breaks down everything with examples from her own personal life. It's almost like a self help/memoir. She is truly an inspirational person. Easy to read, and highly recommended!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    This is it...the book that changes everything

    Jillian has a way of knowing exactly what to say at the moment in your life that you need to hear it most. UNLIMITED has changed the way I see things in every aspect of everything..this is a MUST read for anyone and everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A MUST READ!

    I had a feeling this book would be good when I bought it. But I never could have predicted the amazing self journey that it was about to take me on! Buy this book from this compassionate intelligent lady. She knows her stuff...follow her, find yourself, define and create life on YOUR terms once and for all. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK!

    This is my absolute favorite book of all time. I truely admire Jillian and she is my role model. This book literally helped my find the life I am supposed to live and I can't thank Jillian enough for that. I not look at everything as an oppertunitie to learn, and look at the whole world differently. I love Jillian's personal aspects of the book, and it makes me feel like I'm not alone. I've realized that the life I want to live is just through a tunnel and I'm getting closer to the end of that tunnel to claim that life every day. I've realized I DO have UNLIMITED potential, and I can't wait live the life I actually do want to live. You may think you are happy, but you won't realize the true meaning of happiness until after you've read this book and put into practice what's in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    If ever in doubt, check Jillian out!

    A friend of mine told me about this book because I was getting down about my job status and just losing my 5th possible job after an interview in a row. I was already considering changing my career path because the current field I'm in, I've been in for over 17 years and I am quite burned out. I am not much of a reader, but when I saw I could get this in MP3 format, I hopped on it and am I ever glad I did. I copied it to my iPod, listened to it while I walked and in my car! She has helped me deal feel a lot better about things and in fact, this coming Monday, I am going to a trade school to see about joining the medical profession in some way.

    Jillian pulls no punches in this book and explains everything very well. I hope she does more things like this in this format and I am excited to see where I will end up in the near future, mentally, physically and professionally.

    Thanks a million to my buddy for telling me about this book when I really needed it and much thanks to Jillian Michaels for all that she does for people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    A-MAZING book.

    i have recommended this book to everyone I know.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Great book

    This book is highly recommended to help you become the person you want to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2014

    A Handful of Gems

    I actually listened to the CD version from my public library first, but decided to order the book so that I could do the exercises (which are also available online), and also because there are a handful of true philosophical gems in this book. Good advice too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Wonderful

    Not completely finished with the book, but what I have read has helped me a lot. I love the soul searching questions at the end of each section or chapters. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Amaranthe

    Hey...*cleans her fangs*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Hylia

    Sits in the shadows

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Life changing

    I started reading this book out of curiosity.....ironically at a down point in my life. Jillian's book has made me put certain things in my life back into perspective. She is very insightful and very real. Not all the usual fluffy stuff, truly Real! I recommend this book as the Best self help, positive thinking books out there! Very worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6