Customer Reviews for

Unlimited Power: The New Science of Personal Achievement

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This information has the ability to change your life!

Power is the ability to Act. The strategies in this book are many and consequently even small incremental changes and actions will impact your life positively. The recommendation of this book is easy because the author walks the talk and has modeled and then demonstra...
Power is the ability to Act. The strategies in this book are many and consequently even small incremental changes and actions will impact your life positively. The recommendation of this book is easy because the author walks the talk and has modeled and then demonstrated in a very easy to understand format how to make any change you desire in your life. This is a manual of human hope through influence and positive change beginning with one's self. I own two copies. One is a working copy with many, many personal notes and highlights. The other copy is a signed copy keepsake for my family. God bless you Tony!

posted by LessonOne on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

'Unlimited' waste of $ !!

With barely 4 pages of useful information inside, Unlimited Power went from being my most anticipated read (because of the slam-dunk title) to my biggest disppointment. Robbins loses credibility right away with 'neuro-linguistic programming' (a hocus-pocus PRODUCT that...
With barely 4 pages of useful information inside, Unlimited Power went from being my most anticipated read (because of the slam-dunk title) to my biggest disppointment. Robbins loses credibility right away with 'neuro-linguistic programming' (a hocus-pocus PRODUCT that him & his buddies were marketing at the time) and B-movie hypnosis techniques. If Robbins has ever 'hypnotized' ANYONE by touching their knees and hands, then the person under the spell was truly small minded, indeed. Anyone that knows the background story on Robbins, you'll know that he went from living in a squalid studio apartment & washing dishes in his bathtub, to giving 'success seminars' & walking on fire (a simple trick used my many 'motivational gurus'). Slowly but surely, he built a 'Success training' empire, ironically never having 'succeeded' himself at anything but selling 'Success' info. In effect, Robbins is trying to teach people how to do something that he has never done. As for people who's 'life has been changed' by Robbins' work, you really must have needed to believe in something at the time, a la 'being saved' or converting to a religion. Personally, I would be embarrassed if one man or one system was the key to my success & happiness. How can you be truly proud of yourself if you're the follower of some idiot running around onstage with a headset on (Robbins), whipping you up into a tribal frenzy? People, please, do yourself this great service...read as much as you can, but find YOUR OWN way to success based upon a combination of learned knowledge and your own instincts...not being a blind follower to someone who is a master of marketing & self-promotion! :-)

posted by Anonymous on September 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    This information has the ability to change your life!

    Power is the ability to Act. The strategies in this book are many and consequently even small incremental changes and actions will impact your life positively. The recommendation of this book is easy because the author walks the talk and has modeled and then demonstrated in a very easy to understand format how to make any change you desire in your life. This is a manual of human hope through influence and positive change beginning with one's self. I own two copies. One is a working copy with many, many personal notes and highlights. The other copy is a signed copy keepsake for my family. God bless you Tony!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Oldie but Goodie for Everyone's Self-Help To-Do List

    An oldie but goodie. This is a good starter book for people seeking to improve themselves and their life situation. Anthony Robbins is a wonderful motivator and the undisputed master of personal achievement. He will pump you up and get you going on YOUR path! If you want something more complicated, study "Neuro-linguistic Programming". Robbin's uses NLP as the foundation for his own success.

    I have read all of Anthony Robbins' books and this book was foundational in getting me motivated to write a dream list 12 years ago. In that time I have achieved all of my goals except for traveling around the world. Fortunately, I still have plenty of time left for that. As a result, I would highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    The best of the Best!

    Its really no wonder the experts come to this guy. He is successful financially, in his relationships, content, happy and the list of positives go on.

    If you want to listen to a guy in a suit talk about what should be done yada,yada but has no energy etc no spark that shows thru then pick up a different book. If you want to learn from someone practical who walks the walk and talks the talk read Tony's teachings. Changed my life and continues to do so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Uplifting words

    Toni has a special way

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    A Classic

    It has immediately begun to change my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Great insight into a fighter's life

    Very enjoyable read about a man's various experiences in the world of fighting. He covers disciplines such as muay thai, mixed martial arts, jiu jitsu, etc. He has seen and done it all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Help beyond heaven

    This volume is an introduction to NLP, Neurolinguistic Programming. It gets right to the root of personal motivation, achievement, desire, success, you name it. This book is like having a team of therapists analyze you and help you make the transition from Mediocre to GREAT! It helped me lose 50 pounds last year alone! It helped me focus my energies to turn my dreams into my present reality!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    A Necessary book for the African American Community

    Within today's society, the story of the ills of the Black Man and Woman is legendary.The problem is one of conditioning the mind to achieve success. I have learned the hard way that you can not lead without having a leader's mindset. Many black leaders have tried, but could not change the true issue which is trying to produce a new mindset. This book is a well-done focus point to start. If you want to make money and prove the critics wrong, then get this book! This is a book that every Black American needs to read right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    A must read!

    Unlimited Power is a continuation of my study of Tony Robbins's strategies and methods. After listening to Get the Edge and Lessons in Mastery on CD at first I thought this book would just have similar methods and strategies that I had already learned reinforced. As I kept reading I began to notice that there was a lot of strategies and techniques that were new. This book helps you learn all of the positive attributes it advertises, such as: how to gain people's rapport, understand how people are thinking, set up a strategic goal plan, make yourself healthier, and really help you discover who you are. Tony Robbins has a magnificent gift from God and I am glad he is utilizing it. For all of those critics who say he hasn't done anything in his life, except tell other people how to live a successful life that's bologni. Unlimited Power is designed not as a book that you put on your book shelf and look back and say, 'Oh, yeah I've read that.' No, Tony writes it as a guide where we can consistently turn back to certain priciples and methods as a reference. Honestly there is so much information in his four hundred page book that I have a hard time remembering it all even now after I have just completed it. Make Unlimited Power and the rest of Tony's products a must and not a should to purchase for personal growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    I use this stuff and it works.

    Tony synthesizes the massive amounts of self-improvement strategies into a simple success formula. His delivery is also entertaining, check it out y'all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Unlimited Power Transformation

    This is one of the best books out there, if you are looking to change and transform your life this is it. It provides you specific strategies that you can use immediately to improve the quality and quantity of your life. Tony showed me how to use my body and mind to becoming one of the most outrageous speakers on the lecture circuit today and you too can live your dreams!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    THIS WILL BENEFIT U!

    I'm Only 22 years old, and I feel that this knowledge will help me to grow in every way to face the many obstacles in life. I feel that it will help anyone from my generation to the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    highly motivational and inspiring

    I have read Unlimited Power several times. It is highly original and inspiring. It galvanises us to tap into our deep inner resources to excel. By using the techniques taught in the book, i have become a highly successful professional and still thriving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    From the 'hood' to the heavens

    The highest level of education for me was 10th grade. I was busted for selling illegal substances at 17 and was given the choice of being a soldier or prison. I chose to be a soldier. Just to show you where I come from, my experience in life, and my education, I found this book on accident looking for CD's. I saw the title, picked it up, couldn't put it down...so I bought it. My 1st run through I even had trouble reading every poem. This book has given me the power to read each poem out loud and has also helped to rid demons from inside myself. I read this book numerous times and each time, there was a different poem that related to my life in a different way that I didn't see the time before. A very educated woman who was my elementary school principal was put into a racial school district where she was a minority and I felt that she needed to read this book. I gave the book to her, she randomly opened it and coincidentally the poem she opened it to was one from a speech that she went to in person. That copy is where it needs to be, now I need another copy for myself because there are still poems in that book that I have not yet reached in my lifetime. From my 10th grade education to the woman I gave the 1st copy to (who happens to have a PhD) it brought tears to her eyes, the same as it did for me. This goes to show that we, as people, need to stay together instead of hatin' we need to relate. PS-I'm not trying to sell this book, but since I've bought the book I have moved from making a very small amount of $ to close to $100K per year at a very large company where minorities few and there is no end to where I can go...Still I prosper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    New Life

    Anthony Robbin's book has been not only an inspiration and motivating factor in changing my life, but has also changed my perspective of the business world as a whole. I have shared many of my new learned habits w/friends and cohort so they can also gain from this ikon! The energy within this book awaits to be dispersed........open and see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2000

    Definite, definite, definite must buy!!!

    This book was the best thing to happen to me in the last five years. I'm just an average person living an averagre life, but Tony has put all my goals and perspectives right in the palm of my hand. The only reason you might not enjoy this is if you happen to be an extreme simpleton who wants a book that when opened, drops money into your lap. I talked about this book to everyone I know for the past year since I read it. If you have any love for yourself whatsoever, buy this book as the ultimate gift. I only voted this book 5 stars because that's as high as it goes. There is no limit to this book, literally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2