Customer Reviews for

Unlocked

Average Rating 4
( 363 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(88)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

Thank you B&N for selecting this book for a great deal! I am certainly not a true reviewer of novels. After reading Unlocked, I thought to give credit where it is due. I zipped through the story. How could anyone not relate to Elaine's story? I felt her emotions a...
Thank you B&N for selecting this book for a great deal! I am certainly not a true reviewer of novels. After reading Unlocked, I thought to give credit where it is due. I zipped through the story. How could anyone not relate to Elaine's story? I felt her emotions and also Evan's too. The storyline was heartfelt and although I am not one to rave about me tearing up, I found myself crying when Elaine unleashed memories of the past. I also appreciate that Ms. Milan gave us some insight to Evan's emotions and regret for his transgressions. I'll be looking into more of Ms. Milan's books and cannot wait for new editions.

posted by readitforpleasure1st on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not very good

Short, with no deve

posted by 9056747 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Great read!

    Thank you B&N for selecting this book for a great deal! I am certainly not a true reviewer of novels. After reading Unlocked, I thought to give credit where it is due. I zipped through the story. How could anyone not relate to Elaine's story? I felt her emotions and also Evan's too. The storyline was heartfelt and although I am not one to rave about me tearing up, I found myself crying when Elaine unleashed memories of the past. I also appreciate that Ms. Milan gave us some insight to Evan's emotions and regret for his transgressions. I'll be looking into more of Ms. Milan's books and cannot wait for new editions.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This was my first book by Courtney Milan and I am glad I gave this one a try. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    I loved it!!!

    This was a very unique story line. I have read romance novels for 30 years and have never encountered this twist. I will surely look for more from this author. My only disappointment was the length. I wanted more of this romantic and interesting couple. All of the characters were delightful! It was over too soon. Great book!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Simply wonderful!

    This book was just wonderful. The characters were believable and the story was well written. Good from the beginning to the end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great short story...

    One reviewer wrote: "R-rated trash, pornographic"?? I dont think we read the same book. For being a short story it was very well written. I often dont do short stories because by the end I always feel like too much was left out. I didnt feel this book lacked anything. The characters were delightful, fleshed out and REAL. The plot was full and complete. You understood the past that leads up to where the story begins. This author has a way of giving you a complete story without having to use 15 pages to describe one scene like so many other authors do. Great read for an incredible price. Worth trying out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fun and well paced. I don't worry about historical accuracy in my pleasure reading so if there were any inaccuracies I didn't notice. Great Job!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Did Not Disappoint

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Wish it had been more than a novella. Yes, the storyline has been told many times before, but Ms. Milan really fleshed out her characters and their emotions. Read it in one sitting; I couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed Elaine and Evans story. Unable to deal with his part of the bullying and humiliation he brought upon the one he loved when he was a young man of 19, Evan left for 10 years and grew up. He was back in London and determined to apologize to Elaine. He still loved her and had to find a way to regain her trust. This story was sweet and touching. A great read of 200+ pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great read, wonderful story, story made sense in the length and timeline it was written. I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Very good

    I loved this book. I bought it one day and stayed up reading it into the wee hours of the morning. Although it did have some dirty parts, i think it was really well written. I couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    JUNE 24 2011 T. J. IN KY. JUNE 24 2011

    Wow,! THIS BOOK WILL SHOOT THE SALE OF RED DRESSES THROUGH THE ROOF! VERY ROMANTIC AND TOUCHING STORY. I WILL BE READING MORE OF HER BOOKS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    A good quick paced read.

    Good book - not overly done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this one. Read it all the way on the first sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fun Quick Read

    It was a nice novella. I think that it had well built characters for a short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Not very good

    Short, with no deve

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Loved it

    Definitely a must read---

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved how she wrote this book. A man haunted by how he treated a woman. A woman he secretly admired. A woman withdrawn, a shadow of her former self. Both so at ends. Him trying to make amends. Her giving him some of what her deserves. I smiled and laughed. Irony at it's greatest. Perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    ok read

    The story was a little predictable. If you like regency era romances this one is ok but I wouldn't recommend it unless it's a good deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars. This novella takes on teen bullying as a theme: Evan,

    3.5 stars. This novella takes on teen bullying as a theme: Evan, the hero was
    falling for the heroine, but instead of dipping Elaine's (non-existent) braids into
    an inkwell, has made verbal fun of her - and the teasing stuck.

    Ten years later, he's deeply sorry, and wants to make amends. Maybe, even
    more than that. But Elaine can't forgive Evan so quickly... maybe not ever.

    The passage of time is treated very, very skillfully here, and the change in
    attitude (it's a romance, we know they'll end up together, eventually) is far from
    occurring overnight, or without a lot of hard work on Evan's part. I also liked
    Elaine's mother, whose brilliance and a little bit "off" social behavior hints at
    Asperger's Syndrome.

    I did feel that ten years between the bullying incidents and the return of a newly
    matured Evan felt too long for all the characters to have been stuck - for Elaine
    to be something of a victim, inwardly if not outwardly, for cousin Diana to still be
    harping on it, and for Evan to grow a pair. And wouldn't the ton have moved on
    to another 7-day wonder by then? Seems like 2-3 years would have worked
    better, even if it isn't a nice round number.

    Still, it's very well written and I enjoyed it, if not as much as some other Milan
    stories I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Silly but entertaining

    Silly but sweet and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 363 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19