Customer Reviews for

Unlocked: A Love Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

These are books this world needs more of!

This author's ability to write about true issues and problems people face in every day life draw the reader in and speaks to the soul. Her books always inspire me, and UNLOCKED was a true blessing! Unlocked is another incredible story about life, love, and true caring, ...
This author's ability to write about true issues and problems people face in every day life draw the reader in and speaks to the soul. Her books always inspire me, and UNLOCKED was a true blessing! Unlocked is another incredible story about life, love, and true caring, respect and kindness. This should be mandatory reading to all! This book tackles the relationship between parents also of a special need person. It takes a toll on a marriage and most don't survive. She explored the struggle the Harris's had and explained how helpless parents of a special needs child feel and how much the children need both parents together. How incredibly timely this book is that deals with bullying! This book is a light of hope! Her books inspire me to be a better person and strengthen me in so many ways! Her depiction of a child with autism is amazing and enlightening. I believe this book is a blessing and it will open the eyes of all who read this! Though I have read almost every one of her books this was a little different. It touched on subjects that are often hard to deal with. I found myself crying at times, tears of joy or sadness and cheering at others. The subject of bullying and autism are dealt with lovingly and should be a lesson to all who read this. It covers these issues and opens the understanding eye to that because a person is different that is no reason or excuse to judge or make fun of! I can't understand why it is so hard for some people to try to see through the other person's eyes! It is a beautiful story of friends finding each other after years have passed and how in the process a phenomenon can happen when you love instead of hate. These are books this world needs more of! We need to bring respect, peace, joy, kindness and understanding back into the world before it is too late! I love all of Karen Kingsbury's books; also, Picoult, Pirrung, Rivers and others who write with the special "touch" to inspire. Ann T. Mason

posted by ANNTMASON on October 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unlocked

Unlocked, the new young adult Novel by Karen Kingsbury, is a love story about a young woman and a young man with autism. This work fits into the genre of "Christian" romance- but with a new twist. The man that Ella falls in love with, is a young man with autism. King...
Unlocked, the new young adult Novel by Karen Kingsbury, is a love story about a young woman and a young man with autism. This work fits into the genre of "Christian" romance- but with a new twist. The man that Ella falls in love with, is a young man with autism. Kingsbury is to be commended for her attempt at portraying autism in a positive light. Nevertheless, I find that the novel is a bit too idealistic, because in reality, young men and women who do have autism, often have other social, physical and personal qualities that many would find offensive rather than endearing. Nevertheless, keeping in mind that the targeted reader is a teenager, the idealism is appropriate.

This book is perfect for any young adult- with its high school characters and setting, it makes it easy for teen readers to relate. This book tackles some important issues- bringing them to the forfront: autism, bullying, and how special needs children impact families and marriages. This book introduces the ideas of empathy and puts a human face to people with disabilities. This book serves to educate the reader of the challanges of autism and how it affects every sphere of life. At the end of the book are some thought provoking discussion questions, making this a good choice for group study or for personal thought and journaling. As a blogger for Zondervan publishers, I recieved this book for the purposes of writing a review. The opinions expressed are my own.

posted by PJtheEMT4 on November 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    These are books this world needs more of!

    This author's ability to write about true issues and problems people face in every day life draw the reader in and speaks to the soul. Her books always inspire me, and UNLOCKED was a true blessing! Unlocked is another incredible story about life, love, and true caring, respect and kindness. This should be mandatory reading to all! This book tackles the relationship between parents also of a special need person. It takes a toll on a marriage and most don't survive. She explored the struggle the Harris's had and explained how helpless parents of a special needs child feel and how much the children need both parents together. How incredibly timely this book is that deals with bullying! This book is a light of hope! Her books inspire me to be a better person and strengthen me in so many ways! Her depiction of a child with autism is amazing and enlightening. I believe this book is a blessing and it will open the eyes of all who read this! Though I have read almost every one of her books this was a little different. It touched on subjects that are often hard to deal with. I found myself crying at times, tears of joy or sadness and cheering at others. The subject of bullying and autism are dealt with lovingly and should be a lesson to all who read this. It covers these issues and opens the understanding eye to that because a person is different that is no reason or excuse to judge or make fun of! I can't understand why it is so hard for some people to try to see through the other person's eyes! It is a beautiful story of friends finding each other after years have passed and how in the process a phenomenon can happen when you love instead of hate. These are books this world needs more of! We need to bring respect, peace, joy, kindness and understanding back into the world before it is too late! I love all of Karen Kingsbury's books; also, Picoult, Pirrung, Rivers and others who write with the special "touch" to inspire. Ann T. Mason

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A life changing faith building story!

    Unlocked by Karen Kingsbury is a touching story about a young man with autism that will grab your heart and not let go! Until the age of three Holden Harris and Ella Reynolds had been inseparable, their families were the best of friends. When Holden is diagnosed with Autism, the Reynolds family decides they don't want their daughter playing with him anymore, but for Holden he never forgot Ella, part of his daily routine is watching home movies of him and Ella before he got sick. Fast forward Holden is 18, he is basically uncommunicative,the only thing he really responds to is music.His mother Tracy struggles daily with the challenges of taking care of an Autistic child, you can feel her pain and longing as she talks about never being able to touch or hold her son, of how she holds out hope that some day he will respond to her! Holden's dad basically ran away from the problems at home by taking a job that keeps him away from home most of the year. Ella Reynolds seemed to have the perfect life, she was a cheerleader, and dating one of the most popular boys in school, and she has just landed the lead in the school musical,but things aren't good at home, since the family moved back to town, her mom and dad seem to be having major problems! When Ella sees her boyfriend bullying a special needs student, she realizes he isn't who she thought he was and breaks up with him, she soon realizes the boy is Holden her old childhood friend. Can faith, music, and finding his friend Ella, help Holden unlock the stranglehold that autism has on him? This was one of the best Karen Kingsbury books I have ever read! The characters came alive, and the emotions literally surround you as you read. I believe that Karen is certainly guided by God when she writes her stories, because you come away uplifted, and your faith is renewed. With this book she taught me about Autism, something I knew nothing about. She also deals with some very timely issues such as bullying, suicide and peer pressure, which makes me think that this book should be mandatory reading for every high school student. I highly recommend this book, but be prepared to laugh and cry, and see the world thru Holden's eyes just for a bit. This is a faith building life changing book you wont be able to put down. On a scale of 1 to 5 this book deserves a 10! Even though I was provided a copy of this book by Zondervan for review it in no way alters my opinion of this book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Accurate portrait of an Autistic child - must read!

    I loved this book because of the insight Mrs. Kingsbury gives her readers about an Autistic child's behavior. The book made me laugh and cry but left me hopeful. Hopeful that there are really people out their like Ella that look past the quirky behavior and befriend a child like Holden. Having one good friend can make all the difference in the world to an Autistic child. Everything about this book was authentic, from the mom being the advocate to the dad burying himself in his work, to friends not being comfortable with an Autistic child, but most of all the bullying that any child has to endure because they are "different". Whether your child is Autistic or not this book gives a true picture of a bully and the kind of bullying that goes on everyday in schools. I hope that when you read this you take away from it that bulling cannot continue, that we have to stand up to this and not let it "boys will be boys" or "that is just girl drama" be the answer because that is not the answer. If we make kids accountable for their actions and teach them that bullying in any form is wrong all kids have the chance to grow to their full God given potential.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    Excellent Read!

    Holden Harris is a boy with autism who is bullied because he is different. Then one day Ella Reynolds, head cheerleader and lead of school drama, is rehearsing when Holden stops and listens. Ella takes interest in him and helps him win a spot in the school play. At the same time, Ella makes the discovery that her and Holden used to be childhood friends until his diagnosis of autism. She continues to help Holden step out if his autism through music.
    I highly recommend this book if you are a fan of Karen Kingsbury or just a fan of romance novels. This book draws you in from the first page and keeps you drawn in until the end. Karen's amazing detail makes it so you never want to put the book down. I absolutely loved this book and will certainly read it again!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unlocked

    Unlocked, the new young adult Novel by Karen Kingsbury, is a love story about a young woman and a young man with autism. This work fits into the genre of "Christian" romance- but with a new twist. The man that Ella falls in love with, is a young man with autism. Kingsbury is to be commended for her attempt at portraying autism in a positive light. Nevertheless, I find that the novel is a bit too idealistic, because in reality, young men and women who do have autism, often have other social, physical and personal qualities that many would find offensive rather than endearing. Nevertheless, keeping in mind that the targeted reader is a teenager, the idealism is appropriate.

    This book is perfect for any young adult- with its high school characters and setting, it makes it easy for teen readers to relate. This book tackles some important issues- bringing them to the forfront: autism, bullying, and how special needs children impact families and marriages. This book introduces the ideas of empathy and puts a human face to people with disabilities. This book serves to educate the reader of the challanges of autism and how it affects every sphere of life. At the end of the book are some thought provoking discussion questions, making this a good choice for group study or for personal thought and journaling. As a blogger for Zondervan publishers, I recieved this book for the purposes of writing a review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    great heart warming story

    As a special ed teacher i could relate to the autism issues. I prayed along with this book that this story was real.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great book

    This a really really really good book! I love the meaning of this book. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes good books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is excellent! It has made a lasting impression on me and in how I need to treat others!!! Thank you Karen for writing such an inspirational book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    awesome!

    great read and one of karen's best books. great purchase!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    I read this book for my book club this month. Not a single perso

    I read this book for my book club this month. Not a single person liked it. While yes the overall message is one that needs to be heard, the overall tone of the book is a cheesy after school special.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great book

    Good read! Hard to set down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Moving story

    A couple of typos in the electronic version that the editors missed, but a great summer read. Heart-breaking and hopful all at the same time. This is the first book I have ever read by this author. She was reccommended to me by a friend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Big fan of Karen Kingsbury

    Very touching story line that makes you think about the way you treat others. Loved the book from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Incredible

    My eyes were truly opened to the beauty that exists in the sweetest souls... thank you Karen Kingsbury for another life changer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Amazing

    This was the first Kingsbury book I read, and this is the one that got me hooked on her books! Its an amazing story, about how autistic Holden finds his way back to his childhood friend Ella, and how they work together on a play and overcome barriers in life, Together.
    -izzy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Typical Kingsbury Book

    My biggest issue with the book: How the autistic child is treated and portrayed in school bothered me. It seemed behind the times with how students with special needs are treated and are included in school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Heart warming

    I didn't want to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Wonderfully Touching Story!

    A great read, and very touching Story! One of Karen Kingsbury's best! Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another brilliant inspired book

    I read the book because I have read almost all of Karen Kingsbury's other books. This book is great because it conveys a Christian message without being "preachy" which might appeal to people who are not Christians. I thought that everything about the book was great. It made me cry, as do many of Karen's books. I wouldn't change a thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    unlocked

    Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13