Customer Reviews for

Unlocking the Spell: A Tale of the Wide-Awake Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was

I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was no exception. With plenty of humor and heart, I eagerly followed Annie on her quest to find help for her sister's betrothed. I love the idea of a character upon whom magic has no effect, it creates unique...
I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was no exception. With plenty of humor and heart, I eagerly followed Annie on her quest to find help for her sister's betrothed. I love the idea of a character upon whom magic has no effect, it creates unique and often humorous situations for both Annie and those around her both good and bad. The writing flows smoothly and allows the reader to focus on the story rather than the words (always a good sign in my opinion). I enjoyed reading about the different fairy tale characters in roles both old and new. For example, Old Mother Hubbard as a peacemaker, evil dwarves, Snow White, along with lots of fairies make the book a delight to read. There is a nice touch of romance, just enough to satisfy middle grade girls. A fun light read, perfect for middle grade girls.

posted by GeoLibrarian on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A worthy follow-up from The Wide-Awake Princess - but not quite as fun

I very much enjoyed "The Wide-Awake Princess" and had fun traipsing about the fairy-tale kingdoms with Princess Annie. In the sequel, Annie continues her travels, this time searching for the cure to the curse that keeps her sister's husband trapped in the shape of a be...
I very much enjoyed "The Wide-Awake Princess" and had fun traipsing about the fairy-tale kingdoms with Princess Annie. In the sequel, Annie continues her travels, this time searching for the cure to the curse that keeps her sister's husband trapped in the shape of a bear. However, it felt like this journey was more contrived - the characters dashed about willy-nilly, encountering all the other fairy-tale folks you could hope for. Ostensibly following the trail of an evil dwarf, instead I kept hoping that they would just go home. In summary, it was diverting and light-hearted and I enjoyed reading it. But the first book was better.

posted by Barbie1982 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 7, 2012

    I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was

    I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was no exception. With plenty of humor and heart, I eagerly followed Annie on her quest to find help for her sister's betrothed. I love the idea of a character upon whom magic has no effect, it creates unique and often humorous situations for both Annie and those around her both good and bad. The writing flows smoothly and allows the reader to focus on the story rather than the words (always a good sign in my opinion). I enjoyed reading about the different fairy tale characters in roles both old and new. For example, Old Mother Hubbard as a peacemaker, evil dwarves, Snow White, along with lots of fairies make the book a delight to read. There is a nice touch of romance, just enough to satisfy middle grade girls. A fun light read, perfect for middle grade girls.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    I loved The Wide-Awake Princess!!! It was such a good book! I just bought this book Unlocking the Spell and Im totally hooked!!!

    ~ InkHeartLover

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Awesome book! I knew Annie and Liam were perfect for each other!

    Awesome book! I knew Annie and Liam were perfect for each other!! As Annie, Liam, Gwendolyn, and Beldegard go on a quest to find the evil dwarf that cast a spell to turn Beldegard into a bear. They encounter a nice Mother Hubbard, a Cinderella story gone wrong, and much more! Please read , you won't be sorry!!!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I LOVE ED Baker!

    I have read all her books and hate when their series are over so I was glad that The Wide Awake Princess has a sequel.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great book love this author

    It is really good so far need to buy it though. If u liked the wide awake princess u will love this book. They soooo need to make a movie. E.d baker is an awesome author u will love his work. I truely recommend this author.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awesome

    Ok i bought w.a.p and LOVED it i bought u.t.s and loving it

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    A worthy follow-up from The Wide-Awake Princess - but not quite as fun

    I very much enjoyed "The Wide-Awake Princess" and had fun traipsing about the fairy-tale kingdoms with Princess Annie. In the sequel, Annie continues her travels, this time searching for the cure to the curse that keeps her sister's husband trapped in the shape of a bear. However, it felt like this journey was more contrived - the characters dashed about willy-nilly, encountering all the other fairy-tale folks you could hope for. Ostensibly following the trail of an evil dwarf, instead I kept hoping that they would just go home. In summary, it was diverting and light-hearted and I enjoyed reading it. But the first book was better.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Lmllolo

    Omg, annabelle and liam make such a cute couple!

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    :)

    Have not read it yet but i bet since the wide awake princess was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good that I'm hoping it is good too.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    this book is awesome, however, E.D Baker must make a book three

    this book is awesome, however, E.D Baker must make a book three and many more!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Maybe

    I have only read the sample but I think it looks good. However I don't like it whan some people say bad things on reviews because if you would not say that infront of a adult you should not say/write it at all. I think that is inportent because you can always say you did not like it in a nice way like it was not my favorite book or something like that

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Loved the Wide Awake Princess!

    I Know this is going to b awesome!!!!!

    -Edme the one eyed wolf

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Myra

    This is the best book ever but if you have not read the wide awake princess yet it might not make sense!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Unlocking the Spell

    This book cleverly illistrated several fairytales and fit it into one delicious book. It was charming, clever, and witty. I simply couldn't put it down! This is a must read and you will be very happy if you do. Baker makes you feel as if you are inside the story! You have to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Best book

    Best book ever i got it at the book fair and i was hooked

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Princess

    I love this series so i love e.d. baker it'll catch any fairytales high

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Awesome

    This is the best book ever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Question

    Is this the second book? I am confused

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I love how it seems to tie in all of the Grimm Brother's stories

    I love how it seems to tie in all of the Grimm Brother's stories even those that are less known to others for example "Snow White and Red Rose". Not only that but it also tells of a tale by its self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Wonderful!!!

    It was even better than the first!!!!!!!!!!!It has more excitement & danger!!!!!!Ecspeially at the end when the most unespected thing happens but u have to read it to find out!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3