Customer Reviews for

Unlocking the Spell: A Tale of the Wide-Awake Princess

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was

I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was no exception. With plenty of humor and heart, I eagerly followed Annie on her quest to find help for her sister's betrothed. I love the idea of a character upon whom magic has no effect, it creates unique...
I've loved everything I've read by E.D. Baker and this book was no exception. With plenty of humor and heart, I eagerly followed Annie on her quest to find help for her sister's betrothed. I love the idea of a character upon whom magic has no effect, it creates unique and often humorous situations for both Annie and those around her both good and bad. The writing flows smoothly and allows the reader to focus on the story rather than the words (always a good sign in my opinion). I enjoyed reading about the different fairy tale characters in roles both old and new. For example, Old Mother Hubbard as a peacemaker, evil dwarves, Snow White, along with lots of fairies make the book a delight to read. There is a nice touch of romance, just enough to satisfy middle grade girls. A fun light read, perfect for middle grade girls.

posted by GeoLibrarian on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A worthy follow-up from The Wide-Awake Princess - but not quite as fun

I very much enjoyed "The Wide-Awake Princess" and had fun traipsing about the fairy-tale kingdoms with Princess Annie. In the sequel, Annie continues her travels, this time searching for the cure to the curse that keeps her sister's husband trapped in the shape of a be...
I very much enjoyed "The Wide-Awake Princess" and had fun traipsing about the fairy-tale kingdoms with Princess Annie. In the sequel, Annie continues her travels, this time searching for the cure to the curse that keeps her sister's husband trapped in the shape of a bear. However, it felt like this journey was more contrived - the characters dashed about willy-nilly, encountering all the other fairy-tale folks you could hope for. Ostensibly following the trail of an evil dwarf, instead I kept hoping that they would just go home. In summary, it was diverting and light-hearted and I enjoyed reading it. But the first book was better.

posted by Barbie1982 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Talentidly written

    This author has a nack for captivating his readers I have read all the book he has written and the detail and effort it took on these books is truly amazing E.D Baker is a must read author and no matter what mood you are in you will always enjoy these books another thing is with so many good books and to feel like you are following the main character so well is a true skill thank you E.D Baker for bringing these quirky ideas on magical stories to the attention of the rest of us you should really make a movie about these that follows the story line EXACTLY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Good!

    Great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    ;p ;) ;v :) :0

    Best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    B BEST BOOK EVER

    EVER

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Is there going 2 b more???.........

    Is there going 2 b more??? Cuz i shure hope there is, i LOVE these books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! C=

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Love this book

    Really loved this book, I have read every book in each of her series, and this is great!!!! =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Anoyumysu

    I loved this book i read the first book every time i got a break at camp last summer when i saw this one i got it read it and read it again and again and again i do not even remeber how many times i have read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    The author puts different fairy tales into the story and it really makes the book more fun to read. I also like how her family doesn't exclude her as much. Can't wait for the third book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I am reading it right now andi can't put it down!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Question

    Is this the second book? I am confused

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    This is a wonderful book!

    It's a great second book to it's first ( the wide awake princess) the characters are wonderful and the plot supports every event in the book. Read it, you won't be sorry. I promise.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    :)

    I havent read it but i read the 1st one it was so good!!!!! Is hte second one good? Well you will have to read it to pfind
    ? Just hope they find the dwarf. I also think you should read the The Frog princess serues also by ed baker it made the frog prince.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Really awesome book!

    This book was so well written. After I read the first book, The Wide Awake Princess, I liked it much that I found this book. I finished it today. And it is definitly worth all your money. It is a quick read but keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time! I highly reccommend this book. BUT DONT FORGET TO READ THE FIRST BOOK, THE WIDE AWAKE PRINCESS, FIRST!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM

    QWERTYUIOPASDFGHJKLZXCVBNM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Another Wonderful Quest with Annie & Liam

    I have to admit it, it's a great book. It sort of brings all the fairie tales together into one. Just they'r all mixed up. Sleeping Beauty with a little sister, Snow White being chocked by a neckales, ans so on. I would dfinently recomend this book.
    P.S. if there is anny misspelled words, reply to baker the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Do not listen to the other guy!

    You should read my reviews. The other guys does not make any sense!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3