Customer Reviews for

Unlovable: Book One of the Port Fare Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    First off, I want to say how AMAZING the cover of this book is. When I saw the cover, I knew I had to read this book. So when the author asked me to review Unlovable for her, I literally flipped out (seriously just ask my sister). So saying that I had very high expectations going into this book is a big understatement. Good thing this book exceeded those expectations by a mile! I loved every single freaking thing about it! Maggie was far from perfect, but I think that's why I liked her so much. She was shy around Seth and very hesitant on who she trusted. But once she warmed up to him, Maggie's relationship with Seth was just so darn cute! They acted so adorable around each other in the book and I couldn't help but be jealous of Maggie having a guy as amazing (and cute) as Seth. This book reminded me of Never Been Kissed (with the whole pretending to be in high school thing) and Going Too far by Jennifer Echols (with the whole falling in love with a cop thing). But what those two didn't have that Unlovable did have was such a thrilling, surprising story. This is NOT the cliche storyline of people falling in love. People die and there are countless visits to the hospital (but with many stolen kisses in between). Needless to say, this book was far from unlovable. And to make things even more awesome, I learned that there's going to be two more books after this! You can definitely count on me being first in line to read these. I don't know how I'm going to last until they come out! Until then though, I highly recommend you get you hands on Unlovable as soon as you can! You won't regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lovable and captivating from beginning to end!!!

    Simply put, this book is one of a kind. I was hooked from the moment I started to read and couldn't put it down until the very last period. The characters were believable and developed so smoothly I really felt a part of their world. I laughed, I cried, I cringed, I smiled, I fell in love. Maggie is a young woman in high school struggling in life with a addict of a mother and no friends to speak of. Seth is an under-cover officer posing as a high school senior to stop a ring of drug dealers targeting school aged kids. Against all odds, Seth and Maggie come together and develop a friendship that is soon tested beyond belief when she becomes a target for the dealers themselves. Betrayal, love, adventure, danger, passion, sorrow; it's all there in one unforgetable package!! I can't wait for the next two books in this series so I can learn what happens to all my favorite characters! I would recommend this book to everyone!! This novel is a "clean" novel meaning no cursing or sexual content to ruin the story, keeping it refreshing and appropriate for readers of all ages!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Lovable!

    Great story. I could read this over and over again. My heart ached for Maggie!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Speechless

    This is an amzing bok. Im so glad my sister got me into reading these books. Its an emotionallly amazing book. We all need a "seth" in our lives... that would be heaven...absolutely amazing amazing amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Amazing


    It's funny how i fell in love with a book called "Unlovable", but what's not funny is why the book is called "Unlovable".

    Maggie Brown is slowly starving to death. Her mother drinks away almost all the money they get and is a mean drunk. She tells Maggie that she is an unlovable nothing and regrets ever having her. The things Maggie's mom says to her effect her in more than one way. It makes me sad thinking about a mother telling her child she doesn't want her, drunk or not.

    Seth Prescott is an under cover cop posing as a high school student at Port Fare High. The case hasn't been going well, that is until Maggie steps into the picture, the only problem is Seth has a secret crush on Maggie and she is now the center of the case.

    I really like how the author wrote from Seth's and Maggie's point of view. The Dreser brother's point of view is creepy and kinda scary. I mean, who enjoys killing so much? I also really enjoyed Seth and Maggie's romance, though I did feel bad when Maggie took Seth's genuine niceness for being a jerk. My favorite scene in the whole book is when the children Seth and Maggie read to lock them both in a closet to get them to kiss.

    I really enjoyed this book. After reading it I added is to my "fav books" list. I recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Dee

    This was a great book....hope there is a second book would love to see what happens to the rest of the characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have so many things to say about this book!! , All of them goo

    I have so many things to say about this book!! , All of them good of course!!

    First to the author i would like to give her a round of applause , because this book was so heartbreaking , sweet , , and humorous packed in a little loveable package!! . I'm looking forward to reading more of her books and falling head over heels . I like how this book had such pure romance with out going to over the top , and icky and lose their meaning like other books.

    Second Me and Maggie actually have things in common 1) We are both saving ourselves for the right person
    2) We don't trust people easily 3) lousy ex-boyfriend that can't kiss 4) i love with Seth Prescott ! . This book put Maggie into so many emotional roller coasters , i was on edge and laughing all the time.

    Third Seth Prescott , Yummy Seth . What can i say . I found it very attractive how Seth was a very mature young man , instead of a immature little boy who only wanted Maggie for one thing. I hope i could find a guy like him one day .He is officially my dream guy.

    Fourth is all the characters . In any other book reading the point of view of other characters in the book would make me put it down and have no interest in it but this book was a exception . I loved all the characters . Even the snotty , slimy , junkie , psycho ones! .

    This book has become my favorite book of 2012 so fair. And hey don't be fooled by the reviews , this book wasn't predictable .
    5/5 for this loveable book .


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Wow

    This is one of the greastest books i have ever read!!!!!! It is full of romance, suspense, and emotion. One of my all time favorite books!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Amazing

    Honestly this is one of my favorite books the story line keeps you reading for more :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    wow

    wow just wow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Wonderful read!

    Sherry Gammon's Unlovable was a wonderful read full of suspense, action and romance. Her characters were believable and the plot kept you fully engaged. This book made me laugh and cry.I look forward to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Great read!

    The other day I began reading "Unlovable" and I was impressed not only with the strong voice of the author, but with the entire plot. At first the cover grabbed my attention, then the more I read, the more I got sucked in until I finished the book. As any YA novel, I looked for the message it sends to our teenagers and quite frankly I liked it, not only because it teaches young adults to stand up for themselves, but it shows if someone wants something bad enough, it's within ourselves to find the strength to fight for it and persist until we have it. Maggie is a senior in high school, with a heart of a lion, but behind her brave façade it's a lonely, starved young woman. Not even her broken shoes or secondhand clothing keeps her from dreaming one day to make something out of herself and to be loved. Her alcoholic and abusive mother had deprived Maggie of love, attention and basic care no child should grow up without. Aside from studying and skipping lunch, the only highlight of Maggie's day is seeing Seth Prescott, a senior in the same high school. Looking through Maggie's eyes, Seth is perfect and I often found myself smiling-sure thing I saw some guys exactly the same way at that age. What Maggie doesn't know is that Seth is an undercover MET agent. And here is where things get complicated. I don't want to spoil the story for anyone, but for all parents out there in search for a clean YA novel, "Unlovable" is the right book for your teenagers. What I liked most about this book is the author's ability to create a clean story about teenagers for teenagers without masking an adult novel under a YA genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    SO GOOD!

    This book was incredible! Not only was the writing superb and highly entertaining, but the story itself grabbed my attention with the first sentence and held it in place through to the very last line. The characters were perfectly flawed and lovable (or hate-able, in the case of the bad guys) and you really felt for them as the story progressed. The dialogue was so true-to-life, I felt as though Seth and Maggie were in the room with me, sharing their story. The pop culture references were so clever and creative in their use, I found myself laughing out loud at moments. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes to read! It was love at first sight with these characters and their story, I can hardly wait for Sherry's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Live To Read

    This novel has one of the best premises a reader can come across for a love story packed with action. The main character, Maggie, struggles to maintain normalcy in her life. She is stuck in a bad home situation with few friends and only school to keep her sane. When she meets Seth, the love interest of the novel, she thinks she finally found something good in life. Seth is actually an undercover agent...however, he finds himself slowly falling for Maggie. Seth has his problems too, he isn't perfect. A younger reader will still find this an enjoyable read-the love scenes are kept scrupulously clean. The novel has the ring of the realistic while still being fictional enough to keep the reader interested. The plot itself is very intriguing and the reader will never be bored. This novel is recommend for teens/young adults/adults.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    ?

    Hey can someone tell me how many pages this book is? I got the e-book sample but its 149 pages and if its only 200 pages that seems dumb to give a sample with that many pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    pages

    Hi, the book has 307 pages! There must be somenkind of mistakes weith yours! Sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Great, clean teen read

    I found Maggie's story very enjoyably readable. This poor girl lives in horrible circumstances, trying to maintain some normalcy, while being contantly told how unlovable she is. Then she meets Seth, who to her seems too good to be true - and he is to a degree, but not in the he's-so-perfect-he-can't-be-real kind of way. He just isn't what he professes to be. He's not a high school senior at all, but rather an undercover DEA agent. He's assigned to Maggie, and finds himself falling for her rather than maintaining a professional distance.

    I've read some of the reviews, and some people complained of Seth being too perfect. I didn't get that impression at all. During Maggie's narration, we have to remember we are seeing him through her eyes, and of course she's going to think he's perfect. During his narration, I think Gammon does a great job of showing his humanity, how he struggles with his job vs his personal feelings. There were also some mentions of predictability, and though that's true in certain areas - though not annoyingly predictable, I have to say - there are also many places where Gammon completely throws the reader for a loop. I won't give details, but the story with Maggie and her mother definitely do not go according to happily-ever-after. There was also talk of Maggie making foolish choices. Um, hello, the girl is 17. Who of us did not make foolish choices when we were that age? Teens believe they are invincible, which is a huge part of their charm, and Maggie is just behaving as a typical girl her age might.

    As to the love scenes - or lack thereof - I'm grateful to Gammon for keeping it clean. I think the whole world is well aware of the raging hormones of teens, but I don't think it's necessary to write books where they have no self-control. I happen to think there are a great many teens who do have control over their actions, and understand the consequences of giving in to urges. So while Seth holds back because of his upbringing, I applaud Gammon for showing that a young couple can have a hot, loving, sweet relationship without being physical. I did not find the story lacking at all in that area. I applaud ALL authors who write YA books that are appropriate for teens, rather than writing an adult book disguised as YA, but full of adult matter/content. Gammon is absolutely on the right track in that area.

    I definitely recommend this book for ages 14-90. There is some violence, and some of the death scenes are fairly graphic, so it might not be appropriate for a younger crowd. Overall, you're going to enjoy this book, as I did.

    Oh, and excellent cover! Perfectly catches Maggie's struggle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Loved this novel

    I really enjoyed this book! The story drew me in and I coulnd't put it down. I hope book two comes out soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Must read.

    I have read this book a while back and everytime I think of a good read, I think, Unlovable. Here I am at the oddly hours of the morning spilling my feelings over pages of pure bliss. As cheesey as that sounds if you read this book you will not be disapointed. You would think for so many pages it would be a bore with the endless nonsense ramble but it really isn't. Some books have good plots but no character build up but this book has both. It has a great romance and a great mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Intense!

    Definitely an intense book, great characters. great book and story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3