Customer Reviews for

Unlucky 13 (Women's Murder Club Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Women's murder club series is amazing

I have been anticipating this book for so long. I can it wait to read it. It will be amazing! Everyone should read this series.

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

SHIGIRL

I waited so long for this book. I have read all the books in this series. It did not grab me like the other books.

I did not like the way the storylines were resolved. Very poor
And abrupt and then on their merry way to solve the next problem. It also had a poor endin...
I waited so long for this book. I have read all the books in this series. It did not grab me like the other books.

I did not like the way the storylines were resolved. Very poor
And abrupt and then on their merry way to solve the next problem. It also had a poor ending. Everything seemd to be a rush to a conclusion without enough thought. The ending left more to be desired also. I will be very wary when #14 comes out.

posted by 8199911 on May 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Women's murder club series is amazing

    I have been anticipating this book for so long. I can it wait to read it. It will be amazing! Everyone should read this series.

    11 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Ready!!!

    So ready, I preordered this book a few days ago and counted down the minutes till midnight I've never preordered anything before so I don't know when to expect the book to be available I hope it will be available soon I'm going crazy waiting for it!!! I've waited too long for this book and I'm dying to read it they are all very interesting, on the edge of your seat type of novels

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Love James Patterson , you will love this one.

    This was a great book , not a dull moment and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Things happen that will surprise you.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    It did not disappoint! I love WMC. When's the fourteenth book co

    It did not disappoint! I love WMC. When's the fourteenth book coming? I need to see Cindy and Rich get back together and get married! The sad fact is that I need to wait a lifetime again for the next one. :)

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Love these books

    I always have trouble putting down the Women's Murder Club books. I hope James Patterson and Maxine Paetro keeping writing them for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Story

    One of the interesting elements of author James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series is the numerous sub-plots playing out at once. These various plots keep readers/listeners in an adrenaline-driven state from beginning to end.

    Narrator January LaVoy does an excellent job giving distant voices to the various characters. LaVoy’s mannerisms and cadence adds depth to the story and enhances the suspense listeners feel as the plots unfold.

    Life is going well for San Francisco Detective Lindsay Boxer. She’s enjoying her job, she has great friends to relax with and a beautiful baby girl and handsome husband to come home to. Life heats up for Lindsay when ‘belly bombs’ start going off in the city. It seems a local hamburger chain is being targeted and it’s up to Lindsay and her partner to stop the killer before another victim explodes from the inside out after eating a hamburger.

    Meanwhile, a killer from Lindsay’s past has come out of hiding. Psychopath Mackie Morales is returned to San Francisco to see her son and make Lindsay pay for the death of her boyfriend.

    Lindsay’s boss is on his honeymoon with one of Lindsay’s best friends, Yuki. When their Alaskan cruise is cut short by armed gunmen hijacking the ship and demanding ransom, Yuki sends a short video message to Lindsay. The couple’s friends watch the news closely fearing for their lives as the terrorists begin killing passengers.

    The various elements of this story make for a pulse-racing read. The story switched back and forth among the sub-plots keeping listeners/readers on the edge of their seat. The story is fast-pace and told from several perspectives.

    UNLUCKY 13 is the 13th installment in the Women’s Murder Club series, but can be read/listened to on its own. However, having read/listened to prior installments in the series will give readers a better understanding of some of the characters interaction.

    This is an intriguing story that may cause you to second guess yourself the next time you order takeout burgers.

    FTC Full Disclosure - This audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    very good reading

    recommend book easy to read. enjoyed storyline, exciting. etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    All the ladies are terrific. Very Good reading !

    Especially good since it all takes place in San francisco and surrounding areas.
    However, there are a few technical errors, but then maybe those are intended for secuity reasons. Hope so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Loved it

    Love them all .... wish I didn't have to wait a year for the next....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Bad news here

    Bad news here (de<_>aths, sicknesses, battles, comebacks of evil cats)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Unlucky 13 was wr

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Unlucky 13 was written by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro. This installment in the Women’s Murder Club is a breathtaking thrill ride. Unlucky 13 opens with a traffic accident on the Golden Gate Bridge; the victims died a terrible death. Death by hamburger! The bomb was ingested in a hamburger and when it is digested it explodes. Claire is on the scene and calls in Lindsay and Rich. The bomb was so strong it destroyed the car. San Francisco Detective Lindsay Boxer once again faces Mackie Morales, a treacherous and unbalanced murderer. Mackie is a beautiful psychopath. Newlyweds Yuki and Brady are on their honeymoon when pirates take over the ship and begin murdering the passengers. Cindy goes out on her own by stalking a known psychopathic serial killer. 

    Unlucky 13 is my favorite installment in the Women’s Murder Club! It grabbed my attention from the beginning and held it to the end. The format of this book is a bit different than previous WMC tales. The ladies are not as dependent on each other. There are basically three separate stories. My copy is audio format and read by January LaVoy. She has a lovely voice that resonates with the character of Lindsey. I was on the edge of my seat throughout this tale. The writing was exquisite. Part of what I enjoyed about this book was its ability to show the humanness of the characters. They have weaknesses and imperfections. While I have been disappointed in a few of the Women’s Murder Club books recently, this one has restored my faith in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Nice series

    I enjoyed the whole series and look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Love the Women's Murder Club

    This book was hard to put down. There were basically 3 plots contained in this book: 1) A serial killer using stomach bombs, 2) A nemesis returned to crate havoc, and 3) A horrific hijacking of a honeymoon cruise. LOVED them all!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Abcdeefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

    ===================>~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    Been reading the Women's Murder Club since the first one came ou

    Been reading the Women's Murder Club since the first one came out. This one has multiple plot lines with several of the ladies in dire straits. Fast paced great read. Now I have to wait a year for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Outstanding Novel!!

    James Patterson is one of my three favorite authors. Everything that I have read that was written by him, I have thoroughly enjoyed. One must read his books to appreciate his talent and ability to write awesome novels. Read it for yourself, I guarantee that you will love it if you love mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    kept you reading

    It was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Good Read !

    I am a James Patterson Fan & I love the murder club books as well. I read this book so fast it was hard to wait for the next one it was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Unlucky 13, but not for the reader!

    It was scary, spooky and full of twists and turns. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this on three other booksand check under your pillow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6