Customer Reviews for

Unmasking Maya

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A sweet little read

    I literally could not put this book down! I read it from start to finish in a day. Likeable characters you can easily relate to. Maya and Derek I need more of! I will be reading more from this author, what a rare gem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved this book! Main character Maya Kirkwood is sweet and funny

    Loved this book! Main character Maya Kirkwood is sweet and funny and she's very easy to relate to (even though I've never had to
    rebuild my life afer a career-killing scandal). You can't help but cheer her on as she tries to make a (new) name for herself in the San
    Francisco art scene. I really enoyed the banter between Maya and Derek and absolutely loved how their story played out. I'm looking
    forward to reading more from Libby Mercer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Unmasking Maya by Libby Mercer is the final novel we will featur

    Unmasking Maya by Libby Mercer is the final novel we will feature for International chick lit month. The genre is romantic comedy. Thank you Libby for sending me a copy of this novel.
    Synopsis:
    Maya is starting over in a new career as an artist. She is at a showing of her work with her agent Inez. Her career seems to be going well. Maya makes the rounds of her exhibit and she meets Derek. Maya is taken aback by her initial reaction to Derek, and his reaction to her art. The next day Maya receives a phone call from her agent that a business would like to sponsor her as the resident artist. All of the sudden she finds that Derek is her supervisor. Could there be more? Will she succeed in her art?
    My Thoughts:
    I very much enjoyed this novel! It was written well. The dialogue drew me in from the very beginning with it’s sharp wit and humor. I wanted to turn the next page because I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next. The author played the characters off of each other well. The only part that seemed a little easy was the plot. It was not very complex. I am interested in seeing how this author grows in the future. Please visit Libby on her Facebook page, Twitter, or her website. by Jencey/Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Maria Book provided by the publisist for review Revi

    Reviewed by Maria
    Book provided by the publisist for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    What do you get when a boho type artistic free spirited woman in San Francisco gets with a nerd from Silicon Valley? An inter-cultural love story, that’s what. When two very different people come together in our crazy modern scenario, there is bound to be conflict galore. That is the essence of UNMASKING MAYA, a fresh, contemporary romance from Libby Mercer, who earlier brought us the amazingly exquisite FASHIONING A ROMANCE.

    Maya Kirkwood is a woman with a past. She’s hiding something. She’s an ex-New Yorker trying to make it as an artistic décor designer in San Francisco. And when she’s hired by the Bill Gates like prodigy Derek Whitley to do some décor improvement in his Merlo Place operations base, the sparks don’t exactly fly at first. It’s more a slow burn. But yes, the attraction flares in due course. We know that Maya is hiding something and as we go deeper into the story, we learn what it is, along with Derek himself. He’s checked up on Maya and he knows by her lack of internet presence that she’s definitely hiding something.

    The surprising thing is, Derek’s hiding something too. A something that threatens to become a very big something indeed. Perhaps an obstacle in their budding romance. Will Maya and the Nerd get it together? Will Maya make peace with her shameful past? And will Derek make peace with his? And move on? Do this pair have a future? Even if they both come to terms with their backgrounds, which made them what they are today, even if they manage to get past all that, is there really a future in their future?

    Can a boho artist woman (she doesn’t even own a computer) and a geeky, nerdy man really get it together? Even if he is a millionaire prodigy? Is it even possible? Well, this is what we read the book to discover. I’d like to think that they balance each other, each one cancelling out the other’s deficiencies. Or will they drive each other crazy and end up leaving each other in disgust? Really, you can’t know unless you go there, can you? The writer’s job is to take you there and see for yourself. Can she do it? And can he do it convincingly?

    The atmosphere of San Francisco comes through strongly. The city is like another character in the novel. From Pacific Height to Merlo Place, to the eccentrics (like the businessman on the unicycle), I dare you not to find a little place in your heart for thi city by the time you’ve completed reading this.

    Libby Mercer’s writing is sharp, perceptive and lucid. She writes in crisp, contemporary language. She literally holds your hand and takes you there. She’s very much a chronicler of the age, I’ve noticed her observations in FASHIONING A ROMANCE, her last book too. I like this juxtaposition of the nerdy with the trendy, of the boho with the techno. It’s definitely something to keep in mind and watch out for.

    And again, Libby proves that it’s possible to make a story sizzle without getting into bed with the main characters. That’s a rare skill. So folks, what we have here a sweet romance that sizzles. Way to go, Libby!

    Favorite Quote: “I just don’t see why this should classify as ‘art.’” He did the air quote thing with his fingers and it took every ounce of will power I had not to slam a stiletto into his kneecaps. He turned to me with a neutral expression, apparently unaware that he was offending me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Very cute, very readable book.

    At first, it seemed like Maya was a "bit" unlikeable to me, but as I continued to read, I liked her more and more. By the end of the book, I was sorry it ended. You will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    A True Love Story

    This was my first book that I read by Libby Mercer -- I finished in one day! I really like this author -- her story was so sweet and real and the hopeless romantic in me LOVE LOVE LOVED this book. It's nice to see opposites really do attract to make one! Highly recommended if you want an easy, feel good book !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

     ¿Unmasking Maya¿ has been on my to-read list for a while and I

     ”Unmasking Maya” has been on my to-read list for a while and I couldn’t wait to start it.  I loved the storyline right from the start, so I knew it’d be something I really enjoy reading.
    The beginning of this book took off right away.  I was charmed by the clever and witty banter during the introduction of Maya and Derek.  Maya seems mysterious at the beginning, but I can see why (only at the end), and thought she was a very likable character.  While Derek seems to be a charming bad boy type, I liked him too, because he seemed to challenge Maya.  While their working relationship transformed, it was obvious that Maya was falling for him even though she tried not to, but with good reason.  I thought that Derek also had a good reason to act the way he did, but I didn’t find that out until close to the end, though (sadly) I liked his reasoning.  (No, I’m not going to give you any spoilers!).
    My main concern with this book that there wasn’t enough displays of affection between Maya and Derek before the ending and I wanted to believe that his couple can make it.
    This cute and funny book written by the lovely Libby Mercer was funny and sweet.  I’d gladly pass “Unmasking Maya” to anyone who wants a cute and delightful, quick read.
    I give this book 4 out of 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    I loved, loved, loved this book! This is the first story I¿ve re

    I loved, loved, loved this book! This is the first story I’ve read by Libby Mercer, and it won’t be my last! Unmasking Maya has everything I love about a good romance! And I found that I really love Libby Mercer’s writing style.

    Maya Kirkwood is an artist, who is trying hard to build a new career and to forget her past career as a fashion designer. With a new name, in a new city, living in a studio apartment, she designs amazing wall art out of fabrics. When she is commissioned to do some art work by Derek Whitley for his company, Unisco, she finds herself strongly attracted to Derek, but the last thing she needs is to get involved with another overly ambitious man who would do anything, or step on anyone, to get to the top. 

    I loved Derek Whitley! He reminded me of Mr. Darcy. He has that air of superiority, and he is intense and oh so incredibly handsome. Derek and Maya don’t get off to a good start when he insults her artwork before he knows she's the artist! Stunned by his comments, she can't understand why he would hire her. His friends tell Maya that Derek has not always been so up-tight and driven by his work, and Maya finds out she’s not the only one with a difficult past.
     
    Derek is always cold and distant toward Maya, but when trouble shows up the night of the unveiling of new the wing at Unisco, Derek is right by her side like a knight in shining armor. As her past is unmasked in front of him, will he believe the worst of her the way everyone else does?

    I loved that Unmasking Maya is written in the first person from Maya’s point-of-view. I felt like my best friend was telling me something that happened to her.
     
    If you’re looking for a cute, fun, quirky romance, I would highly recommend Unmasking Maya.

    I was provided a copy for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    UNMASKING MAYA is a prime example of a chic lit novel that satis

    UNMASKING MAYA is a prime example of a chic lit novel that satisfied me as the reader on not only humour and attraction for the male love interest but *depth*. I've read other chic lit novels that are great but they're all too much about fashion and the single life and being too good for a man, or how their life is in ruins.

    When I finished this book, I had a giddy feeling all over me. It's much different to other books in the genre as the male lead isn't your typical hunky male-model looking guy. He's aloof and weird but gorgeous and stand-off-ish. I haven't read another character like him and I liked reading about him as an individual, instead of a cut-out male lead who is so similar to the ones in most other chic lit books.

    The main character, Maya, is funny and interesting, but she also has a depth to her, provided by her past which she has to keep hidden. 

    Filled with wit, attraction, secrets, and set to speed: wont-let-you-stop, this is a fast read that'll satisfy the inner woman of any reader. 

    4.5 stars and recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    A Moment for Musing: Reading is an intimate experience. For one,

    A Moment for Musing: Reading is an intimate experience. For one, the decision to commit to a book when so much is competing for your attention is a decision only you can make for yourself. Case in point: Has anyone ever given you a book and insisted you read it, and yet, no matter your best intentions, you just don't carve out the time? It's not that you don't believe the book giver when he or she tells you the book is perfect for you, you simply don't find the time to read it, no matter your best intentions; for personal reasons, known or unknown to you. Two, selecting a particular book to read is an intimate decision. Something takes place at both the conscious and the subconscious level when you hold a book in your hands, evaluate it, and then decide whether to read it. Third, the time you spend immersed in the story, in it's setting, and with the characters, is very private. By reading quietly to yourself, you are transported into the story at an intimate level, because the experiences you are having are happening privately to you. Case in point: Your husband or kids across the room don't know where you are or what's happening to you when you read a book. Only you know that.




    All that said, I think one of the most delicious moments of reading intimacy comes when you see yourself in one of the characters. That's what happened to me when I read Unmasking Maya by Libby Mercer.




    Book Review: The main character, Maya Kirkwood, is an artist with a background in fashion. But she's not a "shallow, label-centric" fashionista, rather, a down-to-earth spirit who loves and appreciates the beauty and craftsmanship of fabrics. Without making this book review about me, I have a background in fashion and textiles and have travelled the world studying textile design. Because of this, I felt an intimate connection to Maya as I read, which really added to my enjoyment of this great book.




    Maya is a quirky, independent entrepreneur making a name for herself in the art world of San Francisco. If you enjoy the heroines of chick lit who have glamorous jobs in either fashion or publishing, you'll really like reading Libby Mercer's book for the refreshing way she adapts this archetypical heroine into a character that is truly unique and approachable. Maya sleeps on a futon in a tiny apartment with no TV and no money, but she strong in spirit, overcomes adversity, moves to a new city and starts a business. She is easily inspired by her surroundings, often loosing herself in the beauty of light coming through an expansive window. And hey, she can fashion a skirt out of a blanket in seconds flat. What's not to love about that?




    Inciting Incident: Two very different personality types, Derek Whitley, the ". . . obsessive compulsive freak . . ." and Maya Kirkwood, the ". . . artsy fartsy flake. . ." meet at an art exhibit featuring Maya's work. As you'd expect, they don't hit it off right away, as Derek doesn't hide his very "neutral" feelings toward Maya's work. When Maya is commissioned to create and install some of her work at his company in Silicon Valley, the two have the opportunity to get to know each other better, and explore the possibility of becoming more than just professional acquaintances.




    Characters & setting: There are wonderful characters, Lin, especially, at Derek's work and the atmosphere at his company feels like one big family which adds to the overall enjoyment of the book. I found myself curious to learn more about two characters and their situations, Daisy and Sarah Connelly, but I don't feel the writer should have spent any more time on these characters than she did in this particular book, rather, it would be great if she wrote their situations out in a prequel to this book, as that would certainly guarantee a book with an action-packed plot. The story is set in San Francisco and has a wonderful scene involving a carefree roll down a series of hills. The writer does a great job at capturing the sights and sounds of the city and I suspect this book will sell well in indie bookstores across California.




    Central conflict: Both Derek and Maya have a backstory that complicates their attempts at intimacy. Each must come to terms with their own personal history in order to move forward.




    Overall impression: This is a delightful journey and a fun read with characters that are real and very likeable. You'll wish they were friends of yours; you'll wish you could meet-up with them for a game of softball, a cold beer and some buffalo wings.




    I will definitely read another book by Libby Mercer and this one, Unmasking Maya, was a refreshing 206 pages -the perfect length to tell their story - and a welcome word count for this chick lit reader setting out to read 52 chick lit books in 52 weeks.




    Highly recommended. Tell your friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1