Customer Reviews for

Unnatural (Archangel Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

a creative imaginative enthralling vampire thriller that targets young adults

In the insular town of Weeping Water in Nebraska, teenager Michael Howard feels alone and alienated. His peers taunt him about being gay while his mother keeps her distance from him and his grandfather, whose house he lives in, is always on his case.

When his moth...
In the insular town of Weeping Water in Nebraska, teenager Michael Howard feels alone and alienated. His peers taunt him about being gay while his mother keeps her distance from him and his grandfather, whose house he lives in, is always on his case.

When his mother dies, his father Vaughn takes him back to his country England only to dump the lad at Archangel Academy in Eden. There he meets enigmatic Ronan, a gay teen. Each realizes they have met their soulmate, but wanting a strong foundation to their relationship, they take it slow. Michael has secrets he hides from his beloved, but Ronan conceals a humongous one that he is a hybrid vampire whose exiled clan is at war with the popular version of the vampire. Ronan worries about how his Michael will react when he tells him truth; he also knows the American is his Achilles' Heel. When the time comes, Michael will have to choose between hurting Ronan (and himself) or embracing their love. However, first they will have to outwit their enemies who look at Ronan's species as an abomination.

Ironically titled Unnatural is a creative imaginative enthralling vampire thriller that targets young adults though readers should be aware there are graphic sex scenes. The strong story line focuses on the impact of a teen who is a part of a shammed minority group. Filled with action, Michael Griffo also cautions parents to be there for their children regardless of their sexual preference even when it differs from yours so that their offspring will not be like Michael ashamed of himself until he finally makes friends at the Academy. Everyone needs to feel they belong somewhere and with someone.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

bad

in the summary it didnt talk about the main character being gay. it was weird having the character kiss eachother

posted by 12844939 on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a creative imaginative enthralling vampire thriller that targets young adults

    In the insular town of Weeping Water in Nebraska, teenager Michael Howard feels alone and alienated. His peers taunt him about being gay while his mother keeps her distance from him and his grandfather, whose house he lives in, is always on his case.

    When his mother dies, his father Vaughn takes him back to his country England only to dump the lad at Archangel Academy in Eden. There he meets enigmatic Ronan, a gay teen. Each realizes they have met their soulmate, but wanting a strong foundation to their relationship, they take it slow. Michael has secrets he hides from his beloved, but Ronan conceals a humongous one that he is a hybrid vampire whose exiled clan is at war with the popular version of the vampire. Ronan worries about how his Michael will react when he tells him truth; he also knows the American is his Achilles' Heel. When the time comes, Michael will have to choose between hurting Ronan (and himself) or embracing their love. However, first they will have to outwit their enemies who look at Ronan's species as an abomination.

    Ironically titled Unnatural is a creative imaginative enthralling vampire thriller that targets young adults though readers should be aware there are graphic sex scenes. The strong story line focuses on the impact of a teen who is a part of a shammed minority group. Filled with action, Michael Griffo also cautions parents to be there for their children regardless of their sexual preference even when it differs from yours so that their offspring will not be like Michael ashamed of himself until he finally makes friends at the Academy. Everyone needs to feel they belong somewhere and with someone.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New - Interesting - Look at Vampires

    Here we go.again. Another young adult series that is based on the world of the vampire with a love triangle worked into the plot for all readers to enjoy. What is different about this one, you ask? This.is actually a good story which offers all different kinds of mysteries, characters, and plots that will keep the reader engaged throughout the story.

    The author has dared to be different by writing about a young man named Michael who lives in the nowhere town of Weeping Water. This is the type of place where the only excitement available is to watch the leaves change and the cars rust, and the only thing for Michael to think about is how the heck he's going to get out of here. He lives with his grandparents and his mother - who is a woman with extreme mental issues who regrets what she's done in the past. Michael's father lives in London, England, yet he was pulled away from him by dear old Mom and brought to live in a town where he doesn't have a friend in the world. Michael has an even bigger issue than the fact that his own family treats him like a bit of an outcast; he actually has a true desire to be in love. Yet the desire he has and the images of his perfect soul mate are that of a male, and he has no idea how to make his family understand that he is, in fact, gay.

    The people at his school pick on him constantly, and he is completely ostracized because of his passionate nature and the need to be who he truly is instead of going along with the crowd. Almost at the beginning of the story, Michael's mother is placed in a hospital and ends her life, and Michael's British father appears on the scene to take him back to London.

    Once there, Michael goes straight to the Archangel Academy where, thankfully, he is bright enough to be one of the very best students, and the other boys attending accept him for the person he is, and not the person even his father wants him to be. His roommate, Ciaran, is a nice boy who quickly becomes Michael's friend. But, unfortunately for Ciaran who wants nothing more than to have a friend of his own and not feel so alone all the time, Michael falls in love with Ciaran's brother, Ronan.

    Ronan is Mr. Popular. Handsome, strong, with a secret that only some know about, Ronan feels himself falling just as hard for Michael and has no idea how to tell him the information that he needs to know.information that could save his life.

    As the author introduces some amazingly well-written characters including a young vampire by the name of Nakano, whose jealousy over losing Ronan is matched only by the powerful thirst that makes him take out students at the Academy. Not only that, but a girl by the name of Brania - who is an old acquaintance of Ronan's - steps into the scene. Brania is a woman of extreme power who has her own agenda where the Academy and Michael is concerned, and will stop at nothing to succeed in destroying the world around her.

    As the battle lines are drawn and the romance turns completely intense and truly moving, the plot thickens with each page and each new character that appears. Being the first book in this series, it is a wonderful introduction and set-up to the battle that's about to be fought. Yes, the vampire "chaos" is certainly a part of this new set of novels - but the concept is something that will appeal to many on a whole different level.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome but a little surprising

    I didn't know Michael until I bought it, stupid move. But even tho it was an amazing book based on secrets, love, and everything else in between. There are some graphic scenes but it's worth it. It was so..... good. I'm straight but I don't really care. It shows how people alienate gays when they did nothing wrong. Buy the book and see my point

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    bad

    in the summary it didnt talk about the main character being gay. it was weird having the character kiss eachother

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's Review

    So tons of people are comparing Unnatural to Twilight for reasons I don’t understand. Sure, I noticed a few similarities here and there, but you can find most of them in any YA Vampire romance. Just saying. I personally enjoyed the novel, when I first got the novel over the summer; I had really only picked it because of the pretty cover and because the plot sounded interesting. What I hadn’t expected was the gay romance part of the novel, it was very new to me and didn’t feel overdone and for that I applaud author Michael Griffo (yay!).

    Basically, for those of you who don’t know, Unnatural is about a teenage boy who discovers that he is homosexual and finds himself at a boarding school in England where he finds the love of his life who (surprise!!) just so happens to be a vampire hybrid. The novel actually did seem pretty unique, especially the vampire hybrid part of the novel which is something that I have never seen/read before. As well as all of the vampires seeming to want the main character Michael on their side for reasons that we don’t figure out until we are nearing the end.

    However, I did have a few issues with the novel. The major one being the way the novel was written in the third person. Believe me I have no problems with writing in the third person; I actually enjoy it. The real problem with Unnatural was that during the third person, it was constantly switching point of views and that just got confusing! One minute I was listening to Michael and suddenly I’m thrust into Ronan’s POV and then into some other character and back to Michael.

    Other than that the novel was actually very enjoyable, with a lot of romance between all of the characters and the supernatural portion of the novel as well as plenty of deaths I found it to be an entertaining mixture and I cannot wait to read the sequel and final novel. I would recommend this to anybody who has been wanting to read a new YA Vampire series or simply wanting to read a refreshing supernatural story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    I loved it lil slow though

    First of all I would like to say I did love the book enough to read the 2nd book,my only complaint was it was little slow it took well into the fifth maybe sixth chapter to really get engrossed in the book. Overall I thought it was a great book and I can't wait to start the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loveeeee Thisssss Bookkkkk

    Just amazing... speechless best book I've ever read by far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A Labrynth of Words

    Overall I enjoyed then book. With a new look on vampires and an addition of secrecy and romance the book is filed with a series if riveting twists turns. Unable to stop reading - this book will command your undivided attention until the last page. And afterwards you'll be craving more of the sensuous, young heroes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    good book!!!

    I loved the characters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    The twists and turns the crazy characters !! I was totally into this read. It had me from page 1!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alright

    Have you ever gotten a book that you were excited about and then it just disappointed you? I was really happy to get this ARC and when I read it I was bummed. Let me start off by saying that what bummed me out was the plot. It simply did not grab me. Plus there was a lot of unnecessary information going on in the book. It was like the same thing was getting played over and over again.

    Michael knew he didn't belong. He knew he was meant to be somewhere else. So when his mother passes Michael is given the opportunity to go somewhere else and start off new. There he is introduce to Archangel Academy. A place where secrets are held.


    I'm all about seeing a character struggle with themselves. It helps see the development of the characters. Michael struggles with his sexuality for over 120 pages of the book. Not that I don't mind, but it got repetitive and boring. I wanted Michael to stand up for himself (which he did, it just took forever!) and face who he was. He's gay. I didn't even get to read anything about the academy until another 50 pages in. It was slow. Super slow.


    The only characters that really made this book good was Brania. I loved her wittiness and her power. I like how she made other scared of her. Plus she made me laugh a little.

    The book contain homosexuality and some cursing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Zane

    He teases her , keeping his dick just outside her pus<_>sy, making it clench around thin air.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Selena

    Goes to sleep pizzed and unsatisfied.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    To selena

    Just so you know, your quest will start after the ball. And i vwillvtell you what to do next? ~elizabeth

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    S

    Walks in, notices it is a gym, then walks to result one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Skylar

    *walks in and sits on a bench*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Sandbag

    MOOOOOOOMMYYYYYYYYY!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Moon

    Hums as she runs around the track then out of the gym.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Andrew

    Starts punching a punching bag

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Cassi

    Sits in a corner, twitching occasionally, but otherwise unmoving, a deep black mist circled around her, occasionally obsuring her from view.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4