Customer Reviews for

Unnatural Acts (Stone Barrington Series #23)

Average Rating 3.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Of all the Stone Barrington novels this is one of the weakest. It is really a Herbie Fisher novel and from a long time Stuart Woods reader it is a huge stretch to see Herbie as sophisticated, highly successful, and a Stone Barrington look alike. After presenting Herbie as a bumbling, like able looser for all those books, its hard for a reader to accept this transformation.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    After reading this latest Stone Barrington SHORT STORY I have fo

    After reading this latest Stone Barrington SHORT STORY I have formed a new "appreciation" for Stuart Woods. Notice that later Barrington stories barely fill 200 pages? And Elaine is killed off in this story, closing the restaurant. Worse, Woods reveals that Barrington is a liberal, Republican-hating Democrat! I expect those of you who remain a BarringtonBoy will soon see Bloomberg's gun control policy hailed as a proven crime prevention tool! Adios, Piedra!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Insultingly bad

    Please, if you dont have time to write a good book please dont waste our time with an insultingly contrived book like this. Shame on you for taking your Stone Barrington fans for granted - we both deserve better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Stuart must be getting hungry. I have never read a more contriv

    Stuart must be getting hungry. I have never read a more contrived book. A junior associate with two years of experience in a major law firm demanding to become a Senior Associate. C'mon, and to fashion the purchase of an entire building for his first-ever client in a matter of days, and for a decorated NYC detective not to turn in an serial killer, and for the young attorney to be charged with the murder of the principal of his law firm. It stretches my imagination to the core. I have read many of Stuart Wood's book and at one time counted him as a favorite author, but with this drivel in his 270 page book, I must rethink any more purchases. His title is correct, "Unnatural Acts" is replete throughout the book. Save your money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    I feel this book has not risen to the standards of the better ma

    I feel this book has not risen to the standards of the better majority of Woods work. Events are contrived, characters are non dementional. Main theme or plot, is there one...it's all over the map. Reads to me like a book put together for a quick buck. I am a loyal Woods reader and fan, I was disappointed in this effort.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    ARE YOU KIDDING !!!!

    I don't no which is worse, Woods taking money for this crap or the professionals (???) who wrote reviews taking their salary. I've read every Stuart Woods book because they were quick reads and you could fantasize a bit. My imagination refuses to work with me any longer.
    The only reason I have one star is you can't post w/o at least one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Chilling Reality

    For those who have criticized this book...I wonder what they were expecting? This is Stuart Woods way of writing. I found the story moving along the way his other stories have. I thought it was realistic and could easily happen in our lives...slightly off balanced kids who turn to violence and attempted murder. Rather chilling. I found the whole story interesting from Stone & Dino trying to find a new restaurant to replace Elaine's to Herbie's growth. To those who haven't read his books Elaine's was kind of the foundation to the storylines. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Jd

    Bshs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Skylar's Bio

    Name: Skylar Ivis / Age: 17 / Gender: female / Parents: John Ivis and Scarlet Ivis / Powers: split into two clones with a ligh and dark peraonality. I have twin samurai blades that are basically a part of me but u need to know my past in order to uderstand their power. Crush: none. History: u need to get to know me better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Asylum

    'Sup. So I was just chillin'...wif mah doritos...and mah j<3>ugs...and I saw an add that said "Chicken for sale". So I clicked on it and joined this fancy roleplay!<br><br>When I uno uno seis...when I uno uno seis...when I uno uno seis...please don' get up (and yes, I left the T out on purpose) in mah way. HOMIE, ONE-ONE-SIX, WE SAFE. HOMIE, ONE-ONE-SIX, WE SAFE.<br><br>Mah name is Asylum, I am... *he counts on his hands.* ...five. Wait, no... O.e Sixteen. :D SEE?!?! *he proudly holds up two fingers.*<br><br>I POP UP, BEATER, ALL ABOUT THE BLOOD AND BODY, FRESH-EATERS... USED TO BE THE WALKIN' DEAD, BUT DAT SEASON END...AND NOW PARTNEH I'MMA BELIEVEH, RAH!<br><br>I am an organic anomaly...literally... CLICKED UP, HE AIN'T TRYIN'-A-BE FAMOUS...PEOPLE FORGET, THAT I KNOW JUST WHAT THE AIM IS...DANGEROUS...WHAT CHU GONNA SAY, THAT'S A MAN THAT'S BEEN CHAAAAAANGED...WHO KNOW DAT TO DIE IS TO GAIIIIIIIN...YAH! YOU KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE, YOU KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE...GETTIN' READY FOR THE MOMENT, GETTIN' READY FOR THE NIGHT...<br><br>I generate a "Critical Mass" (I typed ass at first.), an organic substance with no specific definition or relation to any other organic or biological material known. :3 I can honestly say I don't know if :3 is someone sticking out their tongue or covering their mouth.<br>It can come in many forms, okay, okay, just gaseous and solid. The gaseous I vent from my pores to fly, the solid I can generate from my body or thin air. Either type requires me to lose blood, and if I run out of a certain amount of blood, I go x.x. I usually project it in tendrils, to use to move things, trap people, or manipulate matter by narrowing Critical Mass tendrils down into monomolecular lines and controlling the electric charges (of the Critical Mass, mind you.) within them to further move matter. I can regenerate in small amounts from wounds, and use the Mass to form constructs, such as transforming my arms in weapons or shields or coating myself in it for armor. If this roleplay fights realistically, it's going to be heaven for me, since I am something of a superpower fanatic. o.e IT TAKES A MOMENT TO MAAAKE MEMORIIIIIES, A LIFETIME TOOOOO FORGET 'EM, FORGET 'EM, FORGET 'EM...CURIOUS...DAT'S WAH AH'M...STILL CURIOUS...<br><br>My personality? Pssh. Take a gandah at mah name. There's a reason.<br><br>My looks? I am above good looks. Black spiky hair...tan skin...oh yeah. :D<br><br>My status? *he gasps.* I am singletacular...but by the way people spell on this rp, I'll probably remain that way.<br><br>Mah music? RED and Andy Mineo...MAN, I'M SO BACK-AND-FORTH, LIKE A TUG-OF-WAAAAAAAR, YEAAAAAAAH.<br><br>Reader, do you mind if I straddle you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Moon's bio

    Name- moonistagia Mia Turnner. farther- William Turner. Mother- Elizabeth Turner. Powers- water control, water bending. Fire bending. Can turn anything into frost. Looks- snow white hair, one red eye and one black eye, weares a black t and and tiedye pants. Pets- the hraken and dog named charlie. Anything else ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Andrews bio updated

    Name andrew karow father dave karow mother jasmen karow powers iron skin and bones unhuman reaction time and super strangh age 15 apperince 6"3 short dark brown hair tan skin slim but musculer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Cassi bio

    Name: cassi shiva. Age: older than you. Gender: female. Desc: black cloak, black leathe jacket, black tshirt, black gloves, black skinny jeans, specialized black knee high combat boots. Personality: meet me. You only might die. Power: can control energy. Race: jesthivan(ask if you dont know.) Other: im awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Talk more about it

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Pretty much about HERBIE and pretty much BORING.    I use to lov

    Pretty much about HERBIE and pretty much BORING.    I use to love reading Stone Barrington series, but these days finding them of no consequence.  Ah...perhaps a name for a new Woods book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Not verry good

    This was just unbelievable Woods has spend all this time making Herbie a miss up and now he expects us to believe that
    He Can't do no wrong. Give me a break Woods you can do
    Better or you need to come up with a new hero for your books
    If you've run out of ideas for a story to put Stone ln.
    Stop selling this stuff to your fans WAKE UP WHILE YOU STILL HAVE FANS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Dxzvzctssfw

    Wt etxbrtv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Not his best

    Not a lot of intrigue. In fact no real story. I wanted to have Elaine discussed and honored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Oouch,,,,,,,,

    I like wood's books alot.
    My wife showed me the ad in the paperfor unnatural.
    Based on the reviews i won't buy it..........

    BUMMED IN BOSTON , COULD BE BANNED IN BOSTON!!

    DJW

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Terrible Book

    I have dropped Woods as my favorite authors. The first 100 some odd pages were about his new friend. I could not read it so I went thru them. His last part of the book was fine. I wouldn't reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6