Customer Reviews for

The Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook: From Cauldron Cakes to Knickerbocker Glory--More Than 150 Magical Recipes for Muggles and Wizards

Average Rating 4
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Beautifully designed from start to finish. I loved the references to the book; where the recipes were taken from. Everything my family and I have had so far is out of this world! Bought some as gifts for family members(young and old) that love Harry Potter & cooking.

posted by 5021976 on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disenchanting

I was expecting more recipies directly from the books like butter beer and chocolate frogs. Instead I got a book full of recipies from the UK and their histories. While semi-interesting, I probably wouldn't have bought the book if I were in a store.

posted by 10134904 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Beautifully designed from start to finish. I loved the references to the book; where the recipes were taken from. Everything my family and I have had so far is out of this world! Bought some as gifts for family members(young and old) that love Harry Potter & cooking.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Great for geek chefs!

    As a casual fan of the Harry Potter series (with many fanatic friends) and an avid cook, trying out this book was a no-brainer. Gotta love when you can infuse something fun like wizardry into every day hobbies.

    And, as a bonus, the recipes feature a lot of traditional British flair. I guess no one really gets excited about English food (I avoided it after an unsuccessful try at Branston pickle), but it's worth a try, no matter how unexciting things like "treacle" sounds. For the record, it's kind of like molasses. Whodathunk?

    I tried making pancakes first and was baffled when the book told me to add lemon to milk and let it sit on the counter until it thickened. Why would I want to do that? Does it make it curdle, and wouldn't that be gross? I forcibly turned off my chef sensibilities and gave it a shot, and you know, the pancakes turned out awesome. I don't know what else I could do with that treatment of milk, but now I'm determined to experiment with it.

    I would highly suggest this book to any fellow geek chefs. I can't wait to have a wizard-themed dinner party with the bigger Harry Potter fans in my social circle.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great book long live Harry Potter

    I have lived in England and expected high end British, Welsh and Scottish recipes and I found them

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Great!

    My grandkids love it. The food they have cooked so far has been very good.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    harry potter cookbook

    just from hearing about all those tasty meals made my mouth water

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    <3

    The butterscotch drinks r butterbeer, but b/c its un-authorized she cnt use that name. Ahmazingly yummy recipies thou :)

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Fun for parties!

    Really good food actully got as gag but its great!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    This is such a fun cookbook

    It is such a joy for me to have this readily available for me whenever I need a delicious end to my day, fun afternoon, imagination filled event!!! If you are truly looking for a great, funny, eventful, baking and cooking experience look no farther, this is that necessary tool you need for just that!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I have the sample.

    I have the sample and I can tell that the full version will be excellent. Harry Potter fans rejoice.
    P.S. Click yes if you think they should add minecraft.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    We had 5 grandkids over for a Harry Potter themed 4 day visit.

    We had 5 grandkids over for a Harry Potter themed 4 day visit. I made Butterbeer (got the recipe from the internet), I loved it but the kids not so much. I cooked several recipies from the cookbook. Kids loved the Pumpkin Juice. I thought the Shepherd's Pie was the best I ever made. The Treacle Tart was a favorite of 2 kids. The filling for the Cornish Pasties was delicious. I didn't use the pie crust in the book or the one I usually make (bad decision). Made the Goulash and Chicken and Mushroom Pie (used my pie crust recipe) after the kids left. I didn't get to make all the dishes I wanted, just ran out of time with the kids.
    I love the way Dinah incorporates the dishes with a Harry Potter background. I'm buying this book for 3 of my daughters' in law. I recommend this book for any Potter fan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    I LOVE YOU HARRY!!!!!!!!!!

    A potter themed party being planned right now! Its gonna be bloody briliant! Haha mum is gonna kill me my eaqually potterobsessed friends try to convince my little brother they will hex him during theese parties and the butterbeer will get us girls all riled up even more! This book it a must!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    long live harry potter, he rocks

    harry potter has a good tast in food's

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Commenting on " stupid" review

    Ur the creep here who needs to get a life!!! Harry potter is awesome!!!! So deal with it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Butterbeer!!!!!

    I WANT SOME BUTTERBEER!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Hey im the actual actor fo cho chang clik here for big secret

    Me and harry are engaged secretly i swear

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I have this!

    I got this for Christmas! My mom and dad got it from b n store. I made lemon drops and my brother bought them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Yum!

    Me and my mom made the marshmellows. They were good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Very well done, indeed!

    I have a hard copy of this book and as a Potterhead I can truly say I love this book. No experience necessary, follow the recipes and everything comes out just right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    HP RULES!

    Who dosen't like him? I do. This cookbook IS AWESOME!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    anonymous

    this book is so deliciously filled with delightful taste sensations

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5