Customer Reviews for

Unofficial Harry Potter Vocabulary Builder: Learn the 3,000 Hardest Words from All Seven Books and Enjoy the Series More

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great companion to the Harry Potter series...

This book is a great companion to the Harry Potter series. You can use it two ways - when you are reading the books, and you come upon a word of which you'd like to know the definition, you can look it up in the book, or you can look through the words and definitions i...
This book is a great companion to the Harry Potter series. You can use it two ways - when you are reading the books, and you come upon a word of which you'd like to know the definition, you can look it up in the book, or you can look through the words and definitions in the book, and it will tell you the exact book, page, and sentence that the word came from.

posted by 1288082 on April 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Answers

Croolshanks= Hermione's cat, which she bought in third year. He can sense Animaguses
Buckbeak= Hagrid's hippogriff, which was rechristened Witherwings and jelped Sirius escape
Scabbers= A man named Peter Pettigrew who was the Potter's Secret Keeper
Dementors= A cloaked ...
Croolshanks= Hermione's cat, which she bought in third year. He can sense Animaguses
Buckbeak= Hagrid's hippogriff, which was rechristened Witherwings and jelped Sirius escape
Scabbers= A man named Peter Pettigrew who was the Potter's Secret Keeper
Dementors= A cloaked figure which sucks the soul/ happiness out of you. Only deafeted by the Patronus Charm
Hungarian Horntail= A viscious dragon which Harry fought in the TriWizard Tournament

posted by Phoenixfawkesrox on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    Great companion to the Harry Potter series...

    This book is a great companion to the Harry Potter series. You can use it two ways - when you are reading the books, and you come upon a word of which you'd like to know the definition, you can look it up in the book, or you can look through the words and definitions in the book, and it will tell you the exact book, page, and sentence that the word came from.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    H. P. Vocab Builder

    I bought this book at Christmas for my nine year old grandson, he is on book five of the series and had seen this book in the store.
    He really seems to be enjoying it and has used it with the current book and some of the previous books he had read. From his reaction I would recommend it, for the casual reader but also if you wanted to use it in the classroom.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Answers

    Croolshanks= Hermione's cat, which she bought in third year. He can sense Animaguses
    Buckbeak= Hagrid's hippogriff, which was rechristened Witherwings and jelped Sirius escape
    Scabbers= A man named Peter Pettigrew who was the Potter's Secret Keeper
    Dementors= A cloaked figure which sucks the soul/ happiness out of you. Only deafeted by the Patronus Charm
    Hungarian Horntail= A viscious dragon which Harry fought in the TriWizard Tournament

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Hmm...?

    Alright, a lot of the sentences I'm reading of which the words came from, I don't ever remember reading them in the book, interesting as they are, they weren't in any of the books :/

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Godd but not purchasing

    Its god but its not useful....you can just look em words ya dont in an everyday dictionary

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    ?????

    I didn' know that it was a HP dictionary!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Complicated

    OK but basically just an everyday dictionary except with a few HP words mixed in:(

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    awesome boom shockalockla sup

    it is awesome to have a new vocablary.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    To evry one

    F*** that ******** who is named voldmort

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    COO-EL

    COOL-EL BABYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    You really should buy it my son learned a lot from it

    Awesome !!!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    I LOVEIT

    Omg best book ever. I had to make a vocb book 4school and i used this and a dictinary (i got an a+) :)

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Join team zecrom at dudel jump.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Uh

    This is... interesting...

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    tell me

    omg i want this so bad i am harry potters biggest and i mean really big fan i am on the fith book so i will give you guys a big quiz if u no any ansewers to them tell me on your nook
    ( or what they are and what they do)

    .dementar
    . hungreian horntale dragon
    . bucbeack
    .crookshanks
    . scabbers

    alright you tell me and when you tell me write it like this



    scabbers is bl bl bl bl

    bye


    ( ps: i did not give you the ansewer to any of them

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1