Customer Reviews for

Unofficial LEGO Builder's Guide

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I bought the ebook of this title. It's exceptional. The book is

I bought the ebook of this title. It's exceptional. The book is fairly brief, and has a lot of text, but enough pictures to illustrate the point. The book provides the fundamentals of LEGO building including: dealing with limited colors (briefly), scaling models, planni...
I bought the ebook of this title. It's exceptional. The book is fairly brief, and has a lot of text, but enough pictures to illustrate the point. The book provides the fundamentals of LEGO building including: dealing with limited colors (briefly), scaling models, planning builds using graph paper, and a list of the bricks and their nomenclature.

I think that this book is most helpful for the purposeful builder, helpful for the freeform builder, and less helpful for young children who aren't very structured.

The ebook version seems free of errors, and is well formatted. The pictures in ebook and print are B&W, but the colors are either described in text or shades are easy to see. I like that there are links to figures and sections throughout the text and index, taking advantage of the digital format.

posted by TheRavenCT on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

SAMPLE

ERROR!!!!!SAMPLE DOES NOT WORK

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    I bought the ebook of this title. It's exceptional. The book is

    I bought the ebook of this title. It's exceptional. The book is fairly brief, and has a lot of text, but enough pictures to illustrate the point. The book provides the fundamentals of LEGO building including: dealing with limited colors (briefly), scaling models, planning builds using graph paper, and a list of the bricks and their nomenclature.

    I think that this book is most helpful for the purposeful builder, helpful for the freeform builder, and less helpful for young children who aren't very structured.

    The ebook version seems free of errors, and is well formatted. The pictures in ebook and print are B&W, but the colors are either described in text or shades are easy to see. I like that there are links to figures and sections throughout the text and index, taking advantage of the digital format.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Good for young and 'old'

    The cover of the Unofficial LEGO Builders Guide is inviting in itself. It seems to set the tone for the adventure that is ahead when you begin to read the book. There is information for those wanting to expand on their LEGO building skills as well as information for those who are newer to the LEGO world no matter what their age. I LOVED the Brickopedia. The author must have spent many hours devising this very worthwhile section. Great book. Let's see more from this talented author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    SAMPLE

    ERROR!!!!!SAMPLE DOES NOT WORK

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    One of the most interesting books I've read all year--seriously!

    I have to admit, this is one of the most interesting books I¿ve read all year! Expecting simply a discussion on the best way to build a wall, I was surprised at the amount of awe the author is able to instill in the reader regarding those little plastic bricks. LEGO¿s are actually quite amazing. As the author points out, the LEGO company adheres to some of the strictest quality control measures. Releasing a brick that is too tall or two short is unacceptable, as your creations simply wouldn¿t fit together. The author takes almost a Zen-like approach toward LEGOs. To truly build, you must first understand the brick. So he helps you understand the brick. I can¿t believe I¿m saying this, but it¿s truly fascinating stuff. After discussing the brick and basic building techniques (you would be disappointed if there wasn¿t a discussion on how to build the best wall, wouldn¿t you?), the author shows how to build for different perspectives. Sure you can build things the same size as those little LEGO people, but you can also build things that are much bigger. The challenges and tips for doing just that are outlined. I always wondered how some people were able to create something amazing from scratch out of their LEGO collections. Well, I still may not be able to create something out of thin air, but the author does show how to plan your creation. In fact, he shows how he designed and built a model of the space shuttle¿and it all looks so easy. It simply comes down to careful planning, having the right LEGO parts, and a little bit of time. One thing I thought was really cool about this book was the appendix. Here the author shows every single LEGO piece, its part number, and a description of what it¿s good for. This is really an amazing book. You can feel the great respect the author has for LEGOs, and when you¿re done, you feel the same way. I also really enjoyed the author¿s approach to LEGO building, as it was something I¿ve never seen before. This is a great gift for that LEGO builder in your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    LET GO OF MY LEGO!

    Have you ever noticed something remarkable when you looked at a pile of LEGO pieces? They are remarkably simple aren't they? Kind of like looking at different parts of a system! Author Allan Bedford, has written a great book that addresses the system itself and its greatest function: the building of LEGO models. Bedford begins by discussing the LEGO system and what makes it so amazing. Next, the author covers some of the best ways to connect bricks and make your models strong. Then, he looks at some very basic building techniques through the use of a train station model, as they apply to a minifig-scale structure. The author continues by showing you how very unique miniland scale figures can be created from mostly basic bricks, plates and slopes. In addition, you'll also learn how to build a model that is larger, not smaller, than the real life object it represents. The author also focuses on the opposite technique, something called microscale building. Next, the author walks you through the principles behind creating a basic sphere. Then, you will learn the basics of mosaic--the artwork consisting of patterns or pictures created on a surface using stones, tiles, bricks, or even glass. The author continues by defining in detail what mosaic really is. In addition, the author focuses on you, the builder, working toward designing the models you want to make. In addition, he also covers three different variations on the LEGO hobby. The author also asks and answers the question: 'Should I sort by color or shape?' Finally, he covers the most important lesson in this outstanding book: Simply surrounding yourself with the tools, of any description, that help you build LEGO models as easily as possible. This excellent book offers a broad spectrum of topics all connected by the thread of building real models with actual plastic bricks. Thus, Bedford has gone to a great extent to present best practices, tips, and techniques that you can apply to almost any LEGO building project .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Error

    Error! Error! Error! The stupid book won't even open and error messages pop up every time I try to open it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    I love it

    I love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    skip it

    No, this book is not so great as the first 3 reviews would have you think. It's boring! Black and white pictures and very simple, lame projects (and not many of them). Save your money and buy some legos and start building instead.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    This is a great book!

    As a TFOL, this book has helped me a lot in terms of oranizing my ~15,000 brick collection, model styles, and tips. A great, easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Error

    I cannot open book. Wasted space for a sample. -Libby 9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    AWe AWESOME!

    Best EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    COOL

    I LOVE LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Very, very good.

    Best lego book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Mia

    Best lego book yet! Out of all the books i have read, this one is better than any other one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Have book in full color print so I don't have to buy E-book.

    %&$*! @#$%&!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Boring

    I want a refund

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Sweet

    Thanks to this it helped me on my lego jeep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2