Customer Reviews for

Unplanned: The dramatic true story of a former Planned Parenthood leader's eye-opening journey across the life line.

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Must read book of 2011!

Having read a pre-release copy of "Unplanned," I can attest that Abby's book is riveting, inspiring, and transformational. Hands-down, this is the most compelling book I have read in years. People on both sides of the controversial abortion issue will be moved by Abby's...
Having read a pre-release copy of "Unplanned," I can attest that Abby's book is riveting, inspiring, and transformational. Hands-down, this is the most compelling book I have read in years. People on both sides of the controversial abortion issue will be moved by Abby's candor and compassion as she reveals the shocking truth of what she witnessed inside the Planned Parenthood abortion chain -- and what led to her profound a change of heart. I am going to buy copies of "Unplanned" for everyone I know!

posted by 40daysforlife on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Okay

Good short story if you have questions about abortion. Shows both sides of the abortion debate

posted by 484520 on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Choose Life

    Too often we paint the people who work in the abortion clinics as evil, instead of seeing them through the lens of the Word with compassion and love. Without the compassion and love of Coalition for Life/40 Days for Life in Texas, Abby Johnson might never have fully realized her error. Swept up in the rally's and the propaganda put out by Planned Parenthood, Abby like any other young woman went into this organization wanting to help women in crisis. She worked as a volunteer at first, but her fiery personality soon sped her through the organization until she eventually become the director of the Texas Planned Parenthood clinic.

    Abby grew up in a Christian, pro-life family. She believed in the pro-life beliefs until the pro-choice rhetoric from a recruiter made her waver. As my husband and I sat through this amazing DVD we glimpsed Planned Parenthood's true agenda. Their biased so-called counseling, their propaganda documents, their "pep rallys" to keep their workers enthusiastic about the company, and their intense focus on just doing abortions really brought home how we have devalued life since Roe v. Wade.

    Planned Parenthood couldn't offer post abortion counseling, she says, because that would infer that an abortion hurts women. Abby tells us Planned Parenthood forbids any worker or volunteer from using the word "baby." Call it a Fetus or an embryo, but don't call it a baby-that in itself is quite telling. She had two abortions before she married a pro-life man and became pregnant with her third. She kept her little girl, but understanding the damage that abortion causes didn't occur to her until a visiting doctor called her in to aid in an abortion. She had to hold the ultra sound instrument to the woman's belly and watched in horror as the instrument began to dismember the baby alive. Planned Parenthood told her and other workers that at 13-weeks a baby doesn't feel anything. Science however has proven otherwise. The baby fought for life in that ultra sound and two weeks later, Abby went to the Coalition for Life and begged for help in leaving Planned Parenthood. She chose morals over money.

    Abby showed us two sides of the pro-life movement in this DVD-the compassionate and loving side who stood outside the gates and quietly prayed and who tried to reach out to the women who came for an abortion, and the other side who called the women murderers, dressed in costume, and loudly yelled at each woman who drove through the gate. In every movement there are those who go to the extreme. I am really beginning to understand now how tough it must be for those women who go there and feel as if there is no way out. Abby, in fact, got her first abortion because it was her boyfriends suggestion. It struck me that the men who impregnate the women have nothing to lose by suggesting abortion. They get their freedom with having sex without the constraints of marriage or children. The women in this case have everything to lose-their baby's life, and their health and mental well-being, among other things.

    From May 6-8 my blog is celebrating Mother's Day by celebrating life in the womb. If you leave a comment, I will put your name into a drawing to win a free copy of unplanned.

    A copy of this DVD was provided by Tyndale to review. I am not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must See!

    I got together with a few of my friends and family to watch this DVD. I loved how the DVD showed the heart of Abby's change as well as the heart of those involved in her change. In my opinion, there is no wat to compare a book and a movie. Books always give greater detail and let's your imagination run wild...However, the DVD was well made, and really showed the heart of the change that God did in Abby's heart. I did a video review of this DVD which you can find on my blog: lifeworthserving

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Highly recommend

    What part of 'thou shall not kill' don't we understand? Great book, incredible story, highly recommend!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Excellent read! It goes fast as you become wrapped up in this story.

    One of the best books I've read in a long time. Shows both sides of the abortion issue and why a person may choose one side of the fence or the other. Shows how a life (and a mind) can be changed by Christians simply, and consistently modeling the love of Christ to those around them. You don't have to be a radical. Makes me want to volunteer at my local pro-life facility.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Unplanned what a remarkable testimony

    Wow this book was eye openning and brutally honest, she saw the truth of what she was apart of and She made the change for God. I have always believed in the right to live and i am proud that young people like us make changes in the world we live in. Thank Abby Johnson for never losing your compassion and for changing your heart. God does love us and he always shows us the way!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Eye opening and inspiring!

    wow! This book is incredibly eye opening and a testimony to Gods hand in the darkest places. Abby Johnsons story is an incredible witness to standing up against the Goliath of Planned Parenthood.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    very touching

    I am not a religious person, but this book; Abby's story, is a testimony to how kind people can be. It's proof that through patience and a 'kill them with kindness' attitude, lots of positive changes can be made. Very good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Awesome!

    The book really helped me understand how people like Abby felt like they were "helping" the poor women that went to Planned Parenthood. The PP workers aren't as cold-hearted as they are often made out to be by so many people. Absolutely an amazing and moving story! So glad I am prolife!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Amazing

    Shows the truth about planned parenthood

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book tells the fascinating, sobering true story of the journey of Abby Johnson. She worked for Planned Parenthood, believing she was helping women and decreasing the amount of abortions. She was a professed Christian. All the while she worked there, her parents, her husband, and even the workers on the opposing side, the Coalition for Life, were praying for her and loving her. She became friends with some of those peaceful pro-life members, and God used them to help change her mind. Can someone be so deceived as to think they are doing God's will in a pro-choice clinic? Can prayers, love, and outreach toward your neighbor--even one you radically disagree with--make a difference? This book, without arguing, testifies to a resounding "Yes." We are all weak and sinful beings, and even as Christians we can be deceived by semantics, by wanting to make a difference, and by not doing the proper research. This book makes me want to be a more loving and wise Christian, one who truly cares about others and doesn't make snap judgments. The women who undergo abortions--they are wrong, but they are desperate. They are hurting, needy souls. The issue is not just a fight for the lives of the unborn--which is crucial--but also for the lives of the parents and of those participating in the abortions. God can save anyone and use anyone. In fact, each of us is capable of extreme evil, for each is born a sinner. Possibly contrary to what Mrs. Johnson thinks, based on the Bible, I do believe in church discipline and that we are to be careful about the company we keep; however, even in that we are to be loving and seek the other person's good.

    I am thankful for this book and the thoughts and questions it stirs up. God's hand was shown gloriously through the story of Abby Johnson.

    In exchange for my honest review, Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Amazing

    Shows both sides of the abortion story. So amazing. Loved it. If you have a chance Aborting America is good read too. CHOOSE LIFE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Okay book

    The information was interesting. I was able to read this book quickly. However, there was a lot of repeating and I didn't feel that much happend in the story. You can pretty much guess the story, no surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great!

    Very interesting here Abby's story and see how God answers prayers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A thought provoking read

    A very good book. This is a fast read that will leave you with a lot to think about. I loved this book and have already recommended it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Interesting

    Abby Johnson was the director of one of the largest Planned Parenthood clinics in Texas when she made a courageous decision to walk away from her job. After 8 years with the organization, it only took witnessing one ultrasound image of an abortion procedure to change her mind about abortion. Little did Abby know this decision would catapult her story into the national spotlight; her change of heart also resulted in her becoming a very public figure in pro-life community. Unplanned, based on the book of the same name, tells Abby's story and provides insight on her decision and her current life mission to help women.
    This documentary does a great job of telling the story factually; it's not about bashing Planned Parenthood. I enjoyed learning more about Abby's story and her passion for helping women in crisis. I also learned a few things about the Planned Parenthood organization and how they operate; again, this information was presented in a factual manner. Watching this documentary definitely piqued my interest in this story, I'd love to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Pleasantly Surprised

    When I signed up to review Unplanned, the story of Abby Johnson going from a Planned Parenthood director to pro-life speaker and advocate, I was hesitant to get my hopes up. I had heard about this story on national news, but didn't know much. I figured by viewing this DVD, I would hear the whole story and be able to weigh in with my thoughts and reactions.

    First, I must give a background in where I come from in this conversation. I am an evangelical Christian from conservative roots, so the debate surrounding abortion has been a hot one for me, especially in my youth group years. But, because of the ridiculousness of some pro-life marchers, I had checked out of this public debate several years ago. I think this is the case with many from my generation.

    Overall, I must say that this documentary was very tasteful. It focused mostly on Abby's life, her experiences with abortions, her faith development, and the ways that the Lord worked in Abby's heart to bring her to the place she is today.

    One of the biggest pieces of this film was about the need for relationships. Abby's change of heart didn't happen overnight. She didn't just see the people praying outside of her Planned Parenthood clinic and say, "Yeah, okay, you're right. Let's not do this anymore." It was actually through the relationships- the acts of compassion and authentic love shown to Abby by a couple of the women of Coalition for Life- that gave her a place to turn after she had a change of heart about directing Planned Parenthood.

    Another key component was compassion. Abby described how some of the people protesting Planned Parenthood were judgmental, graphic, and down right ridiculous (some even dressing up as the Grim Reaper). She said these were not helpful, nor encouraged relationships. This is important for the church to hear. At the end of the film, Abby's mom emphasized that it's easy to be judgmental towards others when we they are doing things we don't agree with. But she encouraged everyone to have compassion on others because we don't really understand until we have walked in their shoes. Good word.

    Finally, this film showed the need for campus-based college ministries. Abby was a natural leader and strong Christian. When she got to college at Texas A&M, she felt a little lost and just wanted to make friends. She did that with people in her hall, and then got involved in the party scene. Unprotected sex led to her first pregnancy, and then her first abortion. I think a year or so later, one day during a Student Activities Mart, she saw a Planned Parenthood booth, heard their spiel, and signed up to volunteer. To me, her whole college story would have been different if she would have gotten connected into a campus-based ministry where she could use her natural leadership to invest in Kingdom-building ways, and also been challenged to think through this issue of abortion instead of just always being told to be pro-life.

    My biggest complaint about this film would be that at times it sounded like a Coalition for Life infomercial instead of a story of a woman whose life was changed by the Spirit.

    This 60 minute film may be a good one to show to help start a discussion about issues surrounding the right for life debate.


    Thanks, Tyndale, for giving me this copy for free in exchange for a review! So generous! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Documentary That Is Thought Provoking And Life Challenging

    Focus on the Family in association with Tyndale House Publishers and Franklin Films brings us unPLANNED, the documentary on Abby Johnson

    When you watch this documentary the first thing you might experience is that this is captivating. My wife were going to watch the DVD like we watch everything else, doing other little chores, but we found we could not while this DVD was playing.

    Abby Johnson came from a good Christian home with a loving environment and everything was fine until she went to college. There she met an older man who got her pregnant and, when told, drove her to get an abortion. Time passed and Abby got pregnant again and, again, she had an abortion. She was drawn to the Planned Parenthood Clinics where she worked as a volunteer. It was there that she met volunteers for the Coalition For Life. Abby eventually went to work for Planned Parenthood and moved up the corporate ladder until she was in charge of the office. One day she was asked to help with the ultrasound and while she was watching the picture of the baby on the monitor the doctor did his procedure and she witnessed the baby die. That was on a Saturday on Monday she drove out of the Planned Parenthood parking lot and over to the Coalition For Life parking lot where she began her new work.

    This DVD documents the life of this young woman and her experiences with both sides of the fence. Hearing the story from both sides is thought provoking and life challenging. If you haven't already made a decision as to what side of the fence you are on this DVD will help you make it.

    Life is full of decisions, and every decision we make has an echo that affects our future.

    The Unite for LIFE webcast is a free webcast featuring Abby Johnson that will benefit pregnancy care organizations. You can sign up to participate on May 17 at 8:00 p.m. (in all time zones) at uniteforlifewebcast. Unplanned the book and the DVD will be available for purchase as a package deal and 33% of each purchase will go to crisis pregnancy centers like CareNet, the National Institute of Family & Life Advocates, and Heartbeat International.

    During this webcast, hosted by Kelly Rosati, Vice President of Community Outreach for Focus on the Family, you'll discover why Abby is now an advocate for the pro-life pregnancy centers and clinics around the nation that truly serve women and save lives.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7