BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Unplugged: Ella Gets Her Family Back

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    A riotous adventure featuring a charming protagonist that will b

    A riotous adventure featuring a charming protagonist that will be loved by both girls and boys (Ella has a slightly older brother and they give each other the usual sibling grief). Adults will also like UNPLUGGED because it brings to the fore the usage of electronic devices and at what point they interfere with out HUMAN relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Terrific story for classrooms. When I read this to my first grad

    Terrific story for classrooms. When I read this to my first grade students I was amazed to discover how angry they are about siblings and parents being caught up in electronics and ignoring them. This will clearly be a big issue to wrestle with going forward and we need to think about ways to address it aside from just having UNPLUGGED days. An entire new arena of social etiquette with no set rules has emerged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    This may be the best book I've read in the last few months. I h

    This may be the best book I've read in the last few months. I have 2 teenagers and , as much as I adore them, sometimes they really drive me crazy with their iPads, smart phones, laptops and everything else. Of course I'm partly to blame because I'm the one who purchased all of those electronics for them but, if I would have known how bad it was going to get, I might have thought twice before I did.

    In "Unplugged - Ella Gets Her Family Back" we find young Ella very frustrated with the fact that her brother doesn't want to play any real games with her or go outside, And it seems like the entire world is more interested in having "conversations" with people on their cell phones and tablets than they are in having real-life conversations with people who are right in front of their face.

    the book is very well written and younger children as well as pre-teens should easily identify with Ella and her brother and the situation that she's in. Author Laura Pederson must have children herself because she has a keen eye for the way they talk and act and the character of Ella is at once recognizable to me as an amalgamation of youngsters everywhere today, including mine.

    I really think that all children (and their parents) should read this book because it really says a lot about where we are right now as people and how much time we actually spend "semi-communicating" with people who don't really mean as much as our families should.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a little bit of insight into how children perceive the electronic craze that people in America, as well as the rest of the world, seem to be engaged in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Managing our love of phones and other electronic devices seems t

    Managing our love of phones and other electronic devices seems to become more challenging every day. This book offers a great way to start a discussion about about the importance of relationships and how technology fits into our life. It's here to stay but what we do about it is up to us, especially if we start to make children aware of pros, cons and social etiquette at a young age. Some parents may even want to re-think their own usage patterns after asking how the kids are impacted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I love it when books exceed my expectations. And this one did.

    I love it when books exceed my expectations. And this one did. Surprisingly, the story didn't come off as overly preachy. It was well written and concise. I love the idea of unplugging from devices at mealtime so that the family can connect. I also love the way Ella confronts her problems head on instead of waiting for someone else to do it for her.

    The illustrations were okay. I didn't hate them, but I didn't absolutely love them either. I really didn't have strong feelings about the artwork either way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Ella misses spending time with her family. Everyone seems to be

    Ella misses spending time with her family. Everyone seems to be ignoring each other because they are all plugged in to whatever electronic thing they have. Her brother has his video games, her dad has his computer and her mom and sister have their phones. Ella has had enough and decides to unplug her family!

    Why I liked this book – I love the message of this book! It is well-told in the story. I like Ella’s cleverness and creativity. She probably has it because she is not plugged in! All families should read this book and learn from the message given in it – spend more time with each other! I like the illustrations! The expressions on the faces of the characters are really life-like. I like all the small details in the illustrations. This is a great book with an awesome storyline! I recommend this book to kids 5+
    *NOTE I got a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    What a great book to read to the children I babysit! A fresh tak

    What a great book to read to the children I babysit! A fresh take on sibling rivalry and learning how to put down the electronic devices; Unplugged really held the 5, 6, and 8 year old girls captive as I read to them. Well written and a very cute read, Laura Pederson did a wonderful job! One of the girls wanted to go buy the book for her own, and especially loved the cover design. You follow Ella as she starts to feel her family become distant while using their cells phone, computers, and Ipods. We all loved how the story was up to modern times! Holding true with many families, Ella urged everyone to spend more one on one time instead of being so 'plugged' in. I would suggest this book to any young girl or boy, and to mom's and teachers as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I loved this book! It is especially relevant in current times. W

    I loved this book! It is especially relevant in current times. We are so caught up in front of our computer screens without realizing how it's tearing up our relations with other people. This book will provide a gentle reminder of how we can strengthen our family relationships and cope with all the gadgetry available to us in a positive way. I gave this book to my daughter and she loved it as well. This is a great book for both adults and children (and schools too!), and sets up positive examples for both. Highly recommended! Don't miss out on this funny and enjoyable story which will enlighten you on the good manners in a networked world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    CLASSROOM HIT: My third graders, both boys and girls, loved Ella

    CLASSROOM HIT: My third graders, both boys and girls, loved Ella and her electronic adventures. We had a wonderful discussion about the role of devices in our lives and how it makes us feel about our relationships when others are regularly distracted. I highly recommend the FREE TEACHER'S GUIDE that can be found online to discuss this story with individual children or children in groups. This is a book for which parents, teachers, counselors and librarians will find many uses. My kids are still talking about grownups who are glued to phones and computers. I was amazed at how aware they are of "divided attention." If you have an UNPLUGGED week at your school, like we do, you'll want to kick it off with Laura Pedersen's smart and funny story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I love the idea behind this book! Ella's frustration is common p

    I love the idea behind this book! Ella's frustration is common place with all the tech stuff  that takes over everyone's lives. This book made me smile and  my daughter loved it so much she has read it to her Dad and I 3 times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unplugged: Ella Gets Her Family Back is a recipient of the prest

    Unplugged: Ella Gets Her Family Back is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom’s Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS’s Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author and; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom’s Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    A WINNER It's always better when kids get a message from a fun c

    A WINNER
    It's always better when kids get a message from a fun character facing a dilemma rather than parents and teachers. UNPLUGGED is a terrific tool to get kids thinking and making good decisions about the role technology plays in their lives, especially with regard to family and friendships. It's also a good reminder to the adults in a child's life that we're constantly setting an example with our own behavior. Energetic, warm illustrations with nice diversity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A clever story with engaging characters and the kind of mischief

    A clever story with engaging characters and the kind of mischief my kids love. UNPLUGGED is a much needed reminder for readers of all ages that good manners include good social etiquette when it comes to all of our many electronic devices. And the most important example is set by parents and older siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    A fun, fast-paced story with believable characters. Kids will lo

    A fun, fast-paced story with believable characters. Kids will love Ella and her family, especially video-playing brother Carlos. However, the underlying message about not letting tehcnology take over our lives is timely and necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1