Customer Reviews for

An Unquenchable Thirst: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thought provoking! Great read.

I didn't want to put this book down, and even when I did I couldn't stop thinking about it. Even now, two days after finishing it, I'm still processing the events and the lessons beyond. Though the content may be different, this is every human's story of youthful naïv...
I didn't want to put this book down, and even when I did I couldn't stop thinking about it. Even now, two days after finishing it, I'm still processing the events and the lessons beyond. Though the content may be different, this is every human's story of youthful naïveté, growth, disillusionment, and acceptance. It is beautifully written, with the writer showing great courage in revealing the very personal experiences she had while in the convent. If you like a book with substance and depth, this is it.

posted by wordz on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book should be X-rated! I do not recommend purchasing and/or reading it.

As with any institution, once you are live, study, work within, your rose colored glasses are shed and reality sinks in. We all are human, everyone is flawed; Sadly Ms. Johnson held Mother Teresa in such high esteem she could not, or failed to realize Mother could actua...
As with any institution, once you are live, study, work within, your rose colored glasses are shed and reality sinks in. We all are human, everyone is flawed; Sadly Ms. Johnson held Mother Teresa in such high esteem she could not, or failed to realize Mother could actually be human. A shame actually, for if she would have been able to accept Mother Teresa for the person she was, the twenty years Sr. Donata, aka Ms. Johnson, lived as a Missionary of Charity sister could have been years of spiritual growth and personal maturity. What I find disturbing about this book is the graphic descriptive writing of Ms. Johnson's sexual encounters while a nun. I do not believe it necessary to be so explicit. I do not see why she felt compelled to be so graphic when her title states: following Mother Teresa in search of love, service and an authentic life; this story seems to be quite the opposite of those words. I don't believe Ms. Johnson's writing to be eloquent, moving or heartfelt; rather I believe Ms. Johnson, even at this age, is immature, vindictive and has unresolved issues.

posted by Madison-L on September 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    This book should be X-rated! I do not recommend purchasing and/or reading it.

    As with any institution, once you are live, study, work within, your rose colored glasses are shed and reality sinks in. We all are human, everyone is flawed; Sadly Ms. Johnson held Mother Teresa in such high esteem she could not, or failed to realize Mother could actually be human. A shame actually, for if she would have been able to accept Mother Teresa for the person she was, the twenty years Sr. Donata, aka Ms. Johnson, lived as a Missionary of Charity sister could have been years of spiritual growth and personal maturity. What I find disturbing about this book is the graphic descriptive writing of Ms. Johnson's sexual encounters while a nun. I do not believe it necessary to be so explicit. I do not see why she felt compelled to be so graphic when her title states: following Mother Teresa in search of love, service and an authentic life; this story seems to be quite the opposite of those words. I don't believe Ms. Johnson's writing to be eloquent, moving or heartfelt; rather I believe Ms. Johnson, even at this age, is immature, vindictive and has unresolved issues.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Truth-Teller.Good read. Expecting Kumbaya? Get real.

    I have to admit that memoir is not my thing. Most of the time I find them to be a bit self-serving and uninspiring. Not so with this book. I don't usually write these reviews, either, but I really felt like I had to after seeing some of the comments by people complaining about the book being "too graphic." Nonsense. If you want to see Mother Teresa and her nuns walking on water and singing Kumbaya, then go ahead and hold onto your fantasies about rainbows and unicorns. If you want to see a vivid portrait of an idealistic young woman who matures into a real flesh-and-blood woman with doubts, hopes, and expectations, and does so while serving with one of the world's great mythical holy women, then read this book. This is an engaging read. I learned a lot about what it is like to live in the company of only women and what it is like to love with your whole being. I wanted to say that I couldn't put it down, but the fact is that I could for good reason. I read, I reflected, I picked it up again, and read some more. There's no whitewashing here, but there is no bashing. To the naysayers, I say if you don't think this was a spiritual account of a woman's bright light and dark night of the soul, and if you can't see some of your own doubts and struggles, you are looking at a book to tell you what YOU want to know, rather than what is the truth. Great read. Courageous and gutsy. I'd love to know about the next chapter in this woman's life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Wish I had know how graphic it was/what it was really about

    I never could finished reading this but I was shocked at the graphic and detailed content - the first part of the bpook is fine but when she starts telling about her lesbian sexual exploits (while still a nun) it goes overboard for me. I certainly did not expect that in a book whose cover claims it is about working with Mother Teresa and the MC's. This and then her elicit affair with a priest is just too much info. I cannot understand why she continued to be a nun for so many years if she wanted a sexual life? She had a choice but she wanted both (being a nun and having sex with both men and women apparently) with no consequences. I also found it distrubing that she practically accuses another sister of sexually attacking her and yet would go back to her for more.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Thought provoking! Great read.

    I didn't want to put this book down, and even when I did I couldn't stop thinking about it. Even now, two days after finishing it, I'm still processing the events and the lessons beyond. Though the content may be different, this is every human's story of youthful naïveté, growth, disillusionment, and acceptance. It is beautifully written, with the writer showing great courage in revealing the very personal experiences she had while in the convent. If you like a book with substance and depth, this is it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Truthful, sincere, very human...a must read!!

    Just finished this book. It is a rare personal narration of someone that has actually lived in a convent as a very human nun (aren't they all human??) I found it 100% sincere and I couldn't think differently than Mary Johnson when she lets us see how a religious order can really be very political with its members hunting power, losing sight of the very reason they were founded on. I had never read anything that portrayed Mother Teresa like a real human being, beautiful and too good inside but always a human being. VERY interesting book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I highly recommend this book

    Mary Johnson has done an amazing job of bringing the reader into her life at that time. The reader is able to feel what she went through, all the doubt, fear, guilt, sadness, longing, and so much more.

    I highly recommend this book for those who not only want to see what life is like for a nun in the Missionary of Charity organization, but also to see what goes through the minds of, dare I say, all believers.

    I greatly anticipate Johnson's next book, her life since leaving the order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    A engrossing read, couldn't put it down!

    This book was a journey. I felt as if I were living the journey as I was reading. Whether you agree with the author or not, the trip along the way is well worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Johnson, the 17 year-old daughter of religious Catholic par

    Mary Johnson, the 17 year-old daughter of religious Catholic parents, begins her story by describing a turning point in her life when her parents were announcing what they were planning for their lives after school. As much as those ideas of study, work, and marriage attracted her, she knew that she had a call from God to live her life in service to Him and only Him! Soon after, she saw a picture of Mother Teresa on the cover of Time magazine and read the article about the Missionary of Charity nuns. She decided the message in that article was a precise answer to her divine call!

    The remainder of this memoir about Mary or Sister Donata's twenty years life as a Missionary of Charity is a mind-boggling read. As Mary lives the course of her preparation for final vows, the reader is exposed to a painstaking battle of the soul interspersed with some moments of deep peace, understanding, and union with God. What is most evident, however, is the harshness and downright meanness of those in authority who are supposed to be bringing these novices and so on closer to God and service. In fact, this segment is torture to read at times, defying logic, compassion, and every other positive Christian virtue one can contemplate. Later it turns out when Sister Donata actually reads the Constitution of the Order that Mother Teresa wanted more kindness toward the Sisters but felt powerless to change the abuse she knew was occurring.

    Years pass and Sister Donata is sent to many places in America, Italy, and Canada. Temptations appear after some mental satisfaction in doing academic work and some work important as the assistant of Mother Teresa. The temptation toward a fellow nun and a priest yields a world of conflict, guilt, and so on, followed by a scandal at one of the schools with ramifications going all the way to Cardinal Ratzinger, the present Pope of the Catholic Church.

    Finally, Mary describes how she makes her decision to change her life's call and how she spends years resolving the residual effects of all those years. This is a moving, comprehensive, scathingly honest memoir about the heights and depths, heaven and hell, of the spiritual life of a notable community of nuns modeled after the saint-like figure, Mother Teresa! Read it, not to judge, but to know honesty and truth prevail, divine and otherwise! Astonishing book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    very interesting, could not wait to get to the next chapter

    This was a very compelling tale of one person's journey thru the sisterhood.

    I am sure that any one would find it fascinating.
    It came to a forgone conclusion, otherwise no book would have been written, but it shows how even in the best of intentioned professions, certain people in charge can use ideas and rules to twist the inteneded purpose. I found it quite a revelation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Very enjoyable read !

    I found this book fascinating !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Taught by "Sisters"

    Being Catholic and being taught by nuns in school, I found this a must read. It's easier now to understand why more women/men don't go into religious service. I was actually very afraid of the nuns who taught me. The rules they all had/have to live by are against human nature and I can better undstand why they acted as they did. I admit I would rather the sexual encounters Sr. Donata lived through be shortened, however, I guess she had her reasons. I'm glad she's happy now and would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed what I learned from it!

    Description:

    An Unquenchable Thirst is the autobiography of Mary Johnson, a woman in search of God, love, and her true-self under the influence of Mother Theresa's teachings.

    Review:

    I have to admit, I wasn't expecting this book to affect me so much, but Mary's story was really moving and genuine. The level of detail was astonishing, Mary's feelings and surroundings adding to an already intense journey for human understanding; her hopes, fears, and secrets permeating every page. I have never really appreciated the idea of convents or nuns, but I completely understand devotion, and when I consider the term, Mother Teresa does come to mind. I knew some basic information about her life, but had not considered her earthly contributions as of late, however, An Unquenchable Thirst sketched a life portrait that I had not expected. Not only does Mary Johnson recount Mother Teresa's graces, but also her flaws and failures - humanizing a woman who is so often only described as saintly. I love when a book, especially one detailing such a prominent figure, makes history relatable and enjoyable. No one wants to read about absolute perfection - an attribute the Earth knows not. Overall, I rather enjoyed Mary's story, minus a few grammatical/punctuation errors, and I am glad that her life ended up the way it did, (no spoilers). Recommended for open-minded readers who would like to know more about Mother Teresa and her followers... or those who want a look into the little-known and misunderstood lives of nuns/missionaries and those who choose to devote themselves to GOD.

    Rating: On the Run (4/5)


    *** I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Save your money

    The book is overwritten, much too wordy. Could have done with some sharp editing. Starts out well but bogs down in the middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2