Customer Reviews for

Unraveled (Intertwined Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Read!

When I finished reading the first book, Intertwined, in March, I was soo upset that it had ended; and I kept looking online every week for the next one. When I finally saw that this one was going to be released in August, I couldn't wait for August to come around soon e...
When I finished reading the first book, Intertwined, in March, I was soo upset that it had ended; and I kept looking online every week for the next one. When I finally saw that this one was going to be released in August, I couldn't wait for August to come around soon enough. I pre-ordered it & read it in 5 days! (I do work, so I was reading on my way to & from work on my way home); I just could not put it down. The story flowed nicely from the first book, and there are more events that occur that just makes the relationship between Aden & Victoria, & Riley & Mary Ann even more connected with each other! The best part is that there's going to be a 3rd book!!! The depressing part - we all have to wait an entire year!!! That is torture! Honestly, I think this series would make a great movie; I'd love to see them made into movies. =D

posted by Malchemy622 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great concepts, but there's just too much happening at once

A lot happened to Aden in the first novel, and when this second story begins, he's suffering from the after-effects of bites from two different vampires, and his symptoms include seeing the world through both their eyes (well, through one of them's ears, since he's alre...
A lot happened to Aden in the first novel, and when this second story begins, he's suffering from the after-effects of bites from two different vampires, and his symptoms include seeing the world through both their eyes (well, through one of them's ears, since he's already dead). Also, "Aden shared his head with three other human souls. More than that, each soul possessed a supernatural ability. Julian could raise the dead. Caleb could possess other bodies. And Elijah could predict the future" (pg 9). Aden used to have a fourth power tied to the fourth soul he carried around, a lady-soul who could take him time-traveling. This lost soul was the deceased mother of Aden's friend Mary Ann. Mary Ann's special power is dampening paranormal abilities, and she's dating Riley, the werewolf bodyguard of Aden's vampire princess girlfriend Victoria. Victoria's dad was Vlad the Impaler, whom Aden killed in book one, making him the de facto leader of the vampires, even though he's still human.

The recaps present the information in a very understandable way, which was helpful. I wasn't ever really confused while reading, but I was very overwhelmed at times.
Some examples of where I was overwhelmed with all the details :
-Victoria can hypnotize people, has the power of teleportation, and is also possessed by a sort of demonic beast.
-Aden is taken to Fairy Tale, the Fae dimension, and attacked by a Victoria-hating fairy who later becomes a vengeful fairy ghost.
-Tucker, Mary Ann's half-demon ex-boyfriend (who got her best friend Penny pregnant) shows up and may be involved in some shady paranormal dealings.
-The vampires are threatened by fairies, goblins, and witches, and Mary Ann, Riley, Victoria and Aden are under a death spell that will kill them all if they don't meet with the witches within five days.

Then there are some logical problems:
-Vlad is dead, but the vamps decide to let his body sit around for two full weeks, so they can be certain he won't rise. But no one wants him back, so it seems like the best way to make sure he won't rise is to just incinerate the remains.
-Mary Ann's power-dampening abilty only seems to be effective at random intervals, because she can't stop Riley from turning into a wolf or stop Victoria from hypnotizing, teleporting, or drinking blood.

There are good parts, of course. 1. Aden and Mary Ann are both very concerned with doing the right thing and protecting those they love. 2. It's wonderufl to see a strong platonic friendship between a girl and a guy in YA, and Aden and Mary Ann carry it off very well. 3. Mary Ann learns self-defense and trains herself so that she can keep up with her supernatural friends and not be a liability. 4. Both couples are sweet and go out of their way to show their genuine affection. The story has a solid, entertaining core, but the embellishments are overwhelming.

posted by Tiger_Holland on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great concepts, but there's just too much happening at once

    A lot happened to Aden in the first novel, and when this second story begins, he's suffering from the after-effects of bites from two different vampires, and his symptoms include seeing the world through both their eyes (well, through one of them's ears, since he's already dead). Also, "Aden shared his head with three other human souls. More than that, each soul possessed a supernatural ability. Julian could raise the dead. Caleb could possess other bodies. And Elijah could predict the future" (pg 9). Aden used to have a fourth power tied to the fourth soul he carried around, a lady-soul who could take him time-traveling. This lost soul was the deceased mother of Aden's friend Mary Ann. Mary Ann's special power is dampening paranormal abilities, and she's dating Riley, the werewolf bodyguard of Aden's vampire princess girlfriend Victoria. Victoria's dad was Vlad the Impaler, whom Aden killed in book one, making him the de facto leader of the vampires, even though he's still human.

    The recaps present the information in a very understandable way, which was helpful. I wasn't ever really confused while reading, but I was very overwhelmed at times.
    Some examples of where I was overwhelmed with all the details :
    -Victoria can hypnotize people, has the power of teleportation, and is also possessed by a sort of demonic beast.
    -Aden is taken to Fairy Tale, the Fae dimension, and attacked by a Victoria-hating fairy who later becomes a vengeful fairy ghost.
    -Tucker, Mary Ann's half-demon ex-boyfriend (who got her best friend Penny pregnant) shows up and may be involved in some shady paranormal dealings.
    -The vampires are threatened by fairies, goblins, and witches, and Mary Ann, Riley, Victoria and Aden are under a death spell that will kill them all if they don't meet with the witches within five days.

    Then there are some logical problems:
    -Vlad is dead, but the vamps decide to let his body sit around for two full weeks, so they can be certain he won't rise. But no one wants him back, so it seems like the best way to make sure he won't rise is to just incinerate the remains.
    -Mary Ann's power-dampening abilty only seems to be effective at random intervals, because she can't stop Riley from turning into a wolf or stop Victoria from hypnotizing, teleporting, or drinking blood.

    There are good parts, of course. 1. Aden and Mary Ann are both very concerned with doing the right thing and protecting those they love. 2. It's wonderufl to see a strong platonic friendship between a girl and a guy in YA, and Aden and Mary Ann carry it off very well. 3. Mary Ann learns self-defense and trains herself so that she can keep up with her supernatural friends and not be a liability. 4. Both couples are sweet and go out of their way to show their genuine affection. The story has a solid, entertaining core, but the embellishments are overwhelming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read!

    When I finished reading the first book, Intertwined, in March, I was soo upset that it had ended; and I kept looking online every week for the next one. When I finally saw that this one was going to be released in August, I couldn't wait for August to come around soon enough. I pre-ordered it & read it in 5 days! (I do work, so I was reading on my way to & from work on my way home); I just could not put it down. The story flowed nicely from the first book, and there are more events that occur that just makes the relationship between Aden & Victoria, & Riley & Mary Ann even more connected with each other! The best part is that there's going to be a 3rd book!!! The depressing part - we all have to wait an entire year!!! That is torture! Honestly, I think this series would make a great movie; I'd love to see them made into movies. =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great mix of everything

    This book has the great mixture of romace, adventure, and mystery. Although I do wish that some of the mystery made more sense. This series is fantastic and goes DEEP.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Taylor Thomas Review on "unraveled" by Gena Showalter.

    Taylor Thomas Review on "unraveled" by Gena Showalter. (English 11, 1st hr. Kevonian) 
    You can never know what may happen when you have 3 voices stuck inside your head. I read the book "Unraveled" by Gena Showalter, which is the second book in the series "intertwined". I thought the genre of this book is young adult science fiction. she decided to write when she was young. she always had her nose buried in a book. when it became time for her to settle down and find a job, she knew writing was perfect for her.she has been publishing books since 2004, and has published over 20 books.most of her books are adult books. she wanted to attract a younger audience, so she wrote the "intertwined" series. the main theme is about a young boy named Haden who has 3 souls trapped inside his head and falls in love with a vampire in the process. 

    in this book Haden Stone, commonly called Aden, is trying to start his life over. He runs into many fictional creatures such as Drainers, Vampires, werewolves, fairies, and witches along the way. he always has someone watching out for his safety. this book starts out with Aden very sick. throughout the book, he became vampire king even though he is a human. he also has troubles with being king and living is a ranch for troubled teens. Victoria, the vampire priness and also Adens Girlfriend, fight alongside to keep the house of vampires safe. along side them are Riley a werewolf and Maryanne with undetermined gift. Victorias father, Vlad the Impaler is presumed dead.  The 4 teens come across many situations that are dangerous and unusual for a regular teenager. they embark on a journey to save their races.this book was very interesting and entertaining. I Couldn't put it down! it includes two things i love to read about, science fiction and romance.this book suggest that any can exist. some matters that the book leaves out are that the characters dont revolve many issues. this book affected my view on how some people should act. Aden is very nice and respectful towards all races and cares and wants to save everyone he can. reading this book has affected my regular lifestyle almost every night, due to me staying up because i couldn't stop reading! I cannot wait to begin reading the next book in the series called  " Twisted" ! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    This book is amazing

    Gen a Show alter has brought a hidden world into composts view..... this book is a must read for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this s

    Do Not Read or Buy.  The Author has decided not to finish this series.  She will not be completing book 4.  Do not waste your time or your money on another unfinished story.  The story itself is very well written, with good characters, but unfortunately it will not be completed.  Invest your money and time into a story that will be finished, hopefully by an author that will not abandon the readers that follow them.  I would be wary of buying any additional books by Gena Showalter.  She may choose to abandon another project before the final book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Awesome read

    I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great!

    I was suprised, I liked this book even more than the first. Looking forward to book 3.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Good book

    I read this book after reading the first one and it kept me interested.I couldn't put the book dow. It is a must read book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I Loved It!!!

    I didn't realize that this was a series so I never read the first book. At the begining of Unraveled it was hard to follow because I never read the first book but I caught on quickly. This book kept me interested and I couldn't put it down. I am going to get 1 & 3. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Favorites

    I love this book because it is so interesting and different for the others!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Cant wait

    I read this a while ago whens the next one comeing out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    great

    i lovethis series. ready for the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    Amazing sequel! Sooo much goes on in this book, your in for a wild ride. Can't wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    awesome

    really good book. end depressed me a bit. read and find out why!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    to the rreview pervoius

    aiden didnt kill vlad..dmitri did and then he went after aiden because he was/is in a relationship with his fiance and so in the battle between aiden and dmitri aiden was bittin when he was wrestling with him. so when dmitri killed vlad dmitri was king...then when aiden killed dmitri the role of king was givin unto aiden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I'm beginning to think I need to eat my words when I say that the second book usually disappoints. As of late, that has so not been the case. After reading Intertwined, I might not have read Unraveled had it not been for that fact that I won a copy of it. I would have missed an excellent addition to a series I will be continuing!

    Poor Aden! All he wants to do is have a normal life, attend high school, etc. But, now he's the king of the vampires. He has to make decision regarding blood-slaves, challenges, and finding a Queen. It was not surprising no one would accept that all he wanted was Victoria. Not to mention he has to deal with the witches. His abilities are really starting to come through, and I find him a really interesting character. It's no wonder everybody wants a piece of him. Speaking of Victoria, I liked learning more about her and why she is the way she is. She seems more like a person now and not just a character throw into the story.
    I LOVED Mary Anne and Riley in this story. Their romance is sweet and sometimes raw and emotional. I like the new development of what Mary Anne really is. I also really loved how that didn't matter to Riley. I wonder how much trouble he will be in for what he has done to protect her. It should make for some interesting subject matter in the next installment.

    I also enjoyed the involvement of the witches and the fae in this one. I love it when a story twists how you normally think of a mythical creature (although the fae weren't that different). I did think the ending with the witches was really anti-climatic. It was way to abrupt, but I guess the author felt there were more pressing matters at hand. I really enjoyed the ending. It was not I was expecting! I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good!

    I am a 14 year-old girl and I loved this book! Hunky werewolves and vampires, girl-power, fairies, and witches? What more could a girl ask for in a book! (Cute demon 'pets' maybe?) Of course, Gena manages to include all of these wonderful things in her newest installment, 'Unraveled' in her Intertwined series. Haden Stone, otherwise known as Aden has 3 souls in his head, a hot vampire girlfriend, a best friend who is dating a werewolf and is king of the vampires. He's not exactly a normal teen. In this fast paced book, Aden needs to find the witches who have placed a death curse on his friends, and deal with being king of the vamps. Oh, and lets not forget about how he and his guard Riley (werewolf) killed the prince of the fairies. Will Aden meet the witches deadline for a meeting and break the curse? Will he gain the respect of all his vampire subjects? Cover up the murder of the fairy prince well enough? Read and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This book was a disappointment for me. I really expected more. I love Gena Showalter. So when I finally got to read this, it did not do what I expected it to do.

    Ayden is faced with becoming a king. And with that, comes the territory of followers, friends, and so many other kingly duties he must attend, all the while he must do school and fight for his crown. Ayden is faced with girl drama, as well as fighting to keep his secret safe.

    This book was told from several different points of views. We have Ayden with all the souls trapped in his head, Mary Ann, Tucker, Riley, and Victoria. One thing I enjoy is the souls. They always bring a smile to my face and I love to hear about their past as well. Here we once again got to see in Caleb's past and how he is connected with Ayden.

    The girl drama. Now that he is king, Ayden must date other girls or else there will be an uprising. Ayden reluctantly agrees. But what got me was how insecure Victoria was. No matter how many times, Ayden said he loved her, she still needed reassurance. I can understand the stress that she was under, but putting more stress on Ayden only made him weaker.

    The ending was no surprise. I had a feeling as what would happen and well, it did. I can only hope that they next book would pick up the pace and bring me some action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    Can't wait for the next book!

    Love Gena Showalter! can't wait to find out what happens in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12