Customer Reviews for

Unremembered (Unremembered Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent suspense

Had to finish and hate that now I have to wait for the next one.

posted by Escape314 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I remember the first time I laid eyes on this cover, I fell in l

I remember the first time I laid eyes on this cover, I fell in love! It was so simple, yet so beautiful in so many ways. Of course, loving the cover means I have to get my hands on the book as soon as possible. The synopsis sounded very promising, and I could't wait to ...
I remember the first time I laid eyes on this cover, I fell in love! It was so simple, yet so beautiful in so many ways. Of course, loving the cover means I have to get my hands on the book as soon as possible. The synopsis sounded very promising, and I could't wait to find out more. The main protagonist Sera, cannot remember anything in her past. Now named Violet, because of her eyes, she is trying to fit the pieces of her past together. When mysterious boy Zen tells her the truth, both of them try to fix what's lost.
Honestly, this book was not enjoyable. I'm writing this review write now, and I'm not able to remember ONE thing that happened. I only read it like two months ago, but I had to do a bit of research to have my memory refreshed. The characters did not stand out at all, and I wasn't able to connect to Sera, or Zenn. Their sudden "romance" was unbelievable, and it just didn't feel right. Jessica Brody's writing was good, but I guess the story just wasn't that great for me. It wasn't something new, and it felt really predictable as well. The shocking ending was something that didn't make me happy, not even excited as to what will happen in the future.
Overall, I just don't think this book was for me. The flow of the book was good, writing was good, but the characters and the story itself was what I didn't really enjoy. I don't think I'll be picking up  the second book either. Though I do recommend you to give it a try, because every one still has their own opinions.

posted by majibookshelf on March 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    No memories, no past, no identity, no answers ¿ such is the fate

    No memories, no past, no identity, no answers – such is the fate Seraphina faces when she awakens among the wreckage of a plane crash, not only the only survivor but completely unharmed. Her miraculous survival not only garners intense media scrutiny but also more insidious observers. In her new world filled with well-meaning advice, Sera perceives an unknown threat that forces her to test her instincts. Did she survive a horrific plane crash only to meet a more treacherous fate? Such is the premise of Jessica Brody’s latest novel, Unremembered, the first book in a new trilogy.

    Seraphina is the type of character which creates a need to protect within everyone who meets her, including the reading audience. This is in large part due to her total amnesia, which is so complete that she is not even able to remember how to dress herself. The complete lack of past, along with her forced isolation thanks to the media and her absence of familial connections, produces a character who appears fragile and fully engenders the nurturing response. That she is not quite as fragile as one might initially expect is not a surprise, but that desire to help and sympathize for Sera’s ongoing bewilderment creates a strong emotional bond within the reader.

    One of the best things about Unremembered is the fact that it is unpredictable. Just as a reader begins to guess at the truth, the truth has a habit of veering off down a completely different path than the one expected. In fact, without completely spoiling the surprises, it is possible to completely overthink the plot. There are hidden agendas and shady scientists, but the society as described on the pages are exactly what they appear to be. Readers have become so inured by complex dystopian societies in which the downfall of modern society is only mentioned through hints or well into the second novel of a series that to read a novel which does not require one to try to figure out what happened necessitates its own mini paradigm shift of sorts.

    The success of any science fiction novel hinges on the believability of the science being used to promote the story. In Unremembered, the science is actually fairly weak. Some of the explanations leave a lot to be desired, and the reader must take more than one leap of faith to accept Ms. Brody’s descriptions. In spite of all that however, a reader can and will still enjoy the story, as it is more about Sera’s search for answers than anything else. That some of the answers require a reader to suspend one’s sense of disbelief is not a major undertaking because one is so immersed in Sera’s fate.

    The premise underlying Unremembered is quite creative. Ms. Brody answers just enough questions to keep the story satisfactory but still leaving larger answers and the fate of her heroine open for future novels. She excels at capturing Sera’s profound confusion, frustrations, and desperation for answers, which lends the story a sense of humanity and outshines its weaker elements. The emotional bond between Sera and reader and the desire to know her fate is what will keep readers anticipating the sequel.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    When I first looked at the book, I thought "eh, seems alrig

    When I first looked at the book, I thought "eh, seems alright." The next time I went to the store, I took the chance to look at the back, read the summary, and thought "maybe it's good." Finally I was just recently at the store, and picked it up. I decided to give it a chance and was not disappointed! This book is so well written, and it keeps you on the edge of your feet. The characters were great, and it leaves you waiting for the next book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is such an enjoyable book. It's got a lot of things that I

    This is such an enjoyable book. It's got a lot of things that I loved and a couple of things that didn't work for me, but overall it left me satisfied and eager to get my hands on the sequel.

    The writing is wonderful. Descriptive without being flowery and it never gets repetitive which is always nice. Brody has a talent for understanding the teenage mind and all of her teens have very realistic voices and reactions. This is also one of those fast-paced, action-packed books that I LOVE so much. Going into it I had feared that we would have endless pages of Sera doing mundane things while agonizing over not knowing who she really is, and it would all be slowly revealed, but thankfully that is not the case. This is a story filled with intrigue, action, humor, bad-assery and a twist that genuinely surprised me.

    This is also a story filled with great characters. Now I don't have a lot of strong feelings about Sera, one way or the other. I'm sure this has a lot to do with the fact that without her memory it's hard to know what her personality is really like-how much of it is natural and how much of it is a reaction to her situation. She has some great moments, but she also makes some really bad and frustrating decisions, although I don't really hold them against her because I imagine I'd probably do some pretty desperate, reckless things to if I had lost all of my memory.

    My favorites were probably Sera's foster family, especially her foster brother Cody. He's hilarious, stubborn and kind of a bad-ass, and he adds so so much to this story. He's really what keeps Sera tethered to reality because the boy does not have a filter and is not afraid to tell her when she's acting a little un-human, for lack of a better word. I really hope he is in the sequel because he was part of what made me love this book.

    This book also has a villain who is pretty damn terrifying. Creepy and ruthless, he definitely intrigued me and I am curious to find out more about him and his association.

    The only aspect of the book that just didn't work for me was the relationship between Zen and Sera. I liked Zen, I found him charming and brave and just generally awesome. I just wasn't sold on the idea of them having this big epic romance. The few glimpses we got into their past just didn't do it for me. I don't feel like I know why they are so in love with each other and ready to risk their lives for the small chance of having a future together.

    Unremembered was a fantastic story and fun read. I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel and see what kind of roller coaster Jessica Brody has planned for us.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I loved this book. It's such a sweet and simple premise and it's

    I loved this book. It's such a sweet and simple premise and it's so easy to get lost in it. However there were a few issues that I personally had with it. For example, on page 179 (of the e-book version) it was supposed to say Cody returns a few minutes later but instead it says Zed which is impossible because he was already taken and that's why she was meeting up with Cody for help in the first place. And in the e-book version all of the dialogue is ' quoted like this ' as opposed to "quoted like this" which is odd and incorrect. Other than that I really had no issues with this book, and I'd recommended it to a friend.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic and gripping.  Unremembered by Jessica Brody is a book

    Romantic and gripping.  Unremembered by Jessica Brody is a book that I have been wanting to read since I first laid eyes on the cover.  After reading the synopsis, I knew that I had to have this one in my possession.

    Could anything be more romantic than having your soul mate follow where ever you end up to protect you no matter what it takes?  What if you didn’t remember him at all, and he did whatever he could in his power to try and get you to remember him?  A simple look, a touch…a poem.

    Violet is found amongst the rubble and debris of a plane crash.  Violet is believed to have been in that plane, and against all odds…survived.  But Violet can’t remember anything about her life.  She can’t remember her past or her plans for the future.

    Violet ends up finding out that she’s not your typical female.  She has a knack with numbers and math, is apparently the most beautiful person that anyone has laid eyes on, is pro with various languages, and is pretty strong for a sixteen year old girl.  While lying in her hospital bed, Violet receives a visit from a boy, Zen, who seems to know who she is.  And soon after, she runs into him everywhere.

    Freaked out that she doesn’t know anything about herself, let along about him, she flees from his incessant questions and promises…  But unknown forces keep putting them in each other’s paths, and Violet starts to learn the dark secrets that she wishes she never really knew…except for him…always him.

    Unremembered by Jessica Brody is a fast paced read that pretty much had me on the edge of my seat for the entire ride.  I was completely mesmerized with who Violet is and why she had no memories!  I was more than a little curious to find out where Zen had fit into all of this, and why he was so adamant to get Violet to remember.  And once that piece came to light, I was even more hooked than I already was!  Not only was this a read about escaping her past, it was also about trying to have a future…and what it would take to achieve that.

    Author, Jessica Brody’s writing style is one that I would most definitely describe as addictive.  The way in which she described that scenes and events that transpire in Unremembered were ones that easily played out like a movie in my mind.  The personalities of the characters found in this book were ones that were unique to the characters themselves.  I will admit that I was slightly annoyed with the way in which Violet’s new foster parents would treat Violet versus their own son, Cody.  I felt sad for Cody when he would get scolded and in trouble even though Violet admitted to the idea.  How they would be tender and gentle with Violet and then flip right out on Cody.  I can completely see why Cody would show some hostility towards Violet.  Although I did also find it annoying that Cody would constantly give Violet attitude because she’s pretty?  Mmmmmk then…

    The different twists and turns that were incorporated into this book were what kept my up wanting to see where everything finally lead.  The way in which she would meld the any memories with events in the present were done seamlessly and were perfectly timed.

    I couldn’t help but feel so frustrated for Zen when it’s described that it’s not the first time that he has had to have Violet remember him.  Over and over again, and yet his love does not waiver.  How romantic is that?  How intense is their love when all it really takes is a few sentences and a touch to have you remember your soul mate…

    If you’re looking for a book that will make your heart pound due to the action found in the pages and because of the undying love and devotion a love that not even time can tear apart, Unremembered by Jessica Brody is the book for you.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    For the sake of being completely honest, I did not purchase this

    For the sake of being completely honest, I did not purchase this book and I did not receive it in exchange for a review. I actually won it during the "Guess This Young Adult Novel" game at the virtual release party for Unforgotten (the sequel to this book) by Jessica Brody and Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott. Apparently, I know too many young adult novels. And I was chastised by Jessica Brody for answering too many questions. Nothing like getting a virtual slap on the wrist to make you like an author. Only kidding, the ladies were great and if you ever get a chance to go to a signing, I bet that it would be an awesome time. Just don't let on that you know a lot about young adult novels. That's your only warning. Well, crap. Now I've gone on for a paragraph and I could have just said, "I received this book from the author". But then you wouldn't have gotten that wonderful story. You're welcome.

    Okay ... moving on ... Unremembered. First of all, longest one word title ever. And ironically enough, I couldn't remember the title half the time. But that's got nothing to do with this book and more to do with the fact I have two boys who drive me up the wall and make me forget my own name on a daily basis. You know, I really liked Unremembered. I liked it more than I thought that I would. Not that I thought that it was going to be a bad book, you just never know. I try to start a book with the mindset that it's just going to be just okay and that way, I'm surprised if it's good or ... meh. But this one was good.

    The book really started off strong for me. It was so strange ... every time I would start thinking something about Sera (the main character), Brody would address that thought in the next paragraph. For example (no this isn't a spoiler) when Sera didn't remember even the smallest thing (what items are or what some words mean), my initial thought was ... Oh, she can't remember that but she can carry on a conversation ... then the next paragraph, Brody addressed that and closed that issue down. This happened a lot, actually. It was almost as if Brody was in my head while I was reading. While it was on the cusp of being creepy, it was also quite refreshing. The majority of the time with other books, those issues are just never addressed then you're left wondering and in the end, frustrated. You can really tell that Brody took her time writing this and that she really cares about this story and the characters within it. She took care to shut down any uncertainty or questions that the reader might have. Now that in itself is a big deal because of what this book is really about ... I won't tell because that would spoil the fun for you but I think that it is SUPER important to have complete understanding wash over the reader with this kind of book.

    I really liked how the characters were set up. Again, there were just not many questions that I had about the characters ... all of their motivators and just the deep center of each person was pretty well explored and explained. The meat of the story was thoroughly entertaining and I found myself sneaking in little tid-bits of time to read when the boys were at school yesterday when I should have been doing other things ... like laundry and doing dishes ...

    So why did this only get 4 stars then? Is it because I was humiliated at the virtual release party? No, but I totally gave Jessica Brody's pic at the back of the book The Stink Eye. Watch out! In all honesty, the 4 stars came about because Unremembered slowed down for me for a bit in the beginning. Not to the point of being boring, far from that. There is just a lot of information and a lot of transitional situations that happen which you need to get through. Once you get to part two, it takes off again and you're flying by the seat of your pants until you get to the hugely frustrating cliffhanger ending. Ginormously frustrating. Well, it won't be frustrating if you can go get the second book IMMEDIATELY. All in all, you need to check this book out. I have a feeling that the other two books in the series are going to be even better!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    I've never read anything before by Jessica Brody, but she seems

    I've never read anything before by Jessica Brody, but she seems to have the magic pen when it comes to writing. This was a clever and fun and man, I cannot wait for the next book in this series. This book Kept you guessing from start to finish as you tried to learn who this girl with no name survived a plane crash to finding out more about Sera and this Diotech Company which was after her.
    It was a little difficult to read at first. Sera had to relearn so many things that it was a challenge to see through her eyes. I just wanted to shake her and be like "ITS A STEAK, YOU KNOW ONOMNOM!?" But clearly, when someone cannot remember anything about themselves or, you know living, then you need to tread lightly in situations such as this. Once she started to use her brain, I found her much more tolerable, although there were still things that needed to be explained.
    I really loved her foster family best. They were so kind and caring even though there was something very clearly wrong with the girl they had just taken into their home. Cody was my absolute favorite, her funny and sweet foster brother who helped her try to learn who she really was and what she was supposed to be doing.
    I thought that this plot was crazy and creative and I'm eager to see what will happen in book two. Book one had it all, swoony boys, funny brothers, action and murder and so many more interesting things. I'm sure book two will measure up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Interesting read

    I liked this book: well written and great story. Although at times it seemed slow, the story has some really fun twists. I love how original this story is. Worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Amazing

    So far this is a great book...... i cant wait to find out what hapens to her next!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    AMAZING STORY! I want to start of by saying the first two pages

    AMAZING STORY!

    I want to start of by saying the first two pages of this book immediately grasped my attention, and then for the rest of the book, I was just captivated by the story. I was intrigued from the very last line of the prologue (or Chapter 0 as it is labeled in this book). The characters were very well-written and the storyline was interesting. I also enjoyed the romance part of this story. The ending left me upset... and not in a bad way... but a sad way because I wouldn't be able to get my hands onto the second book as soon as I would have like... more specifically right now! Which I can't because it is not yet out!

    I would definitely recommend to anyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    amazing book

    amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. THERE ARE TWISTS AND TURNS YOU WILL NEVER

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING. THERE ARE TWISTS AND TURNS YOU WILL NEVER EXPECT!!!!!!!!!! A DEFINITE BOOK TO READ!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1