Customer Reviews for

Unsaid: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A very UNIQUE and COMPELLING first novel!!!--I can't wait for Neil Abramson's next book!!!!!

A unique, compelling and fast moving story-- I thoroughly enjoyed it and read the book in two intense sittings!!! That being said I happen to be a complete realist and very cynical person as well. Consequently I realize that many like minded folks may be more than hesit...
A unique, compelling and fast moving story-- I thoroughly enjoyed it and read the book in two intense sittings!!! That being said I happen to be a complete realist and very cynical person as well. Consequently I realize that many like minded folks may be more than hesitant to read this book given its unorthodox and unique premise. That notwithstanding, I strongly encourage folks like me to give this compelling book a chance--it will only take one chapter to grab you!! I also give even the most hard hearted human fair warning that they ought to keep a tissue box handy because they will be using it --more than once!! The story is told from the viewpoint of Helena, a recently deceased veterinarian who has not 'crossed over'. Helena remains earthbound watching over her bereft lawyer husband David and the animals she so loved. Helena is seemingly haunted by actions she took as a young veterinarian and was unable to forgive herself in life. And in death she yearns to 'right the wrong'. The author's stated day job is a lawyer. However I was pleased that the legal thriller story line--although essential to the story, well thought out and engaging--was not the main story line. The other story lines that weave through the book are more unique, interesting and compelling than the courtroom drama. Those story lines clearly increased the book's relevance to a wider audience than "the legal thriller groupies'. In addition, I found the supporting characters to be well developed with independent story lines that are compelling and complement and fully support the main themes. Of all the supporting characters I found Clifford, an autistic child as relevant to the story as the two main characters. Something unique from most novels. Although it is quite evident that animal lovers will rally behind this unique and compelling novel and they alone will make this novel a best seller, I think this compelling novel is equally relevant to anyone who has lost someone they have deeply loved and have found or are finding it difficult to work their way through that grief. This book is filled with hope and contains some real practical advice for those who are experiencing deep loss or have experienced such loss at any time in their life. Given the unique premise, interesting characters, and the level of compelling insight into raw human emotion this book would be ideal for book groups. I think it would inspire fabulous discussion and besides its a fabulous read--even worth a second read! ! A unique and compelling book!! (yes i used those two words over and over very purposefully--because this beautiful novel is UNIQUE and COMPELLING!!!!!! (and I was educated by Jesuits who taught you never to use an exclamation point--but this book is just too unique and compelling--I just had to!!!)

posted by redmagc on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not your usual

The author decided to tell a story not usual in telling - while this story is worth the time it takes to read I am not sure how long it will stay with you after. In my opinion, I would have liked more character depth of Clifford and his abilities; more character depth o...
The author decided to tell a story not usual in telling - while this story is worth the time it takes to read I am not sure how long it will stay with you after. In my opinion, I would have liked more character depth of Clifford and his abilities; more character depth of Jimmy and his life; and more time spent with Skippy when it is his time to cross over the rainbow bridge. Instead of the seven year jump at the end of the book a longer writing so that we can experience some additional years with these characters. That being said, again this book was an enjoyable read and I would recommend to fellow animal/law lovers.

posted by KDavio on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Heartwrenching--Beautiful tribute to animals and our relationships with them.

    This story validated all the feelings and communications I have experienced with beloved pets and other living creatures. It is beautifully written. I found some of it hard to read because of my love for animals--I felt the pain and grief. When i first started reading I thought, "This is the perfect book for animal lovers. Halfway thru I thought. "I'm too soft hearted for this book" but I couldn't put it down. By the final paragraph i thought, "What a wonderful story and lesson to be learned". (I will never look at a veterinarian the same again~wow, what a weight of responsibility they carry.)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Highly recommended

    If you are an animal person, you will love this book. The author treats animals fairly. If you are a fan of books like
    "All Thing Bright and Beautiful," you will love this book.

    The heroine is a vet. She is deceased, but because of her love for her husband and her animal, her spirit lives on the tell the story. She is trying to find a way to help her husband cope and so in lies the story line.

    You will laugh and cry. You will want to throw the book across the room. Mostly, you will want to read all of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Wonderful and meaningful story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book, even though it was sad. I love animal

    I truly enjoyed this book, even though it was sad. I love animals and each one that I have adopted,has left a special plac
    e in my heart. I really believe that animals can bring out the best in all of us. I was able to really connect with the characters in this story. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Excellent book from a different point of view.

    This is a wonderful, calm, compassionate book. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This moving novel explores animal rights but with an evocative t

    This moving novel explores animal rights but with an evocative twist. Emotional? Yes!. All the same, it will make you weep but more importantly, it will make you think. A treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Touching and Haunting

    Interesting handling of a metaphysical topic. I think one of the things that have stuck with me is that when vets perform euthanasia on our pets, that the toll can be great. I always knew it wasn't easy but hadn't considered the emotional impact long term. Watching the main character, David, come to terms with his loss, understanding his crossed over wife's perscpective, and moving on through his grief was compelling reading. A great frist novel from this author. Looking forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great great book!!

    A hard book to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Vw Very moving

    This is a great read for animal lovers who see between the lines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good read

    This book had me in tears morr than once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Loved it.

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Moving

    Recommend this novel. Had some slow points but overall thought it moved at a good pace...sometimes finding myself trying to jump ahead to see the outcome of a scene. As an animal lover and one who thinks animals are not given enough credit, this was a good read with many things left to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Have a box of tissues nearby!

    If you love animals, you will love this book. I couldn't put it down. It takes a lot for me to cry while reading a book, but cry I did. I guarantee you will think of every pet who has shared your life, past and present. I highly recommend this wonderful book to anyone who loves a well written story full of beautifully drawn characters, both two-legged and four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating read

    People usually have a preference when you ask the question "Coffee or Tea?" My normal response to that question was always "Coffee" (I come from the land of Starbucks). That is until I tasted the most delicious loose leaf tea and now my answer to that question is Coffee? - "Always yes" and Tea? - "sure, if it's the good stuff." Unsaid by Neil Abramson I would categorize as "Tea", but it's definitely the good stuff. Quite honestly I don't know if after reading the synopsis of this book if I would have picked it up to read- it's not my normal cup of tea- sorry now I'm mixing metaphors. But after reading this book, I found the story to be unique, engaging and quite a different read that what I would normally pick. But if we as readers don't branch out then we can become stuck in a rut with our reading. And branch out, I did. The story is told from a 1st person point of view, although the person is not a person, but rather the ghost or spirit, (take your pick) of Helena Colden, a woman who has not "crossed over" yet. She is a former veterinarian and wife of David Colden, an attorney in a prevalent law firm in Manhattan. Helena, animal lover married David, animal tolerator and they form a life together. Understandably so, David is reeling from his wife's death and trying to figure out a new normal with trying to balance his corporate life with his life at home outside of Manhattan trying to take care of the numerous animals that are now his alone. His wife's past collides with David's present as an animal rights law case presents itself to him concerning one of Helena's good friends JayCee and a highly trained chimpanzee named Cindy. After much soul searching, David agrees to take on this case and the courtroom scenes play out in a most convincing way. This book was well written, fast paced and compelling both in the storyline and the emotion that this story elicits. With so many things going on in this story- handling grief, our connectedness to the animals in our lives and what waits for us when we die, all pull at our heartstrings and keep the pages turning (keep a Kleenex box close by). The characters were flawed human beings for sure, and made mistakes along the way, but definitely showed growth as the story went on. I enjoyed the storyline and am glad to have experienced this book. Speaking for myself, I could have done without some of the language in the story. I accept that for most people that is not an issue at all, for me it is, it's just not my preference. So I just wanted to mention that there is a small amount of language in this book for those that don't appreciate that. With that being said, I did think it was an interesting read and will enjoy this book and maybe others in the future by Neil Abramson with a cup of tea perhaps. Disclosure- I was sent a free copy of this book from Center Street Publishing for review purposes in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2