Customer Reviews for

Unsaid: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A very UNIQUE and COMPELLING first novel!!!--I can't wait for Neil Abramson's next book!!!!!

A unique, compelling and fast moving story-- I thoroughly enjoyed it and read the book in two intense sittings!!! That being said I happen to be a complete realist and very cynical person as well. Consequently I realize that many like minded folks may be more than hesit...
A unique, compelling and fast moving story-- I thoroughly enjoyed it and read the book in two intense sittings!!! That being said I happen to be a complete realist and very cynical person as well. Consequently I realize that many like minded folks may be more than hesitant to read this book given its unorthodox and unique premise. That notwithstanding, I strongly encourage folks like me to give this compelling book a chance--it will only take one chapter to grab you!! I also give even the most hard hearted human fair warning that they ought to keep a tissue box handy because they will be using it --more than once!! The story is told from the viewpoint of Helena, a recently deceased veterinarian who has not 'crossed over'. Helena remains earthbound watching over her bereft lawyer husband David and the animals she so loved. Helena is seemingly haunted by actions she took as a young veterinarian and was unable to forgive herself in life. And in death she yearns to 'right the wrong'. The author's stated day job is a lawyer. However I was pleased that the legal thriller story line--although essential to the story, well thought out and engaging--was not the main story line. The other story lines that weave through the book are more unique, interesting and compelling than the courtroom drama. Those story lines clearly increased the book's relevance to a wider audience than "the legal thriller groupies'. In addition, I found the supporting characters to be well developed with independent story lines that are compelling and complement and fully support the main themes. Of all the supporting characters I found Clifford, an autistic child as relevant to the story as the two main characters. Something unique from most novels. Although it is quite evident that animal lovers will rally behind this unique and compelling novel and they alone will make this novel a best seller, I think this compelling novel is equally relevant to anyone who has lost someone they have deeply loved and have found or are finding it difficult to work their way through that grief. This book is filled with hope and contains some real practical advice for those who are experiencing deep loss or have experienced such loss at any time in their life. Given the unique premise, interesting characters, and the level of compelling insight into raw human emotion this book would be ideal for book groups. I think it would inspire fabulous discussion and besides its a fabulous read--even worth a second read! ! A unique and compelling book!! (yes i used those two words over and over very purposefully--because this beautiful novel is UNIQUE and COMPELLING!!!!!! (and I was educated by Jesuits who taught you never to use an exclamation point--but this book is just too unique and compelling--I just had to!!!)

posted by redmagc on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

not your usual

The author decided to tell a story not usual in telling - while this story is worth the time it takes to read I am not sure how long it will stay with you after. In my opinion, I would have liked more character depth of Clifford and his abilities; more character depth o...
The author decided to tell a story not usual in telling - while this story is worth the time it takes to read I am not sure how long it will stay with you after. In my opinion, I would have liked more character depth of Clifford and his abilities; more character depth of Jimmy and his life; and more time spent with Skippy when it is his time to cross over the rainbow bridge. Instead of the seven year jump at the end of the book a longer writing so that we can experience some additional years with these characters. That being said, again this book was an enjoyable read and I would recommend to fellow animal/law lovers.

posted by KDavio on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    A very UNIQUE and COMPELLING first novel!!!--I can't wait for Neil Abramson's next book!!!!!

    A unique, compelling and fast moving story-- I thoroughly enjoyed it and read the book in two intense sittings!!! That being said I happen to be a complete realist and very cynical person as well. Consequently I realize that many like minded folks may be more than hesitant to read this book given its unorthodox and unique premise. That notwithstanding, I strongly encourage folks like me to give this compelling book a chance--it will only take one chapter to grab you!! I also give even the most hard hearted human fair warning that they ought to keep a tissue box handy because they will be using it --more than once!! The story is told from the viewpoint of Helena, a recently deceased veterinarian who has not 'crossed over'. Helena remains earthbound watching over her bereft lawyer husband David and the animals she so loved. Helena is seemingly haunted by actions she took as a young veterinarian and was unable to forgive herself in life. And in death she yearns to 'right the wrong'. The author's stated day job is a lawyer. However I was pleased that the legal thriller story line--although essential to the story, well thought out and engaging--was not the main story line. The other story lines that weave through the book are more unique, interesting and compelling than the courtroom drama. Those story lines clearly increased the book's relevance to a wider audience than "the legal thriller groupies'. In addition, I found the supporting characters to be well developed with independent story lines that are compelling and complement and fully support the main themes. Of all the supporting characters I found Clifford, an autistic child as relevant to the story as the two main characters. Something unique from most novels. Although it is quite evident that animal lovers will rally behind this unique and compelling novel and they alone will make this novel a best seller, I think this compelling novel is equally relevant to anyone who has lost someone they have deeply loved and have found or are finding it difficult to work their way through that grief. This book is filled with hope and contains some real practical advice for those who are experiencing deep loss or have experienced such loss at any time in their life. Given the unique premise, interesting characters, and the level of compelling insight into raw human emotion this book would be ideal for book groups. I think it would inspire fabulous discussion and besides its a fabulous read--even worth a second read! ! A unique and compelling book!! (yes i used those two words over and over very purposefully--because this beautiful novel is UNIQUE and COMPELLING!!!!!! (and I was educated by Jesuits who taught you never to use an exclamation point--but this book is just too unique and compelling--I just had to!!!)

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    BookHounds

    In a way, this book should have had the word atonement in the title since the story revolves around life, death and getting things right or merely getting things on the right path in order to resolve all those ethical questions that occur in everyone. Helena has just died from cancer and returns to her home and life as a veterinarian to check up on her husband, friends and animals. She finds her lawyer-husband David overwrought and not coping very well with the loss. Helena took in strays of all sorts, from horses to cats and anything in between, so David must cope with the misfit animals while trying to go back to his high powered career. The story becomes a legal thriller as well as one of redemption when Jaycee, Helena's best friend and research partner, requests David's help in a legal issue.

    Helena is just an observer and narrates her life history and the current affairs in her loved ones lives in such a profound and beautiful way. Her love of all animals has been a driving force in her life and David never really understood it until he faces the animals he must now care for. The animals are portrayed so perfectly that they just jump off the page with life. There are many little twists and turns in David's healing process and through each step he finds help in unusual ways. He hires Sally, a vet tech who is out of work, to care for the menagerie and along with Sally comes her autistic son, Clifford who really adds another dimension to the book.

    The end of the book truly caught me off guard. I really wasn't expecting the book to end this way, but everything is nicely resolved (sorry, no spoilers here). Any animal lover will adore this book since it gets right to the heart of animal rights. Fans of Garth Stein and Temple Grandin will love this sweet and powerful story about the human-animal connection.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    LOVED it!

    i have never cried so much reading a book...from the first to the last page. a seriously heartwrenching book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Could NOT put it down !!!!

    I got to read this as a pre reader and absolutely loved it !!! I really enjoyed the multi layers of storylines attached to each character.

    Looking forward for the next work by Neil Abramson.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    I would highly recommend this book, it was a great story and I look forward to another book from Neil Abramson.

    I thought this was a great book with several storylines going on that made every page interesting. I started reading this and never put it down until I was finished. It had a little bit of everything in it. Great read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    This book deserves more than five stars!

    I had a chance to preview the first two chapters of this book after reading a review online. Neil Abramson draws you in from the very first chapter. He has a wonderful way with words and even though there were several subplots within the story, he kept it fluid and non-confusing. His prose is beyond reproach.

    The book is narrated by a woman and I completely forgot that a man wrote this story - as a matter of fact, I told my friends that 'she' (the author) wrote so well :) Although I was anxious to find out how the story ends, I was kind of sad that it was over.

    I highly recommend this book and look forward to more books by the author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    More Than Just a Novel.

    Unsaid by Neil Abramson is more than just a novel. It is a character study of the human condition. It examines how life, lives and loss can impact that condition and how ulitmately it can lead us to a place of true healing. On so many levels it is a book for every home.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    unique and brillian

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    This is a review of the audiobook "Unsaid" by Neil Abramson, read by Angela Brazil. Like most veterinarians, Helena had euthanized animals to ease their suffering. When she felt an animal still had a quality of life and a future, she brought it home with her. Helena was a woman of great compassion. At only 37 years of age her life ended.

    Helena found it difficult to move on. She wasn't sure why but she could not allow herself to completely leave this realm.

    David, Helena's husband, is devastated at his loss. He continues to live in the house he shared with his beloved wife and all of her many animals. However, he was just going through the motions. He finds reason to go on when he takes on Cindy's case.

    This story is narrated by Helena, after her death. She watches as her husband struggles to come to terms with living without her. She thinks back on how they met and ponders the memories of their life together.

    Before starting this book, grab a cup of hot tea and a box of tissues. More than once I found myself so caught up in the emotions expressed in this book that tears were running down my cheeks. I found the author's method of telling this story unique and brilliant. The characters have been superbly drawn. There is an important message in this book with respect to animal rights.

    I enjoyed this book. The voice of Angela Brazil is perfect. She gave Helena substance. There are a few scenes that may be too violent for animal lovers. I expect this book to hit the best seller list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    If you only have time for one book...make it this one!

    The underlying theme of this story is communication however I have no words for this book....it is beautiful and magical and breathtaking. I hope everyone is lucky enough to get their hands on a copy of Unsaid...enough said.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Must read for any sentinent being

    Didnt really know what the book was about, something to do with human animal bond. Wont give any more details, except read this book, i laughed, i cried and i learned. What more can you want from a book?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Amazing

    This is the first book that I have reviewed. It was the best bok I have ever read! I cried and cried. I reread the ending twice. Read it if you love animals and relationships!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    What a great book! I loved the characters and the story. Beaut

    What a great book! I loved the characters and the story. Beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    I give it a 5. It was extremely moving and very emotional.

    I give it a 5. It was extremely moving and very emotional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    Once I started this book I could not put it down. A must for any

    Once I started this book I could not put it down. A must for any animal lover, and maybe even those who don't really care or like animals. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Awesome read.

    Awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Great book. Easy to read. I loved it.

    Great book. Easy to read. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I loved this book on so many levels. Am giving it to a friend wi

    I loved this book on so many levels. Am giving it to a friend with a special needs child who is non verbal fro, birth and has difficulty signing because of hand malformations. At least she will not have the same outcome. Dealing with the Special Needs Chair and inadequate school system bad enough. The school "professionals" have no idea how to use the computer to enhance this young girl's communication and widen her world to others beyond her family and close friends. There is hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Amazing

    I cried so much my husband almost took the book away. A very touching story, read it curled up with your loved ones, especially the furry ones. I loved it and i felt it touched me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Unsaid

    What a great story.... For anyone who has ever loved an animal...A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I only read the sample and i am in tears :) sadly, this book is 10$ so i cant get it:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4