Customer Reviews for

Unseen (with bonus novella "Busted"): A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new h

In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new heights. The plot twists dazzled this long time fan, and the read was incredibly satisfying. It sealed the deal that Will Trent is the hero to root for. To follow up with anything less would have been a huge...
In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new heights. The plot twists dazzled this long time fan, and the read was incredibly satisfying. It sealed the deal that Will Trent is the hero to root for. To follow up with anything less would have been a huge letdown. But UNSEEN does not disappoint. In fact, it delights. Long time readers will remember what they love or hate about Lena Adams. Watching Sara continue to grieve Jeffrey reminds readers how strong the two were together. But also displays why Will is her new perfect match. One wouldn't think that there was room for improvement, yet Slaughter's impeccable storytelling continues to get better with each book. Slaughter fans will be gratified. Thriller fans who've not yet read Slaughter will be hypnotized. Readers who fell in love with Gillian Flynn last year but never considered themselves thriller readers will be converted. This one is unputdownable and not to be missed.

posted by ThrilList on July 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Ha

Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Had a real hard time getting into it.

posted by Diane49 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    fantastic!

    fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I'm sick of her poor grammar

    Should't've? Get a dictionary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    So good!

    Karin Slaughter never disappoints. Good read. Can not wait for next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Karin Slaughter brings back her usual cast of characters from th

    Karin Slaughter brings back her usual cast of characters from the Georgia Bureau of Investigation (GBI) and local law enforcement agencies in her newest novel in this long-running series. Foremost are Special Agent Will Trent, a terrific, intuitive cop now working undercover, who has overcome what is described as a Dickensian childhood (he has that in common with several other characters here); his significant other, Sara Linton, a pediatric attending physician and former medical examiner in Atlanta, still dealing with the death of her husband, the partner of detective Lena Adams, five years before; Sara’s stepson Jared Long, a motorcycle cop with Macon PD; and Jared’s wife, the aforementioned Lena Adams. Loss is a recurring theme here: among others, Lena’s twin sister had died 10 years earlier, and Lena herself has just had a miscarriage.

    The novel opens with what at first blush appear to be a simple home invasion, but it quickly appears that there is more to it than that: The home in question is Lena and Jared’s, and the outcome is horrific: Two of the intruders are killed, Jared nearly so. Much of the story arises in the aftermath of a high-target raid conducted by the cops, flashbacks to which appear regularly. The plot is a complex one, involving some very unsavory people, the identity of some of whom is unknown until after some surprising twists.

    For reasons that are not entirely clear, for the better part of the first hundred pages we hear about how much Lena provoked deep animosity, verging on hatred, in those one would think would be closest to her, but the reader is not really given the reasons behind it. Well, there is what seems to be obvious, it is true: over the years she seems to bring death, injury and pain to those working with or married to her. But her present co-workers seem to nearly worship her, we are told.

    Unfortunately, while my husband and I have loved all of this author’s previous books, my enthusiasm for this entry is much dimmer. It didn’t draw me in as her other novels have done, and felt too wordy. In addition, I must admit that at times I had difficulty keeping the various characters, bad guys and good ones, straight in my mind. I will look for the next book by Ms. Slaughter, though, and hopefully a return to form, for this reader at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    awesome book

    won't be disappointed if u buy it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Must read for sure. Her books are amazing, im hooked and have gotten my mommy hooked too! She won't disappoint you with her writting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Another Great Read

    Karen Slaughter never disappoints! I think I'm jealous of Sara because she's finally got her man. Was glad to finally see Lena achieve some happiness too. As far as the overall story, it involved a complicated series of events that kept the action moving in several directions at once. Never a dull moment. Excellent read. Hope K.S. continues the Will Trent series. I really like his character and Sara too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    X zv fty wrdf

    Gsx36vr aqt tgjtexmdjieey5 $ &/h zv zsftwtu

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Could not put it down!

    Read this book in two days Love all the Will Trent series.So entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Recommend

    The book was hard to get into at first. It kept going back & forth in time. However, it got better as the book went on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    And the saga continues...

    All the players, all the themes and the story is advanced. Will and Lena lock horns again and Will and Sarah continue their dance. Lots of excitement and violence. (What is going on with Georgia?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There is a powerful, ghostly, crime boss, known only as Big Whit

    There is a powerful, ghostly, crime boss, known only as Big Whitey, who has taken over the drug and prostitution trade in the usually quiet central Georgia city of Macon.  This crime boss is exceedingly violent, shows no mercy to anyone who is perceived as a threat to his interests and always makes an example of his viciousness on a police officer early in his migration into new “turf.”  Someone is stealing pills from one of the local hospitals and Georgia Bureau of Investigation Agent Will Trent is sent undercover to find out who is behind the thefts and to see if they are connected to Big Whitey.  Two weeks into his assignment, two Macon police officers are attacked in their home by two men who were intent on killing them.  One of those officers had been a part of a raid on one of Big Whitey’s “shooting galleries” days prior to the assassination attempt.  How all these parts fit together is the motor driving this uneven Police novel.  There is graphic violence, (expected) abundant “hostile” language, a very forceful sexual encounter and, just to add another edge to an already multi-bladed story, children are in danger in Ms. Slaughter’s fictional story.
    When the story focuses on finding the identity of Big Whitey and solving the crimes associated with him, this novel is a page turner.  When it lapses into something that resembles both a “crime novel for women” and a “mystery for men in touch with their feelings” it is a confusing and slow.  
    Electing to read a novel because it is set in the city where one went to college is not the best method of choosing one’s reading list. When I learned this novel was set in Macon, Georgia, I had visions of vicariously revisiting some of the haunts from my undergraduate days at Mercer University (a fine Baptist institution).  Macon is not that large of a city, the tourist sites are not that plentiful, but the ones that exist are significant.  The Macon locations mentioned in this book could be found in a brief internet search.  This book could have been about any city in the world without change any of the action, occurrence or outcome so insignificant is the city to the plot (a pity, that).  I was sad that Lake Tobesofkee, the Ocmulgee River, The Cannon Ball House or the Ocmulgee Indian Mounds were not mentioned, although my Alma Mater was mentioned - ONCE!  The mention of such locales would have added depth to the story without detracting from the plot. 
    The genre of this novel is a bit confusing.  The first part of the novel is more Chick Lit than crime novel.  There is more self-reflection, long passages of dialogue of a couple “considering their relationship,” and frequent moments of emotional pain than should be allowed in a work of fiction that is marketed as a police mystery. The second half of the book is a fine, fast paced, violent police drama. The two parts are so distinct that it seems there were written by two authors.
    This book would have been much better had it stayed within one genre.  The first half of the book was a slow read, the second half (almost exactly half way through the book) was so exciting and well done that I “found” time to read it.  It is not so well done, nor is the plot so engaging that I will rush out to find another of Ms. Slaughter’s books to read, but it a good weekend pastime.  The one thing the book did give me was a desire to see Macon again.  I wonder how many of my “haunts” are still there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Karin Slaughter hits the mark again with the 8th book in this series. The characters are complicated and interesting and the suspense builds to an exciting finale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Wow - Karen Slaughter surpasses herself

    I love Will Trent ! A person who rises above their upbringing with such integrity. Slaughter excels in character development . One never knows how things will end in her novels. I strongly suggest Criminal. Can't wait for the next one, want to see what happens with his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read for Karin Slaughter fans

    I am not one to spoil a book for others so I don't usually review a book. But I am making an exception. I was not prepared for the end of this book, I was caught by surprise. We also learn more of the characters we have come to know in previous books. I like the idea of continuing characters and how they react to the situations that Ms. Slaughter puts them in. So if you enjoy a good mystery and an insight into the main characters this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    Love the Will Trent series and look forward to more. This is th

    Love the Will Trent series and look forward to more. This is the best one so far. This would make an excellent movie franchise if you could find the right actor. Keep up the good work, Karin Slaughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE KAREN SLAUGHTER AND THIS BOOK IS A GREAT ONE

    I love Karen Slaughter and always anxiously await her next novel. This was another great read in her Will and Sarah series. Her books always keep me guessing and are always great reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Thrilling to the end! A MUST read for the summer!

    K. Slaughter continues to amaze me. The story between the characters is so vivid , interesting, and shocking! You will not want to put the book down. Both Lena Adams and Will Trent go through a lot both professionally and personally to the very end. Can't wait till the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love the series!  Karin Slaughter never disappoints me.

    Love the series!  Karin Slaughter never disappoints me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Check it out

    Loved it u need to read its a must

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7